Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Hoggys getting way too much stick. He wasn't great yesterday but he did have 5~ wides from play, all narrowly wide. On another day he's man of the match if they go over. He was and never is anything but an inside forward but is playing in the position most effective for the team. It's a surprising outcome with him so quite that the Glen could still post a score to win easily. He could do with winning more possession but then again that was never his game and the Glen do play him in when they get the chance. A good result for Cork hurling. Seeing Sars farting around with a goalie playing as a sweeper and 40 yard backpasses is not the type of hurling Cork needs.
    Narrowly wide doesn't offer a valid excuse
    The game is about fine fine margins and will always and never ever ever ever change from that but the great great really really great players or teams like Australia down two men but still won, ireland lost two key men still won point is good and great teams and players come on right side

Cork lost clare and we still hear people harp on about oh seconds away all ireland
    In ninety nine we won by same margin
    Point is cork deserves win then but not three years ago as clare much better teams

England can live off one call not going for three points as reason out world cup when truth is more reasons there out there a poorly coached teams
    Just like the soccer team who are fine winning a poor group and top point is when meet good team next year in France despite the hype it's not if they loose but when as hodgson is poor manager
    Games in any sport show signs but some choose to ignore

If horgan was off day please explain why in other two county final he was poor and been outscored by dean Brosnan Conor lehane even others from play in final

Horgan never once this year scored more than two points from play bar bride rovers with outstanding six from play but that was one game
    I posted the stats and they don't lie in six games one fourteen from play in six games not simply not good enough for he's talent

He was not marked by an inter county player yesterday so no excuse
    Time and again he's reputation seems to allow him have performance that not questioned yet damien cahalane who three times out played him in club games and twice held him score less or to point from play will get critsed
    One game fair enough you would say a off day but this is not one off performance
    Last year even outside the glen county final he had poor quarter final and games where from play was score less
    It does not bode well for cork if he's not performing at club level
    If he doesn't perform at club in munster for the glen what's the next excuse

I have huge time for he's talents and is best in cork and I hugely support him two years ago when he incorrectly sent off v limerick and turned a corner with consistently good performance
    But the last two years at club and county he hasn't performed
    He needs good coaching at cork and playing him won't help he's game
    He needs to be dropped as work rate off the ball isn't good enough and needs be taken off frees
    Lehane is well able to take free with Nash if needed with Murphy for the long distance
    It seems like he's scoring from placed balls he's other play is forgotten
    Tony considine said in it July him and lehane were not doing enough but lehane to be fair stood up and plays well for club as midelton missed him when he's out
    Horgan has not
    Considine said he was huge horgan fan but he expected more

Horgan was no where near man of the match graham Callan was with he's wonderful reading of the game but he showed leadership real leadership when he's team needed him
    When the great was needed he stood up like Cunningham and brian Moylan who has to get a cork call up

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/commitment-determination-and-spirit-ensure-blackpool-bliss-358838.html

Last night I posted that among the heart and passion the glen tactically were good and it's well made by o grady the match up were right.
    The key imo as I said last night was Moylan following mccarthy in to full forward and crucially mcdonnell was not put in full back.
    Too many times managers don't form there own identity but they copy others on reputation and pay the price.

The example was mcdonnell could have been put in full back and the view was he's played for cork he'll be fine in a county final.
    However crucially Kellher and lynham formed there own coaching identity in they realised mcdonnell outstanding corner back or half back is not comfortable under a high ball in the square and crucially put him no where near there.
    Moylan was sacrifice at centre back for a period but it was worth it as when mccarthy went in to full forward a great call by pat Ryan as he could win you one ball and in club hurling mobility not needed for full forward line, Moylan went with him as the only way sars would come back was with a goal and mccarthy was the only goal threat.
    The glen didn't do what cork so many times in the past did played mcdonnell out of position and made him look poor they realised you get your match up rights.
    That imo alone that change showed tactics and nous by the glen which is good to see and munster may come year too early but I don't doubt the glen be winning more county in the future

O grady was right it is great to see newestown compete at both codes but at senior with such a small club you would worry will dual status affect them.
    Pat Ryan has done a super job with sars and got everything out of them so wasn't he's fault they lost but they will bring in a lot of young player and they have good young hurlers there.
    The glen were physical but showed nous yesterday.
    They deserve huge credit for what they have done for cork hurling created new energy in to the county championship
    Sars credit due won county in cork but we're good team but never great as great teams would won at least munster club final even aside from the all ireland and they didn't.
    Cork hurling is showing signs with the minor and the under age team in developing squads winning this year, the dean Ryan and harty cup, there's signs of progress.
    The senior have a good manager but when confirmed the back room team will tell a lot.
    The draw is Thursday and hopefully cork will get a semi final as win that game forget about munster then.
    Munster isn't changing next year so you win there's a huge gap to the all ireland semi final so winning munster as proven the last few years is of absoultey no benefit to cork and is more of a hindrance to a team in the all ireland.
    Cork won it two years ago we won't need to win it again.
    Target the league but I don't want cork win munster as it hinders a team in the all ireland series.
    Cork need to pick and choose there battles.

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Well done to Newcestown some going to be a senior club in hurling and football outstanding achievement ....hopefully a cracking senior final now .....I for one would have no problems with Sars winning again ...there 7th final in 8 years ...its up to everyone else to come to the top table ...winning today and lots of there players will have 5 county senior medals ....on saying all that I have no problem with Hoggy and his teammates winning a county ....but for me its Sarsfields to win again....
    Nobody can deny that Sarsfields were the best in cork winning four final and since 08 were in every final but bar one

They develop a system that worked and was good in cork
    However it's not that people don't like sars it's more the undeniable facts not once but all four times they won county they failed yes they failed to not only win a munster title but not even contested one munster final and the fact some ccb absoultey laud them with praise and some there ex club men when Newtownshandrum in some ccb eyes were ruination cork hurling with short possession game that won cork two all ireland and contested four in a row

What I always found hugely ironic was they thought by some that short game ruined cork hurling when the simple fact is Newtownshandrum done more cork hurling than sars
    Now just to make clear that's not an opinion but a fact in Newtownshandrum won three munster club titles and all ireland and contested another all ireland final
    When you compare sars record in munster when year on year were miles off the standard it's showing the logic why many in cork did not want sars winning again
    Imagine if they won all we would hear is they are going to win munster and few there hurlers get name checked for cork like last year when the simple truth is they would be beaten in munster and only and only sullivan and Daniel Kearney are cork inter county standard
    Last week there was an article with a headline Cian mccarthy should get a recall for cork
    To be fair yesterday performance he done nothing to warrant a Recall when others that never got the chance He got deserves them
    It's totally unfair on other players to be over looked if same old players are recalled time and time again despite not playing great
    For many reasons the glen win was hugely great for cork hurling as going forward they have more to offer cork at intercounty at different grades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Peader Healy could be very likely be our next football manager ...players are all for him...had a bad result yesterday with Dr.Crokes in Kerry and was also involved with Castletownbere this year ...with O Donovan Rossa a few years ago as well no great success ...but players got on very well with him under Counihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Hoggys getting way too much stick. He wasn't great yesterday but he did have 5~ wides from play, all narrowly wide. On another day he's man of the match if they go over. He was and never is anything but an inside forward but is playing in the position most effective for the team. It's a surprising outcome with him so quite that the Glen could still post a score to win easily. He could do with winning more possession but then again that was never his game and the Glen do play him in when they get the chance. A good result for Cork hurling. Seeing Sars farting around with a goalie playing as a sweeper and 40 yard backpasses is not the type of hurling Cork needs.

Agree with that. Few better forwards in Cork.
    By all means drop him from Cork when better players are identified. Until that happens he continues to be of Cork's few naturally gifted hurlers.
    I'm around a while and I''ve seen very few complete hurlers. Different hurlers have different strengths. Hoggy isn't a Harnedy and will never have his work rate. But would Harnedy have scored Cork's last point in championship 2013? Not in a million years.
    (Unfortunately) Hoggy is absolutely one of Cork's six best forwards at the moment and deserves his place on the Cork team.

Again no one denies he's talent and I said hes most talented in cork but that is an excuse he's automatically cork, no way in talent means nothing if not once but not twice but again and again and again and again he fails perform cork and club
    People aren't debate the stats at all which is just cherry picking
    One fourteen play or so six club games not good enough he's talents
    Again all bar one club game he fails score more than two points from play
    Corbett tj Reid Callan do it week in week out for club
    Why can't horgan do it and Cork club championship is miles off kk standard

I don't care how many fancy point or flicks he gets if doesn't work off the ball or show hunger required

Cody dropped Carter, for the same
    Talent is useless unless you work
    James masters was still is outstanding talent game crucially dropped correctly so by counihan as wouldn't work off the ball in the modern game
    Same old attuide in cork though accept standards and sub standard performance and make excuses
    People wonder then why where off kk
    Horgan and Harnedy don't compare as when need greatest Harnedy stands up and always delivers
    Paper today said horgan was generous and missed few points
    Fair play it was all they could say
    As a hurling fan like many others I was hugely disappointed again when biggest day cork year hurling horgan failed to perform from play
    Again fair enough if it was once but this is third county final

If frees were taken off him in cork he's be much better player as he would have to perform as if he didn't and scores were poor in games it be highlighted but frees cover up poor performance imo
    Would cody play horgan when you must perform for club
    No he would not
    Why should cork be any different
    Lehane cooper Harnedy cadogan Spillane and sullivan etc would all be better starting than cork
    Sullivan at least work off the ball and performed in county final
    Much critsed aiseake halpin got man match county final
    County final it's not harsh to expect county players perform to be fair

Agree with that. Few better forwards in Cork.
    By all means drop him from Cork when better players are identified. Until that happens he continues to be of Cork's few naturally gifted hurlers.
    I'm around a while and I''ve seen very few complete hurlers. Different hurlers have different strengths. Hoggy isn't a Harnedy and will never have his work rate. But would Harnedy have scored Cork's last point in championship 2013? Not in a million years.
    (Unfortunately) Hoggy is absolutely one of Cork's six best forwards at the moment and deserves his place on the Cork team.
    One hugely significant point is cork would have been no where near a position to nearly win the game with horgan last yes exceptional point only for the work rate and hunger of Harnedy when on fiftieth minute single handedly dragged cork back in to game winning ball against two defenders scoring a point
    That was only he's ist year for cork hurling
    Harnedy is more value cork than horgan on current form as he'll perform when needed with horgan he may not
    Keeping him there just cause we may have no others is not true when simply he's scoring from play is poor for club and county and work rate isn't there
    To say he's not a worker doesn't wash when modern game clearly showed by kk minimum requirements any forward ist step is to work with or without the ball
    If he's not willing to do that pick a player who will do that
    And there are such players like Spillane brothers if fit and given games
    Horgan is around long enough cork panel now in fairness to know what's required
    Don't forget the standard kk set
    Like it or not cork have to aspire to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

One hugely significant point is cork would have been no where near a position to nearly win the game with horgan last yes exceptional point only for the work rate and hunger of Harnedy when on fiftieth minute single handedly dragged cork back in to game winning ball against two defenders scoring a point
    That was only he's ist year for cork hurling
    Harnedy is more value cork than horgan on current form as he'll perform when needed with horgan he may not
    Keeping him there just cause we may have no others is not true when simply he's scoring from play is poor for club and county and work rate isn't there
    To say he's not a worker doesn't wash when modern game clearly showed by kk minimum requirements any forward ist step is to work with or without the ball
    If he's not willing to do that pick a player who will do that
    And there are such players like Spillane brothers if fit and given games
    Horgan is around long enough cork panel now in fairness to know what's required
    Don't forget the standard kk set
    Like it or not cork have to aspire to that

You think Anthony Spillane a better option than Hoggy? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

Who would you think from the glen should get games with cork
    What do you make the new cork managment

Delighted with Kingston's appointment real hurling man pity if Sherlock not involved but rest of selectors generally good interesting if sully is a selector bit of a jump straight from u16.

Glen players should now have an opportunity in Munster to see if the likes of brosnan, Moylan can step up again I definitely think cork need some strong ball winners in the forward line. I am sure Kingston is already on the phone to Ballyhea sounding out o'callaghan, I agree likes of leahy from aghada should be given a chance.

You think Anthony Spillane a better option than Hoggy? :)

At the moment yes quite simply as you can try to develop Spillane
    What is horgan doing from play.. Nothing much so why have him there.. For a flashy point when it suits.. I'm sorry now but when are cork going to be ruthless with under performing players and drop him
    Spillane at least will work and there's even chance score least two points play so at worst doing what horgan does
    Lehane can take frees
    Horgan imo people think hes frees that fine
    I'm sorry now but the definition of hurling is you must simply must contribute from play
    How many chances did Spillane get
    Horgan has numerous chances to be fair

Delighted with Kingston's appointment real hurling man pity if Sherlock not involved but rest of selectors generally good interesting if sully is a selector bit of a jump straight from u16.

Glen players should now have an opportunity in Munster to see if the likes of brosnan, Moylan can step up again I definitely think cork need some strong ball winners in the forward line. I am sure Kingston is already on the phone to Ballyhea sounding out o'callaghan, I agree likes of leahy from aghada should be given a chance.

You normally on the ball
    What did you make horgan yesterday
    Would you agree on he's standards it's below level acceptable for senior cork hurler in cork county final
    If Callaghan comes on board I'd be dropping horgan straight off
    Harnedy can also play ff instead horgan with Leahy filling Harnedy shoes out field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies Football final replay fixed for Wednesday at 8 in Carrigaline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

You normally on the ball
    What did you make horgan yesterday
    Would you agree on he's standards it's below level acceptable for senior cork hurler in cork county final
    If Callaghan comes on board I'd be dropping horgan straight off
    Harnedy can also play ff instead horgan with Leahy filling Harnedy shoes out field

I think Horgan is a very gifted player who more often than not over the last two years has always left you wishing there was more from him especially with the natural talent he has. Again yesterday he did not work hard enough maybe he cannot I would certainly ask him to work on speed across ten yards rather than more bulk. There would be no harm in benching him for the first few league games and then bring him back and see whether the hunger to succeed is there. I watched Harnedy in east cork final and he was the same as he is in a cork jersey gave his all for the team not sure than you can say that about Hoggie in some games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=245505

Billy Morgan possibly the new Cork Senior Football manager???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

There's worse than Billy around for sure. What age is he now, 73/4?
    Amazing man if he has the stomach for that stuff now.

I'd welcome it in I'd rather Morgan any and every day of the year over Tompkins, mccarthy or healy as individuals or even as a back room team in Morgan is proven at every level.
    This situation is an absolute joke though as they backed themselves in to a corner over clearly, apparently Fitzgerald and English aren't keen now, absoultey no player faith in mccarthy so there really and truly in a mess

Morgan if he gets it i would welcome it but before some one preaches that lane at ccb level has changed things or the committee done good job let's not fool ourselves
    Nearly ten weeks to find a manager is an absolute joke in this day and age and no process in the thing is a joke as once cleary went it should been between two other most proven shortlist

Why on gods name was the shortlist drawn up if none them will get it
    I wouldn't be for Morgan in from the start there was better way to handle this and while I do welcome it, cork won't always have Billy and we should moved on from him

He's record is outstanding winning two all ireland and yes lost four but 2007 he had no talent to work with and done great get them to a final but the minor were never fully developed from 2001 as under twenty one was joke shop with management so when the under twenty one success started to take off Morgan was finishing up

Morgan made mistakes yes but always learned from them
    He's passionate, and good tactics and ucc sigerson cup win up the north beating tough ulster team playing a blank shows he's modern day method
    A lot of cork team played under him at ucc and even kerry player rate him hugely
    He's had huge success and while some doubt him no one can deny he's better than healy mccarthy and Tompkins

He was big in to warm weather camp and ist use sports physiology cork football team, big in to science also in football
    If he gets it it's major surprise as he said two years ago definitely didn't want it as too old for it
    If he's in i think he'll manage a team around him with a coach being he's key and he won't imo do large portion work himself like before
    If he gets it he's big fan Danny cullothy and at least won intermediate with Newmarket so he imo could be involved with him
    Stephen o brien doing a great job with nemo and when Morgan won all ireland club twelve years ago he said at a nemo agm when o brien retired he would be future nemo management with out any doubt
    O brien done excellent work with under twenty one winning team few years ago and building young team but one year management pushed haven all the way in he's ist county final

I wouldn't be surprised if o brien was involved with Morgan

It's hard to know how this will pan out as expected the unexpected with this shambles of a situation of ten weeks
    But luckily we may get Morgan but have no doubt there's some one praying for cork football as this was not planned and practically board back themselves in to a mess but Morgan seems the best chance now
    Morgan may not take it so if so it's Tompkins probably
    And that would be a disaster for cork football judging on he's record and he's style of play and running up mountain with no ball training didn't win an all ireland before so it certainly won't now as Dublin and kerry are fit but they can play football

Real question should be asked how this process went on for so long
    But at the last ccb meeting an eye brow wasn't even raised

Also there's never short of a story with the ccb, Friday was meant to be the grand stage of the revealing of the pairc and like Cusack said it's centre of mediocrity but typical it was cancelled last minute
    Cork expect the unexpected
    Let's hope Morgan takes it as none of the other contenders are imo good enough
    Healy didn't do anything with a talented crokes team and five senior kerry player and even kerry thread they said he's tactics and management old school

He was with skib who played orthodox last year but we're awful yet excellent Shane Crowley comes in in one year gets them to semi final
    Healy was part cork set up years failed bear kerry in kerry and struggled all ireland when cork should walked it
    He's great footballer man management and brought organisation and work rate yes and I have huge time for he's passion and he's time in the game as player cork and selector coach and yes as selector would have role to play but as manager and coach purely he's record doesn't inspire confidence
    I had doubts when he went to crokes but said I'd wait and see but as seen on the kerry thread they feel new management is needed in crokes
    If kerry don't rate him for club manager it's imo not inspiring to have him senior inter county management
    It would depend who he's back room team would be but I'd rather Morgan now
    Fitzgerald or English should got it though as two had proven club and inter county success with poor teams

wackokid wrote: »
    There's worse than Billy around for sure. What age is he now, 73/4?
    Amazing man if he has the stomach for that stuff now.
    I'd agree he's around seventy I'd say
    He would bring in the right people at least with him

I think Horgan is a very gifted player who more often than not over the last two years has always left you wishing there was more from him especially with the natural talent he has. Again yesterday he did not work hard enough maybe he cannot I would certainly ask him to work on speed across ten yards rather than more bulk. There would be no harm in benching him for the first few league games and then bring him back and see whether the hunger to succeed is there. I watched Harnedy in east cork final and he was the same as he is in a cork jersey gave his all for the team not sure than you can say that about Hoggie in some games.
    Some great points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Bad state of affairs if Morgan is the best of whats available. Thats not to slight Billy as he is a cork legened, but surely we have someone younger coming through who hasnt had a go and willing to become a new legend.

DuffleBag wrote: »
    Bad state of affairs if Morgan is the best of whats available. Thats not to slight Billy as he is a cork legened, but surely we have someone younger coming through who hasnt had a go and willing to become a new legend.
    It's not anyway a reflection of the lack of coaching in cork as there's top class coaches in cork but more a reflection of the ccb making mountain out of mole hill and what should of been a simple really simple straightforward scenario cork football is one drama after another as anything ccb involved in never short of drama

Look at this year, the shambles of a post cuthbhertt statement where they blamed the ref, then made cork a laughing absoultey laughing stock in football by saying the rain affected cork, in other words were a dry weather team
    We had the schools controversy
    Two board men apparently as Michael moyinhan examiner said going to resign but changed there mind
    The concern over the pairc cost, lack of clarity with it
    The senior football management process
    Derek kavanagh saying under age football in cork needs more money
    Kieran shannon exposing the football management as old school when the ccb were allowed travel on the team boss

It's been one thing after another
    There's plenty of coaches like English, Fitzgerald, Leahy, James mccarthy and Stephen o brien two young coaches with huge potential that could have roles to play with cork in management yet cork go backwards to go forward with healy, Tompkins, mccarthy being mentioned when all are great servant as players etc but there management is questionable.
    Morgan is yes step back wards but the one exception that would move forward as he's evolving with the game and ucc proved that
    There's top coaches in cork but there never utilised

No surprise at all English and Fitzgerald aren't in the running as English said it years ago in the moyinhan interview I posted where he said the cork job was not on merit and he doubted he'd get it
    Fitzgerald said years ago he would love to become cork managment but when last term came up he said he doubted he'd ever get in in an interview
    Those two candidates saying it shows they never had a chance as they know how cork jobs go
    You would like to think cork would have had management represent county at Thursday draw but it's imo embarrassing cork have no manager in place for this draw as it shows statement of intent
    Mayo for all there controversy could be smiling if Rochford gets it a proven coach but it will be interesting will mayo go against him in spite of the players or will they say look mayo football is all we care about and appointed him
    There again has be no change at board level and yes there's some great men involved there no doubt but it's still a few of the old guard hold all power in cork as this process shows there is still problem in cork
    Kingston give a great interview regards he's role today which is good sign and appointment Hartnett is good choice
    The rest of he's back room team will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Jkambogsierre8

The Harty Cup starts tomorrow any word on what the cork schools are like? I'd imagine the main contenders from Cork are Rochestown Midleton AG and Hamilton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 leaf123

Rochestown and the Ag tomorrow .... Roco favourites ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

We've development squads for players now it's about time we had development squads for coaches as well

Have the divisions propose their best and brightest to undergo so elite level training courses and have them cut their teeth at senior club/ representative underage level before the best progressing to senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

leaf123 wrote: »
    Rochestown and the Ag tomorrow .... Roco favourites ??

Hard to know a lot changes in a year I was soarly disapointed last year truth be told they could have won on day

Can the gaps from last year be filled can they do it all again (and football to
    ) and theres a new
    teacher so that could be good or bad

Harty is a great competition and wether is good for tomorrow

Some great games ahead

A stab at first rd games

Castletroy Well done me one right so far
    ASR
    Rochestown
    Thurles colemans a draw
    Blackwater
    Templemore but maybe charleville can cause upset here
    Nenagh
    Christans

6 teams in senior b as well tomorrow

Good luck to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

The Harty Cup starts tomorrow any word on what the cork schools are like? I'd imagine the main contenders from Cork are Rochestown Midleton AG and Hamilton?

Rochestown and Midleton will be the strongest teams. Rochestown have Powter, O'Sullivan and Kingston still involved.

Hamilton have only five from last year and O'Really, Meade and O'Leary are all gone. They'll struggle a bit. Charleville and Youghal are both without their best players, CBC and A.G. are very young. Colmans should be competitive with the three O'Learys and Saich. Would put it Rochestown, Midleton, A.G., Colmans, Charleville, Hamilton, CBC and Youghal in order of who is strongest to weakest.

Think Youghal could get some hammerings, will probably be there last year in the Harty as they are very poor U-15/U-16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Predictions in bold:

Wednesday 14th October
    Corn an Artaigh (18.5 A Hurling) at 1:30pm

Ardscoil Ris V Ham HS Bandon in Mallow – Referee: Joe Larkin
    St Francis Col Rochestown V Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG in Mayfield – Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan
    Thurles CBS V St Colmans Fermoy in Clonmel – Referee: Willie Barrett
    DLS Waterford V Blackwater CS in Fraher Field – Referee: Thomas Walsh
    Charleville CBS V Our Lady’s Templemore in Claughaun – Referee: Richard Moloney
    Nenagh CBS V SNTN Doon in Newport – Referee: Kevin Jordan
    CBC Cork V HS Clonmel in Clashmore – Referee: Joe Salmon

Corn Thomáis Mhic Choilm (18.5 B H)

Col Spioraid Naomh V Borrisokane CC Kilmallock
    Col Chriost Ri V St Colmans Midleton Cobh
    Col Iosaef Kilmallock V Clonakilty CC Blarney
    St Augustines V John The baptist Hospital Kildorrery
    Pad Ac Mallow V Roscrea CC Cashel
    Mitchelstown CBS V Causeway Comp Granagh, Ballingarry

I think, may be wrong but Paddy loughlin limerick minor and kilmallock senior is eligible for charville as is mike hoinhan son I'm not totally sure however.
    In that dean final two years ago midelton beat ard scoil two years ago by a point Peter casey was a huge loss to them but garan manly was also for midelton but was sick up to the game, but now with cork city fc, son of the former cork hurler garan manly, goal cork in all ireland finals loss kk twenty three years ago.
    Ard scoil with the boylan are i think the sons of ex limerick hurling doctor dave boylan who played with midelton in cork and is a good cork man.
    Doon are a very young panel and may be a year too early as there building for next year but with the two Ryan brothers who are eligible again next year and were with limerick this year and mcpartlsnd and Barry from cappawhite, they have good hurlers.
    They need imo should beat nenagh but harty cup particularly ist round games are always hard to call.

Ard scoil should probably qualify with midelton from the group and midelton have an excellent panel but once coaching is right should be okay and the game between them and ard scoil will be a re run of the dean final and should be a classic imo and any hurling fan even a neutral should watch that, as in autumn when the leaves are golden brown, the west wind blows the magical absoultey magic of the harty cup, is really a field of gold.
    I absoultey love the harty cup such a wonderful competition.
    Ard scoil and Castletroy are likely to be limerick guaranteed teams to get out of the group imo.

John looney and Peter Casey will be worth the entrance fee alone when they meet in a few weeks as will Josh beausang for midelton as all three are either currently cork and limerick minor or will be in beausang case.
    Beausang was outstanding for he's club ist ever county minor grade two winning under Cusack guidance weeks ago and looney was outstanding against limerick last year and this year and in dean Ryan cup and playing intermediate for club aghada and been brilliant and was playing harty cup last year and was scoring outstanding well.
    He has a big future for cork imo as does casey.
    I watched the video of the limerick final sunday and casey turn over rate of possession was exceptional but he's instinct and cohesion and guile but he's want, desire and hunger and spatial awareness was breath taking and is some player imo and will take huge watching as indeed all the ard scoil team from Hamilton tomorrow.

Fixtures as follows
    Wednesday 14th October
    Corn an Artaigh (18.5 A Hurling) at 1:30pm
    Ardscoil Ris V Ham HS Bandon in Mallow – Referee: Joe Larkin
    St Francis Col Rochestown V Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG in Mayfield – Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan
    Thurles CBS V St Colmans Fermoyin Clonmel – Referee: Willie Barrett
    DLS Waterford V Blackwater CS in Fraher Field – Referee: Thomas Walsh
    Charleville CBS V Our Lady’s Templemorein Claughaun – Referee: Richard Moloney
    Nenagh CBS V SNTN Doon in Newport – Referee: Kevin Jordan
    CBC Cork V HS Clonmel in Clashmore – Referee: Joe Salmon

I'd expect midelton to go through with ard scoil as midelton have the likes of cork minor, John looney Josh beausang who will be, course jack mcdonnell, ed and Andy Leahy, the hugely rated sean o leary Hayes, Chris power Liam o shea, possibly brendan mccarthy, the players are there.

Rochestown should be strong with the outstanding midfield of John o sullivan cork minor likely to be, Shane Kingston when fully fit, power, o brien, turnbull,and deasy I think are involved.
    They play ag where both will play a sweeper.
    Either winning is good for cork, and I wouldn't be surprised if dan gunning had a strong season , killan aherne who should played more harty cup last year, Evan sheehan and Hanafin who under sixteen I think played senior for na Piarsaigh this year, morrisey etc have a lot of hurling and if they won tomorrow I wouldn't be surprised.
    Liam coughlan was a sub for the glen county winning senior team this year and he's battle with John sullivan should be great.

Killan aherne is a superb talent, I mentioned him before, strong direct and skilful and can mix it.
    Blake Murphy from the cork under fifteen is involved and is a good hurler as is luke o Donovan on the panel.
    They may not start but the expirence will help them next year or so and is in line with what ard scoil do has young players training harty cup panels as soon as.
    Sean o Meara from last year as is Adam sullivan.

Youghal I think have Darragh o brien from cork panel set up involved but declan Dalton who got a lot of scores last year from placed ball and play is injured and a huge loss.
    Colmans were unlucky in the dean last year and went to extra time and indeed went close to qualify last year when the post stopped them beating castle troy in ballygran so they should be strong with Saich, and linehain to the fore.
    Shane Walsh is over age and a huge loss. Niall o leary a cork minor last and this year should be centre back

Charville have jack Barry, cork under age player Darragh Guiney who can play midfield corner back full back and has huge potential for cork minors, I think Paddy loughlin is under age and Mike hoinhan son but I'm not sure as I said earlier.
    Jones also is a good player.
    They won the white cup two years ago so the likes of jack meade, herr Fitzgerald may be involved.

Jp Moloney might be involved and is a good hurler. Old Christian are in there ist year but had a great run in the Munster b last year and erins own senior Robbie flynn who was a sub v sars and done well at senior and was a cork minor, Billy hennesy and the glen Downey have good hurling talent coming through.
    They may like Hamilton needed when they ist started in the harty cup, a year to find there feet at that level but it's great there in the harty cup.

Hamilton will always be tough brave and tenacious and should be competitive but unfortunately ard scoil ist up and midelton in the group is a tough group to get out off.
    I always have supported Hamilton like any cork team but if ard scoil go through as it seems likely, it means midelton or Hamilton can only go through and nothing against Hamilton and I'm huge huge fan what they achieved but I would go for midelton simply because cork needs a harty cup winner and midelton have imo the better panel to challenge in winning it.
    The problem is trying to choose the game to see tomorrow but the Rochestown game looks like a good game so I'll try and make that game as a lot of cork hurling talent on show at various grades.
    Best of luck to all cork team to-morrow and while a loss isn't the end of the tournament a good start always helps build momentum.
    Hamilton have a core of lads who played b last year at under sixteen and colm dinnen and Daniel curran and sheehan I think are involved.
    But with Chris o leary and luke meade they lost last year to ard scoil so with out those outstanding players they face a stronger ard scoil this year.
    They have clare Fitzgerald and Moriarty and Nathan fox, boylan brothers, Conor hoinhan who can play half back or as a forward, Peter casey, limerick minor Brian Ryan who outstanding south liberty intermediate limerick championship, Sean hogan, limerick minor Darragh caroll who played sweeper limerick well, there teams is exceptional with great coaching from niall moran and Cork man lyons still involved with clare hurler flangan still there also.

Hard to know a lot changes in a year I was soarly disapointed last year truth be told they could have won on day

Can the gaps from last year be filled can they do it all again (and football to
    ) and theres a new
    teacher so that could be good or bad

Harty is a great competition and wether is good for tomorrow

Some great games ahead

A stab at first rd games

Castletroy Well done me one right so far
    ASR
    Rochestown
    Thurles colemans a draw
    Blackwater
    Templemore but maybe charleville can cause upset here
    Nenagh
    Christans

6 teams in senior b as well tomorrow

Good luck to all
    Just one point if you don't mind
    First of all fair play for giving your predictions and I admire that as harty cup is difficult in the ist game to call

But I notice how you only mention Rochestown mainly as in regards there team
    Now I have no problem with that as your city man fair enough
    But I notice you don't mention any other cork school in detail really and fair enough in you may not know much about them
    But my point is when I simply didn't mention Rochestown in just one game at start as giving more information on others purely for reason lot cork team playing with respect to be fair You then and even last week choosed to say I was jumping on the band wagon when Rochestown started winning which was simply not true
    I don't think you will be jumping on the band wagon with other teams cork if they win as I genuinely belive you want all cork team to win but you know it's hard to mention all cork team
    My point is simply as you done yourself here acknowledge if I don't mention Rochestown or any cork team as harty goes on every week in huge details but mention another cork team then that's just the week it is and none going forward of this nonense I jump on band wagon when cork school wins
    Simply as it's crystal clear from my post the last two years I want all cork school to win but when two cork teams meet will choose one simply the one I think can do better for cork
    Nothing more nothing less
    I think you have made some very good predictions there and I hope your right regard the cork school
    I totally agree re last year and Rochestown and I like you were gutted they lost but they done cork proud in hurling and football and also in the b hurling and are a credit to cork schools gaa.

Orizio wrote: »
    Rochestown and Midleton will be the strongest teams. Rochestown have Powter, O'Sullivan and Kingston still involved.

Hamilton have only five from last year and O'Really, Meade and O'Leary are all gone. They'll struggle a bit. Charleville and Youghal are both without their best players, CBC and A.G. are very young. Colmans should be competitive with the three O'Learys and Saich. Would put it Rochestown, Midleton, A.G., Colmans, Charleville, Hamilton, CBC and Youghal in order of who is strongest to weakest.

Think Youghal could get some hammerings, will probably be there last year in the Harty as they are very poor U-15/U-16.
    Who would you think would be cork best hope aside from midelton to win it
    A good post

slingerz wrote: »
    We've development squads for players now it's about time we had development squads for coaches as well

Have the divisions propose their best and brightest to undergo so elite level training courses and have them cut their teeth at senior club/ representative underage level before the best progressing to senior
    That's a great point but also the ccb would have to have no one picking future management other wise nothing changes
    Billy Morgan Eammon Ryan etc should over see a steering committee like kerry do and pick all cork managment