Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**ALL THINGS IRISH WATER/WATER RELATED** Part 2 - MOD WARNING IN OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    At the end of the day, she's a girl/young woman.
    To fire her into a metal bollard like that was, and is, a disgusting and disgraceful act.
    The fact that pro water tax people are on here condoning it saddens me.
    But sure that's the type of country and society we have now.

Perhaps we all should reflect on that sad fact.
    Goodnight everyone.

So protesters can throw things at the Tánaiste's head and Gardaí can't use force to uphold law and order.

I am opposed to this kind of thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Phoebas wrote: »
    Possibly a bit over the top. Its hard to be sure with only a partial video. We might see more in the coming days or information from other people who were there.

Yes. There might be a video from another angle that makes it look completely different : woman grabs Garda's arm and jumps to the ground pulling his arm with her. Garda in fact tries to help her to stay on her feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I do not want to pay for water in any way
    donvito99 wrote: »
    So protesters can throw things at the Tánaiste's head and Gardaí can't use force to uphold law and order.

Perspective. It was a water balloon.

Someone called it a Missile earlier

Get some perspective here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I would like Irish Water as a company to remain in it's current form
    listermint wrote: »

By definition it would be a missile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

They were talking about the violent assault where a woman was violently and thuggishly thrown into a bollard by a thug Garda who obstructed his leaders car.

Far worse than a water balloon thrown at Joan.

Bollards are not designed for people to be flung into them.

It is a very dangerous and unsafe practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,353 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Anyway it's the witching hour.

Have to work in the morning to pay for Joans several gold pensions.

Ain't no shills like late night shills

Night night all

Get a dictionary.

It was a missile : "any object that is thrown with the intention of causing injury or damage"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Get a dictionary.

It was a missile : "any object that is thrown with the intention of causing injury or damage"

So the woman who was thrown against the bollard was a missile now?

coolemon wrote: »
    So the woman who was thrown against the bollard was a missile now?

Again. Its not clear that she was thrown. She may have jumped/deliberately fallen. And for sure, neither she, nor the Garda intended to injure the bollard. Its a bollard !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

efb wrote: »
    By definition it would be a missile

Water balloon.... The definitive saviour of the Iraq war...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Get a dictionary.

And just out of interest what kind of damage or injury can a water balloon cause? Last time I checked Joan Burton isn't some kind of wicked witch who will dissolve when put into contact with water...

I would like to see IW to cease trading and water to remain controlled by government/local auth
    I despair at the contrived attitude towards the state and its agents shown by people here. It only strengthens my resolve to resist resistance shown to water charges. I agree with a charge on water and only wish we had a better class of politicians to drive it through. In my view, policing of the protest has been more than impressive, given the Guard's poor history in relation to Rossport and Shannon Airport. The use of force has been entirely restrained and where it has been used it has been minimal. If that woman did not wish to be hurled into a bollard - a stupid move on that gardas part - she should be reminded that she's not entitled to block the transport of the Prime Minister of a modern state and kettle him for hours potentially as happened to Burton.

The horse is high with you and you should know that there are plenty of people who will, at the ballot box without bricks and intimidation, ensure continuity in our democracy by shunning populism and remaining appropriately numbed to this hack type politics.

Anyway it's the witching hour.

Have to work in the morning to pay for Joans several gold pensions.

Ain't no shills like late night shills

Night night all

I was impressed with the way Burton handled it, smiled of something being hurled at her head from behind having just been liberated after 2 hours at the hands of a mob.

Democracy, yeah right.

If this is what boards is like wtf is p.ie like???

You don't see her hit the bollard in that video btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,228 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Indo, definitely not biased or misleading in any way, shape or form :rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/Independent_ie/status/533983758043865088

They're literally being the equivalent there of a neighbor that saw their husband beat his wife but doesn't want to rat on him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

BoatMad wrote: »
    I know there is a very reasonable survey done by the credit union, thats suggest its really about 70-30 in attitude to meters and paying for water, certaibkly we have no ideas about the million you are taking for granted..

A referendum or a general election tomorrow would wipe your ignorance away and consign your fantasy survey to the pile of daily biased worthless toilet paper passing as 'news' coming from BailedOut News and Media™ otherwise known as Tax Non Dom Media™
    A million people have ignored or spoiled the forms Irish Water sent them. A couple of hundred thousand marched all over the country in the rain with their kids and grandparents.
    On top of all of this, if you were honest and paid any attention you could see straight away that 99% of the people on the streets , shops and workplaces absolutely hate water charges and everyone responsible for them. Hate with a passion. - There is no popular or even unpopular movement for Water Charges. Nobody has ever marched for water charges but they have marched against them.

™*[A consortium of eight banks, including State-owned AIB and Bank of Ireland, has agreed to write off almost €140m in debt owed by Independent News and Media. Conflict of interest anyone ? The Independent................Anything But Independent :rolleyes: ]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I was supposed to get a shilling bonus from FG for doing 50 posts that Sunday. According to the kind people who counted up mine. It never came.

You've been had, dx.
    They don't even make shillings anymore :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

No, but you sure as fuk heard the bang of her head/body on it.

You don't see someone throw a balloon at Burton either, but it doesn't mean it just magically appeared on the screen from nowhere

And it doesn't matter if she hit the bollard or not, she could have easily done. It's the action that's important.. not the outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

You don't see someone throw a balloon at Burton either, but it doesn't mean it just magically appeared on the screen from nowhere

Is there photographs of her hitting the bollard or a video from a different angle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

I agree with metered water charges
    I work in retail poor Joan I know what it fells like to get silly things thrown at you, idiots hurling abuse government have to hear ordinary folks anger I cannot afford water charges which will rise every year sneaky :( liars.

Is there photographs of her hitting the bollard or a video from a different angle?

I don't know, and it's irrelevant anyway. The video shows her being flung like a rag doll towards it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

All I can say is Jaysus, the powers that be in this country are turning it into dung heap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

So protesters can throw things at the Tánaiste's head...

Like you care.

Dry those crocodile tears, there.

Tony EH wrote: »
    Like you care.

Dry those crocodile tears, there.

I'm sure you don't either...

mikom wrote: »
    All I can say is Jaysus, the powers that be in this country are turning it into dung heap.

FFS. We're another step closer to tyranny, aren't we?

We are in me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,701 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The Indo, definitely not biased or misleading in any way, shape or form :rolleyes:

https://twitter.com/Independent_ie/status/533983758043865088

They're literally being the equivalent there of a neighbor that saw their husband beat his wife but doesn't want to rat on him

Wow...that's pathetic.

TBH, I've always been willing to give articles in the Indo a far shout, even with O'Brien's shareholdings...but that tweet is just ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

FFS. We're another step closer to tyranny, aren't we?

We are in me hole.

Piles again, donvito99?

http://i.imgur.com/jgEfAOe.png

The two gardai on the right already had her under control.

The Incredible Bulk almost got ran over himself in the process of bum-rushing the woman.

Absolute lummox nearly even knocked your man in the suit over trying to be a hero.