Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

YbFocus wrote: »
    So just doing the sums...

500 for the turbo
    100 for two oil flushes
    60 for final good oil
    50 for a fecked flexible pipe
    60 in gaskets

800 ish because I know I've forgot some stuff, I'm surprised as that ain't bad as I thought!
    She'll live again!

Was that a brand new turbo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Best one i seen last time it was snowing was a fella in a three series with snow socks on the front of the car stuck on a hill :o

Best one I saw were chains on the front wheels of a 1 series!

Ok it was a meme but still :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Best one I saw were chains on the front wheels of a 1 series!

Ok it was a meme but still :cool:

Hehe that's a goodun, yknow the backroad from the racecourse into newbridge? you come out by the back of of mcloughlins? that road anyways, he was stuck on that and the rears spinning like mad :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Interslice wrote: »
    Was that a brand new turbo?

No no god no, rebuilt. Hopefully before the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

So just doing the sums...

500 for the turbo
    100 for two oil flushes
    60 for final good oil
    50 for a fecked flexible pipe
    60 in gaskets

800 ish because I know I've forgot some stuff, I'm surprised as that ain't bad as I thought!
    She'll live again!

How much would you be paying for someone else to do it

No no god no, rebuilt. Hopefully before the weekend!

Was thinking it was cheap :pac:. The main reason I got an aul turbo diesel even if something did go wrong I could both afford the parts and be able to fix it myself. 800 euro because of one of the usual modern diesel problems would financially cripple me at the moment.

How much would you be paying for someone else to do it

Probably a million :)

Ah I'm very lucky to have a good/best friend a qualified mech so he helps me a lot! I'd never dream of ripping this kind of stuff if I didn't have some guidance.

On a price for a garage to do it, I suppose €1500-1800 wouldn't be miles off as the friend is passing on all the trade benefits and favours he's getting :)

Was thinking it was cheap :pac:. The main reason I got an aul turbo diesel even if something did go wrong I could both afford the parts and be able to fix it myself. 800 euro because of one of the usual modern diesel problems would financially cripple me at the moment.

€1500 new in a little cardboard box! Would it outlast three refurbed ones?
    I doubt it!

I hope not!

fyp :p

I doubt it!

Is that the problem where the little PCB board goes in the actuator? Remember it happening someone on here with a BMW a few years ago .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Mycroft H wrote: »
    http://www.aepdirect.com

I've gotten bits of them before. Spheres and self levelling stuff for an xantia
    Have the similar problem with the mirage. Random parts. Had to go and measure the the ARBs so I could order front ARB bushes of the rear of an Evo 4 and rear ARB bushes of the front of an FTO mivec :pac:. Got them off camskill. Motor factor only can only get in drop links and brake flexi's. The problem isn't that they don't have the parts it's just that they're not listed.
    Cheers guys. Mainly just service parts but you don't know what you need unless you remove it and get a part number. Two completely different ignition systems depending on what month the car was built. My system didn't have a part number so we had to go by the colour and if the distributor cap was male or female to figure it all out. Getting there but slowly.

I'm rebuilding the window washer system currently. The pump to feed the water was fecked as was all the pipework. The whole lot was full of 'crude' and nothing worked. It annoyed me so much I stripped it all away. new pump on the way but the narrow pipe on the wiper arm is proving to be as rare as hens teeth.

Lads for anyone who is after tools, the halfords advanced pro 170 kit is 125 quid at the moment. Then theres another 10% off with the axa card.
    Lifetime warranty on the non-moving parts and basically everything you need

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Cheers guys. Mainly just service parts but you don't know what you need unless you remove it and get a part number. Two completely different ignition systems depending on what month the car was built. My system didn't have a part number so we had to go by the colour and if the distributor cap was male or female to figure it all out. Getting there but slowly.

I'm rebuilding the window washer system currently. The pump to feed the water was fecked as was all the pipework. The whole lot was full of 'crude' and nothing worked. It annoyed me so much I stripped it all away. new pump on the way but the narrow pipe on the wiper arm is proving to be as rare as hens teeth.

Would a silicon hose not do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Would a silicon hose not do?

It MUST BE original :D

I'll explore every avenue before bodging it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »
    He makes it seem like he didn't get very stuck at one point. :p
    Having me and another poster stranded with him for over an hour. Hahaha

Remember that was on the way down.... ;) and another boardsie to the rescue!

I never forget the important moments others do to help :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

dgt wrote: »
    Remember that was on the way down.... ;) and another boardsie to the rescue!

I never forget the important moments others do to help :D

I helped, I was just no use. Hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone else spot any cars going around with the antlers and nose on them yet? I have, and they all seem to be Qashqais

The most stupid, pointless things ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Saw a Passat with the Nose on it going through Abbeyknockmoy the last day, ugh

Anyone else spot any cars going around with the antlers and nose on them yet? I have, and they all seem to be Qashqais

The most stupid, pointless things ever!

Yes. I cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yes. I cringe

My car has them. It looks :cool:

Yes. I cringe

Caught one out of the corner of my eye today. Lookely didn't suffer full eyeballs on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ah jaysus, if it being silver wasn't bad enough....... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I really have to get a set for mine, adds to the :cool:

Must be a BMW thing.... :p

Makes it look even more like I'm driving my parents car :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

They seem to be favored by Qashqai and Juke owners.

They're so bloody ridiculous looking.

They seem to be favored by Qashqai and Juke owners.

They're so bloody ridiculous looking.

2w58uar.jpg

AMAZING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Yes, I saw these on a car.

$_35.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

2w58uar.jpg

AMAZING.

Still looks ridiculous. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket