Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney rebel song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

howiya wrote: »
    We've just been through a month of remembering and praising those that took up arms...

and?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

So at what point is it acceptable for us to make reference to our history? Maybe post Good Friday Agreement?

Leave it alone. You are making a fool of yourself.
    When are we ever going to stop peddling this maudlin, over romantised, inaccurate and parochial version of our history?

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Cpt Sh!t Craic

When high profile people are singing songs in public, praising those that took up arms, is it any wonder there are kids who think it is big and clever to try and continue those battles?

Somebody think of the children!

That's just weak man. People began an armed campaign in the 70's as a last resort to gain civil equality, which they only saw as being possible by reuniting with the 26 counties.

Songs are a great reminder of the past.... the past. If we forget our past then we learn nothing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 anticonscience

Awful singer.

Somebody think of the children!

That's just weak man. People began an armed campaign in the 70's as a last resort to gain civil equality, which they only saw as being possible by reuniting with the 26 counties.

Songs are a great reminder of the past.... the past. If we forget our past then we learn nothing...

Not my past - I don't remember ever bombing children to pieces in supermarkets in Britain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Not to be bad or anything, but people who criticise John Delaney are a little bit simple

Having a go at him for singing songs with the fans ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭robbiezero

LorMal wrote: »
    When are we ever going to stop peddling this maudlin, over romantised, inaccurate and parochial version of our history?

Is that not the case for most rebel or war songs from any country?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭howiya

LorMal wrote: »

Perhaps you could answer the question

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

That ideology goes out the window when they persist in playing God Save the Queen as their national anthem and alienating one section of the community.

? do they play GSTQ before N Iron games? really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Always suspected the guy was an idiot, this incident has confirmed it.

He should resign immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

There is a significant difference. In theory the head of the IFA is supposed to represent both communities in the North so singing either a republican or loyalist song would offend half the population.

Practice would seem to be different as republican/nationalist players are electing to play for Ireland instead of the north

So Delaney singing a song praising an IRA hunger striker is fine with entire population of the south then?

You seem happy to speak for everyone on this. So glad you cleared that up.

There are NI players of a nationalist background in the current squad too, incidentally.

The question remains: is this acceptable behaviour for someone in Delaney's position?

As I said, if his IFA counterpart had done something similar the hissy fits on here would be pathetic and predictable.

Luckily, not all football associations have such an idiot as Delaney at their helm.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Cpt Sh!t Craic

LorMal wrote:
    Not my past - I don't remember ever bombing children to pieces in supermarkets in Britain.

I don't see the point your trying to make here.

I was referring to the dangers of a society not accepting its history for what it was, and learning from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,852 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

So I'd be interested to hear from Mister 360k a year why the FAI was wasting their money having a British legal firm issuing threats against the media while claiming it wasn't Delaney singing the Ra song.

Quick to spend the FAI's money on protecting himself and not a bother to him to cut FAI staff's pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Man I hate rebel songs. If I'm in a pub having a bit of craic and then suddenly people start shushing everyone because some tool wants to sing. Sing-songs are the pits and drain the fun out of any night out.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,226 ✭✭✭howiya

So Delaney singing a song praising an IRA hunger striker is fine with entire population of the south then?

You seem happy to speak for everyone on this. So glad you cleared that up.

There are NI players of a nationalist background in the current squad too, incidentally.

The question remains: is this acceptable behaviour for someone in Delaney's position?

As I said, if his IFA counterpart had done something similar the hissy fits on here would be pathetic and predictable.

Luckily, not all football associations have such an idiot as Delaney at their helm.

The song is a popular song that is played regularly in pubs, on jukeboxes etc.

The only problem I have with Delaney's behaviour is that at first he denied singing it and then issued a half hearted "sorry if anyone was offended" apology.

Perhaps he should not be socialising with fans especially given the contempt they have for him in relation to tickets, league of Ireland, developing talent etc. His performance in his role as CEO appears to leave a lot to be desired. But I won't be condemning him for singing a song that I would have sang along with if I was in the same pub that night.

Yes the hissy fits on here would be pathetic and predictable if the IFA president/ceo did the same. Almost identical to this thread no doubt but that's the nature of sites like Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭wally79

He should just learn Green fields of France. It's ok to sing about WWI.

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Balls.ie received legal threats to not identify Delaney in the video on the friday before his admission. The Guardian the day before, but yet according to Delaney, it was all a misunderstanding because he was uncontactable while in transit from "Marbs"...

Digging the whole deeper for himself now but unfortunately his brass neck will see him refuse to resign backed by some of the senior blazers in the FAI. Only thing that will sink them is if it hits them in the pocket, ie) sponsors distancing themselves from the association. The smokescreen he is trying to put up to discredit YBIG is not a new tactic from Delaney but if people can start putting pressure on him through the FAI's sponsors then there is no doubt his days are numbered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The song is a popular song that is played regularly in pubs, on jukeboxes etc.

I love rebel songs, and tbh I've rarely heard that sang in a pub and certainly never heard it played on a jukebox.

For those who've never heard the original song;

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭6541

He is a really bad singer, he should be banned from singing. Like he messed up a great tune about a great Irishman.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭tigger123

Can't see why John Delaney can't conduct himself with a bit of dignity and self respect. He's such an embarrassment to himself, and the FAI.

He shouldn't even have a public profile, but he's that immature that he can't resist the limelight. The man's an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

tigger123 wrote: »
    Can't see why John Delaney can't conduct himself with a bit of dignity and self respect. He's such an embarrassment to himself, and the FAI..

I agree completely.. Even the stories about his love life, and going on TV to talk about it, are just not appropriate given his position... Could you imagine GAA President Liam O'Neill going on The Saturday Night Show and saying "Brendan, I'm in love... :o... before introducing the nation to his new missus"

Good point. I also wonder what someone like Martin O'Neill thinks when his boss acts like this.
    O'Neill played for Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles. He is obviously an erudite, thoughtful and intelligent man who is sensitive to the nuances of such things.
    He must cringe seeing this gob****e act as he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

dan1895 wrote: »

People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

You'd be doing well to get a smile out of Liam O'Neill on national TV never mind a declaration of love.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones

Oh go on, do tell us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

**** who buzz-kill an evening in the pub by signing maudlin, ****e songs about murdering-terrorists need to cop the fcuk on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭6541

**** who buzz-kill an evening in the pub by signing maudlin, ****e songs about murdering-terrorists need to cop the fcuk on.

One man's terrorist another man Freedom fighter. Joe McDonnell is a hero !
    But as I said shame about the singer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

cournioni wrote: »
    Clown.

This is a guy on a €360,000 per year and is our delegate to FIFA and UEFA where representatives from Northern Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales are present. The last thing someone in his position should be doing is singing contentious songs like this. Especially with the England match coming up next year, we all know what happened the last time they were here and we do not want it happening again.

Really?

I'm pretty sure there are a fair few people who would quite like to see a few more scumbag soccer hooligans getting the living sh1te beaten out of them by the guards.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Ken L

John Deleney has to go, there should be no doubt about this point.
    I will state that the 'man' and his partner should not go through any sort of abuse on-line. But that has to be separated from the 'position' that Deleney holds.
    For far too long he has brought the FAI shame. What president of a countries football organisation goes on the beer with fans after matches. He throws a few quid behind the bar now-and-again and suddenly people think he is a great chap.
    He holds an extremely responsible position which should extend to every under-age football team around the country. this is something he has forgot in his long stay at the top of FAI. (god, the word Blatter comes to mind)

His salary is another thing that is just amazing. Why did the Irish people get frustrated when they are told that Enda Kenny is getting paid more than Obama and other leaders, but yet Deleney can get paid more than Kenny???????

He is not good for the FAI position he holds. He is definitely not good for the clubs that play in Ireland, and undoubtedly a disaster for the under-age teams and leagues that play around the country.

Please someone get him out and there may be some hope that irish soccer can recover before it is destroyed forever.