Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

N20 wrote: »
    Looks like Christians should come out of their group now most likely with Castletroy unless Clonmel can rally, and unless CBC/ Castletroy trip themselves up.
    Flannans dont seem to have made any progress.

Looking at the ASR team they aren't the force they were - although still impressive. Interesting Peter Casey playing in midfield ( or named there) i woukd have thought he would have been closer to goal. Next round V Midleton is the big one. Ronan Dwane will surely have been in Mallow yest. Midletons first game out they will have had time under their belt to prepare and a chance to lay down a marker. They need a good campaign. They need to turn around their Harty fortunes. Its seriously time a Cork team won Harty and Its either Midleton or Rochestown in my opinion.

Im sorry I didn't get to Charleville Templemore game, what a pity Charleville didnt hold on for victory. Given the long season for the Tipp hurlers and footballers I expect this will have disrupted their early Harty preparations and both Templemore and Thurles will improve as competition goes on.

Hah (hurleratheart!!!) I think your harsh on Rochestown. They showed some lovely flashes of skill yesterday - as did AG. There was a lot of clever ball played into forwards and like last year they remain a strong physical team. Despite best efforts of Evan Sheehan Rochestown even though they did look rusty pulled away handy in the end. Sheehan is a lovely wristy striker of the ball, and Busteed has a great eye for goal although I see examiner credited Sheehan with goal I thought it was Busteed. I was surprised Rochestown went so defensive early in second half, and they lost their shape a few times, but Cashman was very solid at centre back. Powter took a bit of punishment from O Sullivan I was surprised he got away with persistent fouling. General consensus was both teams will improve and AG are definitely looking to next year/year after. Crunch game against Templemore next day out, if they don't win there, their chance is likely gone.

There is more in Rochestown they need their big guns up and running. Senior players Eoghan O Brien got 1-5 from play yesterday some lovely scores as did Cormack and Powter. Cormack was unlucky not to goal straight after the AG goal, the keeper deflecting over. Goalie for Rochestown also pulled off a great save from an Evan Sheehan free.

Good crowd in Mayfield yesterday, a good Glen contingent Id say still celebrating and why not.

Only 2 wins for Cork teams but with exception of Hammies, looks like Charleville and Colmans ran out of steam or were pipped. Both could still be in the shake up but a first round loss can be difficult to recover from. Youghal and Midleton yet to play and will be out next round on 4th I think. Limerick have 2 wins in the bag ASR will definitely progress most likely with Castletroy but Doon seems to have stalled. DLS are clearly Waterfords hope but surely Midleton will stand up and fight in that group.

Munster GAA usually put up league tables if they do Ill post them here. Still early days and always the prospect of an upset but next round will separate the men from the boys. Some more great games ahead.

Mitchelstowns great win in B as well yest caught my eye, great to see it.

Tide needs to turn this year for Cork underage hurling

Maybe I am harsh on Rochestown but bitter bitter disapointment last year worse than other years

Like Middleton theres a lot of talent

Last year minor comp was wide open Harty same this year with no huge faverite in Munster

I agree ard scoil are not as loaded a team as before but they have sideline And rescources cork teams dont have

I would put them slight favoritrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Anyone word on football manager? Frank doing his thing again, flush enough ****e through the papers so fatigue sets in and then they announce their man. Morgan is a smokescreen. I'm willing to bet its McCarthy, selector on previous failed team, same as Kingston. They love the guy they can control. Wonder will there be walkouts or "retirements" as they called it last time.if Mccarthy gets it ill find it very hard to spend my hard earned cash going to the games of a team who know they've been saddled with not the best man again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Maybe I am harsh on Rochestown but bitter bitter disapointment last year worse than other years

Like Middleton theres a lot of talent

Last year minor comp was wide open Harty same this year with no huge faverite in Munster

I agree ard scoil are not as loaded a team as before but they have sideline And rescources cork teams dont have

I would put them slight favoritrs
    Would you think john sullivan will make the cork minors
    I hope he does even though midfield cork should with Saich coughlan, possibly Harrington etc have real competition there.

lim4ev wrote: »
    Is Kingston underage for the harty this yr and where will the tipp cork match be on now considering paircui chaoimh is flattened who's due a home fixture?

If cork win it's limerick in limerick.

Deco99 wrote: »
    Anyone word on football manager? Frank doing his thing again, flush enough ****e through the papers so fatigue sets in and then they announce their man. Morgan is a smokescreen. I'm willing to bet its McCarthy, selector on previous failed team, same as Kingston. They love the guy they can control. Wonder will there be walkouts or "retirements" as they called it last time.if Mccarthy gets it ill find it very hard to spend my hard earned cash going to the games of a team who know they've been saddled with not the best man again.
    The players are not in favour for mccarthy and healy looks like he will get it and if not likely to be Tompkins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dcrosskid

Tipperary in the quarter final in the hurling it's not a unbeatable draw imo as tippeary are going under transition so I wouldn't worry about it.

TTM I have seen you say this a few times recently with regards to Tipp. I wouldn't be so sure about a major transition tbh. I'll give a small bit of info of where I feel Tipp will be next year all going to plan.

Going through our team & who I think will be gone next year I think possibly 3 starters will become subs & another 3 maybe 4 from the panel along with Eamon O Shea will be gone.

3 Starters - Conor O Brien, Shane McGrath & James Woodlock.
    4 Panel Members - Conor O Mahonney, Dara Egan & maybe one of Lar Corbett & Gar Ryan.

Eamon O Shea is obviously a big loss as he was hugely popular with the players but his tactics (or lack there of) were often questionable. Mick Ryan will hopefully have learned enough from his 6 years as selector & wont need too much time to bed himself into senior management.

I believe Cork have a bigger transition to make next year after JBM leaving than Tipp. We still have the nucleas of an excellent team & the age profile of our team at the minute is solid imo.

I am hoping that the 3 Maher's - Bonnar, Paudie & Brendan can improve their performance's next year (possibly with repositioning back to their more natural positions) along with the younger lads imposing themselves a bit more like Barrett, Bubbles, Ronan Maher, Jason Forde, Niall O Meara & also the likes of Mickey Breen & Conor Kenny really pressing for a starting spot. Obviously we would hope Callanan can maintain his form from the last 2 years also.

The return of Micky Cahill, Noel McGrath & his younger brother John & their clubmate John Meagher who have all struggled with injury or sickness now to come back in & I think we will be there or thereabouts again next year.

I wouldn't be as quick to be writing Tipp off as in transition TTM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Deco99 wrote: »

Save your money - McCarthy won't be getting the job.
    Not sure about your suggestion that CCB selected Kingston because they can control him. He's his own man, period.

I'd agree Kingston is he's own man and bringing in the rock proved that.

dcrosskid wrote: »
    TTM I have seen you say this a few times recently with regards to Tipp. I wouldn't be so sure about a major transition tbh. I'll give a small bit of info of where I feel Tipp will be next year all going to plan.

Going through our team & who I think will be gone next year I think possibly 3 starters will become subs & another 3 maybe 4 from the panel along with Eamon O Shea will be gone.

3 Starters - Conor O Brien, Shane McGrath & James Woodlock.
    4 Panel Members - Conor O Mahonney, Dara Egan & maybe one of Lar Corbett & Gar Ryan.

Eamon O Shea is obviously a big loss as he was hugely popular with the players but his tactics (or lack there of) were often questionable. Mick Ryan will hopefully have learned enough from his 6 years as selector & wont need too much time to bed himself into senior management.

I believe Cork have a bigger transition to make next year after JBM leaving than Tipp. We still have the nucleas of an excellent team & the age profile of our team at the minute is solid imo.

I am hoping that the 3 Maher's - Bonnar, Paudie & Brendan can improve their performance's next year (possibly with repositioning back to their more natural positions) along with the younger lads imposing themselves a bit more like Barrett, Bubbles, Ronan Maher, Jason Forde, Niall O Meara & also the likes of Mickey Breen & Conor Kenny really pressing for a starting spot. Obviously we would hope Callanan can maintain his form from the last 2 years also.

The return of Micky Cahill, Noel McGrath & his younger brother John & their clubmate John Meagher who have all struggled with injury or sickness now to come back in & I think we will be there or thereabouts again next year.

I wouldn't be as quick to be writing Tipp off as in transition TTM.
    A lot of what you say is correct But something has to change in tippeary as one all ireland win shows while tipp were a very good team kk won most and just keeping as it is won't work tbh next year.
    Not whole sale changes but a new style of play and few new players are needed.

People often think contuinty is good when a certain standard has been reached at a competitive level and the fear is don't change much and at least teams won't go back but while that's understand understandable if you want to move that extra step forward and do what hasn't been done before then things have to change as clearly as good as tipp were weren't good enough to win v kk and kk have no doubt will change

Galway and mayo football have realised that with there management and the continuity of before players don't want to accept as want new proven management as you only get one chance at senior and players don't have long career mainly
    They want to win
    Mayo didn't change much this year and expected to continue from last year bar a few things but it wasn't good enough.

The concerns with Ryan is he's outstanding hurling selector no doubt but the he the change at this time that tipp need when Ryan was there for nearly over seven years

Imo Ryan should have taken a break and came back in three years as manager
    Eoin kelly even question the appointment last summer been made so early

Also tipp year on year have been competing excellent wise to a degree but winning nothing and it's hard to replicate that with no silver ware and only way to re energise a team is to reinvent them
    That is change and imo i think tipp will not be as strong as previous years
    I totally agree cork are in more need of a change and that's in a new system
    If cork bring in a system that works they will be a new energy within
    They looked a team tired of the system last year.

Cork have no choice but to change the system
    Tipp should also but the concern is Ryan being part of two previous management or three won't see a need to change much and if that's so it's hard to see tipp winning an all ireland
    I'm delighted cork got tipp as hurling needs cork and tipp games imo

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/mourneabbey-switch-focus-to-munster-title/1073948/
    Hopefully cork ladies football will win another all ireland this year and great to hear a large crowd by the report here went to see.
    Great to see the ladies doing brilliant for cork at club, senior and the minor all ireland this year in inter county and narrowly loosing the under twenty one all ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

The players are not in favour for mccarthy and healy looks like he will get it and if not likely to be Tompkins.

Has that ever been an issue with the CCB?

I'll stand corrected on Kingston, dont follow the hurling as much, so looking from the outside that it was continuity from previous management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭malascoile

Jeremy Saich had surgery on his hand recently, hence why he wasnt playing

On the fourth of November a crucial harty cup game between ag Mhuire and charville will take place likely imo to be in Mallow and considering two teams have already lost one, who ever looses here it's unlikely to go through with Rochestown who should beat Youghal with out declan Dalton handy enough.

I don't mind who wins between charville and ag and I'm huge fan of coughlan and sheehan and gunning and aherne and think all, three definitely could have a big bearing on cork minor this year.
    Probably they going further is good for cork but at the same time there building a team but on the other side charville imo are a year down the line from last year and i really think they would represent cork well at the quarter finals and loughlin last year he's key for them so this imo is extremely hard what team to go for.

Bandon play dls

Midelton play ard scoil the same day.

Midelton loosing isn't there group over as it's only the first game for them but imo it's essentially who wins here gets to top the group and play a group runners up in the quarter final.

The 18th November
    Rocco play Templemore
    Youghal v ag
    Colmans v doon although on website has them playing in December also
    Cbc v flannans
    Midelton v Hamilton

2nd December
    Rochestown V charville
    Midelton v black water
    Youghal v Templemore
    Cbc v Castletroy

16th December
    Bandon v black water
    Ag v Templemore
    Dls v midelton charville v Youghal

Next Wednesday the dean Ryan cup final between midelton and ard scoil.

The six Cork school teams from the harty cup that were listed in the echo.

Colmans
    Davis Catherines
    Morrisey Fermoy
    O Reagan Kilworth
    Neville Catherine
    Mcgrath Kilworth
    Niall and Keith o leary castle lyons
    Dean linehain ballyhooly
    Hickey ballyduff
    O connor bride rovers
    Jamie o leary Castlelyons
    O Donnell Catherines
    Cronin water grass hill
    Donnellan Kilworth
    Condon glanworth
    Galvin Catherines
    Murphy Castlelyons

Rochestown
    O mahony rockies
    O connor Douglas
    Nathan Walsh Douglas
    Mcgrath Douglas
    Murphy Douglas
    cashman rockies
    Denn Douglas
    Flaherty tracton
    Holland Douglas
    Sullivan rockies
    Cormack rockies
    O brien Douglas
    Turnbull Douglas
    Powter Douglas
    Mccauliffe Douglas
    Andrews shamrocks

Cbc

O connell midelton
    Green rockies
    Crowley sars
    Barrett barrs
    Hennesy barrs
    Moloney midelton
    Mcnamara eirns own
    Downey glen
    Walsh cloughduv
    Keohane Ballincollig
    Finn midelton
    Flynn eirns own
    Woulfe white church
    Corkery glen
    Blake white church
    Sullivan kilshannig
    Monaghan eirns own
    Taylor eirns own
    Doyle Douglas

Ag Mhuire

Brien rockies
    Sullivan glen
    Sullivan na Piarsaigh
    O hargain na Piarsaigh
    Connery na Piarsaigh
    Morrisey na Piarsaigh
    Coughlan glen
    Killan aherne na Piarsaigh
    J o mathuna
    Ryan mac eochtain glen
    Evan sheehan na Piarsaigh
    Bhraham glen
    Gunning na Piarsaigh
    Mac giolla na Piarsaigh
    Hainfinn na Piarsaigh
    Busteed glen
    Murphy na Piarsaigh

Charville cbs

Cian Collins charville playing sunday final fine keeper
    Sheehy Ballingarry
    Doyle charville
    Callaghan charville
    Herr effin
    Paddy loughlin kilmallock limerick minor
    Meade charville
    Darragh Guiney Newtownshandrum
    Cagney charville
    Fitzgerald bruree
    Jack Barry charville
    John geary Newtownshandrum
    Buckley charville
    Griffin Newtownshandrum
    Copps ballyhea
    James Fitzgerald croom
    Laffan croom

Hamilton
    Dart o flynn valley
    O mahony bandon
    Kelliher newestown
    Sheehan kilbrittain
    Mccarthy bandon
    Hurley valley
    Mccarthy courcey rovers
    O regan valley
    Butler valley
    Maguire courcey rovers
    Lyons valley
    Dinnen newestown
    Murray ballinascarthy
    Buckley Ballinhassig
    Lyons valley

Kearney ballyroe
    O Donovan newestown
    Crowley valley rovers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭lim4ev

TTM

Where and what time is the Dean ryan final on? What new players can we expect to see next yr in the cork senior jersey i'm assuming there will be newcomers considering you feel ye can beat Tipp [genuine question]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭lim4ev

TTM

Where and what time is the Dean ryan final on? What new players can we expect to see next yr in the cork senior jersey i'm assuming there will be newcomers considering you feel ye can beat Tipp [genuine question]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

malascoile wrote: »
    Jeremy Saich had surgery on his hand recently, hence why he wasnt playing

How long is he out for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

lim4ev wrote: »
    TTM

Dean Ryan semis have to be played yet. Midleton, ASR, Clonmel and De La Salle are in the semis.

Realistically I doubt there will be many new players in a Cork shirt next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/mourneabbey-switch-focus-to-munster-title/1073948/
    Hopefully cork ladies football will win another all ireland this year and great to hear a large crowd by the report here went to see.
    Great to see the ladies doing brilliant for cork at club, senior and the minor all ireland this year in inter county and narrowly loosing the under twenty one all ireland.
    Good and all as it is TTM it means nothing to the vast majority of GAA people.

Smith614 wrote: »
    Good and all as it is TTM it means nothing to the vast majority of GAA people.

You're right many don't care as regards the ladies and that's unfortunately the problem it has improved in profiles but it's still not getting the profile it deserves

In reply to your question lim4ev that you asked me, who would I like to see cork call up, and Cork haven't beaten tipp in ages and it's going to be extremely tough but last year I would have given cork little chance but it will be close but I think cork can win if there right on the day etc but I'm sure tipp feel the same.
    Still a lot to see with this cork managment like who is the fitness trainer and the style of play.
    I think tippeary will be strong yes but I don't think, just my opinion that they won't be as strong as last year and the team i wanted as I said to avoid before the draw was clare.
    Collins is coming back and if Kinnerk joins they will be tough so it's not that I think tipp will be easy I give cork a chance.No doubt tipp feel the same with cork and they to be fear on previous results have nothing to fear.

Who will cork call up, I don't know.
    Who would I like, in my opinion to be called up, i would call up Conor sullivan, Jamie nagle, Alan dennehy, dayne Lee, John Cronin, wille Leahy, Ciarán o brien Cormack of the rockies, Stephen Murphy, doolin and noonan Kevin o Neill, luke meade, Sean Hayes, Anthony and colm Spillane if fit Cunningham and Brian Moylan, Tony Murphy, Eddie gunning, John cashman,and Chris o leary and conor toomey and Tim o mahony with Eoghan kinery a good ball winner also with Kevin o keoffe. James o brien is worth a game.

Jack sheehan I was impressed with him with ul two years ago under he's last year in the Fitzgibbon cup, went America for the summer, this year was injured a bit but showed up well at half forward and in games.
    He's around twenty five but there's real cut and aggression to he's hurling and he is extremely strong in the air, I would have him full back or half forward but Joyce hopefully coming back should be okay at full back.
    I once saw Joyce and sheehan go toe to toe in a club games and sheehan imo with good coaching has more potential.
    Kingston is a Douglas residents so the talk is cadogan should be recalled, imo he's more needed in football and is much better footballers.
    Walsh it's up to him but if he stays hurling he's left side needs good coaching, if he goes to football he's kick passing needs coaching as he's outstanding athlete but in either code certain skill sets need coaching.
    Cahalane imo would be good in either code but if it's hurling full back is he's only position.

I would try and generate that in every position there's at least two players going for a place and there's strong competition as that means no one rest on there laurels.
    I'd also appeal to the ccb to set a mandate that club refs in cork referee games like munster refs do and other refs around the county as no point refs blowing for every thing in cork yet players then having a ref in inter county where everything goes.
    I wouldn't care what club a player is from east west north etc all that matters is has he the talent for inter county for cork and is he the best available hurler in cork for that position or defined role in the system the new management wants there team to play.

I'd also nominate six players that only speak to the media and no one else as some players need total focus on games.
    Nash, Harnedy, lehane, Kearney, mcdonnell, and Ellis as there the only ones imo that have consistently perform for cork. The media have a huge role to play in gaa so six is more than enough to allow them do there jobs and to also promote games and all your doing is picking a certain type of character like cody and kerry do to deal with media duties.
    I would regualrly if I was Kingston have management at as many games at possible, and under twenty one and junior etc and make sure there seen by players.
    Cork junior football management were last week at a junior game preparing for next year.
    Of course the senior football should be doing it for Sunday county final but you can't do that when no football management is in place.

That's a lot of players i named here but I'd call them up and I'd organise challenge games and the canon Michael o brien game with a few waterford crystal cup games and I'd try them before making the league panel.
    I'd also try and do everything I could to see would pa Callaghan play but it's up to him and to be fair jbm tried to do all he could so it's up to pa.
    What I would not do is call up lads that have had chances before and were called up every waterford crystal and didn't make the cut for the league in cork need to try new players.
    All of these lads won't make it this year but if you got around five to add to the panel you would be doing well.
    I would tell all these young lads, some who will play under twenty one some won't but they all have potential and they would be regualrly watched by a member of the management team and up to them to perform consistently in club games to put a hand up.
    I would tell them they may not make it this year but there not falling off the radar.

I would actively encourage and liase with the under twenty one team that the style the play is the style the under twenty one play as no point the under twenty one playing one style then the senior playing a different style.
    I would also ask the intermediate management that where possible if it's a choice to pick a young hurler with potential over an older player as It would benefit cork if the intermediate focused on lads just out of minor or under twenty one and give them game time to develop expecially if the under twenty ones are beaten early.
    Sean Hayes should been on the intermediate panel luke meade should started the all ireland final etc as Conor whelan Galway was a minor playing intermediate and so was last year limerick minor tom morrisey playing limerick intermediate this year.

The key won't be just what team is picked, it's the style of play cork choose to play will be hugely significant and the ist thing I'd do is i would make Harnedy a captain as from the ist day v clare he made he's debut and he's humbling brilliant post match interview where he spoke of what the cork jersey meant to him the values and who it represents I said it then he was a future captain.
    Our only all star candidate but he won't win it imo is such a great player he would actually grow more as a player as he would absoultey thrive in the leadership role and Cork would be better served with an outfield captain imo.

Also I would make mark Ellis vice captain and make it clear, everyone starts on a new slate and no one is guaranteed a place with like cody I would place special emphasis to club performance and tell everyone that as senior cork players you must be standing out in club games as you have a distinct advantage over club lads and the reason is you want consistently performance and tj Reid, Callan do it at intercounty as they regularly perform at club level.

I would have two different free taker in the league so no matter who plays below form it won't mean anyone is undroppable just cause there a free taker
    I'd also do cody in training your training with the team, no free taker practice frees in training but like shefflin you do it on your own time.
    You tell lads the conditions set like jim gavin and it's up to them if they want to commit to that.

I am a firm beliver cork has hurling talent but it's needs modern coaching and it will take time to build but once the structure is right it can be done and I do believe Kingston for now in this time is the best manager available at present to cork.

The dean Ryan cup semi final is yes apparently next week and it should be a cracker with aron Walsh Barry, Sean o leary Hayes, Mellrick, oke and nanago, o shea and gosnell all excellent hurlers and that team all the players are very good and Tim Collins coaches them.
    Ard scoil are excellent and only one team can win so even if midelton loose a lot of this team will play harty cup in the future with some of this year team likely to be on the harty cup panel to gain experience for next year.

Of course I want midelton to win but I'm a hurling fan at the end of the day and school hurling is magical imo so I will also enjoy seeing ard scoil finest young hurlers, some will be future stars play well.
    The dean Ryan cup is not senior hurling in inter county so as I always say I will never rate any young lad as having a poor game as these are young lads and it's natural some will have days where there not as good as other days as young hurlers always are on a learning curve.
    Who will win, honestly it's on the day as there both evenly matched and any team could win imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Orizio wrote: »
    Realistically I doubt there will be many new players in a Cork shirt next year.

I'd agree. I think it'll be similar to last year where there was new players used in the Warerford Crystal but didn't feature for the rest of the year.

TTM named a lot of players there. I wouldn't agree with some and haven't seen much of others but from what I've seen I'd agree youngsters like Chris O'Leary, Tim O'Mahony, Niall Cashman, Conor Twomey, Luke Meade and Cathal Cormack deserve a go in the league. Important to remember the Leaving Cert and even to a certain extent Fitzgibbon Cup makes it hard to get certain players fully involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

ttm you say Cork should not try players that were tried in Waterford Crystal before then you go on about starting with a clean slate.. which is it? new slate or new players?

youngbob wrote: »
    ttm you say Cork should not try players that were tried in Waterford Crystal before then you go on about starting with a clean slate.. which is it? new slate or new players?
    Exactly what I said in calling up Lads that have been tried on numerous waterford crystal cup campaigns before but come the league haven't performed etc
    Now there's a difference with Lee meade Spillane etc as have either been injured or just out of minor and didn't get senior games yet in championship etc but have potential

You obviously need clarification on what I mean so I'm not singly anyone out but as you need example, players who are fine club players absoultey brilliant club players at a certain standard and I'm not judging there commitment etc but purely on senior inter county standard lads like haughey midelton Darren mccarthy as a forward would be examples like Cian mccarthy where imo calling them up isn't moving forward when young lads should be tried as those players mentioned have been called up a few seasons with cork now to be fair.
    In any sport calling up lads that are good standard but maybes not the standard required to go the extra yard to win the big trophies year after year and expecting different results rarely happens.
    In essence to further elaborate for you, new lads with just last year waterford crystal should of course be called up as some were just out of minor and got little senior time

Of course Shane Kingston would be on the call up but I didn't mention him as maybe this year after serous injury and doing the leaving cert it may be better to wait but in time he will be a senior cork players.

Obviously cork need a new slate to a point as does any team with new management but it must be balanced.
    Some of the current panel would be dropped if new players are found but not a whole new panel as that would be incorrect in you can't change all the panel.
    The key is to identify where cork need the young players more so in certain position and bringing them in there with a core of experience players around them so there transition to senior inter county will be as smooth as possible.
    That's just my opinion of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

ttm I agree with the gist of your points but no selector can ignore a player who is playing out of his skin regardless of the fact that he might have had a poor Waterford Crystal two or three years ago. I've no particular player in mind. some players improve as they get older like Bill Cooper. so I wouldn't rule out players who might have been a little nervy if they were called up before they were ready. we all know certain players that have been given loads of chances and are sadly no up to it. I just hope the new set up with pick players who show form from here til the end of the league. saying that that gives the Fitz players an advantage to put themselves in the shop window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Mourneabbey retain the Munster championship, winning 3-19 to 0-14. huge effort to play 3 games in a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork GAA confirms the appointment of Peader Healy (Naomh Abán) in the role of Cork senior football manager for a two year term 2016-2017.

Healy was previously a selector and coach with the Cork senior football team from 2008 to 2013 reaching All Ireland championship deciders in 2009 and beating Down in 2010 while going on to recorded an NFL Division 1 treble in 2010/2011/2012.

A former All Ireland winning Cork minor (1981) he was more recently involved with the O’Donovan Rossa and Dr Crokes clubs.

Commenting on the appointment, County Chairman Gerard Lane said, "On behalf of the County Board, I would like to wish Peader all the best in his new position.

I would also like to thank all the candidates who expressed an interest in the position, and also the members of the appointments committee for their endeavours.”

The new manager has been appointed for a two-year term and will name his backroom team in due course.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,002 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

This really has a underwhelming feel to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

Was talking to a buddy of mine last night, a real west Cork football diehard and he was of the opinion that Peader is highly regarded by the players. Think Kissane might be involved as well.

Wish to congratulate him on his appointment and wish him and the players all the best for the next 2 Years.

Hopefully we can all drive on from here.

Healy in wouldn't be my ist choice as he's management and record is imo tactics wise off the senior elite standard if he's on he's own.

He's management record with crokes was not great when he with between five current and previous kerry senior had team huge favourite last week v Rathmore and lost.
    Also he was with skib who played slow methodical laboured football v clyda that were beaten last year, but in one year young outstanding Shane Crowley with the same panel brought them to a county semi final pushed haven all the way

Also counihan team won leagues yes but healy was part of the term as coach and main team selection, and Cork when should played a blanket defence with two man one Inside refused to play a modern blanket and used power and force to go though team and we struggling to win the all ireland against a poor down and limerick took us to extra time.
    Dublin indiscipline saved us in the semi When cork still persisted to hand pass
    We also repeatedly got beaten by kerry in kerry and in the games kerry wanted to win and few years ago without griffin o se and galvin destroyed cork when cork fell way behind due to incorrect match ups.Cork did have a come back.
    Tactically I would have no confidence in he's coaching for modern football and or manageron he's own

However i always say judge a manager by he's team around him.
    And if word is correct, he has mccarthy haven outstanding young proven coach county senior medals, and kissane as coach has experience from cit,clare and is hugely innovative with huge appreciate of defence system that he learned off ned English.
    He watches rubgy hugely and referenced it in he's football echo articles and imo as I do myself being huge rubgy fan think both are correlated in terms of high press defence with spatial awareness but having as joe schmidt said guts and cohesion.
    Not just guts but cohesion.

Also Conor mccarthy isn't having any record as coach and said last week shouldn't be involved but as selector with this balanced set up i welcome it hugely as mccarthy is superb studying statics, big in to anayalis of games and studies coaching principles of new Zealand rubgy so now cork have actually proven football coach in kissane mccarthy will be huge bonus here.

This set up wouldn't been ist choice in all bar healy as I would prefer clearly but clearly is out so this set up has experienced and youth and innovation and I'm very confident with that.
    And I have to totally admire healy for picking he's own men if these are them as it shows he honest enough to know he's own limations and really picked well balanced set up.

I would admire healy for being football man, hugely passionate and that isn't in doubt and he when based up in dundalk used to regualrly watch cross maglen train.
    The fact clyda and cit and clare were modern blanket defence imo mean healy with kissane involved is going to play that style and this set up can work in credit due healy it seems will manage a team of people but won't be main man in coaching drills. I would guess
    Also one good things under couninhan is whatever about tactic, he's teams always had belief courage and want and never gave up and healy man management was outstanding in this regard and he's skill set here will help cork hugely going forward

Also when cork got to the all ireland finals etc healy was part of warm weather camps abroad and was hugely in to them and once gave an interview that he really felt the week away was huge benefits to cork

Thankfully it seems none of last year set up are involved and this is the radical change needed.
    Kerry with fitzmaurice were excellent as he had great teams with him in the back room.
    Gavin isn't coach but manages a hugely innovative back room team with the outstanding coach mick deegan and mark ingle is there for zonal defence and spatial awareness with sherlock also.
    So imo healy could work as I think he will manage the team organisation and communication which is excellent but he'll allow he's men in there back room roles do what they do best.
    The players respect him which is good and James horan was manager not a coach but coughlan and buckley were the outstanding men helped horan and allowed horan manage the whole operation.

Considering the back room team if it's true and those men are involved it's imo real real real confidence going forward.
    The loss is kissane to the minor if he goes to senior so that is huge loss but minor coach should maybe fionn Murray to work under herihly

No one piece ever made a jigsaw and on the basis of this jigsaw with pieces imo that fit in to place give me a final pictures of a proven senior management overall set up that will have huge chance going forward as the players are there.
    Also credit to healy in he speaks to the media well and won't attack referee and will indeed imo be good in that side.

A really postive set up but I won't give the ccb credit as imo someone was praying for cork as no one can deny this set up took way too long in appointment in ten weeks and counting or so and it was a mess of a process when original four short list candidates weren't in there
    This is much better than mccarthy imo as manager.
    I will fully support this set up if this is as it's been rumored and will have no problem going the length and breadth of the country following them as this doesn't give me hope but gives me real confidence going forward.

It's overall an outstanding balanced set up and a two year term is correct and review it after two years
    I think they will be there after two years as this will work
    Kissane and two mccarthy won't go down to kerry to make up the number
    Also Conor mccarthy outstanding piece on examiner about kerry physcolgy earlier this year imo shows he under stands how they work and I think cork for once will be cute play nous and kerry yerra with the media and in games

I think cork will be different in league game with kerry and Cork unlike other years won't be showing hands in league game but will hold back
    I think this set up will be all ireland semi final next year and will shake kerry in kerry
    Huge ground to make up on Dublin and kerry but imo cork can definitely be top four

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    This really has a underwhelming feel to it.

I geuinely have real confidence this will work.