Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show April 4th 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭baldbear

I wonder will the gaurds name who rang the papers to say Claire Daly was breathalised ever come out? Doubtful.
    Nothing has changed under FG they are just as bad as the last crowd. Different cheek of the same arse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

RayM wrote: »
    It's strange that they don't allow beards, but moustaches are almost compulsory for senior members.

Especially for the laydeeees!!!;););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Tub doing his usual, not listening to anything being said, barging in with his next question.

Nothing new there.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,472 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There's a case to sometimes let people go but when you have Gardaí letting off their mates, neighbours, famous people you can see where it all goes wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Smooth Stuble

he will have to draw diagrams to explain the concept to Ryan!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

But it would define someone needing to believe in a God therefore excluding a large amount of people. Your word should be your bond without the need for any piece of paper to put your hand on.

Presumably atheists and non-Christians would make an affirmation?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Singing it backwards

through his nose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

But it would define someone needing to believe in a God therefore excluding a large amount of people. Your word should be your bond without the need for any piece of paper to put your hand on.

I know but it's the same in a courtroom as part of the legal process. Maybe Garda recruits that are non believers can opt to affirm instead of swearing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Was there some reason this interview couldn't be live?........

I'd say that since this man is one of the whistleblowers they were dreading to do it live, in case somebody's name came out on live tv before they could stop it. Post-Pantigate RTE policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Was there some reason this interview couldn't be live?........

Probably so that RTE couldn't be sued if it all went pear shaped and someones said something they shouldn't. The RTE legal eagles probably vetted the interview before they let it go on air.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid X wrote: »
    Legal Minefield. Huge potential to defame the ex commissioner, Minster for Justice, other Gardaí and others.

A good decision to let the lawyers look at it first.

What's the point in that?

It makes the interview a bit lame thought, doesn't it??......

He really shouldn't be on if he can't talk freely?

I'm not sure this is his time.

He will be on when he does the book let's face it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Callinan looks really bad there... Isnt that the new woman in charge sitting beside him??? She didnt exactly contradict him, and she's now in charge?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Presumably atheists and non-Christians would make an affirmation?

Harry, can you give me a horse for the National?

Last year's tip paid for a few trips to the Off Licence :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,472 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's a sort of career suicide the man did in order to stand up for his beliefs, fair play.

The point is so that RTE don't have to pay out bazillions in damages, if yer man says something for which RTE could later be sued.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I think it's worthwhile. He is a good speaker (if Tubs would let him talk). i haven't seen anything edited out so far, but it was prudent to pre-record it.

• Registered Users Posts: 72,127 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Harry, can you give me a horse for the National?

Last year's tip paid for a few trips to the Off Licence :)

The Rainbow Hunter

*kisses ticket*

• Registered Users Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭baldbear

I wonder will The Irish Independant go into why their editor in chief got his penalty points wiped? Id say loads of journalists have got their points sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The point is so that RTE don't have to pay out bazillions in damages, if yer man says something for which RTE could later be sued.

Exactly.

I get the point.

So what is the point of the interview if nothing can be learned?...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Callinan looks really bad there... Isnt that the new woman in charge sitting beside him??? She didnt exactly contradict him, and she's now in charge?

And she dragged it back up today, in Templemore, saying something like, he was entitled to his opinion.

Fupn hell, even the pre record guests get bombarded with clips.. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Sean Keane was singing Janey Mac I'm Nearly Forty with different words?

Hugh Laurie sings a song called "Changes" to the same air.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭trancemuzic

Jaysus Des Bishop has aged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I'd love to get a gawk at that Pulse data base.

Endless nosing.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

sligojoek wrote: »
    Hugh Laurie sings a song called "Changes" to the same air.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1gVpmIy6TE

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭ABlur

Fupn hell, even the pre record guests get bombarded with clips.. :pac:

'And how did that make you feel'?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I think it's worthwhile. He is a good speaker (if Tubs would let him talk). i haven't seen anything edited out so far, but it was prudent to pre-record it.

I'd really like to see him properly interviewed, i.e. not by Tubridy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

What's all this resign business, he quit .

Given the amount of non work related access to celebrity records on the Pulse system, I dont think any of the guards are mature enough to be allowed to use it...

Exactly.

I get the point.

So what is the point of the interview if nothing can be learned?...

Because he is still very well worth listening too. Just because he hasn't said something controversial or worthy of a law suit, it doesn't mean that people don't still want to know what he has to say, or explain why he has chosen to do what he did. I know I do.

Hafta say Ryan is coming across as a bit frosty. Does anyone else think that? I think it is odd, considering how brave this man has been and, how so many people would have a lot of time for him and for what he is trying to do. Wonder if Tubs was "leaned on" to go in a particular direction with the interview?