Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,962 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

eddhorse wrote: »
    Well Ikari Warriors on the C64 is balls hard !!

Lots of games on the C64 are balls hard. :pac:

Try Combat School if you have it, that'll learn ya.

Wanna test your pixel perfect jumping? Try Manic Miner. Just try not to chuck the machine out the window afterwards. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Least i dont have to rewind the tape after every time i die, the tanks seem to help.

Thanks for the tips, dont think i have those ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Renegade 3 is another dog for the c64.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

So my new CD-i 220/40 arrived this morning. Few minor issues with it I'm slowing working through.
    But to my surprise, this model outputs RGB via Scart without any mods! I confirmed on the XRGB that its sending out a 50hz(no 60hz :() RGB signal. I didn't know that some models could do this, my 400 series cannot anyway.

Now, if only there was something worth playing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Ya the 220 is a generic consumer appliance so needed to comply with SECAM (ie RGB SCART) for the Froggies.
    450 is a games console so composite was enough, its got the same video DAC as the 3DO :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Steve X2 wrote: »
    So my new CD-i 220/40 arrived this morning. Few minor issues with it I'm slowing working through.
    But to my surprise, this model outputs RGB via Scart without any mods! I confirmed on the XRGB that its sending out a 50hz(no 60hz :() RGB signal. I didn't know that some models could do this, my 400 series cannot anyway.

Now, if only there was something worth playing :)

The only issues the CDi have is running those awful games.
    Better that it is left in the box, and the quality of the games only imagined, you'll have more fun that way.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    The only issues the CDi have is running those awful games.
    Better that it is left in the box, and the quality of the games only imagined, you'll have more fun that way.

Ah, the CD-i 220/40 combined with the 22ER9141/20 Digital Vid module has some merit when playing VCD's.
    Plus, it's required for my growing retro AV section :) I recently replaced my LaserDisc player with a higher end model that does NTSC/PAL and some other audio and video magic.
    Bang and Olufsen VHS player on the way for the top of the CD-i later this week.

kbqvXb4.jpg

On that note, I ordered a B&O remote and it arrived today. I know they've a rep for high end stuff, but the remote is mostly cast iron or something! I think Andrew has some B&O gear, Andrew, you got the below remote? Handy for warding off burglars? :)

OR71fiV.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Lovely stuff! Dare I say it, that CDI actually looks pretty nice :eek:

Was thinking about getting a high end VHS player myself, always fancied collecting pre cert UK video nasties!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,758 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I saw an LD player at the Balbriggan market last weekend, didn't ask a price because the numpty had it out in the rain and I didn't want to take a chance.
    Probably should have offered €20 for it and took a chance, gone off and bought Star Wars for it if it worked!

On that note, I ordered a B&O remote and it arrived today. I know they've a rep for high end stuff, but the remote is mostly cast iron or something! I think Andrew has some B&O gear, Andrew, you got the below remote? Handy for warding off burglars? :)

OR71fiV.jpg

Clicked into the last post on this thread and started scrolling up. Saw the above pic and went wtf, looked behind me to check my remote was still there! :pac:

Yep exact same one. For some reason my B&O has a second remote too. Yours looks minty fresh, lovely. Yeah the weight of them is surprising, quality yokes. Never seen an LCD in a tv remote before. :D

Actually, I remember mine had a line of dead pixels in the LCD so had to order a new from ebay and replaced it myself. Was fairly handy thankfully and good know they're out there if need be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Collecting retro games is bad enough, ****ed if I'm going back buying VHS tapes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Myrddin wrote: »
    Collecting retro games is bad enough, ****ed if I'm going back buying VHS tapes :pac:

Ive a pretty lumpy collection of 90s f1 races on vhs lol

Sparks43 wrote: »

Still have a few drawers full of them myself. Or think I do. Mostly early 2000s when Schumi was winning everything. And a few of those F1 season reviews from Senna's winning years. Some of Tyson's fights back when the BBC showed them.

The ole Sony VHS still runs like clockwork too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Sparks43 wrote: »

That's allowed, a lot of them are impossible to get or stupidly expensive to get on dvd. Vhs is grand for stuff that never got transferred to disc etc, but after that, it's a format that can die a death if you ask me :D

tumblr_n7g7kiW5a21tcx5h6o1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Ever had a bad day when something goes badly wrong and you want to just let it be forgotten?

Well poor Stephen Feck :D 4 years after it happened its still on a perpetual loop on the bbc olympic coverage channel 1086 :o

Not retro i know but bloody funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Myrddin wrote: »
    That's allowed, a lot of them are impossible to get or stupidly expensive to get on dvd. Vhs is grand for stuff that never got transferred to disc etc, but after that, it's a format that can die a death if you ask me :D

tumblr_n7g7kiW5a21tcx5h6o1_500.gif
    "I don't know what the tracking symbol is."

How about DVHS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

I've a few classics knocking about on VHS. Ghostbusters, El Dorado, WWF Summerslam, Dirty Dancing, The Bodyguard...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

I've a few classics knocking about on VHS. Ghostbusters, El Dorado, WWF Summerslam, Dirty Dancing, The Bodyguard...
    How many of them are showcased in their original aspect ratio? Seeing an anamorphicly shot movie like Ghostbusters cropped makes me physically ill.

I had boxes and boxes of videocassettes, and was very fancy with Nicam stereo on the tv and VCR as well as my Dolby Prologic surround amp and speaker setup.
    My 3DO was amazing in surround!
    I still have a box of audio cassettes in the attic, with all the music I listened to before buying my first CD player in 1990, great zombie Jebus some of that is dodgy as hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

How many of them are showcased in their original aspect ratio? Seeing an anamorphicly shot movie like Ghostbusters cropped makes me physically ill.

Honestly can't be certain, ha. It's been years since I've watched them. Still have an old VHS player here, but I need to open it up and clean the heads before I try to play any of the tapes in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,460 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I heard John Romero was going to be at the Dublin Comic Con this weekend, but did you see they're actually doing a Doom Deathmatch event with him?

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/doom-deathmatch-with-john-romero-gameondcc-at-dublin-comic-con-tickets-26406559731

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The Geforce 1070 GTX is a thing of beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

o1s1n wrote: »
    I heard John Romero was going to be at the Dublin Comic Con this weekend, but did you see they're actually doing a Doom Deathmatch event with him?

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/doom-deathmatch-with-john-romero-gameondcc-at-dublin-comic-con-tickets-26406559731

weekend after, Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,729 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The Geforce 1070 GTX is a thing of beauty.

Ah but can it run Crysis.....

F1GP2 was the benchmark for me, back in the day.
    I think it was years before an affordable PC was released capable of running the thing at full speed with everything turned up.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,325 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    F1GP2 was the benchmark for me, back in the day.
    I think it was years before an affordable PC was released capable of running the thing at full speed with everything turned up.

Back in 96/97. You needed a Pentium 200 to get any playable framerate out of it at high detail :)

Had one, didn't hit the mark at all.
    Even early graphics cards were useless because the game at the time was software rendering only, and there weren't any patches in those days.

And then F197 came out on the PS, with the arcade and sim discs. Okay, so the sim wasn't much of a sim but it a excellent and looked fantastic, and because it was a Playstation, you didn't have to wrestle with settings to get it to work.

Almost threw down the cash the other week for nvidia 1080. But have decided to wait a month and see what Asus can do with the new Titan card.

The current batch of cards from nvidia and AMD are very impressive(both performance and cost wise).

Good times for all :)

Almost threw down the cash the other week for nvidia 1080. But have decided to wait a month and see what Asus can do with the new Titan card.

The current batch of cards from nvidia and AMD are very impressive(both performance and cost wise).

Good times for all :)

I'm just happy I can finally play games at my new monitor's native resolution at 60 FPS. The 970, great card for what it is, was struggling at 3440x1440 as well as 1440p. Playing at 1080p just looked woeful on the screen, really blurry.

Yeah, 1080p has had its day in the PC gaming world.
    Anyone buying a new monitor and going 1080p is mad if you ask me :)