If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are Irish men the ugliest in the World?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭Wompa1

That's not true. If I saw a girl I thought was beautiful, chances are I'd tell her. Not in a sleazy way, just straight out - it's nice to pay people compliments and usually they take it well. I just bung in "shame those trousers you're wearing make your bum look huge" on the end of it. Usually, they giggle.

Must have been in my approach so! When I was in my early 20's, I once brought a girl a Rose when meeting up for a date. It ruined the entire night. She looked at me like I had two heads. Ahhhh..thank jaysus those days are over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Must have been in my approach so! When I was in my early 20's, I once brought a girl a Rose when meeting up for a date. It ruined the entire night. She looked at me like I had two heads. Ahhhh..thank jaysus those days are over

Were you my date? :eek:

sopretty wrote: »
    Were you my date? :eek:

Hey! Maybe I was. Well listen here biatch. Now I'm raking it in, living in a class apartment in a city where the sun shines all year round AND my penis enlargement treatment left hardly any scarring at all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Hey! Maybe I was. Well listen here biatch. Now I'm raking it in, living in a class apartment in a city where the sun shines all year round AND my penis enlargement treatment left hardly any scarring at all :)

Not too bitter are ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm starting to see the problem. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You ever try doing that to a girl in Ireland?

That's how I roll. Ask Mrs. Goose. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

That's not true. If I saw a girl I thought was beautiful, chances are I'd tell her. Not in a sleazy way, just straight out - it's nice to pay people compliments and usually they take it well. I just bung in "shame those trousers you're wearing make your bum look huge" on the end of it. Usually, they giggle.

"Not in a sleezy way" is entirely dependant on whether the girl finds you attractive or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

"Not in a sleezy way" is entirely dependant on whether the girl finds you attractive or not.

I wouldn't say its 'entirely' dependent on that, but its certainly a factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

The next logical step from that very unpleasant claim is "Shur it wouldn't be sexual assault at all if he was hot". Really hate that accusation. It's so bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

The next logical step from that very unpleasant claim is "Shur it wouldn't be sexual assault at all if he was hot". Really hate that accusation. It's so bitter.

Ahh now that's a different kettle of fish altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Y'all had to take the thread down a dark unlit avenue.

Just when my beauty was coming to light.

Feck's sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

It's me you're talking about. Most women are too busy giggling girlishly and flicking their hair to hear a word I'm saying. It gets tiring.

On a serious note, if I was to say it, it would be in a stating a fact way, not sleazy. And women know the difference. I'm not a sleaze, never was, usually I'm not even after anything, just shooting the breeze, and I have a trustworthy face. You need to credit people with knowing the difference. They do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Bear in mind that a lot of French guys are actually more like Bernard from Black Books...

The French and ourselves have a LOT in common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Not necessarily. I received a lovely compliment once from a guy I wouldn't be attracted to. I didn't find it sleazy at all and thanked him graciously. If the compliment is nicely put, it won't come across as sleazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

They're a mixed bag much like anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Not necessarily. I received a lovely compliment once from a guy I wouldn't be attracted to. I didn't find it sleazy at all and thanked him graciously. If the compliment is nicely put, it won't come across as sleazy.

Absolutely agree, some people are just good at flirting and brighten your day. No creepy feeing of being detaied or obliged to respond in kind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I would say thank you and that would be it. You should try to sociaise in different places if the girls say things lik
    e...Whah are ye loik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I would say thank you and that would be it. You should try to sociaise in different places if the girls say things lik
    e...Whah are ye loik

That was the other lad saying that. I usually get "Thanks, I do try", mainly as my idea of beautiful tends to be a bit classier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Doesn't seem like a logical step from that at all,don't know what you're getting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Spud n1gger and white ****** are terms used in NYC to describe Irish men. Thomas Nast who gave us our depiction of Santa Claus whilst writing ads for Coca Cola also produced the ape like creatures in Yank publications. He was obviously influenced by Punch, beasts in tattered suits with pints in their claws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Harsh. Harsh, but fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,948 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

i'd say it's true, alright. i myself have bushy black eyebrows, a big nose and a couple of scar marks from a nasty bout of the chicken pox. although i do get told i'm handsome and have very nice eyes- but that's usually from girls who are drunk. i suppose it's true what they say beauty is in the eye of beer holder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Still plenty of great-looking Irish guys, and most are far from ugly. Stop putting yourselves down!
    smurgen wrote: »
    Doesn't seem like a logical step from that at all,don't know what you're getting at.
    What I mean is: where does the "It's only sleazy if she doesn't fancy him" thing end? Some unfortunately do think what I said - "It's only unwanted groping if she doesn't fancy him."

Yeh I know unwanted attention from the opposite sex can be "unwanted" because of not fancying the person (and this applies to guys too; why is it only ever spoken about in relation to women?) but that doesn't mean attention from a "hunky" guy is always wanted, or that a "hunky" guy can't be too OTT.

Rating people's looks by country makes no sense every country has its share of uggos and stunners. Hell I wouldn't say I'm a looker very much average really and any country iv been to women have responded pretty well,

What I would say is we probably have less men in good shape particularly as they get on in age but we also have very very few massively obese men

With regards irish women irish men tend to judge them very harshly but that is true of most country's unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

With regards irish women irish men tend to judge them very harshly but that is true of most country's unfortunately

Very true, countries tend to be often be judged on the quality of teh wimminz.

Oh wait, do you mean most countries' men judge Irish women harshly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Just got accepted to that website
    #BringingUpTheAverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

That more Irish failed doesn't mean their worse looking just more optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Just back from a weekend in Galway. Lots of ridiculously good looking tourists there. So yes we ( WOMEN TOO ) are a shower of freaks with good personalities. lol

I honestly never seen as so many good looking people in person in my life. All over 6ft too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Irish men aren't ugly. They clean up very well - Colin Farrell, Michael Fassbender, Pierce Brosnan, Killian Murphy etc.

The problem is most of them don't bother to clean up. As far as Irish men are concerned cleaning up is a waste of drink money and drinking time. They can pull regardless of what they look (or smell) like so why bother wasting time on personal hygiene.

We ain't seen nothing yet. Wait till water charges come into force - then the full filthy peasant will come out in every Irish man!