Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    i wouldn't give my details to IW for 1000 euro a year. they are the greatest bunch of idiots this country has seen and that's saying something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

It's funny that there are so few of them even though it is claimed it happens so often. And the ones that do show Gardaí removing the kid gloves tend to start in the middle of the incident and only show pushing. Funny that.

On the other hand, I have perused the "placename says no" Facebook pages and there are quite a lot of violent people on there who would justify the deployment of Gardaí in numbers. Even if you exclude the more sinister ones that look for Garda home addresses and the ones who outright demand the petrol bombing of stations, there is still a major element who believe that the 100 or so of them represent the country in their belief that storming Garda stations and the Dáil is the only wat forward.

I pity those people who are genuinely involved in peaceful protest, like the 100k+ that marched a few weeks ago, because their message is being obscured by the violent people such as we saw in Coolock.

In fairness the videos of "thugs attacking the gardai" are few and far between also, like wise any charges or convictions or assault or criminal damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

out of desperation they will announce Revenue will be asked to collect this and then there will poll tax riot situations on the streets

SeaFields wrote: »
    In a slightly unrelated matter, has a thread ever reached the magic 10K posts in after hours?! :eek:

Yes, the Household Charge / property tax I believe went round the clock (twice I think)

Also trivial things that annoy you is now on part 47 or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Tinkersbell

i wouldn't give my details to IW for 1000 euro a year. they are the greatest bunch of idiots this country has seen and that's saying something.

Have to say that I agree with you.
    I have my application pack on the kitchen table and I was going to return it, but after what we've seen from irish water and the threats and backtracking from government, combined with a mainstream and social media onslaught on mostly decent and hardworking people who've just had enough, I'm not going to get involved.
    If they want me, they can find me and I'll take it from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    moxin wrote: »
    Here you go, this is why the crowd got upset at the Gardai in Santry and then Coolock where the arrested were brought to. One Garda, yes one made it his day to push women to the ground. Look at the start at what the other Garda did to the pensioner(pink top) into the footpath, imagine that being your mother. That was uncalled for, push them away instead, don't knock them to the ground like that. They made the situation worse as some of those women have relatives who got upset at their treatment.

The media claimed 100 outside Coolock, it looked like a few hundred at that hour of night and at short notice. Coolock wouldn't have happened if the just 2 Gardai at Santry were not all gun ho.
    https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1572295319665736&set=vb.1560345520860716&type=2&theater

And as you are a fond follower of events, you'd know that there was a solidarity protest outside a Waterford Garda station. https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=788109721248401&set=vb.100001481407726&type=2&theater

Saw the video already. You might think it's not necessary to push people out of the way but it's that or let them attack the Taoiseachs car. If you are going to be involved in that kind of activity then you can't complain about the inevitable consequence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭pitero1

Have to say that I agree with you.
    I have my application pack on the kitchen table and I was going to return it, but after what we've seen from irish water and the threats and backtracking from government, combined with a mainstream and social media onslaught on mostly decent and hardworking people who've just had enough, I'm not going to get involved.
    If they want me, they can find me and I'll take it from there.

I filled that f****n form yesterday:( how they gonna work it out now? Some people fill the form, some don't. I'll be pist off if I will get the bill and my neighbour not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Saw the video already. You might think it's not necessary to push people out of the way but it's that or let them attack the Taoiseachs car. If you are going to be involved in that kind of activity then you can't complain about the inevitable consequence.

I never said that, you are deliberately deflecting and misleading us. I said

" That was uncalled for, push them away instead, don't knock them to the ground like that."

Do not knock pensioners and young women to the ground! Those 2 Gardai made the situation alot worse, I wonder what training if any they had in crowd control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭S.O

Another U turn.
    Minister for the Environment Alan Kelly has said he does not want householders to have their water pressure cut off or reduced if they do not pay their charges.

Mr Kelly said it is not realistic to say that it will happen and that such comments were never helpful and should never have been made.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1106/657233-irish-water/

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    I never said that, you are deliberately deflecting and misleading us. I said

" That was uncalled for, push them away instead, don't knock them to the ground like that."

Do not knock pensioners and young women to the ground! Those 2 Gardai made the situation alot worse, I wonder what training if any they had in crowd control.

All of them were pushed. nobody was hit, no batons were used. That wasn't a crowd control situation. You can't physically control a crowd that size with 4 or 5 Gardaí.

They were pushed to the ground with one pensioner pushed onto the ground of the footpath from the roadway. Are you proud of that?

They were pushed to the ground with one pensioner pushed onto the ground of the footpath from the roadway.

Make up your mind. Where they pushed or not?
    Are you proud of that?

Why would I be proud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

They were pushed to the ground with one pensioner pushed onto the ground of the footpath from the roadway. Are you proud of that?

They got pushed and lost balance and fell the gaurd didn't grab them and throw them on the ground what do you think the gardai should have done stand there and say please stop that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

Labour obviously aren't fit to be in government and are running scared of a rising Sinn Fein.
    The childish comments that they come out with are beneath contempt.
    It's some democracy we have when our national chamber is like a play school on a bad day.
    Shame on them.

The corrupt establishment is reeling.

The only way they can restore their smug corrupt culture,and restoring the status quo,is to blindly smear SF.

They really will try anything it seems.
    IN A final desperate bid to entice homeowners to send in their details, Irish Water has announced they will give a free Love/Hate box set in time for Christmas to all new customers who sign up before November 30th.

Company director John Teirney told WWN today that the box set will include the latest season, which is due to end this Sunday evening.
    “We have already seen a massive increase in new sign ups this morning,” he claimed. “It will make a great gift for anyone one who hasn’t seen it and comes at a retail price of €59.99.”

News of the freebie came just hours after a violent protest outside Coolock Garda station last night where hundreds of angry protesters began shouting in an aggressive manor towards the building. This was believed to have been the follow on from an earlier protest at Santry Sports Club in Northwood, where Taoiseach Enda Kenny was attending an opening.

“The daft bastards don’t get it yet,” explained one protester. “No one is going to pay this charge and they are not listening to peaceful protests. Unfortunately, it is time to step it up a gear and start making some noise.”

Yesterday, the High Court granted an order setting up a 20-metre exclusion zone around water meter installations, which, when enforced could see people evacuated from their homes if they fall under the radius range.

“My house is ten meters from the mains outside so when they come to install it I have to move to the back garden.” said one man. “What if it’s raining or something? I’ll have to watch me Love/Hate Boxset through the back window. It’s an absolute disgrace.”
    Full details here.
    Love/Hate bribe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Creative Juices

Why is the December 10th Irish Water protest not nationwide like the last one?
    I like to avoid Dublin wherever possible.

Make up your mind. Where they pushed or not?

Oh, still deflecting, pretending you cannot read posts, keep digging. They were pushed to the ground.
    Why would I be proud?

Are you proud of the Garda pushing the pensioner to the ground?

I'd say going for a big concentration of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Full details here.
    Love/Hate bribe

make it a Star Trek Blu-ray box set and I'm in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

S.O wrote: »

All this is is a charm offensive ah sure we shouldn't have done this that and the other thing, tis anything to get you to sign up at this stage, so if there not going to reduce the pressure as a punitive measure that only leaves the courts and revenue

And if they try the revenue trick then they think they have problems now it will be nothing compared to the ****storm if they try that tbh.

Shin

This one will be focused on Leinster house.

(a few TD's might do well to 'chuck a sicky' that day tbh.)

Oh, still deflecting, pretending you cannot read posts, keep digging. They were pushed to the ground.

Are you proud of the Garda pushing the pensioner to the ground?

They got pushed admittedly hard and fell over the women at the start got pushed and tripped over the kerb.......

A lot of people pushing gaurds in that video aswell so is it protester pushes gaurd = just protesting but gaurd pushes protester=brutality

The gaurds can't just stand there and let the leader of the country (god help us) be set upon what do you want the gaurds to do like only so mutch asking can be done

This one will be focused on Leinster house.

(a few TD's might do well to 'chuck a sicky' that day tbh.)

Say a few gardai with a few holidays left will have a day off feck that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

shinzon wrote: »
    All this is is a charm offensive ah sure we shouldn't have done this that and the other thing, tis anything to get you to sign up at this stage, so if there not going to reduce the pressure as a punitive measure that only leaves the courts and revenue

And if they try the revenue trick then they think they have problems now it will be nothing compared to the ****storm if they try that tbh.

Shin

I think if they try the revenue they could find the property tax come back to haunt them as well.
    Bring it on limp dicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Full details here.
    Love/Hate bribe

Feck it.

They have me at last, I''ll sign immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,225 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Anyone see the Labour Party's twitter page today?

There's pathetic and then there's that!

https://twitter.com/labour

Roll on election time.. can't wait to see them wiped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,613 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

cajonlardo wrote: »
    Feck it.

They have me at last, I''ll sign immediately.

Be careful. RTE have put a device in the DVD's which will blow up any house without a TV licence.

gladrags wrote: »

The only way they can restore their smug corrupt culture,and restoring the status quo,is to blindly smear SF.

I think the only thing this government can do is to call a general election and allow the people be the judge of their lies and their cronyism.
    That would take guts so I can't see them doing it anytime soon.
    Like the previous government they'll hang on until the pressure is unbearable, all the time getting their crony mates cushy positions on state boards etc.
    This country has been corrupted by the dodgy dealings of the establishment party's and whoever their lapdogs were at the time.
    It's a disgrace and anyone who continues to support these gombeens should hang their heads in shame.

gladrags wrote: »

I think the only thing this government can do is to call a general election and allow the people be the judge of their lies and their cronyism.
    That would take guts so I can't see them doing it anytime soon.
    Like the previous government they'll hang on until the pressure is unbearable, all the time getting their crony mates cushy positions on state boards etc.
    This country has been corrupted by the dodgy dealings of the establishment party's and whoever their lapdogs were at the time.
    It's a disgrace and anyone who continues to support these gombeens should hang their heads in shame.
    The real question is where do we go from here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭knarkypants

Be careful. RTE have put a device in the DVD's which will blow up any house without a TV licence.

I'm more worried about this tbh. :pac:
    FOLLOWING last weekend’s show of public strength and solidarity in the form of countrywide protests over the introduction of water charges, the government has warned that failure to register with Irish Water may result in Santa Claus not coming this year.
    The protests, which were attended by an estimated 150,000 people, came as a shock to the Fine Gael/Labour coalition, who expected a much lower turnout against the onerous charges.
    Enda Kenny fired back with a cautionary statement warning the public that failure to comply with the water charges would result in a 4% hike in the Universal Social Charge, and followed up that by stating that the €5 euro hike in child support introduced in Budget 2015 may be in jeopardy if water rates are not introduced.
    With the nation failing to bend at either threat, the Taoiseach opened Dáil proceedings by telling the men and women of Ireland that unless they behave themselves and pay their bills, they may not get anything from Santy this year.
    “It’s getting very close to Christmas, and Santy is watching everyone very closely to make sure they’re being good, ” said Mr. Kenny, whose grasp on power was revealed to be slipping in a recent opinion poll.
    “Right now there’s 150,000 people who marched on Saturday that are on the naughty list, and nearly a million households who have yet to return their completed application packs to Irish Water, so I think there might be a lot of coal in people’s stocking on Christmas morning”.
    With further protests planned for December, Kenny then lead his fellow TDs in a rendition of ‘Santa Claus Is Coming To Town’, with dance moves which included wagging a finger disapprovingly during the line ‘be good, for goodness sake’.