Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 brides!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Dovies wrote: »
    Ooh I would have to win one to get the motivation to do something like that! :(:eek:

I can't believe I'm writing this, but I really enjoyed it. The hour flew by. Don't get me wrong it was really really tough, but I keep picturing the model in the pic with my wedding dress and that kept me going.
    I could barely turn the key in the ignition when I got back to the car, and the pain every time I changed gears driving to work today was unreal. But it will all be worth it.

I've talked about losing weight/getting fitter for the last 10 years, if I don't do it now, I never will. And each session is one session closer to the wedding! The other two brides aren't getting married till NYE, at least I only have four months of torture!ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,298 ✭✭✭✭fits

Thinking of getting legs, underarm and bikini waxed. Only ever had legs done before. Is this a bad idea? How long before would I have to get it done?

All my tone up goals went out the window I am afraid. I am resolutely staying at the same weight I always am. If I were pain free on the day it would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭Milly33

Well done kildareash keep it up now.. You must get a bit of a rush after it all!! Plenty of stretching after might ease up the muscles.. Have been trying to be good myself going for a run every second day and weights and that and watching what I am eating hoping to tone up a little

Fits you are a brave women... Never had anything but the brows and the tash done..

I am already getting sick of the makeup aspect of the wedding. Getting it done as of now but it is kinda like why would it not be more comfortable doing it as I normally would. Im going to try the mac one me thinks to see.. I kinda of get excited about stuff and then im like yeah well do I really need it

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭tread_softly

fits wrote: »
    Thinking of getting legs, underarm and bikini waxed. Only ever had legs done before. Is this a bad idea? How long before would I have to get it done?

I got my bikini and legs waxed for mine, I got it done 2 days before and it was grand come the wedding day!

I was going to get my underarms done too but any of my friends I talked to about it had all had bad experiences getting that done so I skipped it and just shaved on the morning!

• Registered Users Posts: 8 bubbles1987

Girls I need some reassurance!! I had my hen last weekend, ad such a great weekend but I nearly died with the heat, I had a short party dress on and it wasnt even that hot in the bars. But I nearly melted. Are any of ye getting a second dress for the evening of the wedding for dancing etc......? I really dont want to change my dress as its the only time I get to wear the wedding dress(I hope) but im afraid im going to ruin the night with all my sweating. I cant stop worrying about it, im getting married n sept. Even tho I like the heat. Im hope its freezing on the day and just dry. I must be mad in the head!!!

Im with you on the heat and dress, that is half the reason I went for a more simpler style as I thought the wedding dresses were too heavy.. I would prefer to be too cold and jump around that be too warm..

I think the heat recently has been more humidity, even today it is dull in Cork but the heat and the ick feeling is there.. Just horrible weather... Id say by September time you will be fine without a doubt it will be cooler..

Getting a second dress then is completely up to you, might not be a bad idea to have a back up just incase.

If you want to stay in your own then just be prepared for if it, if it was a hot day... Maybe have a hand fan for yourself, running cold water on your wrists also cools you down or just put some on your neck.. I know this sounds weird to but from experience working out in a hot country befriend baby powder, if lets say you start getting to hot and a little sweaty go coat yourself in babypowder and it stops it.. Tis weird but I can vouch it works..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Yep have to agree with Milly about the baby powder - or just talc in general. Girls on another site are recommending Dr Haushka body silk talk - its expensive (30) but seemingly well worth it.

Never heard of that, just goggling must say I was half expecting some naughty site to pop up...

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

It was 36c here on Wednesday, no complaining about heat from people in Ireland please :pac:

September will be absolutely fine unless there is a back-to-school heatwave, I wouldn't be worrying at all. It was 18 ish, cloudy and humid for mine in late May and it was absolutely perfect really. I just wish the sun had come out for a bit!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Milly33 wrote: »
    Never heard of that, just goggling must say I was half expecting some naughty site to pop up...

Lol talc I obviously meant not talk! :o

I wouldn't say you have anything to worry about in September. But if you overheating could you get out of the dress and have a quick sprinkle in the shower, just before dinner or something?

Getting married in November, I kept on asking what could i wear to keep warm!

My little girl's flower girl dress arrived this morning. I haven't seen it yet, but it was delivered to my mam's house and she said it's gorgeous.
    And one of my veils arrived from Aliexpress and it's fine. The Hair clip could do with a little jazzing up, but that's easily fixed. I need someone to put it in my hair to see what it looks like properly, but I think it's definitely wearable.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

fits wrote: »

I just shave the legs usually and I get the bikini done in a salon, but the OH does my armpits for me with Veet strips. What is great about getting the armpits done is that with shaving, the bulb of the hair is still there under the skin so even if you give it a really good shave, you can sometimes still have a shadow there. Waxing pulls the hair root right out, so no shadow.

Though I always get him to do my armpits a few days before they need to be on show, as I can sometimes get a bit of red skin from a diy job but a salon using the right wax and technique you'd likely be fine after 48 hrs, assuming no reaction to the wax.

It's worth getting it done a couple of months before as a trial run maybe?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Cornflour is also great for sweating, especially in places like behind the knees and between your thighs ;)

Edit: that winky face made it look like I was being super creepy but I swear I'm not :D:D

Neyite wrote: »
    I just shave the legs usually and I get the bikini done in a salon, but the OH does my armpits for me with Veet strips. What is great about getting the armpits done is that with shaving, the bulb of the hair is still there under the skin so even if you give it a really good shave, you can sometimes still have a shadow there. Waxing pulls the hair root right out, so no shadow.

Though I always get him to do my armpits a few days before they need to be on show, as I can sometimes get a bit of red skin from a diy job but a salon using the right wax and technique you'd likely be fine after 48 hrs, assuming no reaction to the wax.

It's worth getting it done a couple of months before as a trial run maybe?

It probably would be but the wedding is next Friday :D

I am booked in for Tuesday and already had a patch test. Hopefully it will be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭stickybookmark

You'll be grand fits. Nice to have the bikini done for the honeymoon (I was also delighted to have the spray tan for the honeymoon. I've been getting brazilian, upper legs & eyebrows waxed for years & I epilate the lower leg but I've never been brave enough to get underarm done Owwww....but god Neyite u are so right about the root of hair + shadow!!
    Bubbles I am a sweat monster have been all my life, after 2-3 songs on a dancefloor I have to go outside for 5 mins. Because of my sweating issues I had to make an executive decision -at my wedding after the 1st dance I avoided the dancefloor til the DJ set. By then alot of guests were gone, those that were left were all hammered & cameras had been put away so I danced and sweated profusely to my heart's content. Felt guilty coz the band were excellent and it was No reflection on them, ppl that don't have sweating issues couldn't possibly understand the scale of it. Meant to look into botox injections round my hairline years ago but never got round to it, if I didn't do it for my wedding in fairness I never will! Had to go outside & hide round the corner for 10 mins to dry off after DJ set even then when I re-emerged OH's friend was horrified haha ....kept bringing me out glasses of water. What month is ur wedding bubbles? U could try 'sitting out' every 2nd/3rd song -use that time to socialise with your guests. Go for hair up not down. And a fan at the top of the church (if church wedding)

• Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭amor3

Bubbles , you can get a great roll on deodorant called perspireX , it's a little over 10 euro but it lasts ages, you put it on at night time (not on newly shaved armpits) and shower it off the next morning, completely dry arm pits for a week or so as for the rest of the body, as the other said, talc, you can get nice fresh smelling one in boots for ehh, ahem.. intimate areas.. called femfresh but i use it all over, under my boobs and such and its great.. but please no one pray for rain in September , i purposely booked that month as it is usually nice!

well we got the rings today.. They are loverly a little worried mine are still a little tight but I will see and then in a few weeks I might get them made bigger..with the heat my hands swell as such so I don't want to call it now..

Called to the dressmaker and tried on well kinda the top half of the dress in black material, weird as its like how does it turn into this but fingers crossed it will work.

Got lots done today, not to do the seating plan and final invites. I must say my mum is still shocking me with the friends very disappointed that she is being this way, i don't want to let her down but at the same time we have friends and others who we would like to invite.. we shall see we shall see

Just found out our priest is leaving the parish :( will have to wait for Monday now to rb

Just found out our priest is leaving the parish in a few weeks. Have to wait till Monday to contact the parish and see what the story is.
    He's not being properly replaced as far as I can gather. :(
    Really really hope he's still available as I really like him and he knows my family and I.

Sorry to hear that! Maybe he will still be able to do it.

Milly how in earth are you doing table plan already? We just finished ours and i consider that organised!

I always said I wanted to be planned well ahead of time. we had the invites sent out about three months in advance, mind that didn't get people to RSVP any sooner.. We really need to know as such how to lay out the tables on the day in advance so I would prefer to have it done and dusted now.. We have most of the replies missing maybe 20, so going to chase them this week and that's it..

Hopefully the priest might keep his date I suppose if that is what he has said. even if there is a replacement in the meantime he would more than likely be able to come back for your wedding fingers crossed

finally settled on the bridesmaids dresses to yepee so jewellery and shoes next then done

Milly33 wrote: »
    finally settled on the bridesmaids dresses to yepee so jewellery and shoes next then done

Really on a roll now milly, how long left now to the big day?

Your flying now Milly!

I'm sure there has to be some arrangements in place for when priests get moved around. I'm going to ask if he is available to come back and marry us. He is only going to a parish a few miles away. I don't want some random priest doing it, I've known this man for the last 10 years.

Debenhams have a good sale on at the minute for anyone that's looking for bits. Seen a pair of shoes that might suit one of my bridesmaids.

Kildareash, i wouldn't see a problem with him coming back.. I'm sure I've read somewhere here about priests even coming back from another country to do weddings so a few miles should be workable , you had him booked already yeah?

thanks for the tip on the shoes...They ladies went with the V&A dress in the end and they do have matching shoes but not sure they are €50 each but kinda bulky...

Man everyone else is on a countdown I'm like jus get through the month.. We are the 21st of August so however many weeks that is haha...

going to start making the bunting today and drilling tin cans looking forward to it

Have to say I am glad we stuck or first day plan of not having a typical wedding.. we are still doing all the typical things like ceremony, dinner, dancing but we have had so much of you cant do this, you cant have the men not wearing ties, you cant not get a wedding dress...and the mother of them all telling me I wasn't organised.

This weekend has just been great spending with himself going through the its and bobs and working together to get things planned and done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭stickybookmark

It sounds great Milly! Fair play to you for doing something outside the norm! My wedding was quite traditional but I found that every single little thing that I did different drew comments and opinions -FFS! You just need to have a brass neck and let it all sail over ya!
    Are you getting a band or DJ Milly? I wish I had done more DIY stuff for my wedding, the only bit I did was the table place name cards (every single one was different) and I loved doing them and got loads of people mentioned them. I think people love to see personal touches and stuff that you did yourself.

Ah thank you Sticky!! Yeah it really is frustrating when people say but you cant do this or that, or why aren't ye doing this or that... But they will get over it...

we are going for the band and then just having the DJ pre done. himself done it for his friends wedding just had it on the laptop and had the songs running into eachother.. Defo blessed as his I a musician so he knows what he is doing...

And I must say If I could put a picture up now I would but I don have an iPhone.. You get these lights on ali express they are disco light. You pop them into your reg light fitting and then turn and create a party light scene they are great. €2.50 each I think http://destiny-files.com/image/default_large/TTA3240.jpg this is them

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭CorkClaire82

To the person who mentioned talc that's a brilliant idea. I was roasted and dancing like a lunatic and my dress chaffed me in the end, talc would've helped a lot.

Milly fair play, it's all coming together for you. With your mum maybe just say she's allowed x amount of people and that's it. I actually tookno input from my parents, they were told who of their friends I was inviting. His mother was humming and hawing until I told him to tell her cop on! So irritating.