Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Ashling Thompson tells it like she sees it, no bulls*it there!! Been through some serious bouts of depression and that, but has come through it.

Wonder no one made the point that Anna Geary was a Rose of Tralee contestant!!

Anyway Docta, and the rest of the Dubs, we're on for yet another double! Wouldn't mind the Dubs winning it only for the lad in charge of ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Get canning, Marty, ryle Nugent, Trevor Francis, Richie sadlier, you know, people with lovely smooth James bond non irritating voices like that. Rte have standards to maintain.

Martin "It Must Be Said, There Was No Malice In It, It Must Be Said" Carney, Martin McHugh, Dessie "The Drone" Dolan & Brian Carty, hardly fit the bill of people with lovely, smooth voices, do they? Doesn't stop any of them from getting an annoyingly large amount of work on RTE. To be fair to Dessie Dolan, he is a good analyst....but jayzus....that voice....:o

Didn't she recite a poem for her talent bit?

And not just any old poem. It was a poem that she wrote herself.

And not just any old poem that she wrote herself. It was a poem that was about herself too.

And it wasn't just any old poem about herself. It was a poem about herself winning the Rose of Tralee.

And they say that Cork people are lacking in confidence ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Martin "It Must Be Said, There Was No Malice In It, It Must Be Said" Carney, Martin McHugh, Dessie "The Drone" Dolan & Brian Carty, hardly fit the bill of people with lovely, smooth voices, do they? Doesn't stop any of them from getting an annoyingly large amount of work on RTE. To be fair to Dessie Dolan, he is a good analyst....but jayzus....that voice....:o

D
    Hi...I dunno if it was clear but I was making the same point as you. If we're excluding commentators and analysts on the basis of their voice, Montrose sports department will be a very quiet spot indeed.

My suspicion is that women are being held to a standard of looks and, weirdly, sound, that men aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Ashling Thompson tells it like she sees it, no bulls*it there!! Been through some serious bouts of depression and that, but has come through it.

Anyway Docta, and the rest of the Dubs, we're on for yet another double! Wouldn't mind the Dubs winning it only for the lad in charge of ye!

I thought she spoke really well in the after match RTE interview too, she looks the sort that would put manners on ya.

And that's exactly what we do here in Dublin, put manners on the Rebels - we are Henry Higgins to yer Eliza Doolittle:D I'm always amazed to hear D4 accent dj's and workmates announce that they're from Cooirk. I'd leave her yap as is rather than that insufferable put on crap!

I've a feeling the 2nd round of the minor club championship is on the same day as the Ladies AI - but throw in is generally around 11 so should get into see the girls. Ran the Rebels close last year before running out of steam.

The biggest day in Ladies GAA and you wont be taking yer seat with the Ard Comhairle this year. Make sure you have yer phone for text updates at RWC in the Stoop...If anyone asks where yer from tell'em Cooirk :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

ProudDUB wrote: »

Didn't she recite a poem for her talent bit?

And not just any old poem. It was a poem that she wrote herself.

And not just any old poem that she wrote herself. It was a poem that was about herself too.

And it wasn't just any old poem about herself. It was a poem about herself winning the Rose of Tralee.

And they say that Cork people are lacking in confidence ! :D

People from Cork are full of confidence until they see the black and amber :P!
    DoctaDee wrote: »
    I thought she spoke really well in the after match RTE interview too, she looks the sort that would put manners on ya.

And that's exactly what we do here in Dublin, put manners on the Rebels - we are Henry Higgins to yer Eliza Doolittlebiggrin.png I'm always amazed to hear D4 accent dj's and workmates announce that they're from Cooirk. I'd leave her yap as is rather than that insufferable put on crap!

I've a feeling the 2nd round of the minor club championship is on the same day as the Ladies AI - but throw in is generally around 11 so should get into see the girls. Ran the Rebels close last year before running out of steam.

The biggest day in Ladies GAA and you wont be taking yer seat with the Ard Comhairle this year. Make sure you have yer phone for text updates at RWC in the Stoop...If anyone asks where yer from tell'em Cooirk :P

In terms of accents I'd rather Cooirk than bleeding Duhblun (Henry Higgins lol, did he ever have a spoider in his house?) so yeah, leave her accent as is.

But in terms of putting manners on people, this is a GAA thread so we rule supreme in that role :P!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Very Bored wrote: »
    People from Cork are full of confidence until they see the black and amber and the green and gold of Kuree. :p

Fixed that for you. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,981 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Well, the Cork ladies have no issue with colour it seems, considering in the semis , the camogie girls beat the black and amber and the footballers beat the green and gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Well, the Cork ladies have no issue with colour it seems, considering in the semis , the camogie girls beat the black and amber and the footballers beat the green and gold.

So not only are KK and Kerry showing up the Cork hurling and football teams, yer women are doing it as well, jaysus must be tough going!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,981 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

danganabu wrote: »
    So not only are KK and Kerry showing up the Cork hurling and football teams, yer women are doing it as well, jaysus must be tough going!!

It should be obvious to a blind man that those teams don't need help in showing themselves up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

Joe Brolly show some respect ffs....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

O'Rourke talking sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

pajoguy wrote: »
    Joe Brolly show some respect ffs....

I missed it, what did he say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

I missed it, what did he say?

Just the throwing eyes up to heaven and chatting to o rourke when pat spillane was answering a question put directly to him.
    It was literally from the start.
    He does great work for the organ donor movement but he is very irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Martin Carney again

Why RTE, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭zetecescort

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Martin Carney again

Why RTE, why?

no malice whatsoever on RTE's part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

no malice whatsoever on RTE's part

they have to commended for their zeal

McStay to Brolly when he went on about Michael Murphy not being picked on their team ' well you could have voted for him if you turned up for the meeting' classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

In fairness Brolly talks some amount of sh1te and he's getting worse each year.

I think Michael Murphy is a great player but I honestly don't know how anyone could pick him for the all star team.

To top it all off he thought Aidan O'Shea should be player of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Thought Diarmuid O'Connor deserved number 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

RTE Panelists Team of the Year.

363164.jpg

Player of the Year: Jack McCaffrey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Top 4 now

Dublin
    Mayo
    Tyrone
    Kerry

Regarding Tomás decision to wear that dickybow, Dessie didn't know whether to ask him a question or order a drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭P_Cash

AOS, the Lad plays well against lower level teams, no where to be seen in the two dub games,

Then the most reliable free taker cillian oconnor no where on the list. Lol 😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

In fairness Brolly talks some amount of sh1te and he's getting worse each year.

I think Michael Murphy is a great player but I honestly don't know how anyone could pick him for the all star team.

To top it all off he thought Aidan O'Shea should be player of the year.

How anyone can talk about Aidan O'Shea as player of the year when Philly McMahon took him for 1-2 in the All-Ireland semi replay, I just don't know.

He is also a despicable person for making false allegations of headbutting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Egg Awn O Far Eel :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Wouldn't have gone for Fenton myself, but he is a good choice. Played well throughout & I was shocked when he was taken off.

Godge wrote: »
    How anyone can talk about Aidan O'Shea as player of the year when Philly McMahon took him for 1-2 in the All-Ireland semi replay, I just don't know.

Cripes your still complaining all evening after an All Ireland win. You'd be hard to listen to if you had actually lost :rolleyes:. Not a word about the Mcmahon eye gouge from you, your blinkers are welded on or else your his mother or girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Godge wrote: »

It was more of an attempted headbutt really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I think Des Cahill just outed himself there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

I think Des Cahill just outed himself there.

I missed that ?