Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 brides!

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

kildareash wrote: »
    Where would I find reasonably priced hair accessories? Was just looking on some random website from a google search and they're nearly €100, I'm not paying that for one day's wear.

Do you know what style you are looking for? If you are then eBay could be a good place to look.

There's also BHS http://www.bhs.co.uk/en/bhuk/category/wedding-1020484/wedding-accessories-3911406/tiaras-3956159?noOfRefinements=1

And monsoon do pretty hair accessories

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I got mine from Debenhams, paid around £40.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭Milly33

Tis crazy alright, I tried one on too and it was so pretty but €150 euro it was a hairband..

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭emzibob

I ordered mine online from ali express and they look fab :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Waiting on 2 veils to arrive from aliexpress. I think it was about €5 for the two of them! I'm ridiculously excited for them to arrive. I don't even think I ordered the right colours but it was more of an experiment to see if it suited.
    Never thought to look for hair accessories on there too.
    Thanks ladies :)

Well impressed with Ali express they are great they have everything

Milly33 wrote: »
    Well impressed with Ali express they are great they have everything

I ordered so much stuff from aliexpress that the postman in work asked me was a building a computer! He couldn't understand why I was receiving all these small packets from China.

I picked up my dress today. So happy. I was really worried as I had ordered it 2 sizes too small.
    I took the risk as its a heavily beaded dress and taking it in would have meant it would need to be completely rebeaded along the sides!

Thankfully the diet has worked and it zipped up nicely! I also got one of those slimming slips from marks and Spencer's and it gives a really nice line in the dress and is pretty comfortable.

Yeah congrats ahayes and well done for the diet..It does take a lot of stamina I think to stick to them..

Laugh with the parcels too I was getting some looks as I had to collect mine each time from the post depot, and he was like are you shipping drugs or what... They are great and free.. I still cant believe after looking for matches to printed and you cannot get them in Ireland

Thanks milly.

Yeah I love aliexpress though I hate having to wait over a month for them to arrive. Waiting on my handbag, paper straws, sugar craft tools and some moulds to arrive. Hope some of them get her next week

Just incase with the paper straws homestore and more have them 1.99 for 30 they have blue green and orange.. Called into Hickeys in cork too today and they have loverly bits like signs and baskets and wedding bits. Just back from a day trying to find dress material and its like nope everything I like is not there so fustrating

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭teggers5

5 more sleeps til my BIG day!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

For those of you who didn't/aren't having everything on one site, how did you sort out travel? Did you pay for cars and drivers for your bridal party, or did they drive themselves? My mum is insisting it's totally inappropriate for them to drive themselves, but we're getting quotes of E300 for one car for a couple of hours!!

have ye tried asking good friends maybe or even the partners of the best men..I know for a wedding himself was best man well I offered to drive for it and had no problem with it as it kept me busy... That or do ask people going I know one of our friends have offered already to see if we needed drivers for the day

That's the next avenue I'm going to explore, Milly. What happens with pictures then though? Does the driver just have to wait around? We're taking most of our pictures of the grounds of the hotel, but it's probably too spread out for easy walking and having cars would be preferable for those of us in heels!

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Are you need an airport? If you hire fancy cars it's about 60e a day instead

Yep the driver just goes with you.. To be honest if there is a partner of one of the groomsmen or the bridesmaids id say they would be happy out to do it. Youll know straight away after asking them if they would be up for it

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭CorkClaire82

We just had my brother in law drive his black A4 for us. The bridesmaid drove herself and her 3 kids, the best man drove himself and his girlfriend. Maybe I'm a bad bride but this just suited everyone. We stopped for about 15-20 minutes at one place for photos just us and my bro-in-law waited, then we took the rest (another 20 minutes in total) at the venue so there was no need for him to hang around, he got to relax (as much as you can with 3 kids :)) from then on. We aren't car people so no way we were spending that money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭stickybookmark

I just had my lil bro (he doesn't have kids) driving my wedding car which was my own blue A4. I got it valeted, buffed, polished all that for the big day (nearly spent as much on getting it ready as I did on myself haha) and my BIL decorated it with ribbons and the 'just married' bunting across the boot etc. (any florist will do the ribbons for you and you attach them yourself I paid 8 euro per car got them for the wedding car, my parent's car & OH's parent's car). God I must be a bad bride as well I didn't even consider anyone driving the bridal party! Everyone drove themselves to/from the church (I mean with their husbands/wives & families). For the wedding car my lil bro drove and it was me & my Dad in it on way to the church and me & hubby in it on way back. Do ye have a nice camera? One very good move I made was I gave said lil bro a camera (SLR) to take photos for me for the day and because he was the wedding car driver he was there at all the right moments like me & Dad leaving the hotel, me & OH leaving the church etc. He also took loads of the ceremony for me. It was so great to have those photos instantly to put on social media and share with people as the official photos prob won't arrive for weeks! It was great to look at them while on honeymoon as well.

Faith wrote: »
    What happens with pictures then though? Does the driver just have to wait around? We're taking most of our pictures of the grounds of the hotel, but it's probably too spread out for easy walking and having cars would be preferable for those of us in heels!

How many photos with your bridal party are you going to take? Most people only take a few - 20 mins if you want some fun ones. If you get these done first then they can head off while you get pics with your husband.

Write down the photos you would like and give them to your photographer and see how long he thinks it will take for them. That way the driver will know how long they have to wait.

My Brother is driving the bridesmaids, We are using his car and he will bring them to the church and from there to the venue. I plan on geting photos of me with my bridesmaids before the church and my Fiance will do the same. After the church we will take a couple of photos in the churchyard as well as family photos and from there Myself and my husband will head off for some photos of the two of us before going to the venue. Now this is all wedding permitting but if it rains we will do something similar but inside in the church and the venue.

I bought these bows for the cars, very handy just pull the string and they become a bow! http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005KIG1J6?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

We don't really have any money in the budget for cars either. OH has asked a friend who has a really nice car if he will drive me to the church. OH was talking about driving himself out to the church and groomsman cld drive his car back to reception.

But I went a little mad, and booked a special car for him and as I only live 2 minutes from the church it is no hassle for them to pick me up. I splurged as I didn't get him anything when we got engaged but there was a series of events around that time that meant we didn't even get to celebrate it properly.
    I negotiatied a cheaper rate that what they were asking because it's off-season, but I think OH will be totally blown away by it.

I got a number for a valet man at home for anyone around Cork City. Seems very good he will come out and clean the car lets say at your home or work or wherever you like. Just incase it might interest someone he does all wax, compound the lot .. One of the lads got him in work and he was tops

Okay, I knew it wasn't typical to get cars for the whole bridal party! We're just a little stuck for cars because most of our bridal party no longer live in Ireland (us included) so none of us own cars any more! But anyway, it doesn't matter because my mum has insisted on paying for a car for the bridesmaids and it's easier to just let her have her way than argue over such a small detail. The groomsmen will either drive themselves or my brother, who is a groomsman, can drive them all and they can work out travel arrangements with their partners themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

That sounds fine. All we had was our wedding car and a family friend with a big car drove the bridesmaids.

So trying the Dove cream tan at the moment, must say I like it but what is with the stickyiness. I put it on and left if dry as long as my patience would hold and when it did tis kinda sticky or something... Was laughing thinking this is how it works dirt just sticks to you... Liking it so far except for this feeling but thinking sure if I put it on for a few days and then stopped it have a nice hue.

i cannot recommend spray tan enough - get it in a reputable place though. i got married Sat got the spray tan done on Thurs eve so i had fri and sat morning showers on it and it was perfect. nothing worse than a white dress and a white arm next to it. it really looked fab in the photos, looked very natural and gave me so much confidence. i got mine done in the tanning place across from kcs in douglas Milly my sister uses them all the time. they specialise in tanning. very little staining on the dress either. i think it's the 2 showers is crucial

• Registered Users Posts: 13,254 ✭✭✭✭fits

I dunno. I have seen so many photos now of orange brides beside white grooms, I am dubious about it. I think photographers can find it very difficult to deal with difference in skin tones.

Thanks Sticky... I just want to take the white whiteness off really so id say the creams as such would do, tis just they are all so different. But if I am not happy I shall go to KCs for a spud pie then head to the tanning place haha..

I swear we are shocked at the moment watching the variation of colour going down to the marquee recently. Live just up the road and I swear it is like a colour parade. We have orange legs with white to beige faces, orange to just dirty looking faces.. Madness what women are doing

Not at all. Just get it done professionally - in a reputable place. I was asked did I want light, medium or dark tan and I said medium. I'll give u a quick look at mine there. I was very happy with it. This is one indoors and only one I have taken outside with the groom in it to compare.

If you look in the crowd actually you can see that like most weddings, most girls there have tan on. Do you really want to be the palest girl at your own wedding!? AND you're the only one wearing white which pales people. Nothing drains people like the colour white. The groom doesn't have that issue so it's not comparing apples with apples.

You gotta work on getting a good spray tan though. Exfoliate the hide off yourself in the run up to the wedding. I bought a body brush in Boots which was brilliant. Never used one before but used it on my arms every shower in the 6 weeks before the wedding, made a huge difference both to getting rid of that chicken skin look on arms and also meaning the tan sat well. And obviously lots of body moisturiser after each shower then.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Change that natural skin tone to an almost translucent paleness, hair to blonde or red and add some freckles. Very hard to find a tan that won't look orange on that sort of colouring. You have the sort of overall colouring that takes a tan well.