Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Back that can get you both ways AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Back that can get you both ways AFAIK.

That's grand so, I hope :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That's grand so, I hope :pac:

Ha ha ha brilliant FN :) Someone thought he was fecked!

I was in Frank Keane's today, getting my new front lip! My car was parked in the yard and was easily the oldest by 9 years!
    I have a picture and it looks ridiculous, I'll stick it up later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Newwww parts :D

30sysls.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Brought car to main dealer yesterday to get pump in, back door lock and a ball joint. Told the fella what was to be done but he obviously wasn't paying too much attention to me because there was a few people behind me. Rang this morning to confirm all was done, and he said ya, the door lock is in.... but why's there a power steering pump on the back seat. The stupid eejit didn't even do the pump or ball joint, because he forgot to write it down :rolleyes: I'll leave it until tomorrow now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Quality service right there.
    I'm sure fellas think I'm an awful plick but I write down everything I want in bullet points and put my mobile number at the bottom. Leave the sheet of paper on the passenger seat or dash facing the drivers side.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Ha ha ha brilliant FN :) Someone thought he was fecked!

I did a bit, I didn't have to worry about any of this crap in the Yaris :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Brought car to main dealer yesterday to get pump in, back door lock and a ball joint. Told the fella what was to be done but he obviously wasn't paying too much attention to me because there was a few people behind me. Rang this morning to confirm all was done, and he said ya, the door lock is in.... but why's there a power steering pump on the back seat. The stupid eejit didn't even do the pump or ball joint, because he forgot to write it down :rolleyes: I'll leave it until tomorrow now.

But if your planning on trading the car soon why bother doing ball joints and the door lock. It's worth doing the power steering pump as that is a noticeable mechanical flaw. But hardly any point in pumping money into the car if your selling it. Although maybe your trying to nct it or keeping it in which case I'm wrong.

Bpmull wrote:
    But if your planning on trading the car soon why bother doing ball joints and the door lock. It's worth doing the power steering pump as that is ia noticeable mechanical flaw. But hardly any point in pumping money into the car if your selling it. Although maybe your trying to nct it or keeping it in which case I'm wrong.

Nct is sat, so need to fix them things anyway. Probably won't bother changing it tbh - only if the right car at the right price came up. Spent quite a lot on it so far, so might as well make use of it!

Ah ok get you now. It is getting very hard to get decent diesel cars anyway back the years for decent money.

I was in Frank Keane's today, getting my new front lip! My car was parked in the yard and was easily the oldest by 9 years!
    I have a picture and it looks ridiculous, I'll stick it up later!

Had a similar experience when I brought my dad to collect his golf. The vw garage just had lines of 141,142 stuff then 131,132 reg cars and vans. My golf looked ancient near them all :pac:

Bpmull wrote: »
    Had a similar experience when I brought my dad to collect his golf. The vw garage just had lines of 141,142 stuff then 131,132 reg cars and vans. My golf looked ancient near them all :pac:

Now throw a 99 plate in there! Even though I couldn't care less I still felt a bit iffy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Brilliant

Just got on the train to go home. Lads only started cleaning it but i manage to find an unopened kitkat chunky and mini bottle of red wine !

Nice way to finish the day !

Dammit I knew thats where I had them last!

Now throw a 99 plate in there! Even though I couldn't care less I still felt a bit iffy :)

It doesn't really bother me that much either I would have cared a lot more at one stage. To me my golf feels about 2 years old to drive its a comfortable car that I like to drive which is all that really matters to me even if the Reg shows it to be 8 years old whivh I find hard to believe when I think about it just seems so much younger to me.

Im kind of against borrowing for cars. So even if my car is back the years I owe nothing on it and I'll change it when I can afford to buy something worth changing it too without borrowing although that's easy to say when your in college :). My mother always says that I'll probably finish college be in a job a month and arrive home with a brand new car which is exactly what my dad would do :pac: :)

I don't borrow for cars either, which is why I buy crap ones and do them up over time :)
    This will stand me very little though and be super clean once done!

I don't borrow for cars either, which is why I buy crap ones and do them up over time :)
    This will stand me very little though and be super clean once done!

I'm looking forward to seeing the pictures when you have it a few months and everything is sorted with it seems like it has a lot of potential :)

Thanks BP!

The engine is in great nick, it needs a rad which it is getting shortly. It's loosing about 50-100ml daily.

Bumpers need spraying but that's next week.

The leather interior needs a good clean and maybe a re-dye to get it back to full health!

After that its basically done!

But I have spent out already on 4 tyres, full service, front bumper oem grille and splitter, 2 of the most expensive shocks known to man (€180 per 1 front and €90 per 1 rear!).

Oh and tax!

But its fun so I don't care!

Got a call to say the car war ready so I went for it. Provided my own door lock, splitter and pump. Still charged 300 to put it all in, bar them providing a front ball joint and ps fluid. They reckoned that the bolts holding on the pump were rusted and so needed to be cut off. They had "awful trouble" putting on the splitter as it was very delicate so had to pad the back of it or something, can't get a proper look in the dark. I tried putting it on myself prior, but wouldn't stay for me. Ah well there's my ramblings for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

They had awful trouble with a few nuts? The poor delicate flowers :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭sblythe

Got a call to say the car war ready so I went for it. Provided my own door lock, splitter and pump. Still charged 300 to put it all in, bar them providing a front ball joint and ps fluid. They reckoned that the bolts holding on the pump were rusted and so needed to be cut off. They had "awful trouble" putting on the splitter as it was very delicate so had to pad the back of it or something, can't get a proper look in the dark. I tried putting it on myself prior, but wouldn't stay for me. Ah well there's my ramblings for the night.

Sometimes at work i get pretty surprised when I see how much someone can be overcharged for such little jobs.

I'd be livid if someone said that to me after paying 300 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Thanks BP!

The engine is in great nick, it needs a rad which it is getting shortly. It's loosing about 50-100ml daily.

Bumpers need spraying but that's next week.

The leather interior needs a good clean and maybe a re-dye to get it back to full health!

After that its basically done!

But I have spent out already on 4 tyres, full service, front bumper oem grille and splitter, 2 of the most expensive shocks known to man (€180 per 1 front and €90 per 1 rear!).

Oh and tax!

But its fun so I don't care!

I spent 250 a shock the other night...my gtv cost me 350 :pac:
    It doesn't even need new shocks

I spent 250 a shock the other night...my gtv cost me 350 :pac:
    It doesn't even need new shocks

Point taken :pac:

I thought €180 was bad!
    Well it is bad but obviously there is worse!

Hell I could buy a brand new set of **** coilovers for €180!
    I'd ruin the car though, she's so comfy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Still better than the i40 and focus they are getting :pac: But at the same time if they went out and bought decent high powered cars people would complain there wasting taxpayers money so I suppose you can't win.

Problem with those Insignias is they'll all be in the hard shoulder on fire :pac:

I hate the internet! I just binged on €100 worth of cleaning and dyeing kit for doing the interior in the e36.
    All because of you popping it into my head BP, all because of YOU!!

I hate the internet! I just binged on €100 worth of cleaning and dyeing kit for doing the interior in the e36.
    All because of you popping it into my head BP, all because of YOU!!

It will be worth it when the interior is like new I didn't even realise you could get dye kits for leather seats.

Some of the turn arounds are amazing, there's another forum I'm on and the lads have stepped through it using this exact kit.

it's amazing, never knew it existed until lately either!

http://www.dynamixdyes.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Problem with those Insignias is they'll all be in the hard shoulder on fire :pac:

problem with these new cars is

volvo gave them the same type of power and comfort and amazing reliability 10 years ago without even trying or having to call it sport !