Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stingiest things thread(op for R&R access)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

CaraMay wrote: »
    We made friends with neighbours and made an agreement that we wouldn't bring booze to each other's house, so if we went there they supplied the wine and vice versa. The two guys both love whiskey and cigars so it kind of ended up that I would go over to her for wine and the lads would be in our house (no babysitters needed then). He has drank and smoked the best of whiskey and cigars for almost 2 years now.

It all worked fine until she is pregnant and goes to bed at 9 and now He still comes empty handed to our house. That's not the end of the world but they were going to a wedding lately and he called over to 'borrow' a cigar for the wedding. He has never bought a cigar to replace the ones he smoked here (expensive ones brought from Central America as presents) so the fact he wouldn't go to the shop to buy a cigar for himself just really infuriated us.

If this guy can't see what's wrong with this situation then you're well within your rights to explain it to him. Either he's as idiot or he's taking advantage. In either case you could have a word and you're completely in control of whether this continues or evens up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

CaraMay wrote: »
    We made friends with neighbours and made an agreement that we wouldn't bring booze to each other's house, so if we went there they supplied the wine and vice versa. The two guys both love whiskey and cigars so it kind of ended up that I would go over to her for wine and the lads would be in our house (no babysitters needed then). He has drank and smoked the best of whiskey and cigars for almost 2 years now.

It all worked fine until she is pregnant and goes to bed at 9 and now He still comes empty handed to our house. That's not the end of the world but they were going to a wedding lately and he called over to 'borrow' a cigar for the wedding. He has never bought a cigar to replace the ones he smoked here (expensive ones brought from Central America as presents) so the fact he wouldn't go to the shop to buy a cigar for himself just really infuriated us.

What a selfish bitch she is. Giving up booze while pregnant.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

The brother a few weeks ago insisted he wasnt hungry until he realised I was gonna pay. Whilst eating his meal he whips out 500 notes...

One example of 100's hungry little ****er

• Registered Users Posts: 10,242 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

carzony wrote: »
    The brother a few weeks ago insisted he wasnt hungry until he realised I was gonna pay. Whilst eating his meal he whips out 500 notes...

One example of 100's hungry little ****er

What kind of notes though? Zimbabwean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

ratmouse wrote: »
    This individual only pays €10 for a dry haircut. I also said in a previous post that she goes around with her fringe down in her eyes whilst waiting for the annual cut.

If she has a fringe, it won't be in her eyes for long before she start brushing it aside or pinning it. Serial fringe wearer here. Seriously, this is no big deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

Mate used to drive his car just to the point where he was almost out of petrol and then park his car in the driveway so that it blocked his mother's car in. In the morning when she was going to work, she would wake him up saying his car was blocking her. He'd pretend to be half asleep and say take his car instead so she would have to fill the tank to get to work!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I saw a woman at the ploughing last year driving a range rover she was combing the ground to find a wristband to get in for free.

I saw a tv program about a Chinese woman in New York that had a very highly paid job in the evenings she'd dress up as a tramp and go around getting the out of date food in supermarket bins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭NormalBob Ubiquitypants

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I saw a woman at the ploughing last year driving a range rover she was combing the ground to find a wristband to get in for free.

I saw a tv program about a Chinese woman in New York that had a very highly paid job in the evenings she'd dress up as a tramp and go around getting the out of date food in supermarket bins.

I saw that episode. I have to admit I nearly got sick. the worst part was when she picked the food out of the bin and served it to her guests at a dinner she was having. I think one of the guests started heaving in the hall way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

rawn wrote: »
    In Carlow I used to live across from a charity warehouse that funded a local day care centre that sold pretty much everything you can think of. Spent a lot of time wandering around it exploring. One time there was a lady there giving out stink to the girl at the checkout. She had 3 teddies in her hand that had come from a basket priced €1 and a Bob the Builder toy in a box. The girl at the checkout was trying to explain to her that the teddies were €1 each but the Bob the Builder toy was €3 as it was there by mistake but was brand new and the RRP was close to €20. The lady was having none of it because she found the Bob the Builder toy in the same basket as the teddies so was refusing to pay €3 and screaming at the poor girl for ages. When the checkout girl refused to back down she tried to haggle her down to €2. In a fúcking charity shop.

People like that should just be beaten

• Registered Users Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

I saw that episode. I have to admit I nearly got sick. the worst part was when she picked the food out of the bin and served it to her guests at a dinner she was having. I think one of the guests started heaving in the hall way.

Extreme Cheapskates. I kind of got the impression she had an OCD about spending money, it didn't seem like she was trying to skimp it was actually slightly disturbing, compared to some of the other people featured on the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Extreme Cheapskates. I kind of got the impression she had an OCD about spending money, it didn't seem like she was trying to skimp it was actually slightly disturbing, compared to some of the other people featured on the show.

Wjhat show is this anyway ?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,997 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I was in McDonalds over the last few months a few times with the buddy. I honestly thought it was a mistake by the staff but I pulled him on it recently and he fessed up the cheapskate. :pac:

3 times he did this, ordered coke, drinks over half the cup then goes up to the counter and says you gave me Diet Coke, I ordered Coke. They give him a whole new cup.

I wouldn't mind but he earns twice as much as I do I'd say.

the_monkey wrote: »

A program about stingy Americans, in fairness some of the episodes looked scripted. Especially the one where the mother used the same bathwater for the whole family and cooked outside on a rocket stove to save on electricity yet her and the family were overweight. If they were that money conscious they wouldn't be overeating you'd imagine so anyway.

Yeah I think it was a cream cake she served up to them that was probably in the skip a few days before she put it in the fridge. You'd want a stomach like a horse to eat that.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

i did a favour once for a woman i know , saved her £1050 punts , she handed me £2 to get a drink which i didnt take , a couple of weeks later my wife got her to put a new zip in a pair of my work jeans , when my wife called to collect the jeans she was told its usually £3 but i wouldn,t take the price of a drink a while ago so just give me a £1

the_monkey wrote: »

Extreme Cheapskates, it's the same line as Extreme Couponing, it was on Netflix a while back. Some of it was definitely scripted, definitely yer man that was picking the rice up off the ground after it was thrown at a wedding :eek: But the first episode that we were talking about seemed genuine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

By Teresa Ambord
    By day, Kate Hashimoto is an employed New York CPA. By night, she's a self-confessed "extreme cheapskate" whose entire focus seems to be on ways to spend almost nothing. She spends so little, in fact, that the TLC network recently followed her for a couple of days to feature her in an episode of its new show Extreme Cheapskates.

Here's a peek at how much she spends and how much she puts into savings every month:
    Food: $15
    Toiletries: $0.17
    Clothing: $0 for the last eight years
    Housing costs for her condo: $237 in real estate tax and condo fees
    Amount put into savings: $4,000 plus $1,000 into her 401(k)

According to the breakdown above, her monthly net is over $5,000 and her monthly outgo is about $252.

Her housing costs are minimal because she owns her condo outright. She purchased the tiny Harlem studio in 2010 for $200,000 and paid it off nine months later. That's obviously one great result of her thrift. Still, with all due respect to frugality, why would a person making a decent living opt for such extreme austerity?

"No job is guaranteed, so I live as if I could be fired at any time," she told reporters. "I've always been frugal, but it was when I was laid off in the dot.com crash that I became extreme."

The devil is in the disgusting detail and the detail is in the article, but her story is interesting and revealing. I also think she has a form of OCD.

http://www.accountingweb.com/article/extreme-cheapskate-cpa-ny-living-cheap/220073

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Mahogany

RonanP77 wrote: »
    It's not really stingy though is it?

I buy the occasional game but spend most of my money on running/cycling/swimming gear and stuff for for the garden. I don't have any spare cash left over so I can't afford to go out drinking or to concerts etc.

It's not the worst case honestly I just put it down until I thought of the Tesco thing haha.

Still gets on my nerves though I'd rather be straight up told I don't like socialising with you sorry and I could move on then :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Mahogany wrote: »
    It's not the worst case honestly I just put it down until I thought of the Tesco thing haha.

Still gets on my nerves though I'd rather be straight up told I don't like socialising with you sorry and I could move on then :D
    I don't even think it's a case that he doesn't like socialising with you. He just likes to buy games to play. Maybe if you organised a night out a few days in advance he would be willing to go out with ya! Sure I'm the same, anytime a game I might be interested in is released I buy it and leave myself with feck all money for the week!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Hetty Green
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hetty_Green
    Estimates of her net worth ranged from $100 million to $200 million ($2.17 billion to $4.33 billion today), making her arguably the richest woman in the world at the time
    Hetty Green's stinginess was legendary. She was said never to turn on the heat or use hot water. She wore one old black dress and undergarments that she changed only after they had been worn out, did not wash her hands and rode in an old carriage. She ate mostly pies that cost fifteen cents. One tale claims that Green spent half a night searching her carriage for a lost stamp worth two cents. Another asserts that she instructed her laundress to wash only the dirtiest parts of her dresses (the hems) to save money on soap.
    Her frugality extended to family life. When her son Ned broke his leg as a child, Hetty tried to have him admitted to a free clinic for the poor.[3] Mythic accounts have her storming away after being recognized; her biographer Slack says that she paid her bill and took her son to other doctors. His leg did not heal properly and, after years of treatment, it had to be amputated.[3]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭garra

Went to south america with a friend who is renowned for his parsimony. We hired bikes to cycle around an area near Cusco. It was your typical sweltering day and I had left my sun lotion back in the hostel. Having good white Irish skin I could feel my face and arms starting to burn and asked ol mate could I use some of his lotion. He begrudgingly handed over his lotion and I did the face first, was going to use some on my arms and he snatched it back .. stating it was expensive and is designed for facial skin.. WTF? My arms are burning you D1ck!!

At any given time he will find a way to NOT part with money, I still observe his body language and actions with fascinated horror when it comes to paying for food, drinks, bike rentals, tipping, admission into events (he still uses a Student card for cheap entry to events even though he hasn't been a student for years and looks about 50 years old).

He has always been famous for dodging a round (which is the staple money-saver of the scrooge of course), sometimes even having to be challenged to buy his round - a deflating experience but quite necessary in his case. On one occasion in Montreal a group of us visited a salubrious bar on St Laurent and off he skipped to the jacks immediately - he would never buy the first round in any case, so he probably needed to genuinely use the toilet...
    Sensing an opportunity for a bit of skit, I persuaded everyone to just keep chatting and resist the urge to buy a drink just to see if he would break the habit of a life-time and buy the 1st round. After approx 20 minutes of this we were getting thirsty and edgy but holding firm. Scrooge then said he was going to explore the upstairs bar, returning 10 minutes later with a nice cool pint.. We could only laugh really.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

garra wrote: »
    Went to south america with a friend who is renowned for his parsimony.

*right click*
    'Search Google for 'parsimony'
    *click*
    Ah.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Don't be stinge with the definition.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

garra wrote: »
    Went to south america with a friend who is renowned for his parsimony. We hired bikes to cycle around an area near Cusco. It was your typical sweltering day and I had left my sun lotion back in the hostel. Having good white Irish skin I could feel my face and arms starting to burn and asked ol mate could I use some of his lotion. He begrudgingly handed over his lotion and I did the face first, was going to use some on my arms and he snatched it back .. stating it was expensive and is designed for facial skin.. WTF? My arms are burning you D1ck!!

At any given time he will find a way to NOT part with money, I still observe his body language and actions with fascinated horror when it comes to paying for food, drinks, bike rentals, tipping, admission into events (he still uses a Student card for cheap entry to events even though he hasn't been a student for years and looks about 50 years old).

He has always been famous for dodging a round (which is the staple money-saver of the scrooge of course), sometimes even having to be challenged to buy his round - a deflating experience but quite necessary in his case. On one occasion in Montreal a group of us visited a salubrious bar on St Laurent and off he skipped to the jacks immediately - he would never buy the first round in any case, so he probably needed to genuinely use the toilet...
    Sensing an opportunity for a bit of skit, I persuaded everyone to just keep chatting and resist the urge to buy a drink just to see if he would break the habit of a life-time and buy the 1st round. After approx 20 minutes of this we were getting thirsty and edgy but holding firm. Scrooge then said he was going to explore the upstairs bar, returning 10 minutes later with a nice cool pint.. We could only laugh really.

A proper stinge doesn't waste money on fancy trips to South America & Canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Mahogany

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    I don't even think it's a case that he doesn't like socialising with you. He just likes to buy games to play. Maybe if you organised a night out a few days in advance he would be willing to go out with ya! Sure I'm the same, anytime a game I might be interested in is released I buy it and leave myself with feck all money for the week!

I should add that in my scenario that I put down plans were made in advance haha.

Obviously I like to make other purchases other then drink but it's just insulting when someone says they'll go out with you then they spend all their dosh like a night before :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    If she has a fringe, it won't be in her eyes for long before she start brushing it aside or pinning it. Serial fringe wearer here. Seriously, this is no big deal.

But I said the fringe is down in her eyes. Seriously, it's not something I'm making up! She's too stingy to get it cut and possibly twice as stingey to buy clips to pin it back in the interim.

I last cut my hair last September. My fringe was above my eyebrows and is now down past my nose. Might have a haircut in a month or so, might not. Stinge? No. Have more important things to spend money on than my hair? Yes.

And do you wear it down past your nose and in your eyes in the style of the Dulux dog or do you pin it back/push it to one side?

When it wasn't completely obscuring my eyes it was down, now I push it to the side. Maybe she just isn't bothered about pinning it back? That's more of a grooming issue than a stingey one.

Trust me. It's all interlinked in her case.