Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,004 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I geuinely have real confidence this will work.

Hopefully it will, but I don't share your confidence, that said, it Has to be an improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Maybe kissane and work as minor coach and senior set up as he's own business so maybe it allows him the time to do both
    Ring was with cork minors and club
    Fitzmaurice done schools and kerry
    Cunningjham Galway done Galway and football club
    Kissane may be able to do both if training days didn't clash

Tough choice now for Walsh and cahalane etc as there both good management in both set ups going forward

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Hopefully it will, but I don't share your confidence, that said, it Has to be an improvement.

I would be like you if it was just healy
    But all credit due he's hit the ground running and even done a spectacular summer salt and still came up standing on both feet imo with this back room team
    Outstanding set up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

First of all I wish the new manager the very best going forward ....but his selectors are not announced yet but I too have heard that it will be the two McCarthys and Kissane ....I think its a pity that the Minors will lose Paudie Kissane . Peader Healy is a Garda in the Beara area so lots of driving but with Kissane and James McCarthy on board both in effect are full time in Gaa so that's a smart move on Healys part ...please god it will be onwards and upwards now.

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    First of all I wish the new manager the very best going forward ....but his selectors are not announced yet but I too have heard that it will be the two McCarthys and Kissane ....I think its a pity that the Minors will lose Paudie Kissane . Peader Healy is a Garda in the Beara area so lots of driving but with Kissane and James McCarthy on board both in effect are full time in Gaa so that's a smart move on Healys part ...please god it will be onwards and upwards now.
    Conor mccarthy is the only one I heard not confirmed yet but hopefully will be

Overall considering what could been it's excellent

I know you said that some don't rate mccarthy haven and that's fair enough but he's record is good and anything I heard about him was he's ist class coach
    If kissane goes Murray or Stephen o brien should be minor coach

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/championship-preview-living-and-learning-with-new-zealands-rugby-winners-332286.html
    Outstanding insight to the mind of Conor mccarthy
    I always said cork football needs cultural change
    All involved look they can bring and embrace and welcome change
    Mccarthy has no coaching experience at senior but as there's experience here and in defined role he'll bring a lot to cork
    I think standard will be high and considering mess ccb made with cleary imo they will have to give these lads what they want

I think healy having warm weather camp kissane and mccarthy been on them will demand high standard

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/kerry-v-cork-plaacutemaacutes-picardia-and-penalty-pain-343072.html
    Only an article yes but these thoughts like the words of any men give us indications how mccarthy thinks and while he's need to prove he can talk the talk but walk the walk what's really is good is this article shows he's thinking at least shows he understands and know what to expect from kerry

http://www.southernstar.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2015/10/17/4107735-paudie-kissane-conor-mccarthy-and-james-mccarthy-likely-to-be-involved-in-cork-management-team/

Very impressive and kissane isn't doing the coaching but mccarthy is but he played a sweeper before at club so it's a good sign with attacking football also.
    No doubt kissane will have a role in some drill if needed.
    I'm impressed though by healy announcement of a structure so far, he's manager, McCarthys coach, kissane s and c where Conor is sports physcolgy.
    All these are definitely as saying goes horses for courses and in roles that suits there strengths and skills.
    It seems kissane will do the minor coaching and the s and c with the senior football team.

This is a super start and I said the hurling announcements lacked clear definition of roles in four selectors but no designated roles likes who is s and c and doing coaching etc and it was a concern.
    I hope the hurling clarifies that as the football unlike last year where it management with no coach designated so no accountability on any one person which means lack direction from lack responsibility but with the football so far there's clear defined roles for all and I totally totally applaud healy for this.
    He's making a good start.
    Now two more selectors is looking good and this will be hopefully in line with what is here so far.
    I'm delighted as I would expect any gaa grass roots cork man to be with this set up.
    This looks professional all credit due.
    We now have the cake made let the appointment of two good selectors to complete the set up put the icing on this new management cake that tastes good so far.

With some of the names being mentioned this package so far looks much better.

Hopefully tomorrow county final be a great game. Tough game to call but I would slightly fancy nemo.

Minor and under twenty one hurling and football draws this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Youghal got an all-merciful hammering from Blarney in the O'Callaghan Cup. Could be some embarassing scorelines for them coming up in the Harty.

Orizio wrote: »
    Youghal got an all-merciful hammering from Blarney in the O'Callaghan Cup. Could be some embarassing scorelines for them coming up in the Harty.

A bit harsh imo considering this is only a school team with a lot of young lads a few under sixteen with them
    It was a big defeat but all merciful hammering is a bit much
    Now fair enough those words could be more correlated to a senior team defeat or for example even take a junior teamrepresenting cork if they played a munster game for example And were destroyed with more experienced players now those words would be fair enough

This is school and you must remember declan Dalton huge huge loss to Youghal but I think while they will struggle in the harty cup they will still show spirt etc

Also you said during the week Darragh Guiney was injured for charville no he was not as he actually played Wednesday in the harty cup

A good game today to look towards
    I don't mind who wins in one way I'd like nemo for Stephen o brien but then McCarthy is with haven and I'm huge fan for what haven done cork football and there parish is credit cork football

Also even though he's kerry man I have total total respect and admiration for tomas o se and would like him win cork county title
    One of the great real greats football that you can only admire irrespective of what county your from

Who ever looses it won't imo take anything away from mccarthy coaching or o brien as both imo have done well with there teams
    Tough game to call probably nemo I'd say over loosing two years ago
    Could be a draw
    Blarney got to munster c final last year and in young shine have excellent hurler among others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭zetecescort

milford won a 4th camogie county championships in a row yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭malascoile

Orizio wrote: »
    How long is he out for?[/QUOTE

If he is back before the group stages he would be doing very well.

Carrigaline 0-5 St. Michaels 0-5 HT

Carrigaline 0-12 St. Michaels 0-11 FT

nemo lead 0-4 to 0-1, 20 min gone. Haven with 7 wides

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,004 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Haven really got going, haven 0-07 v 0-05 up at ht

Haven lead 0-7 to 0-5 at HT. massive turnaround from the Haven for the 2nd 15 min of the half. melee going into the dressing rooms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

Who won the senior final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭County rebel

A draw10 pts a piece.

I predicted in my post this would be close and I said could be a draw.
    I was right on the money and yes it a looked poor final but in truth was this was tactical absoultey tactical dog fight with both playing sweeper and in o brien and mccarthy with teams management like two grand masters chess playing all night long where no one went for it in very tactical.
    Yes it made a poor final for purists but both teams aren't out play football please crowds, both wanted to win and I loved the tactical battle.
    Colin tucker o brien who i had mentioned here before as having something possibly then for cork was outstanding picked at ten playing just ahead of he's full back to curb hurley.

Stephen o brien said during the week that hurley would be stopped.
    Some managers talk the talk and don't do anything but true to he's words o brien, corkery and kavanagh had a master plan to counter the haven danger man. He destroyed nemo two years ago, so o brien learned he's lesson.

Both were well coached and Barry driscoll again had a fine game for nemo, playing in he's natural position makes a huge difference all the same.
    O shea was good, masters, and kerrigan before the sending off was very good.
    Haven best players were cahalane,he was good and Collins was outstanding and Sean dinnen absoultey dominated nemo midfield.
    Dinnen is certain to get game with cork and possibly with Collins for cork a midfield partner if maguire not fit.
    Dinnen was a power house and is a great player imo to win ball. Michael Martin made a brilliant save at a crucial time.

This is hard to call, Stephen o brien is a good young coach with potential and in three years has turned nemo in to a tough team to beat.
    This county final showed the huge significant value imo of tactical war fare in club games again.
    The replay is next week which is wrong as the county hurling final could be affected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

'I' said this and 'I' said that. 'I' told ye all that 'I' know everything.
    'I' even told ye that it would be a draw. Why don't ye all stop posting here and just read what 'I' write cause 'I' know everything.

Break that mirror TTM.

wackokid wrote: »
    'I' said this and 'I' said that. 'I' told ye all that 'I' know everything.
    'I' even told ye that it would be a draw. Why don't ye all stop posting here and just read what 'I' write cause 'I' know everything.

Break that mirror TTM.
    Your entitled to your opinion.
    But no where as any regular posters will see did I say I know it all or for anyone to stop posting.I don't have that right to tell anyone not to post.
    I simply give a match report and said I thought it would be a draw and it was
    I'm not going tit for tat with you
    All i can ask you like I asked you a few days ago is to please stop with the insults, please stop .

The 8th November Ballygunner play glen rovers in waterford in waterford.
    Ballygunner would be favourites as they have better record in munster than the glen and have home advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭EpicPothole

Hopefully tomorrow county final be a great game. Tough game to call but I would slightly fancy nemo.

Didn't you tip Nemo? You said it'd be close alright but you tipped nemo and not the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Your entitled to your opinion.
    But no where as any regular posters will see did I say I know it all or for anyone to stop posting.I don't have that right to tell anyone not to post.
    I simply give a match report and said I thought it would be a draw and it was
    I'm not going tit for tat with you
    All i can ask you like I asked you a few days ago is to please stop with the insults, please stop .

It does sometimes seem you're more interested in being right, and having the first word and the last word on everything, than the result itself.

It does grate on people

Just saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

AND..........it looks like John Fogarty and Tony Leen in the Examiner weren't at the game at all yesterday. Fogarty says " Nemo snuffed out their supply into the full forward line and David Niblock was at the forefront of them turning that area of the field in their favour" ( I think a lad by the name of Dineen was his direct opponent but sure I could be wrong there.
    Tony Leen quoting Nemo manager Stephen O Brien says " Niblock and Alan O Donovan dug in deep and played a world of ball"

Yes I know those quotes are a trifle selective to suit a particular slant, and we all see things differently but it defies logic to suggest that Dineen is an intercounty midfielder and to continue shouting it from the rooftops week after week.
    He went into the clouds just once yesterday and caught a skyscraper over several heads, but lost the ball on landing.

Did someone say GRATE. Infuriate is a better adjective.