Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Horrible news. Son of a work colleague of my dad's was in the apartment at the time...
    My bosses nephew was there too. Seems to have been quite a big party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Bastareaud tried to take his own life after the 2009 world cup. Poor lad had mental issues. Thank god he seems to be in a much better place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Off to the Cubs tonight. Gwan the Cubbies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I'll buy you a pint if you can get the Yanks singing Stand Up and Fight... ;)

Zzippy wrote: »
    I'll buy you a pint if you can get the Yanks singing Stand Up and Fight... ;)
    Don't get too generous with those offers. Pint of pissy Coors was $10.50 at The Giants in SF last week!

Beside the "thank" button, can we add a "MEDIOCRE" button?

I really did like that film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'm bad luck. They got shutout!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Any of you remember Fred Cogley?

His grand daughter is amongst the injured in Berkley :(

Stheno wrote: »
    Any of you remember Fred Cogley?

His grand daughter is amongst the injured in Berkley :(

Whole thing is tragic. Hope she pulls through, heard on the radio that two people are still in critical conditions, the other five look like they're out of the woods but have injuries that will change their lives. Did a J1 in Berkeley myself back in the day, I cannot get my head around this.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Whole thing is tragic. Hope she pulls through, heard on the radio that two people are still in critical conditions, the other five look like they're out of the woods but have injuries that will change their lives. Did a J1 in Berkeley myself back in the day, I cannot get my head around this.

She'd spinal surgery last night, sincerely hope she makes the best recovery possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Let's not post any personal details about the injured students please, I'm sure they and their families have enough to worry about without speculation/discussion on the internet about the extent of their injuries

Zzippy wrote: »
    Let's not post any personal details about the injured students please, I'm sure they and their families have enough to worry about without speculation/discussion on the internet about the extent of their injuries

Apologies, it was reported so I thought it was ok.

Shan't do it again

Completely Ot, any of you guys either been to Croatia or gone sailing on a Canal in Scotland as a holiday?

Just watched Great canal journeys, dying to do Edinburgh to Glasgow, but know the OH would love the likes of a few days in Dubrovic, and then onwards in Croatia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Completely Ot, any of you guys either been to Croatia or gone sailing on a Canal in Scotland as a holiday?

Just watched Great canal journeys, dying to do Edinburgh to Glasgow, but know the OH would love the likes of a few days in Dubrovic, and then onwards in Croatia

Did Slovenia about 12 years ago. Lovely spot and lovely people. Popped into Croatia briefly but didn't see much of it. My dad served with the UN in Croatia about 20 years ago though and loved it. Has always been banging on about going back but hasn't been able to convince the mother. I'd nearly be inclined to check out both countries if I were to head back that way. Lake Bled in Slovenia is absolutely gorgeous and the capital Lubljana (sp?) seemed really nice. Only got a day there though which was nowhere near enough.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Did Slovenia about 12 years ago. Lovely spot and lovely people. Popped into Croatia briefly but didn't see much of it. My dad served with the UN in Croatia about 20 years ago though and loved it. Has always been banging on about going back but hasn't been able to convince the mother. I'd nearly be inclined to check out both countries if I were to head back that way. Lake Bled in Slovenia is absolutely gorgeous and the capital Lubljana (sp?) seemed really nice. Only got a day there though which was nowhere near enough.

OH is a major lover of old architecture, so I was thinking of a week between Dubrovnik and Split, loads for him to explore and not long enough for me to get bored :D

Also somewhere I can see us holidaying in future :) So many different options to explore there. They've a national park on an island I'd love to go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

My memories of Ljubljana (checked the spelling this time!) were that it was an old city with some great buildings but also a bit of a younger vibe. It was a really chilled out place. Now that said it was 12 years ago! But myself and my oh were discussing going back this year to check it out properly.

You're giving me ideas here :)

We are looking to go away for a week, in nice weather, like what we have here, and to have stuff to do especially for him (I'd sit and read for the week :D)

Never thought of Croatia before, gonna check it out!

Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Did Croatia...thought we'd never get out of it. Dubrovnik was boring with mediocre food and bad weather.

Did canal du midi a few years back...stunning scenery. Food was gorgeous and the weather was scorchio!!

Just watched the canal programme as well, however I'm a week behind so I watched the canal du midi one. I'll watch the Scottish one at the weekend.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Did Croatia...thought we'd never get out of it. Dubrovnik was boring with mediocre food and bad weather.

Did canal du midi a few years back...stunning scenery. Food was gorgeous and the weather was scorchio!!

Just watched the canal programme as well, however I'm a week behind so I watched the canal du midi one. I'll watch the Scottish one at the weekend.

They did back to back programmes tonight, you can catch it on 4od

OH needs a week of relaxation, I'm leaning towards a flight to Edinburgh, an overnight, a few days on the canals and a day or two at home before we go back to work, then Serbia/Croatia next year, when we can take two weeks to relax and have maybe ten days there, there is an island in Croatia which is a national park that I'd like to visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Was in Croatia maybe 4 years ago as part of an interrailing trip. Didn't see Dubrovnik though, only Pag and Zagreb for a bit while leaving.
    Lake Bled is spectacular.

Stayed on Lopud just off the Croatian coast from Dubrovnic for a couple of weeks last year. Most excellent. The boat into Dubrovnic only takes about half an hour and runs a few times every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

They did back to back programmes tonight, you can catch it on 4od

OH needs a week of relaxation, I'm leaning towards a flight to Edinburgh, an overnight, a few days on the canals and a day or two at home before we go back to work, then Serbia/Croatia next year, when we can take two weeks to relax and have maybe ten days there, there is an island in Croatia which is a national park that I'd like to visit.

Just back from Croatia - great trip, highly recommend
    The people are miserable and food bit meh but scenery and weather and water makes up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

wp_rathead wrote: »
    The people are miserable and food bit meh but scenery and weather and water makes up for it

Bit like Ireland so, minus the weather of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Spent 10 days in Croatia last year though probably not the same sort of holiday you're going for at all. 8 of us in our mid 20s so we spent the week at beach bars or on boats out in the water and consuming ungodly amounts of (very cheap)beer.

Weather was beautiful and if you don't like sand the stone beaches are great too. Being out on the water on boats/jet skis/any mode of aquatic transport was great craic of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

stephen_n wrote: »
    Bit like Ireland so, minus the weather of course.

No, the food and people in Ireland are so much better
    I get the whole "Cead Mile Failte"of Ireland now, we kinda take it for granted, but jaysus we are a great lot for the most part

Weather and Freezing Atlantic where we are let down (although there is no surfing in Croatia)

It's a lovely spot, been there before myself and it's got a lot going for it. That said, it's become a more popular destination the last couple of years so not sure it would still be your scene... :pac:

I'm going to stop milking this soon. Promises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Soooo, decided I could get a little more cardboard into our industrial wheelie bin before the collection company called, up my step ladder, stepped into the bin, the cardboard was probably 2 feet above the lip, so I jumped, and jumped again, next thing the bin takes off and i then fall face first out of it onto the concrete.
    Cracked nose, lacerations, ligaments in my right knee and concussion , think my pride hurts most of all though :(

Wang King wrote: »
    Soooo, decided I could get a little more cardboard into our industrial wheelie bin before the collection company called, up my step ladder, stepped into the bin, the cardboard was probably 2 feet above the lip, so I jumped, and jumped again, next thing the bin takes off and i then fall face first out of it onto the concrete.
    Cracked nose, lacerations, ligaments in my right knee and concussion , think my pride hurts most of all though :(

Jaysus sounds awful

Wang King wrote: »

I hope you went to a and e? That sounds rotten you poor thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Went to my doc, then back to work, have broken my nose many times, so that's nothing new, went away about 3 though as I was feeling a bit rough alright