Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What's your order in the chipper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Snack box.

But sometimes all I want is cheap, plasticky cheese burger.

This thread made me get chips for my lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

jimgoose wrote: »
    Lot of pollock around, whitefish like cod but suspiciously "mushy". Cod is overfished, apparently.
    more than likely its Coley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Often, yes. Actually the two are first-cousins and the Americans usually use the term "pollock" to describe coley as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

Ah will ye all feck off. Chippers, chinese and tayto are what I can't have living abroad :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Either a snack box or chips and chicken nuggets. :o Sometimes with curry sauce or garlic mayo in a tub. Those would be my usual orders.

Sometimes, I'll go for a burger or fish. Haven't been to chipper in yonks though, trying to stay healthy. When I do treat myself though, it'll be fúcking SWEET!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Maybe I'm missing out here, but a pal of mine regularly goes for stuff like Garlic Cheesy Chips, which just seems like an overly gloopy & fast-congealing sludgefest.

The accompanying sound effects don't help either tbh.

Joe Normal here will happily devour a Cod n' Chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I need to stop reading food threads when I'm out of the country :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    A good cod or ray n chips is hard to beat.

But so many places are not using real cod.....anyone notice that?

Its usually some grey tasteless sh1t, don't get me wrong, edible after a glass or two of sherry, but not in the cold light of day.
    jimgoose wrote: »
    Lot of pollock around, whitefish like cod but suspiciously "mushy". Cod is overfished, apparently.

Jaysus, you wouldn't know what to be telling Jenkins to bring up from the cellar:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 irishirish14

Two cheese burgers and a cup of tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

stuffing, peas and gravy chip with a chicken fillet burger, coke, onion rings and a battered mars bar.
    Get it about once a month and promptly fall into a food coma.
    I always feel like I'm being judged when I order it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

spice burger
    batter sausage
    portion of chips
    Hint of salt
    Drowned in vinegar

and a bottle of chef spread out all over the bag once at home.
    Looks like a mob crime scene when Im done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

GreeBo wrote: »
    spice burger
    batter sausage
    portion of chips
    Hint of salt
    Drowned in vinegar

and a bottle of chef spread out all over the bag once at home.
    Looks like a mob crime scene when Im done.

That'll do wonders for your concentration on a golf course. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Long time since i tasted real cod in a chipper
    There were DNA tests done a year or so ago, the vast majority of "fresh cod" is cod, the vast majority of "smoked cod" is not cod. I think both were in the 90%'s

I expect if its smoked it masks the fish more so they chance it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Quarter Pounder done like a cheese burger, sausage in batter and chips. Loads of sore finger. Yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Whurley Burger

Nah, not really, that sh!t would kill you before you finish it!

Over here, if I don't get a chicken shish, I stick with a doner meat and chips - they really don't do the other usual stuff well.

I'm back in Dublin on Thursday and the first thing I'm doing is hitting the Borza to get a proper battered sausage and a proper quarter pounder. . . the chips go without saying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Curry chips and a fillet of cod, más é do thoil é!

I don't go to the chipper much these days but that would be my most likely order. Otherwise, forget about the curry, and replace with a few bottles of vinegar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Quarter pounder meal, everything on it and a can of cola :D

Oh, I nearly forgot. There's a little Chinese takeaway near me as well, and sometimes I go in there for Beijing-style crispy half-duck. No sauce, no nothing, just duck. They're used to me now, but the expression on the face of the Chinese lady who owns the place was priceless the first time. "Dry duck? Dry duck?? No sauce??" "Yes, that's right. Couple of birdshot pellets in there if you have 'em, us country fellas like the bit of crunch. But pure unadulterated duck otherwise!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

I wonder if the chipper consumption of boards users today will increase as a result of this thread......

I can almost smell the vinegary goodness....

just chips with lashings of vinegar and a sprinkle of salkt for me thanks, I am fierce boring but like to dedicate myself to savouring the chips as its on such a rare occasion that i have them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭The Rabbit

It's been a long time since I've eaten anything from a chipper.

Probably eat a slice of pizza out of one if I was on the beer and there was no other option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Snack box with a breast and curry sauce. Might throw in a sausage as well depending how hungry i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tastyt

I like a nice leg of fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Batter sausage and chips if the mood takes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Angry_Mammarys

Either a breast in a bun, and chips curry and mushy peas from Lennoxes , Or a smoked cod and chips, lots of salt and vinegar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Deranged96 wrote: »
    stuffing, peas and gravy chip with a chicken fillet burger, coke, onion rings and a battered mars bar.
    Get it about once a month and promptly fall into a food coma.
    I always feel like I'm being judged when I order it :pac:

The first, and possibly only, time I went to a chipper in England, I asked for fish and chips. What's the deal with them contaminating the whole plate with mushy peas? I didn't ask for mushy peas as they are disgusting to taste, smell, or even look at!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

theteal wrote: »
    Whurley Burger

Nah, not really, that sh!t would kill you before you finish it!

Over here, if I don't get a chicken shish, I stick with a doner meat and chips - they really don't do the other usual stuff well.

I'm back in Dublin on Thursday and the first thing I'm doing is hitting the Borza to get a proper battered sausage and a proper quarter pounder. . . the chips go without saying!

Forgive my ignorance, but what in the name of Valenti, is a Whurley burger? is that the sound it makes when its coming back up?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,435 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bottle of water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Griever931

Usually I go with a snack box with a coke. I used to love the chips in Roberto's in Sligo but too often they were under cooked so I stopped going there.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Forgive my ignorance, but what in the name of Valenti, is a Whurley burger? is that the sound it makes when its coming back up?:eek:

It's made from the ground-up meat of the Whorley, a semi-mythical beast that roams the mountains of Wesht Kerry and is said to be half-llama, half-goat and half-Jackie Healy-Rae. Or it could just be a regular hamburger made with a batterburger instead of the usual pattie. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

rubadub wrote: »
    There were DNA tests done a year or so ago, the vast majority of "fresh cod" is cod, the vast majority of "smoked cod" is not cod. I think both were in the 90%'s

I expect if its smoked it masks the fish more so they chance it more.

Follow up study by Prof. Stefano Mariani of the University of Salford in January 2014 found 41.7% of Fish sold as Cod in the Dublin chippers sampled came from another species.

http://phys.org/news/2014-01-cod-mislabelling-eradicated-dublin-supermarkets.html

The original study showed 82% of smoked Cod & Haddock were mislabelled.
    “We tested samples of fish products labeled as either ‘cod’ or ‘haddock’ from randomly selected retail outlets from within ten postal districts across Dublin. Within each district, we selected two samples from each of: two ‘fish and chip’ shops, two fresh fish counters, and four samples (two frozen, two packaged fresh) from each of two supermarkets.”

Using DNA barcoding, the scientists genetically identified that 25% of all samples (or 39 out of 156) labeled and sold as ‘cod’ or ‘haddock’ were from entirely different fish species, and were therefore considered mislabeled under EU regulations. When the sample only included smoked fish products labeled as cod and haddock, the mislabeling reached 82%.
    http://www.ucd.ie/news/2010/04APR10/230410_cod.html