Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    mikom wrote: »
    Piles again, donvito99?

I hate to disappoint but alas, no.

Nice to see the thread going no where fast.

http://i.imgur.com/jgEfAOe.png

The two gardai on the right already had her under control.

The Incredible Bulk almost got ran over himself in the process of bum-rushing the woman.

Absolute lummox nearly even knocked your man in the suit over trying to be a hero.

Maybe he thinks he's Secret Service, protecting his client from all danger

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    http://i.imgur.com/jgEfAOe.png

The two gardai on the right already had her under control.

The Incredible Bulk almost got ran over himself in the process of bum-rushing the woman.

Absolute lummox nearly even knocked your man in the suit over trying to be a hero.

http://www.quickmeme.com/img/8e/8ebe9a43563edf77965c182913ccd969fc78c42b4bd74eb5dbed5d4024d42efc.jpg

Perhaps he didn't handle it as well as you might have Url, but he cleared a path better than a fart in a telephone box could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    I am sick and tired of some elements of the Anti Water Charges group demonizing the Gardai. They are just trying to do their jobs and are caught in the middle. The scenes in Tallaght were shocking - anyone trying to justify them lose any credibility in my eyes.

I think the Government are making a mess of most things they touch at the moment - whether it's the overpaid Quango that is Irish Water, the cronyism and the arrogance, the Austerity etc.

BUT.... That doesn't justify people behaving like thugs against sub contractors working for GMC or Sierra or the poor Gardai who have a **** job to do.

Throwing things at not just Joan Burton but other middle aged women who were graduates of second chance education in Tallaght, ruining their day, wasting Garda time. This was a mob - not a peaceful protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

donvito99 wrote: »
    http://www.quickmeme.com/img/8e/8ebe9a43563edf77965c182913ccd969fc78c42b4bd74eb5dbed5d4024d42efc.jpg

Perhaps he didn't handle it as well as you might have Url, but he cleared a path better than a fart in a telephone box could.

He did in his fcuk! :P

Your one wasn't even in front of the car when he made his move. Watch the video frame by frame, if anything he caused more of an obstruction than the woman did. He genuinely nearly got knocked down because the car had already started moving again.

It was a stupidly OTT reaction. Would be comical if he didn't launch a person who was already under control headlong into a bollard.

I accept that they're just doing their job, but there's no harm in pointing out when they do it badly. And that was pretty bad

Just following orders......

Ah yes, it's been a while since I've had recourse to Godwin's Law.

Your one wasn't even in front of the car when he made his move. Watch the video frame by frame, if anything he caused more of an obstruction than the woman did. He genuinely nearly got knocked down because the car had already started moving again.

It was a stupidly OTT reaction. Would be comical if he didn't launch a person who was already under control headlong into a bollard.

I accept that they're just doing their job, but there's no harm in pointing out when they do it badly. And that was pretty bad

I agree with you, but you must also agree that they find themselves in an impossible position in these situations and that labelling them as thugs because they're trying to, ya know, ensure the safety and legitimacy of the PM 'n all that is bowing to emotion.

And also suggesting we're in a police state and conditions of living to that effect is hilarious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

A woman stands in front of the democratically elected leader of the country, gets shoved out of the way and people complain. We are such a precious species.

Meanwhile on planet anti-IW...

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/88579/328630.png

People pointing out rightly that JB is using education ceremony to deflect and then dragging pepper sprayed childuhren into the mix. The sooner it is accepted that this purportedly nation rebuilding movement is a fad the better and we can all, once the boom returns, fúck everything up again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

I agree with you, but you must also agree that they find themselves in an impossible position in these situations and that labelling them as thugs because they're trying to, ya know, ensure the safety and legitimacy of the PM 'n all that is bowing to emotion.

And also suggesting we're in a police state and conditions of living to that effect is hilarious.

I hear this all the time. Perhaps if people got off their arse and saw the world a little but they will realise that Ireland is anything but a police state. Keyboard warriors drawing oxygen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,227 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I agree with you, but you must also agree that they find themselves in an impossible position in these situations and that labelling them as thugs because they're trying to, ya know, ensure the safety and legitimacy of the PM 'n all that is bowing to emotion

They've done a decent job of that thus far without such displays of reactionary hotheadedness

I don't buy into ant of that nonsense. One of the better aspects of living in a country like Ireland is that you can openly criticise the state and its agents without the fear of reprisal

Unless you're a whistleblower... I jest :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Putinovsky

The way I see it there is currently a mini class revolution going on with this Anti IW movement.

The working class are attempting an uprising. And right now people are setting up and joining anti IW groups in the hope that they can ride this movement into the number 1 chair.

The elite need to stamp down on this rising. Hence water was turned off in jobstown today. The poor ordinary people need a spanking. They need to be reminded of who is REALLY in charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Putinovsky wrote: »
    The way I see it there is currently a mini class revolution going on with this Anti IW movement.

The working class are attempting an uprising. And right now people are setting up and joining anti IW groups in the hope that they can ride this movement into the number 1 chair.

The elite need to stamp down on this rising. Hence water was turned off in jobstown today. The poor ordinary people need a spanking. They need to be reminded of who is REALLY in charge.

Poor attempt
    F-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭freddiek

Thuggery, in the grand tradition of our police.

Thanks be to god that these gobdaws are not armed.

Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I would like Irish Water as a company to remain in it's current form

The Gardai are being very restrained; in any other country they would have been using water cannon by now and bringing in the army and it remains to be seen what contingency plans have been made for worse behaviour. No sound on the videos and I wonder what kind of language the protester are using. Sooner rather than later they will need to act .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Graces7 wrote: »
    The Gardai are being very restrained; in any other country they would have been using water cannon by now and bringing in the army and it remains to be seen what contingency plans have been made for worse behaviour. No sound on the videos and I wonder what kind of language the protester are using. Sooner rather than later they will need to act .

Ironic with water cannon! Gardai can only do so much enforcing an unpopular measure. What you are saying is that FG\Lab have failed to convince the populace of the benefits of IW so lets send in the army to force the issue. That will stoke it further, we don't want that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,901 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Graces7 wrote: »
    in any other country they would have been using water cannon.

Will they be metered on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

I agree with metered water charges
    The police force of this state are now nothing but hired thugs for a private company. They have lost all credibility in my eyes. The damage that force is doing to it's image in working class areas all around this country is now irreversible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

I agree with metered water charges
    All I can say is Jaysus, the powers that be in this country are turning it into dung heap.

That Gardaí needs to be arrested and charged with assault asap. Frightening to think a thug like that is a supposed defender of justice. Scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Why is your one on the car? Really stupid from the guard

Are protestors anti Irish Water or Anti Water Charges? Interesting that its 63%-37% in favour of water charges on here, are boards.ie users that different from the general populace where 99% of people are against water charges (according to some) or is that against Irish Water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Is it any wonder we have Gardaí behaving like this ,For to long they have been above the law in this country ,its only lately that we have started to try make them answerable and even then some still carry on as normal just look at the latest Penalty points issue breaking over the weekend ,

They say the way some protestors are behaving is reflecting badly and even hurting the issues but surely the mounting video evidence of this type of behaviour by members of An Garda is equality helping to cement options for the Anti side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

That Gardaí needs to be arrested and charged with assault asap. Frightening to think a thug like that is a supposed defender of justice. Scumbag.

What he done was a bit OTT in fairness but what do you think would happen if she stood in front of any other Prime minister/presidents car it would be fairly similar I would think enda is a prick but he's still there until the next election I no it may not be right but she was blocking the road and removed(bit forceably) but that was not brutality the gardai didn't beat lumps outa her or anyting she was flung out of the way

One thing that annoys me about all this is protestors push and shove gardai that's peacefull protest but gardai push and shove back then that's brutality if the protestors protested on the footpath out of the way there would be no pushing pulling throwing watever of people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

coolemon wrote: »
    You are crazy Maryanne. Condoning thuggery and violence towards someone who was clearly not obstructing anything.

Er, she ran in front of our Prime Ministers car. Were they to wait until she got run over or possible lobbed a bomb at him? They did the right thing in shoving her out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

wow sierra wrote: »
    I am sick and tired of some elements of the Anti Water Charges group demonizing the Gardai. They are just trying to do their jobs and are caught in the middle. The scenes in Tallaght were shocking - anyone trying to justify them lose any credibility in my eyes.

I think the Government are making a mess of most things they touch at the moment - whether it's the overpaid Quango that is Irish Water, the cronyism and the arrogance, the Austerity etc.

BUT.... That doesn't justify people behaving like thugs against sub contractors working for GMC or Sierra or the poor Gardai who have a **** job to do.

Throwing things at not just Joan Burton but other middle aged women who were graduates of second chance education in Tallaght, ruining their day, wasting Garda time. This was a mob - not a peaceful protest.

Careful now....common sense is not allowed here!

I do understand that people are angry, although as I've said elsewhere I do think a lot of is being exaggerated and/or jumping on bandwagons at this point, and of course people have a right to protest but that's not what's happening now.

People are quite simply acting like thugs and animals and then have the audacity to criticize the Gardai when they try to do their job.

In reality the Gardai have been remarkably restrained. In any other country in the world the batons and guns would have been out long ago and prisons would be heaving.

At the end of the day we elected these people and pretending that they bullied their way in to power and poor little innocent ordinary joe/jane soap did nothing wrong will help no one.

sjb25 wrote: »
    What he done was a bit OTT in fairness but what do you think would happen if she stood in front of any other Prime minister/presidents car it would be fairly similar I would think enda is a prick but he's still there until the next election I no it may not be right but she was blocking the road and removed(bit forceably) but that was not brutality the gardai didn't beat lumps outa her or anyting she was flung out of the way

One thing that annoys me about all this is protestors push and shove gardai that's peacefull protest but gardai push and shove back then that's brutality if the protestors protested on the footpath out of the way there would be no pushing pulling throwing watever of people

Maybe you are right about where the protestors stand but standing nice and quietly to the side makes it alot easier from their issues to be ignored , just saying..
    But my main point is you are assuming that its always the protestors that start when on more than one occasion it has been the heavy-handed approach by an Garda that have helped to enflame the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Maybe you are right about where the protestors stand but standing nice and quietly to the side makes it alot easier from their issues to be ignored , just saying..
    But my main point is you are assuming that its always the protestors that start when on more than one occasion it has been the heavy-handed approach by an Garda that have helped to enflame the situation.

If the protests were actually peaceful then the Gardai would not need to be heavy handed.

Hey you would think that would be the case but ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

Er, she ran in front of our Prime Ministers car. Were they to wait until she got run over or possible lobbed a bomb at him? They did the right thing in shoving her out of the way.
    My guess is that the gardai would have been aware of what happened with the Tanaiste earlier and were determined that it would not be repeated.

Had they escorted the protestor slowly away from the car, tying up two gardai, then by the time they returned the car might well have been surrounded.

They had to dispatch her quickly. Did they use excessive force? That would seem to depend on which side of the metered water debate you are on. ;)

But it is amusing to look at the faux outrage of some who earlier were minimising the throwing of a brick (ONE brick is how I think they put it).