Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Does anyone have a link to the mobile version of the Dublin sub forum, that you can post here?

The browser on my phone is acting up. It keeps redirecting to the desk top version, that you have to keep zooming in and out of.

Ta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Nah. Still have to zoom in and out on that link. The mobile version of the main GAA forum page is fine. It "fits" my phone screen ok, with no need for zooming in and out. But when I open up individual forum titles (like this one) it goes back to being the effed up size. Thanks for trying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,244 ✭✭✭✭JRant

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Nah. Still have to zoom in and out on that link. The mobile version of the main GAA forum page is fine. It "fits" my phone screen ok, with no need for zooming in and out. But when I open up individual forum titles (like this one) it goes back to being the effed up size. Thanks for trying though.

If you clear the cache on your browsers settings and follow that link again it should go back to normal

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ProudDUB wrote:
    Does anyone have a link to the mobile version of the Dublin sub forum, that you can post here?
    What phone have you ? Do you hate the app?
    It flick between the app, and the web version, I have to go in and out of mobile and full site sometimes, but 90% of the time when the app works I use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Quite obvious from this team selection that Cunningham has abandoned the short puck out strategy and is going to go long, with the hope that the forwards will out muscle the Cork defenders and win the majority of contested ball, no matter what way it arrives! Arguably that did work in the league game, but it would not inspire confidence that basically the entire basis of GC's game plan is being thrown aside.

In fairness, they had to make changes after the hammering by the Cats, but seems as though Dotsy is victim of "take off the corner man" when things are going pear shaped. We shall see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mjp

Anyone know of anywhere handy for parking near croker. Heading up there tomorrow for hurling n don't normally drive in but have to this time. Shouldn't be too busy there tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

mjp wrote: »
    Anyone know of anywhere handy for parking near croker. Heading up there tomorrow for hurling n don't normally drive in but have to this time. Shouldn't be too busy there tomorrow

Up beside Fairview park theres usually parking to be had along the road. Connaught Street in phibsboro usually works out OK for a friend of mine too

Not a great showing so far. Inside forwards being starved of any ball.
    If Cork stop giving away soft frees tgey'll walk this.

Crummey with a brain dead tackle while on a yellow. Looked harsh enough but he gave the ref a decision to make.

Cadogan having a field day so far. Going to have to tighten up on him.

Uphill struggle from here.

He was sent off for a shoulder. Your man making a meal of it made the ref's mind up. He was straight up once he saw the card.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    He was sent off for a shoulder. Your man making a meal of it made the ref's mind up. He was straight up once he saw the card.

Yeah looked very harsh alright. Absolutely folded him with a shoulder.

Showed great fight in the second half against the odds. Can't be faulted for that.

Disappointing end to a disappointing campaign. Never really looked like troubling Cork today. We were competitive for spells but they seemed to be able to tag on scores far easier than us plus they had a criminal amount of wides.

Not sure how to feel amount today really. Team lacks any dynamism and we're very predictable.

Some positives from today were Bennett who had a great game and McMorrow stepped up in the second half. Great heart shown as well, being down a man for such a long time can't have been easy.

From the rest, Ryan and O'Dwyer were poor and Schutte looks seriously off the pace.

I suppose the postmortem will start now but you'd have to feel for all those players, putting so much work in this year and out of the Championship at the beginning of July.

Just hope O'Donnell is okay for Wednesday. Big game in Tullamore and realistically its Dublin's best chance to get anything out of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,830 ✭✭✭corny

Two poor teams. Crummeys second yellow happened right in front of me. The reaction of the Cork crowd got him sent off. Only seen it in real time but the shoulder looked on the money to me.

A few Dublin lads really fought for it in the second half but others looked leggy and not able for it. Disappointing end. Cunningham is not the man to take us forward. Him abandoning his vision says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

On first viewing I thought it was fair for Crummey to get the second yellow. I just think it was a silly challenge to make where he made it. We were't under such pressure in that corner of the pitch to warrant it. No one but himself to blame.

What I found more frustrating in the first half was how we were taking these wonder balls out of the air or in Schutte's case letting one drop into his running palm (glorious) and then snatching at the shot. That's the annoying part. Can't believe the summer is over already but what can you do.

Do you give Ger one more year? (I know Corny won't)

He has to go. Whatever about all the behind the scenes poor man management/clash of personality/retirements/players dropped drama....waiting until the 54th minute to make the switch on Cadogan. It just defies belief. This team is going no where fast under him. Time to cut our losses and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

He has to go. Whatever about all the behind the scenes poor man management/clash of personality/retirements/players dropped drama....waiting until the 54th minute to make the switch on Cadogan. It just defies belief. This team is going no where fast under him. Time to cut our losses and move on.

Indeed, we need to start going nowhere fast under a new manager :D

Bambi wrote: »
    Indeed, we need to start going nowhere fast under a new manager :D

How hard can it be to find someone that is:

- tactically astute.

- is able to make decisive decisions on the sideline, when the game is in the actual melting pot.

- is not so friggin' stubborn that they are unable or unwilling to see that certain tactical decisions - oh, let's just say short puck outs, for arguments sake - are just not working and, are willing to make a change.

- is a unifying figure for one and all....the young U21 lads coming thru, the so called stalwarts, the lads coming to the end of their careers, the superstars etc etc. Everyone.

I mean, how hard can that be? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

How hard can it be to find someone that is:

- tactically astute.

- is able to make decisive decisions on the sideline, when the game is in the actual melting pot.

- is not so friggin' stubborn that they are unable or unwilling to see that certain tactical decisions - oh, let's just say short puck outs, for arguments sake - are just not working and, are willing to make a change.

- is a unifying figure for one and all....the young U21 lads coming thru, the so called stalwarts, the lads coming to the end of their careers, the superstars etc etc. Everyone.

I mean, how hard can that be? :rolleyes:

Also who'll somehow coach lads who are already at senior level to shoot on the move instead of planting their feet like they're playing a round of golf.

A lot of players found lacking when they meet good teams..or even cork :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭68deville

And who can bring ye forward??? daly got the best of ye but seemingly there
    Is an unknown out there who can deliver the holy grail!?

68deville wrote: »
    And who can bring ye forward??? daly got the best of ye but seemingly there
    Is an unknown out there who can deliver the holy grail!?

The Holy Grail seems about as far away tonight, as it ever did. But right now, I'd settle for our having our 15 best players/leaders/warriors down there in Cork tonight.....as opposed to sitting at home on their sofas, trying to down load illegal streams, while watching the Euros, just like the rest of us ! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,655 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Dublin would be a perfect opportunity for a proven manager too perseve and improve there legacy

Nicky English and Liam Sheedy the outstanding candidates

If Davy leaves Clare in the next year or 2 (he might miss the management scene and decide to take over Dublin some day)

I'd love to see Brian Cody take over Dublin or another team and then we will see how good of manager he is ???

Galway under Loughnane and Limerick under both Donal O Grady and John Allen were average enough performance wise . Same can be said about Daly In Dublin and Davy in Waterford. A few provincial titles except for Loughnane and DOG but Davy is the only manager to get to an all Ireland Final out of the list with adopted counties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

How dublin lost to the worst cork side ever is a joke.but then again dublin is a "manufacturd" team.not one natural hurler among them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Careful now you'll hurt our feelings...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DoctaDee wrote:
    Careful now you'll hurt our feelings...

Too late I'm afraid. :(

corny wrote: »
    Two poor teams. Crummeys second yellow happened right in front of me. The reaction of the Cork crowd got him sent off. Only seen it in real time but the shoulder looked on the money to me.

It was a legitimate shoulder. Only your man staying down until the card was shown got Crummy the line.

Cats and Dublin game had much tougher physical encounters that players and ref took in their stride and there will be more of the same today. If players lie down then chances of cards are much higher. Same as has infected football.

Not using it as an excuse by the way. Dublin still had their chances for scores that they missed, so was in their own hands in the end.

Stoner wrote: »
    Too late I'm afraid. :(

Don't feed the trolls lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Don't feed the trolls lads.

But it was such a witty and clever point and very eloquently put.

Stoner wrote: »
    I got banned, here in for that very same comment prouddub!!!

Move along now....nothing to see here....:D

Can you edit your post? Cheers.