Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Stheno wrote: »
    NO. Seriously?

At least in Letterkenny there are a few sights to see

Seriously. ;)

Italy, actually

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Zzippy wrote: »
    Seriously. ;)

Italy, actually

My OH is so scabby that if I suggested a mini moon, if we were ever to get married, he'd go to Longford.

Are yis heading to Rome by any chance?

Stheno wrote: »
    My OH is so scabby that if I suggested a mini moon, if we were ever to get married, he'd go to Longford.

Are yis heading to Rome by any chance?

Yep. Pizza, pasta, prosecco, vino, grappa and espressos. Can't wait...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Been in Rome before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Truly the greatest city in the world!! Bro in law has lived there for the last 6 years. He travelled up to Orte for a weekend (approx 50kms north of Rome - excellent rail network) and said it was lovely.
    Trastevre will keep you in food and will be cheaper than the "touristy" places elsewhere...you'll eat much better and be with the locals (no menus with pictures of food on them). The first time we went to Rome we thought the food was terrible - different the next few times when we went with him to proper little restaurants (Jewish quarter also has some great bars/cafes/restaurants).
    Bring walking shoes and buy large bottles of water and freeze the night before...saves paying 2 quid a pop every hour when you're parched!!
    If you like smart shirts and decent jackets etc look out for "gutteridge"....reasonably priced and the quality and range of their shirts is great (3 for 85 or 90 euros is a regular promotion).
    And have a gelato...There is a really famous one - probably mentioned in the guide books - there are waiters in the full attire and about 100 different flavours to chose from.

When you come home you may need to visit Shaws or Guineys - they have a good selection of trousers with elasticated waists!!

Btw...congrats on the wedding and best of luck in the future!!

What's a mini moon?

This marriage lark sounds very expensive. Are there any good reasons to do it?

What's a mini moon?

No...maybe for the additional tax credits. Other than that no. Maybe the possibility of a kidney if you need one down the line. Other than that no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

What's a mini moon?

It's like a pre-stag for honeymoons.

In reality no, there's no reason. A quieter life maybe?

That said it was a great excuse for a mad session and the Lions Tour for me so there was that. Now that I think of it I really shouldn't complain.....

mfceiling wrote: »
    No...maybe for the additional tax credits. Other than that no. Maybe the possibility of a kidney if you need one down the line. Other than that no.

If you're both working is the Tax credits an issue though?

Being a Grinch, no wedding + no marriage appears to = €€€€€€

molloyjh wrote: »
    It's like a pre-stag for honeymoons.

In reality no, there's no reason. A quieter life maybe?

That said it was a great excuse for a mad session and the Lions Tour for me so there was that. Now that I think of it I really shouldn't complain.....
    What's a pre-stag!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

And have a gelato...There is a really famous one - probably mentioned in the guide books - there are waiters in the full attire and about 100 different flavours to chose from.

Just be careful to avoid this place (€64 for 4 ice creams!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I think lots of couples are using their wedding money to pay for their proper honeymoon now. Because they don't get their wedding money till their wedding they day, they decide to do their honeymoon a few months later. In the meantime they do a small trip down the country, somewhere not too expensive or lavish so that they do get the few days of tranquility to take in their wedding and begin their new lives of abstinence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

What's a pre-stag!?

A test run for the real thing. You know, to make sure you're going to enjoy yourself.....

• Administrators Posts: 55,100 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

If you're both working is the Tax credits an issue though?

Being a Grinch, no wedding + no marriage appears to = €€€€€€

You haven't got a lady friend, have you emmet?

awec wrote: »
    You haven't got a lady friend, have you emmet?

I do. She hates me though. Clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Journeyman_1

errlloyd wrote: »
    I think lots of couples are using their wedding money to pay for their proper honeymoon now. Because they don't get their wedding money till their wedding they day, they decide to do their honeymoon a few months later. In the meantime they do a small trip down the country, somewhere not too expensive or lavish so that they do get the few days of tranquility to take in their wedding and begin their new lives of abstinence.

Pretty much what I did.

I do. She hates me though. Clearly.

That's the joy of marriage. Being together means she gets to hate you more.

Great advertisement for marriage the lot of ye

Thanks folks, glowing recommendations for marriage there! Too feckin' late!

Sex before marriage is a sin.

So on my Facebook news feed there was just an article about a woman who made bread from yeast from her vagina when she had a yeast infection.

http://www.hellou.co.uk/2015/11/this-woma-making-bread-using-yeast-from-her-vagina-2-69926/

There are no unsuitable pictures in the article in case anyone is worried.
    “1 small Greek coffee-sized cup of plain flour
    1/2 small Greek coffee-sized cup of water
    As much vaginal yeast as I could scrape off a dildo I put in my vagina–my estimate is that there was about as much of it as would lightly coat a single tine of a fork, and no more.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Thanks for that awec.

In mine is a story about the bloke who paid his mate to call a bomb threat into Intel so he didn't have to go to work. A closed motorway, diverted air traffic and 4000 people missing work later he got the day off.

Which is pretty dumb, what is sheer amazing is how the Gardai caught him. I thought it was pretty impressive that a single garda wading in a lake found all the graham dwyer stuff, but read this.
    Gda McFadden said that a month after the hoax, a taxi man arrived at Balbriggan Garda station with a passenger who wouldn’t pay his fare. The passenger was Hammond and a garda at the station recognised his voice from the hoax call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

So on my Facebook news feed there was just an article about a woman who made bread from yeast from her vagina when she had a yeast infection.

http://www.hellou.co.uk/2015/11/this-woma-making-bread-using-yeast-from-her-vagina-2-69926/

There are no unsuitable pictures in the article in case anyone is worried.

Waste not, want not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

This is just awesome: https://twitter.com/IreClickbait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭b.gud

Fantastic, I despise clickbait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭swiwi_

“1 small Greek coffee-sized cup of plain flour
    1/2 small Greek coffee-sized cup of water
    As much vaginal yeast as I could scrape off a dildo I put in my vagina–my estimate is that there was about as much of it as would lightly coat a single tine of a fork, and no more.

*dildough*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I don't understand twitter. What is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I don't understand twitter. What is that?

They tweet the nugget of info so you don't have to click the link. So if, for example, Joe.ie tweet "Toulouse sign British & Irish Lions lock", click bait will quote the tweet with the words "Richie Gray" so you don't have to click the link.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Thanks for that awec.

In mine is a story about the bloke who paid his mate to call a bomb threat into Intel so he didn't have to go to work. A closed motorway, diverted air traffic and 4000 people missing work later he got the day off.

Which is pretty dumb, what is sheer amazing is how the Gardai caught him. I thought it was pretty impressive that a single garda wading in a lake found all the graham dwyer stuff, but read this.

"Gda McFadden said that a month after the hoax, a taxi man arrived at Balbriggan Garda station with a passenger who wouldn’t pay his fare. The passenger was Hammond and a garda at the station recognised his voice from the hoax call."

Yeah I don't entirely buy that regarding intel hoax guy. My understanding is that sometimes when the Gards / Police have identified someone but the evidence gathering is tainted they hold tight until they can come up with some other way of connecting evidence to the suspect.

In terms of Graham Dwyer, it was a pretty astonishing case from start to finish. Literally everything about it was a series of huge coincidences. Hard to credit.

Just came in to the living room and herself is watching Geordie Shore. Jesus christ....