Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Find out the interval and do it at that time. 80k seems very low for a chain though!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭pred racer

Interslice wrote: »
    Sound like it was having issues? Its hard not to judge a car by one bad egg sometimes. Had the same thing with a mk 1 focus I drove. Engine gearbox suspension all in tatters. Havent driven one since but alot of people reckon there a grand car. I would be reluctant to even sit in onr again!

Nope, it was just slow! Except for the engine it was actually a nice car.
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Is it like my spoiler?

bmw-rice-boy.jpg

Yes, but bigger, it was just above the level of the roof!

And it was on a beige focus saloon...............

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Find out the interval and do it at that time. 80k seems very low for a chain though!

Yeah I thought that too but I read it online somewhere. Can't find the link now of course.

pred racer wrote: »
    Yes, but bigger, it was just above the level of the roof!

And it was on a beige focus saloon...............

Woah woah woah you realise that isn't my car yeah :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

You wonder how nissan were able to stick chains in cars nearly 30 years ago and they give no bother. You seem have to be really on the ball with the oil servicing nowadays to get most of them through to the 200k mile mark. 80k is lower than some belts.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Took the car out for a drive, seems good, there is an intermittent somewhere in the back and I'm getting used to the way the autobox shifts up

Have to go to Cavan tomorrow so that'll be a good test

Garage serviced it and replaced the front and rear brakes

Stheno wrote: »
    Took the car out for a drive, seems good, there is an intermittent somewhere in the back and I'm getting used to the way the autobox shifts up

Have to go to Cavan tomorrow so that'll be a good test

Garage serviced it and replaced the front and rear brakes

What did you buy in the end?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭pred racer

Woah woah woah you realise that isn't my car yeah :D

In my head, that's now your car :p

That's cause enough to slam a photo in here :p

11178317_1438218466489469_8318637182456143013_n.jpg?oh=bea44ef7f78ccfc77ccb7bdea1476000&oe=55CF9F8A

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What did you buy in the end?

Auto Honda accord

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

That's cause enough to slam a photo in here :p

11178317_1438218466489469_8318637182456143013_n.jpg?oh=bea44ef7f78ccfc77ccb7bdea1476000&oe=55CF9F8A

How did that wedding go anyway or is it too private to mention. You weren't around for quite some time since that pic was taking.

Stheno wrote: »
    Auto Honda accord

Sweet. Best of luck with it. Ill wait here patienty for a pic ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

You wonder how nissan were able to stick chains in cars nearly 30 years ago and they give no bother. You seem have to be really on the ball with the oil servicing nowadays to get most of them through to the 200k mile mark. 80k is lower than some belts.

I'll have to have another look so.

Cheers

@YbFocus

You also missed my amazing signature not the one I have now but it didn't go down well with the general population as it was too big and someone threatened to escalate it to the admins and posted the boards.ie rules for signatures. Size, height and dimensions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭ofcork

Mazda must be using the same chains as merc at that interval.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I can, I drove one recently as a loaner(an 05 also), I've never ever driven anything so painfully slow and un economical in my life, it was horrible. The one I had, had 260k km and I couldn't help thinking that whoever owned it must've died of boredom (and bankruptcy from putting petrol in it) :rolleyes:

Being realistic you've got a 79 bhp engine in something that's actually quite big and probably a tad heavy.

The thought depresses me - and I know of someone (not into cars generally) who seemed to regret trading in her 98 Mk 6 Escort for a 1.4 Mk 2 focus.

Not withstanding the fact that Renofan is happy with his - and - I assume - the fact they are probably quite reliable - 79 ps, 1.4 and big heavy Mk 2 Focus body don't exactly provide the ingredients for the greatest car in the world ever.

The typical irish spec Mk 2 Focus is pretty dire inside as well - imo.

I think in a Ghia or Titanium spec - the 1.6 petrol is 115 ps - but not sure - and I wonder what one of those would be like - ive seen a Titanium Mk 2 Focus with leather before - and it was a different looking car inside tbh.

How did that wedding go anyway or is it too private to mention. You weren't around for quite some time since that pic was taking.

Awesome, being the best man definitely has benefits, have a new lady friend from it and it was a genuinely awesome weekend.
    The e36 went down a storm as the transport to the wedding for the groom and for the bridesmaids from it!

Great weekend and after being worried about it before, I'd be a best man again anytime!

Now more on that sig....

Old diesel wrote: »
    Being realistic you've got a 79 bhp engine in something that's actually quite big and probably a tad heavy.

The thought depresses me - and I know of someone (not into cars generally) who seemed to regret trading in her 98 Mk 6 Escort for a 1.4 Mk 2 focus.

Not withstanding the fact that Renofan is happy with his - and - I assume - the fact they are probably quite reliable - 79 ps, 1.4 and big heavy Mk 2 Focus body don't exactly provide the ingredients for the greatest car in the world ever.

I imagine one with a DECENT level of power would be a lot better tbh - especially if specced with some toys - they are pretty dire inside as well in the normal (LX???) spec that most Irish cars came with.

On the other hand - ive seen one with titanium spec and it was like looking at a different car tbh. 1.6 115 ps (think its 115 ps in Ghia/titanium spec - open to correction) and titanium with leather - completely different bus id imagine.

The rave reviews in UK mags are based on engines of AT LEAST 1.6

I had one as my first car, it was ****, the end.
    It was hilariously reliable though!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

YbFocus wrote:
    Great weekend and after being worried about it before, I'd be a best man again anytime!

Ok here it goes....

Will you....

Will you do me the honour of being my best man?.... :pac:

Ok here it goes....

Will you....

Will you do me the honour of being my best man?.... :pac:

Yeah sure I'm a regular in Myo now and all :)
    Done deal!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

YbFocus wrote:
    Yeah sure I'm a regular in Myo now and all Done deal!

Haha, hard to say no to a Mayo woman ;)

Haven't the slightest notion of getting married for a looooong time, far too young to be at that craic!

Damn it knew i should have bought a bimmer! Have the alfa 3 weeks now and still no new lady friends!
    Kinda seeing this girl. Haven't told her I got a new car yet. Shes into cars a bit so was winding her up before about getting an aul volvo estate. She didnt look impressed! Hope she likes alfas coz its a keeper anyway :pac:

Haha, hard to say no to a Mayo woman ;)

Haven't the slightest notion of getting married for a looooong time, far too young to be at that craic!

They're a good bunch I must say, I'm well caught now anyway :)

Noccy I always felt you were a fair age?? I'm totally wrong on this probably!

Now more on that sig....

It was a 13 year old girl female character from the game Borderlands 2.
    It was a bit big but I thought that since boards.ie let you submit a large signature that they allowed them but that was wrong. I remember the old boards wouldn't even let you submit a larger than allowed sig.

This is it below and the actual size it was:

2012_borderlands2.jpg

Damn it knew i should have bought a bimmer! Have the alfa 3 weeks now and still no new lady friends!
    Kinda seeing this girl. Haven't told her I got a new car yet. Shes into cars a bit so was winding her up before about getting an aul volvo estate. She didnt look impressed! Hope she likes alfas coz its a keeper anyway :pac:

The new Mayo girl likes to go sideways ;)

It was a 13 year old girl female character from the game Borderlands 2.
    It was a bit big but I thought that since boards.ie let you submit a large signature that they allowed them but that was wrong. I remember the old boards wouldn't even let you submit a larger than allowed sig.

How did that cause war for god's sake :)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

How did that cause war for god's sake :)

Because it takes up half the fecking page, and appears under every one of his posts (which there was a good string of in the chat thread at the time)

Scrolling for days, so I was!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Motor tax time again booooo! New bonnet lock going in Monday too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

So after all the LED vs normal bulbs I said I'd throw up a picture of the laser blue which are a very much middle ground between the two. I like them I think they certainly look a lot better then normal bulbs but I suppose it's down to personal taste.

3D574478-8A7A-4C38-ABDC-CAFA07A53C35_zpsys2zriz1.jpg

The LED's look well on a modern car like that. Look a bit dodge on anything from the last century.