Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not The Trivial things that make you happy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Had a parent teacher meeting today and my oldest son is a year ahead of himself in a lot of things. My youngest son was a bit behind but he's getting there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

The Warburtons crumpet advert with the Muppets. Everything should be a musical!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Colouring in my Enchanted Forest colouring book.

I've been obsessed with this since I got it this morning and the Staedtler Triplus Fineliner pens that the illustrator recommends really are the best.
    I've whiled away a few hours today colouring intricate designs and it's been bliss.

I've also got a nice stew cooking, the heating is on and I'm all snug as a bug in a rug.
    Have a lovely weekend everyone :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I got a hot-pink furry jumper in Tesco for less than €10. It's so warm but very bright but feck it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

New football boots arrived today when I was at work \:)/

Unfortunately I pulled my hamstring this evening playing ball so it'll be a while before I get to wear them, but still, new boots!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Have a cup of tea here and some buttered brown bread, I am content!

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭florawest

When my children out of the blue say love you, ah
    When I see baby hares in the field
    When feeling bit blue and my friend just phones
    When I find money (might only be coins) in a jacket or handbag I haven't used for awhile
    When I find bag of crisps yeah, life is good ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

my cyst burst

i don't know if i'll be so happy about this in the weeks to come, but god damn. that's some relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

Love the way I can now youtube videos in a new tab and they don't start playing until I click on the tab.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Waking up with no intention of running, ended up running and done a decent distance (for me) easily enough. Makes me happy that I don't have to have 'that' argument with myself over exercise any more and that I've accomplished alot.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

Finishing my first 'week' (three twelve hour shifts) of work and not making a massive cock up. Currently lying in bed with a hot water bottle. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Babysitting kids that I don't know very well. Ended up with one of them lying on top of me for a whole movie then making me promise that he could lie on me again tomorrow after breakfast before he'd go to bed. Small wee fella too, wasn't a bit uncomfortable or heavy :) Just love that complete trust from another human.

Cans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

New pyjamas :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    New football boots arrived today when I was at work \:)/

Unfortunately I pulled my hamstring this evening playing ball so it'll be a while before I get to wear them, but still, new boots!

Wot? No panties?

Enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,959 ✭✭✭✭bnt

When you (re-)discover a song that you'd previously overlooked, and find out that it's brilliant. Today's ballade du jour: Synchronicity II by The Police.

The Synchronicity album starts with the track Synchronicity I, which is brilliant in its own way. It's probably the fastest pop song I've ever heard (about 208 BPM of 2/4). The drummer says it nearly killed him to play it every night on tour. Then there are a bunch other mostly crap songs, and I never seem to get to the last track, Synchronicity II. I finally took the time to listen to it properly today, and now it's stuck in my head. :D

Many miles away something crawls to the surface
    Of a dark Scottish loch ...

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Currently attending two courses with one course finishing this side of Christmas.

Received the results from an exam I had lastnight on that course: 29/30 --> 14.5% out of the 15% available.

With that result and my others combined to date I only need less than a third of the total available marks in my final exam to complete that course with a Distinction.

^^^ That's How I Roll!
    Something trivial that makes me happy,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

When you have a brutal day at work and then just at the end you get that innocuous looking email that just happens to solve most of your problems. Tis nice to finish the day with a happy face.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Living in Cork posted my Goddaughter in Dublin a yellow carebear teddy for her birthday after much stressing about what to get her.

Carebear delivered this morning, turns out she's been plaguing my Bro for a carebear for months and her favourite colour is yellow !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

I have moved the grand distance of from one bedroom in my house to the next bedroom.

The bed is comfier, the room is warmer and brighter, and I now have an amaaaaazing brand new electric shower ... after putting up with an absolutely rubbish tiny old shower for the last two years, I'm very excited about this. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

The contraceptive implant meaning I don't get periods. My, I really don't miss the wretched things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

After working so hard today....getting tomorrow off....thrilled so i am :D:D:D

(I never get a saterday off!!)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Passing the NCT first time with no problems at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

bnt wrote: »
    When you (re-)discover a song that you'd previously overlooked, and find out that it's brilliant. Today's ballade du jour: Synchronicity II by The Police.

The Synchronicity album starts with the track Synchronicity I, which is brilliant in its own way. It's probably the fastest pop song I've ever heard (about 208 BPM of 2/4). The drummer says it nearly killed him to play it every night on tour. Then there are a bunch other mostly crap songs, and I never seem to get to the last track, Synchronicity II. I finally took the time to listen to it properly today, and now it's stuck in my head. :D

Many miles away something crawls to the surface
    Of a dark Scottish loch ...

Missing Synchronicity II is tantamount to sacrilege.

Mother f**ker please,

I love

Double deckers

Meanies

Squirt porn

Netflix

IQ puzzles.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Currently attending two courses with one course finishing this side of Christmas.

Received the results from an exam I had lastnight on that course: 29/30 --> 14.5% out of the 15% available.

With that result and my others combined to date I only need less than a third of the total available marks in my final exam to complete that course with a Distinction.

^^^ That's How I Roll!
    Something trivial that makes me happy,
    kerry4sam

something trivial that makes me happy

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/all-ireland-football-final-dublin-v-kerry-1.2359008

Booked Monday off, long weekend!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,959 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The Interrobang‽

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Walking in the Phoenix Park makes me so happy. Not through the centre of it, but around the parts away from the main road. You get to mingle with deer, rabbits, and squirrels. You get to experience nature, peace and quiet, while still being comfortably close to civilisation. There are some interesting parts of it to visit, and some great views overlooking Dublin. It's one of my favourite places.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

The Santa Clause is on TV :D