Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gameweek 14 Matchday Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

G1032 wrote: »
    Just 11 points separating 13,500 places!!

I don't know what to make of this season. I've had a brutal few weeks and am having a poor season IMO yet I've been flittering between 19k and 37k since GW8. In fact, in 4 of the last six GWs, I've been in the millionaire's club yet I still have a decent rank. Last night I scored only 15 points from six players but only fell 1096 places to 33058. I'm on 743 too so I'm only 13 points off 20k which I find very hard to believe given how my team are performing.

Every week when I look at people's teams I see them bringing in players that sites like FF Scout have recommended. Now I know there's always going to be a bit of that but even the most casual of players seem aware of these sites now and, while I do like them, they've taken a lot of skill out of the game compared to previous seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

33 points with 4 left to play incl captain

solid midfield performance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

I've captained Welbeck

****ting it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,628 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Lemlin wrote: »
    I don't know what to make of this season. I've had a brutal few weeks and am having a poor season IMO yet I've been flittering between 19k and 37k since GW8. In fact, in 4 of the last six GWs, I've been in the millionaire's club yet I still have a decent rank. Last night I scored only 15 points from six players but only fell 1096 places to 33058. I'm on 743 too so I'm only 13 points off 20k which I find very hard to believe given how my team are performing.

Every week when I look at people's teams I see them bringing in players that sites like FF Scout have recommended. Now I know there's always going to be a bit of that but even the most casual of players seem aware of these sites now and, while I do like them, they've taken a lot of skill out of the game compared to previous seasons.

I only follow boards.ie. It's served me well to this point :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,628 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I'll have good scores from Baines, Sanchez, Fabregas, Hazard and Aguero please - I dont mind which one of them scores more, as long as they all score plenty! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Yeh there is so much information being made easily available to the casual now that it makes it a lot harder to gain any rank and now with sites like FFFix it will make it even harder there Assistant Manager thing makes it fairly pointless even playing why sign up just to let a formula run your team??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,347 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Ultimate is the future lads. Embrace it :)

KevIRL wrote: »
    Ultimate is the future lads. Embrace it :)

Easy for you to say in 13th! Wait until you can't crack the top 1k next year and you'll be fin stupid game FPL is way better anyway! Having said that UFPL is WAY better much prefer it maybe just because its different but the squad format is brilliant in my opinion.

jimmii wrote: »
    Easy for you to say in 13th! Wait until you can't crack the top 1k next year and you'll be fin stupid game FPL is way better anyway! Having said that UFPL is WAY better much prefer it maybe just because its different but the squad format is brilliant in my opinion.

I agree. Definitely some tweaking needed to ultimate but its easily more engaging and enjoyable than regular FPL which has become very formulaic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

I've always followed the watchlist and frisking the fixtures on FFS and I often make my transfers based on the latter. I personally think it's gone a bit mad now though and while I've only spent about five minutes in total looking at it I think that the FFFix site is not a positive development, if people have no interest in watching a little bit of football and making some decisions based on that then I really can't see why they bother playing the game. Watching football is supposed to be fun, reading or interpreting stats is a pain in the hole.

20 points from last night, 6 to play including all my big hitters. Sterling, Bony and Taylor all produced something small for me last night, i'm in a good position in my head to heads as well.

I agree. Definitely some tweaking needed to ultimate but its easily more engaging and enjoyable than regular FPL

Its already a superb game but I am sure it will grow I think a modification of the loan system in some way would make sense I think its just too costly at the moment even if they just removed the 4 week limit it would make it more appealing so that you could have a long term loan at 2 points per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

I've always maintained you can pick up things from watching games that aren't necessarily covered by stats-analysis. A gut feeling that a team has turned a corner form-wise. An attacker that looks extremely lively and confident and has been perhaps a little unlucky not to do better - I tend to do best in this when I trust my gut, and that would be based mostly on what I've seen with my own eyes. Stats can be handy, for sure, when I've missed out on some games I may refer to them, as well as taking on board some opinions from on the forum here too for example, but I really can't say enough for just watching and enjoying games, and being a bit bold and getting a player in before 'the masses', going on your gut. Its more exciting to boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Arbitrary

jebforever wrote: »
    Spurs sources saying Chadli will be benched again tonight for those that have him.

I pulled the trigger when these rumours surfaced during the week, though it didn't work out as panned, brought in Siggy for -4 point hit (-1 in the end).

Meh. Best to have an active player with a shot of getting points and the rest of my bench is injured/suspended.

27 points with Chambers, Azpilicueta, Sanchez, Hazard (C) and Aguero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

jimmii wrote: »
    Yeh there is so much information being made easily available to the casual now that it makes it a lot harder to gain any rank and now with sites like FFFix it will make it even harder there Assistant Manager thing makes it fairly pointless even playing why sign up just to let a formula run your team??
    I've always followed the watchlist and frisking the fixtures on FFS and I often make my transfers based on the latter. I personally think it's gone a bit mad now though and while I've only spent about five minutes in total looking at it I think that the FFFix site is not a positive development, if people have no interest in watching a little bit of football and making some decisions based on that then I really can't see why they bother playing the game. Watching football is supposed to be fun, reading or interpreting stats is a pain in the hole.

I think you're (far) overevaluating the impact of these sites. If you have no knowledge of the real game you can't perform long term in the fantasy game.
    All the FPL dedicated sites are great information/advice/guidance but they're only a small part of the iceberg. And they can be misleading at times e.g. FFS weekly selection is a bit of a joke since it's often unaffordable (I never understood that), FFF transfers suggestions is pretty farcical too since it seems to only be based on the recent popular transfers and perf from the players. For me they're a useful addition to the game, that's all. For example, this year the price changes info is not as accurately detailed as it used to be and yet you're still finding these sites are taking away part of the skills.

If you really want more skills in the game, I think removing the doubling of pts for the captain would increase it since you won't be able to single-handedly save a GW from one standout performance and the building of a strong 15 men squad will be more important than now. If I look at my squad, I feel it's decent enough but I'm languishing outside top 200k at the moment just for my dreadful captains returns. I guess I'm 100 pts down only on captains pts from some of you here.

Also a 1m GW rank is not crap (last year I achieved a 1663 final rank and I calculated my GW average rank which was 636k so 1m is decent enough). We laugh here about the millionaire club and all but there are 3.3m players. Can't remember which site posted recently that there's about 30% inactive teams which means there's 2m+ active teams. Granted they're not as involved in the game as we are here but I'd say they still play it seriously enough. They would not pay attention to price changes, would not make mid to long term plans transfer wise, would not analyse the mid-term fixtures, etc... but would adjust their team before each deadline trying to beat their rivals in friends/work leagues. In fairness that's how I started to play before I got the FPL addiction virus :D.

I would love to see them do away with captains. It would change the game more than people realise as they probably wouldn't adjust the player prices accordingly.

i'd love to see a 'pure' fpl game, ie. you get to choose a completely new set of players for every gameweek. no budgets, no max players from one team, no limitations at all basically just choose the setup you think will score you the best for each given gameweek

manual_man wrote: »
    i'd love to see a 'pure' fpl game, ie. you get to choose a completely new set of players for every gameweek. no budgets, no max players from one team, no limitations at all basically just choose the setup you think will score you the best for each given gameweek

The Play On version does this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

iroced wrote: »
    Also a 1m GW rank is not crap (last year I achieved a 1663 final rank and I calculated my GW average rank which was 636k so 1m is decent enough). We laugh here about the millionaire club and all but there are 3.3m players. Can't remember which site posted recently that there's about 30% inactive teams which means there's 2m+ active teams. Granted they're not as involved in the game as we are here but I'd say they still play it seriously enough. They would not pay attention to price changes, would not make mid to long term plans transfer wise, would not analyse the mid-term fixtures, etc... but would adjust their team before each deadline trying to beat their rivals in friends/work leagues. In fairness that's how I started to play before I got the FPL addiction virus :D.

Every year more and more players play. When I started playing first there was just over 2 million people playing, so a 1m+ GW ranking was probably quite poor back then.

The Play On version does this

For real? Thanks Kev. Did not know this :) Is it a free or paid game?

Options for both as far as I know

Thanks i might check it out next season i'm a bit in over my head fpl-game wise a.t.m. :D

I'd love if the transfer deadline was always 30min before kickoff of the first match of the GW. We saw how much fun it adds to the game to know the lineups, and leads to all kinds of madness (16 point hits ;)).

A lot of weeks it would just mean knowing the teams for the 12.45 kick off on a Sat but there are a fair few Saturdays with no early kick off and a later deadline there would be great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,046 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

John o Shea cleanie plus baps needed along with a player who's never done much for me in Oscar

Thanks i might check it out next season i'm a bit in over my head fpl-game wise a.t.m. :D

Lol likewise. Ultimate and FPL more than enough fore this season. Didn't even bother with CL fantasy football this season for the first time

just ye wait i'm going to go down in folklore with my genius 5 transfer move at 7:34pm on 02/12/2014 :cool:

Also I can't see them getting rid of capt or complicating the scoring in FPL. They want to appeal to the casual as much as possible. And keeping things simple while allowing things like capt getting a big points haul does this. The more interest the more site visits the better for advertising revenue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭qwabercd

I'd love if the transfer deadline was always 30min before kickoff of the first match of the GW. We saw how much fun it adds to the game to know the lineups, and leads to all kinds of madness (16 point hits ;)).

A lot of weeks it would just mean knowing the teams for the 12.45 kick off on a Sat but there are a fair few Saturdays with no early kick off and a later deadline there would be great craic

Agreed. Requires more skill (and dedicaton) making decisions with the knowledge of starting lineups as opposed to blind decisions. Would mitigate the importance of making early transfers for price rises too which is a good thing IMO.

It would be annoying for weeks where you're busy the saturday morning though.

On your captaincy point I think there's far far too much weighting on captaincy but as you said its unlikely they'll change this. That one decision each week nearly outweighs the importance of your entire lineup, especially now as teams have become so similar. I think if captain was worth 1.5 and vice captain was worh 1.25 it would be better (despite the awkwardness of having quarter points).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Interesting discussion starting with Lemlins post.

I agree with Iroced that the influence of FFS and FFFix is probably being overstated. There is nothing groundbreaking there, despite FFFix in particular dressing it up as some big secret formula. Their transfer recommendations are basically the player in the position you are switching who has scored best over the past few weeks. Sure that's what we'd probably call the definition of casual play. FFFix wouldn't have told you to bring in RVP for Costa for example :), that took a special genius all of my own.

My being that other than the FFS members articles and stats these sites pretty much state the obvious. They might help a terrible player with no clue about football achieve a regular top 100k finish and be competitive in their work league, but they won't turn an average joe into a top player regularly in the top 5 or 10k.

I think interest in FPL is increasing with increasing overall numbers and therefore increasing numbers of more serious players who do a bit of research. But there are still loads of 'casual' players in all my leagues who don't know how their wildcard works, that midweek gameweeks exist, anything about price changes.

Regarding watching games I'd agree obviously that this is the best way to get a feel for players and team form, but many of us, the oul lads with small kids in particular, it's just not possible to watch a load of live games on a Sat/ Sun. I think having a good love of and understanding of football combined with watching MOTD and a bit of targeted research (match reports, FPL sites, FSA, stats) is a perfectly valid approach. It is certainly mine.

Captains & auto subs I would happily do away with both! So annoying when you make your plans and your rival hasn't logged in for a couple of weeks and then they have Costa captain with X as vc Boyd comes off the bench for them and X some how ends up with a brace despite not scoring in a season and a half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

This guy must have had the most boring of nights last night... not one player playing!

http://fantasy.premierleague.com/entry/2651650/event-history/14/

I'm guessing he'll be watching the Arsenal v Southampton game from behind the sofa!