Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I'd definitely fly through Dublin rather than Heathrow (and I live in London), especially if you're flying to the likes of JFK or any other large US airport that will be receiving a lot of international flights. Much better to get it over and done with then face a very long queue (and they can be very long) after a long flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Synode wrote: »
    That raises so many questions ak - can you give us more info?

It was here, seems to have gone now.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/102202836/BMSN-Article-II

Some of you interweb wizards may be able to track it down, was released in a PDF format.

Well it's done. Signed up for the Dublin Marathon. Means no beer through the RWC...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Well it's done. Signed up for the Dublin Marathon. Means no beer through the RWC...!

Got a target in mind? IIRC (from a comment you mad in a thread about doping) you were pretty good at one point?

Clearlier wrote: »
    Got a target in mind? IIRC (from a comment you mad in a thread about doping) you were pretty good at one point?

2 + 2 = Venjur is juicing.

Good luck with it.

I did a half marathon (2/3 years ago) and upon finishing instantly quit any distance running. It was almost the most boring 2 hours I've ever spent doing anything at all ever.

Not really sure how people get 'into it' tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I did a half marathon last year. Always wanted to do a marathon until I done the half. No chance I'd be able for a full one.

Good luck with the training Venjur

Absolutely. If only they could take out the running part in rugby... It's the one thing I hate the most, especially in training.

• Administrators Posts: 55,142 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Running is boring.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Synode wrote: »
    I did a half marathon last year. Always wanted to do a marathon until I done the half. No chance I'd be able for a full one.

Good luck with the training Venjur

Same.

Whatever about the marathon itself there is just no way I could do the training for a full marathon. I run a reasonable amount but its always at lunch in work so you're talking 40-60 minutes and that's about my limit before I get bored ****less. The half marathon was only the 4th time ever I had run over 10k!

I have 10k due in May. Don't think I'll make it now because I'm not allowed run currently and don't see my physio letting me in the next while. 1 month is too short to build up to a 10k after not running for the past 2 months I think.

Clearlier wrote: »

I'm pretty out of shape and need to lose around 2.5 stone but if things go well I'd be hoping for around 2.30 or so.

My fear is that training will be going great and then when we Win the world cup I'll go on a complete bender for 3 weeks before the Marathon :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

.ak wrote: »
    I have 10k due in May. Don't think I'll make it now because I'm not allowed run currently and don't see my physio letting me in the next while. 1 month is too short to build up to a 10k after not running for the past 2 months I think.

A month is grand if you've a base level of fitness before the injury. I started back training in April last year and did an adventure race in June that started with a 10k run and followed that with 32k cycling interrupted by climbing a mountain, a kayak paddle and another run at the end. I hadn't trained in 2 years before that. You'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Zzippy wrote: »
    A month is grand if you've a base level of fitness before the injury. I started back training in April last year and did an adventure race in June that started with a 10k run and followed that with 32k cycling interrupted by climbing a mountain, a kayak paddle and another run at the end. I hadn't trained in 2 years before that. You'll be grand!

Bloody show off. We've no time for your sort around here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Well just this morning I ran a 50k followed by 200k on a bike with no saddle, and then I had to swim across the Irish sea with raw meat selotaped to my arse while being chased by sharks. Training was disallowed, and we were just allowed to drink a protein shake and eat half an egg before starting.

Real men do sarcasm. Like this.

Zzippy in real life:

aGwdFG0.png

Yeah but I'm a forward stuck in a back's body... i.e I hate running.

I do have a decent level of fitness but haven't been able to run or cycle for the past few months, it's amazing how quick your fitness levels drop. Although having said that it can be amazing how quick it comes back! My worry is tightness in the legs/hamstrings/glutes etc

32k cycling isn't that impressive. :D

I've cycled from Dublin to Wexford, probably the furthest I've bothered doing in 1 day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,004 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Tell the young people that nowadays and they wouldn't believe you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

awec wrote: »
    32k cycling isn't that impressive. :D

I've cycled from Dublin to Wexford, probably the furthest I've bothered doing in 1 day.

If he's talking about Gael Force, it's not a pleasant road cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Trying to convince myself to do the marathon, hate running but have always wanted to do a marathon for some odd reason. The thoughts of the training is off putting though, 4 months for one event.

I could never do it. Not only would I never get the fitness my knee would never allow it and I would cripple myself.

Even walking to work some mornings (a 10 minute walk) can leave me in serious pain! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i just ate two jam doughnuts

all this talk of running makes me hungry.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,826 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm pretty out of shape and need to lose around 2.5 stone but if things go well I'd be hoping for around 2.30 or so.

My fear is that training will be going great and then when we Win the world cup I'll go on a complete bender for 3 weeks before the Marathon :pac:

Would ya feck off out of that.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Bloody show off. We've no time for your sort around here....

Ha, that was the short version, and it nearly killed me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,004 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm tired thinking of you lads exercising. Time to reacquaint my arse with the couch. This is as close as I get to exercise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

You're grand. Aiming for 2.5 hours... I did my first marathon 2 years ago. Eased around in 4.5hours. Can go quicker but went around at a comfortable pace for my first full one. Ultimate aim is an Ironman in a few years time.....

RuggieBear wrote: »
    i just ate two jam doughnuts

all this talk of running makes me hungry.

Damn you Ruggie. Damn you to hell. I don't have any jam doughnuts here.

Twitter/rugby-related: I was on twitter last night and there was a bit of debate with Simon Thomas and his followers over Nathan Hughes' red card last week for knocking George North out (possibly accidentally). I tweeted that if that was 3 weeks, then Liam Williams' cheap shot on Paddy Jackson last year deserved 3 months. One person favourited the tweet... Liam Williams! :D