Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,802 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Stoner wrote: »
    Compared to this stage the league is better imo
    On the road, tighter games , regular games, evening games under lights

The thing is for me, I wouldn't be able to get a ticket for the all Ireland final. I'd be bringing my kids anyway, so I wouldn't pay €70/€80 per head to bring them all even if I could get them.

So at best, we might be able to get tickets until QuarterFinal or maybe semi-final stage.

But its a long while since Dublin had a Leinster Final or even QuarterFinal that you could call a close game - nothing less than a three point margin since 2010.

My point being - "this stage" is for a lot of people the only stage they can get tickets for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Stoner wrote: »
    Compared to this stage the league is better imo
    On the road, tighter games , regular games, evening games under lights

If you went back 20 years or thereabouts, it would be hard to believe you'd ever say it, but the league is orders of magnitude better than everything in the Championship before the quarter-finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    You know I'd actually agree with that. Dublin 11 points up with 5 minutes to go, and Meath have 14 men back defending, and Dublin are handpassing it over and back across the pitch. Its all well and good to have a practice match, but do 42000 people need to come to see it.

The only person mad up for it was the ref.....constantly stopping play when advantage could be played. Three minutes into injury time, Dublin send a super pass from a free into MDM, first bit of excitement in the second half, and the ref calls it back to give a guy a card. They retake the free, and the ref blows it up for full time. I've no doubt it was technically good refereeing, but it was frustrating to watch.

The groan from the crowd when they announced 5 minutes of 'Am Breise' told its own story. I cant imagine Dublin Westmeath will be any different, cant see myself going to it.

To be honest at this stage, I far prefer the National League as a competition. Decent evenly matched games the whole way through.

The first wasnt the worst actually been a while since i seen a half that tight with Dublin in the early rounds. Was a lot to do with how Meath set up though. They where happy to defend and go for frees and breaks in play.

I dunno i feel its hard to tell at the minute but Dublin are missing something in the championship so far this season. They missed a fair few chances in first half when the game was tight you could tell there was a big gap between the two teams but at the same time Dublin never really looked to kill them off the way they would of last year.

The second half turned into a joke that move before the ''goal'' summed it up god only knows how many passes went into it there was no resistance to it either. Id love to see Dublin come out and play exciting fast football in the final and even if the two teams dont match up at least make it a good match to watch for all the fans who will turn up for both sides. The fact 42 or so thousand there yesterday was the biggest shock of the day for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

When you have lads from every other county spend more time talking about how they'd love to see a more competitive Meath/Kildare/Westmeath team... you know you're doing a good job.
    Looks like we're too good. Cringey stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭clint_silver

Slattsy wrote: »
    When you have lads from every other county spend more time talking about how they'd love to see a more competitive Meath/Kildare/Westmeath team... you know you're doing a good job.

I know a dublin club with 80+ u10 lads. Split and streamed teams. 10k plus budget per year. All mentors qualified coaches from club paying for courses.

And theyre not even close to being the biggest. What chance any other county. None. Gap will keep getting bigger. County game goes one way only.

And as a prominent facebook activist would say. Thats not an insult. Its a fact of life. Its not a whinge. Theres nothing cringey there. Its simple maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I know a dublin club with 80+ u10 lads. Split and streamed teams. 10k plus budget per year. All mentors qualified coaches from club paying for courses.

And theyre not even close to being the biggest. What chance any other county. None. Gap will keep getting bigger. County game goes one way only.

And as a prominent facebook activist would say. Thats not an insult. Its a fact of life. Its not a whinge. Theres nothing cringey there. Its simple maths.

The thing is the club are paying for the courses, the more kids the more people that need to be paid for so obviously the smaller the numbers the less coaches and smaller clubs should be able to fund this.
    Im happy to admit that currently Dublin are getting great funding but thats on the back of the county board setting up great systems and targeting certain things especially underage structures and also funding 2 codes which not too many others are doing properly.

Play. Win. Funding. Repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Play. Win. Funding. Repeat.

So if I'm following you correctly, you're saying nobody should say that everyone else in Leinster is **** and need to get their act together. But also that nobody should say that Dublin might have benefited from the millions of euros invested in the county's underage structure either.

So...you think the Leinster championship right now is grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I know a five year old who was given 15k to transfer from Robert Emmets to Judes.

And that's only the tip of the iceberg....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I know a five year old who was given 15k to transfer from Robert Emmets to Judes.

And that's only the tip of the iceberg....

It's all that sweet, sweet all weather pitch rental money.

Their agent has advised them to hang tough until they see a few X boxes thrown in.

Its the same every year, and its getting tiresome now tbh. Only God has control of the talent children are born with. Are Dublin players all genetically modified?

I'd like a tougher Leinster, ideally, but what can you do if other counties are not producing the players. I think people need to get their own houses in order before looking over their garden fence at Dublin every year.

salmocab wrote: »
    The thing is the club are paying for the courses, the more kids the more people that need to be paid for so obviously the smaller the numbers the less coaches and smaller clubs should be able to fund this.
    Im happy to admit that currently Dublin are getting great funding but thats on the back of the county board setting up great systems and targeting certain things especially underage structures and also funding 2 codes which not too many others are doing properly.
    The 10k was self generated by the parents at a fund raiser. Its anecdotal but the story is true and gives some perspective.
    As much as theres some mirth in it, Id challenge any club side outside dublin to match that at any underage team.
    You think therell be that many at dublin meath next year in a semi final.
    Repeat 4-5 years from now. You think thst many at a leinster final?
    Its only going one way.

The 10k was self generated by the parents at a fund raiser. Its anecdotal but the story is true and gives some perspective.
    As much as theres some mirth in it, Id challenge any club side outside dublin to match that at any underage team.
    Its only going one way.

And the reason other clubs won't do this is exactly what?

Maybe we should buy our kids a whack of heroin just to level the playing field?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭eire4

Its the same every year, and its getting tiresome now tbh. Only God has control of the talent children are born with. Are Dublin players all genetically modified?

I'd like a tougher Leinster, ideally, but what can you do if other counties are not producing the players. I think people need to get their own houses in order before looking over their garden fence at Dublin every year.

Agreed. Kilkenny have dominated Hurling for a longer period then Dublin's current football dominance and you don't hear any whinging about that or talk about breaking up Kilkenny etc.

For me the most fundamental change needs to be in how the All Ireland championship is structured. The old provincial structure which of course was first modifield with the introduction of the qualifiers needs to go. You could maybe keep the provincial championships as seperate competitions but the actual championship needs to get restructured itself. Personally I would favour a seeded group system which would feed into a knockout phase starting with a last 16 or last 8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

So what are you proposing?

Stop providing kids with trained mentors?

The GAA ultimately is about clubs on the ground getting kids to play and love the game. You are moaning about a club doing exactly what it is supposed to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Its only going one way.

You see the county game as the pinnacle, but it is the club and the kids playing the game that is most important.

Dublin have poured money into the grassroots, into the clubs.

The county board don't pay the manager. The team fund-raise for their holiday.

If Mayo spent less on training weeks in London and more on the grassroots, they might have won an All-Ireland by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Paulzx

I've heard it all now. Dublin GAA is fecking up the football All Ireland because it has mentors at juvenile level who have gone to the bother of doing 1 day foundation coaching courses.

Any of the coaches I know at U8-U13 have no more qualifications than that. The way some people are going on you'd swear every U8 coach in Dublin has attended a month long coaching seminar with Jim Gavin.

The other counties should concentrate on getting their own houses in order inside of whinging and pointing the finger. Aspire to raise your standard to the same as the best............not drag the best down to your level.

Dublin has always had the population advantage and always will. Yet we've had many long periods of winning nothing because our house wasn't in order. Winning an All Ireland isn't as simple as population base. Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone etc. have all proven this. When you get money you need to use it wisely. Dublin have done this

I was at coaching courses for under 14s and under 12s in Parnell. ,,,,,,,,,,,,, I feel like Lance Armstrong.

Someone stop us before its too late !!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Its only going one way.

I must be missing something here....but what is wrong with that precisely? Is parents fund raising for their own kids club, a crime of some sort? Why do we need to stamp that out?

What is stopping parents in clubs in Armagh, Cork etc doing the exact same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I did my Award 1 and 2 coaching with the Leinster Games Development :eek: .. yeah the same development team thats available to all others counties. Off the top of my head I had 2 Dub coaches, a Louth lad, Kildare, Armagh, Galway. I did a player performance course with Philip Kerr a Derry man, and a course on coaching defensive play by John Morrison another Derry man. So these football oracles are spread far and wide and are an available resource to all - if memory serves the Award courses cost around €95.

I've 3 lads in the Dublin Dev squad - my own fella a confirmed GAA head, the left winger for the local soccer club who is also on the NDSL dev squad, and an out half who plays college rugby. All the coaching in the world won't get you anywhere if the basic talent isn't there - the key impact that I see with juvenile coaching is our ability to attract the best athletes to play the game ... and stick with it. The talent pool of elite athletes is finite

Im being picked up wrong here. Ive my award 2 course. Done it myself cos my club couldnt afford it. Dont care, happy to do it, not giving out for a second.
    My point is weight of numbers.
    Im in meath. 2 prominent dads brough their kids to dublin clubs in the last 6 months and gaa done nothing. Clubs happy to sign them. Dads from dublin. Living in meath. Kids were 4 years in meath clubs. Who cares? Why wouldnt the dads bring them in? I would if my kids were that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Im being picked up wrong here. Ive my award 2 course. Done it myself cos my club couldnt afford it. Dont care, happy to do it, not giving out for a second. My point is weight of numbers. Im in meath. 2 prominent dads brough their kids to dublin clubs in the last 6 months and gaa done nothing. Clubs happy to sign them. Dads from dublin. Living in meath. Kids were 4 years in meath clubs. Who cares? Why wouldnt the dads bring them in? I would if my kids were that age.

My godchild is from Dublin now on underage development squad in meath, these things happen.

Im being picked up wrong here. Ive my award 2 course. Done it myself cos my club couldnt afford it. Dont care, happy to do it, not giving out for a second.
    My point is weight of numbers.
    Im in meath. 2 prominent dads brough their kids to dublin clubs in the last 6 months and gaa done nothing. Clubs happy to sign them. Dads from dublin. Living in meath. Kids were 4 years in meath clubs. Who cares? Why wouldnt the dads bring them in? I would if my kids were that age.

Dublin has always had a bigger population than the other counties in Leinster. Hasn't bothered people up until now.

Dublin has always had people move out to its surrounding counties, because they couldn't afford to buy a home in Dublin. For every 2 Dubs bringing their kids back to play for their own clubs, I'd say there are hundreds of kids of non GAA supporting parents, who remain committed to their local sports teams in Naas and Navan and Newbridge, be it rugby, soccer, karate, swimming or even GAA, when they eventually become exposed to it.

Their parents grew up in the soccer worshiping housing estates of Tallaght & Finglas, or in Sherriff St, or in the rugby strongholds of south county Dublin. They have eff all loyalty to, or affinity with the Dubs, so they have no will or desire to bring their kids back to a club that they grew up playing with. Their kids just become absorbed into the sporting scene in whatever Wicklow, Kildare, Meath community they grow up in. No one ever mentions those kids.

It all about the odd one here and there that gets dragged back to Dublin by their dear old dad. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Dublin have a tradition.
    That's why six or seven first team players in the last ten years had fathers who also played for Dublin.
    They weren't bought on the transfer market.

And Meath don't have tradition of their own, that lads would want to tap into? :eek:

Colm O'Rourke's nephew is their goalie ffs !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Be tapping into Leitrim tradition.

I have nephews play hurling in Kildare, both Dubs parents, and both of them wear the white jersey.

Much to our undying shame, but ce la vie!

DoctaDee wrote: »
    ..... the key impact that I see with juvenile coaching is our ability to attract the best athletes to play the game ... and stick with it. The talent pool of elite athletes is finite

You summed it up there.

Playing for a Dublin team is now at the very least the equivalent of boxing/soccering/ruggering/running for Ireland.

From sociological perspective - if you will forgive me! - key to that has been that GAA in Dublin is now very much middle class dominated, whereas in past it was teams likes Isles that were backbone of teams.

That is whole other issue, and all sports have seen drastic decline in participation of working class kids. Not just an Irish phenomenon either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bonniedog wrote: »
    You summed it up there.

Playing for a Dublin team is now at the very least the equivalent of boxing/soccering/ruggering/running for Ireland.

From sociological perspective - if you will forgive me! - key to that has been that GAA in Dublin is now very much middle class dominated, whereas in past it was teams likes Isles that were backbone of teams.

That is whole other issue, and all sports have seen drastic decline in participation of working class kids. Not just an Irish phenomenon either.

Yeah very much so, funny you should mention Isles - back in the day when the only life in south side football was Thomas Davis there was a stretch of county finals when Isles played the toffs from Kilmacud and the toffs from Malahide.

The game changed late 90" s with the middle class areas being represented predominantly in county finals and forever since. Jaysis I remember the times we'd go down to mobhi road to put manners on the Glasnevin lot, then in the space of a couple of years they were tearing us a new one everytime we played.

Once fellas started pronouncing their "th" s" on the field the face of Dublin GAA had changed forever ..