Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

F1's are miles ahead in terms of grip on the initial turn in. Rainsports are ok but by no means a sports tyre.
    OSI wrote: »
    Having had the F1s and gone back to the Rainsports I have to agree. I used to rate the Rainsport 2s very highly, but having put the Rainsport 3s on the GTI after the F1s, they feel horrendous. They feel floaty and lack feedback and I find myself with no confidence in pushing the car on or even doing a motorway run at any decent speed. Had to pump them up to 37psi to stop them feeling like I'd left all the bolts loose on the wheels.
    F1's or fvck off

Feck, F1s it is then:pac:
    Ill have to wait two weeks though until I have enough saved, just spent 500 euro on two shocks :D
    The alloys that they're going on have to arrive from the UK, so not in a massive rush

Also whats the difference between these
    http://www.oponeo.ie/details-tyre/goodyear-eagle-f1-asymmetric-2-225-45-r17-91-y-v1#81611674

http://www.oponeo.ie/details-tyre/goodyear-eagle-f1-asymmetric-2-225-45-r17-91-v#81123422

http://www.oponeo.ie/details-tyre/goodyear-eagle-f1-asymmetric-2-225-45-r17-94-y-v1#81451604

http://www.oponeo.ie/details-tyre/goodyear-eagle-f1-asymmetric-2-225-45-r17-91-y-mfs#79187610

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Had a very quick look at that red golf this morning. Didn't get a chance to talk to anyone but had a quick look around it. Was sure it was a 5 door, but it was a 3. 6 speed 2.0 diesel. Motorcheck says it's a gt tdi, but the front grille doesn't represent that...

That would be the 140bhp so. It's worth finding out how much they are looking for it as maybe you could be lucky and they don't have too high a price on it or that they are very interested in taking your focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Very non motors related but

On the enterprise train First class is the only way to go with extra comfy seats like beds and complimentary drinks !

Fantastic value at €0 to me to go on a trip with all the luxuries :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,553 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You had me at 'complimentary drinks' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You had me at 'complimentary drinks' :D

Damn you samsung predictive text thing !

"Anything from the bar sir ? A Menu ?"

Oh wow... why have i being associating with all the rift raft when this is available for me ! Id nearly recommend becoming a CIE employee just for the benefits !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Gah 10 mins late for nct app and they refused to test volvo. They didnt charge me though.

installing new battery and a dipped bulb took longer than expected. Car is running great now however. Starts and everything.

Gah 10 mins late for nct app and they refused to test volvo. They didnt charge me though.

installing new battery and a dipped bulb took longer than expected. Car is running great now however. Starts and everything.

Battery in the boot very handy to do

Dip bulb handy enough i thought !

Did you fix the hunting issue ? What was it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Theres a 151 cactus driving around near home. Looks cool in the flesh. The leather patch on the door is very odd though. Anyone know what its for!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Interslice wrote: »
    Theres a 151 cactus driving around near home. Looks cool in the flesh. The leather patch on the door is very odd though. Anyone know what its for!?

Probably so it can be parked anywhere in a car park without worrying about other people battering it with opening doors.

I think they're cool as fcuk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Probably so it can be parked anywhere in a car park without worrying about other people battering it with opening doors.

I think they're cool as fcuk

Makes sense! Looks a great place for moss to grow though :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭ofcork

Citroen call them airbumps but I cant see others following suit.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On the enterprise train First class is the only way to go with extra comfy seats like beds and complimentary drinks !

Did you not have the breakfast?
    I've to drive to Belfast in the morning

They'll slap on a cancellation fee when you rebook though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    I've to drive to Belfast in the morning
    (

You still doing that :eek:
    I thought that was temporary?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pred racer wrote: »
    You still doing that :eek:
    I thought that was temporary?

Just for the day :) Just for the day, arrive at 8 leave at three thirty :)

Could be worse, could be Letterkenny

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

And they wonder why CIE is in a financial mess!*

*joke

Stheno wrote: »
    Just for the day :) Just for the day, arrive at 8 leave at three thirty :)

Could be worse, could be Letterkenny

True.

I was back in France for 3 days last week, in between my normal shift in my proper job, marseille is nice this time of year ;)
    Shagged now though.

Dia1988 wrote: »

*joke

I used work for a company who had offices in Belfast and Dublin spent 2/3 days a week up there in this particular job

They (the company not IE) used give us books of tickets for first class on the entreprise and we'd make a ritual of having breakfast en route as well.

However in my current job I have to drive as the first entreprise gets into Belfast from Dublin at 9:45!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I need to change my rear brake pads, can hear the sqeeking, Im sick and its far too cold outside.

That's what mechanics are for ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

pred racer wrote: »
    That's what mechanics are for ;)

you know I am almost tempted to just throw 60 euro to a mechanic but thats embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

you know I am almost tempted to just throw 60 euro to a mechanic but thats embarrassing.

I'll do it! :pac:

Dia1988 wrote: »

*joke

A lot of people would say that and be quite serious about it

but the trains and buses are still going to run regardless so letting one bloke on for free who works for the company isint the end of the world. Sure if it wasnt free it just wouldnt be used too !

@stheno would the bus eierann X1 not do the trick ? A departure every hour from both sides

Busses are the devils work :pac::pac:

Nah it's a pain getting to the airport which is closest to me and tbh it's quicker to drive :)

I seen this on fb earlier granted it could be all lies the original clutch is hard to believe tbh. But if it's true it's fair going especially considering it is no doubt a bxe engine which whenever someone comes on to boards to ask about them you get a 100 horror stories about conrods going and how they don't make it to 100k miles with breaking and that it's an inevitability yet I've never actually heard of a real case of it in Ireland anyway.

4D53FB7B-6B33-4A2C-AAE5-35A2C1F76E9B_zps36kbmdqw.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I can show you a trashed BXE lump in the reality

240k miles? If I'm honest, that isn't bragging material. A rolled tdci transit was stripped at my preferred breakers, one owner from new. I think it got a new propshaft but everything else was still original. Circa 600k miles

dgt wrote: »
    I can show you a trashed BXE lump in the reality

240k miles? If I'm honest, that isn't bragging material. A rolled tdci transit was stripped at my preferred breakers, one owner from new. I think it got a new propshaft but everything else was still original. Circa 600k miles

I'm not saying that conrods don't break on bxe engines but I think in reality it's alot rarer an occurance than is made out. But how many of these engines were serviced every 15k km several are on long life variable interval servicing plans almost all the U.K. ones anyway they are only being serviced every 25-30k miles.

Also I wouldn't argue that older cars vans were in many cases more reliable well were certainly better able to cope with high mileage. But then things are so much more complicated nowadays with cars so there is more to go wrong. With an old non turbo Diesel engine with no dpf, egr valve, dmf, turbo etc. etc. there isn't exactly a lot to go wrong there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm not saying that conrods don't break on bxe engines but I think in reality it's alot rarer an occurance than is made out. But how many of these engines were serviced every 15k km several are on long life variable interval servicing plans almost all the U.K. ones anyway they are only being serviced every 25-30k miles.

Also I wouldn't argue that older cars vans were in many cases more reliable well were certainly better able to cope with high mileage. But then things are so much more complicated nowadays with cars so there is more to go wrong. With an old non turbo Diesel engine with no dpf, egr valve, dmf, turbo etc. etc. there isn't exactly a lot to go wrong there.

The transit was one of the first of the facelift models in 2006, it had most of that unnecessary crap

dgt wrote: »
    The transit was one of the first of the facelift models in 2006, it had most of that unnecessary crap

Ah I thought it was an older one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Got the car back :D
    Fair play to Honda Poland and Ireland for the quick turnaround and brilliant job.
    Total bill in Euro......... 1433e :D Hope that teaches the bint to be careful in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Lads, those black Go Safe vans, have they a camera in front or is it just the back which can catch you both ways?