Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Numbers up Gerry

• 03-11-2013 11:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭

Or will you slide away from this one too?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-iras-disappeared-return-to-haunt-adams-29721918.html

"The programme, The Disappeared, is to be broadcast tomorrow night on RTE One and on Tuesday night on BBC4 and will heap further political pressure on Adams.
    In the tape recorded by Hughes, he says: "This woman was taken away and executed . . . Jean McConville. There was only one man who gave the order for that woman to be executed. That man is now the head of Sinn Fein and he went to this family's house and promised an investigation into the woman's disappearance.

"

Do you believe Adams had knowledge of McConville's adduction & murder 389 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    NemesisgandalfTomsuper_furryWashoutbanquotuxydjk1000demacRainMakerSleepyeigrodNuttzzanimaaltoxoftadghPeter Cpwwilliaapplehunterdoseire 389 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Untouchable Peasant

Thought there might be a breakthrough with the Portuguese police there for a second. Feck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

Sindo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I hope Adams starts to sue for defamation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

No
    HansHolzel wrote: »
    Sindo

"joint RTE and BBC NI produced"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

D1stant wrote: »
    Or will you slide away from this one too?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-iras-disappeared-return-to-haunt-adams-29721918.html

"The programme, The Disappeared, is to be broadcast tomorrow night on RTE One and on Tuesday night on BBC4 and will heap further political pressure on Adams.
    In the tape recorded by Hughes, he says: "This woman was taken away and executed . . . Jean McConville. There was only one man who gave the order for that woman to be executed. That man is now the head of Sinn Fein and he went to this family's house and promised an investigation into the woman's disappearance.

"

I think he will slide. He is almost like the Catholic Church in that the faithful will get him through. As long as he hates the Brits most of the SF supporters in Northern Ireland won't care.

After his action or lack of action on his brothers case nothing would surprise me. The fact that father aiden Troy advised the wee girl (Liam's daughter) not to go to the police as it might hurt her uncle Gerry was the killer for me. What a disgrace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No
    Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I hope Adams starts to sue for defamation.

Who is he going to sue? In terms of the people who implicate him, they're both dead. Although knowing lawyers....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

No
    Samo samo, getting ready for the local elections, it is like RTE advertising in June for Christmas. What is new with Pravda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Samo samo, getting ready for the local elections, it is like RTE advertising in June for Christmas. What is new with Pravda.

Eh? In plain English please..

No

RTE can be given out to for a lot of things, but this is a factual documentary, which both the BBC and RTE are choosing to air. Propaganda it ain't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

No
    Makes me feel sick to my stomach, if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

timthumbni wrote: »
    Eh? In plain English please..

Implication is that this is propaganda, aiming to reduce the popular vote for SF in the upcoming elections (2014)... similar claims are made regarding this revelation & an upcoming report on UK military violence in NI, I think.

No

Please explain...

No
    RTE can be given out to for a lot of things, but this is a factual documentary, which both the BBC and RTE are choosing to air. Propaganda it ain't

How can you state that before you have seen it. Or are you one of the privileged few that are shown it before it is shown in order to give it glorious reviews immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

That doesn't automatically make it true though.

No

WTF is this comment about?

Simple english will suffice….thanks!

No
    How can you state that before you have seen it. Or are you one of the privileged few that are shown it before it is shown in order to give it glorious reviews immediately.

Pot, Kettle etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

Gerry for president!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 197th.User Id

Makes me feel sick to my stomach, if true.

Well someone said it on a tape some time or other to someone else so it must be true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Ya , because RTE have no history of lying in there factual documentaries have they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Isn't this just old news repackaged?

No
    Well someone said it on a tape some time or other to someone else so it must be true.

Did you join boards for that one comment? Seriously?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

This is a recycled story... this stuff from the the Dark has been out there since he died

No

You've done the exact same thing too though haven't you? My reply to yours was ridiculing the notion that it was propaganda because it brings up Gerry and potential involvement in the murder. Should they wait and air it after the local elections then, just in case it hurts SF because he is their leader and has been named by two people under the condition of anonymnity until their death about his alleged involvement? I think the families wouldn't care for that somehow.

Did you join boards for that one comment? Seriously?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Kind of difficult to make a 2nd 3rd, 4th post before a you make a 1st one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

No
    Even with a war going on that's a pretty heinous crime. I strongly suspect he did order it but all we'll get is blanket denials. He's pretty shameless in that regard.

No

As I said earlier Pravda has to up the ante coming up to the local elections or suffer the cost of the pensions for the clowns at the top. And jump they will.

Wattle wrote: »
    Even with a war going on that's a pretty heinous crime. I strongly suspect he did order it but all we'll get is blanket denials. He's pretty shameless in that regard.

Why do you suspect him ?

No
    Ya , because RTE have no history of lying in there factual documentaries have they?

Oh yes, silly me.. they ****ed up and faced the consequences... do we now discredit all documentaries from the state broadcaster,which will also be aired by BBC, meaning two legal departments will have previewed it and made sure it is accurate andfactual, especially considering RTE's Prime Time cases in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

As I said earlier Pravda has to up the ante coming up to the local elections or suffer the cost of the pensions for the clowns at the top. And jump they will.

Sorry, come again?

No

By two people who didn't want to be named until their death. There could be others and we don't know because they took part in the Boston College project and spoke on the condition that their names may only be released upon their death.

It's an ongoing investigation.

The recordings were made on the basis that they remain secret until the death of the 28 former IRA and Ulster Volunteer Force terrorists who took part.

No
    Why do you suspect him ?

Why wouldn't you suspect him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Sir Bernard Wolley

This thread will be popular with the Adams fellators.

A fair point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Have to love the smugness and arrogance displayed towards Gerry. Talk about lookin stupid, you dont know sh1t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

No
    This thread will be popular with the Adams fellators.

And the West Brits :pac:

No
    Old news yeah. So therefore irrelevant that the leader of SF is further implicated in this

From Wikipedia

Jean McConville was abducted from her home in December 1972 by twelve IRA members, comprising both men and women, who brought her to an unknown location. There they killed her with a single bullet to the back of the head, allegedly making her kneel down before shooting her.[4] Among her abductors was Dolours Price, who has claimed that she did so on the orders of Gerry Adams.[5] Mrs McConville's body was buried secretly on a beach in County Louth, approximately 50 miles from her home. The IRA did not admit their involvement until over twenty years later, when they passed information on the whereabouts of the body.[6] After a prolonged search, co-ordinated by the Garda Síochána – during which the search area and time involved was expanded by the Gardaí – the search was abandoned, as no body could be located in the area specified by the IRA.
    In August 2003, her body was accidentally found by members of the public while they were walking on Shelling Hill beach.[7] Jean McConville was buried beside her husband Arthur in Holy Trinity graveyard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Yes, from Wikipedia....

doh!

&
    By two people who didn't want to be named until their death. There could be others and we don't know because they took part in the Boston College project and spoke on the condition that their names may only be released upon their death.
    Old news yeah. So therefore irrelevant that the leader of SF is further implicated in this

From Wikipedia

Jean McConville was abducted from her home in December 1972 by twelve IRA members, comprising both men and women, who brought her to an unknown location. There they killed her with a single bullet to the back of the head, allegedly making her kneel down before shooting her.[4] Among her abductors was Dolours Price, who has claimed that she did so on the orders of Gerry Adams.[5] Mrs McConville's body was buried secretly on a beach in County Louth, approximately 50 miles from her home. The IRA did not admit their involvement until over twenty years later, when they passed information on the whereabouts of the body.[6] After a prolonged search, co-ordinated by the Garda Síochána – during which the search area and time involved was expanded by the Gardaí – the search was abandoned, as no body could be located in the area specified by the IRA.
    In August 2003, her body was accidentally found by members of the public while they were walking on Shelling Hill beach.[7] Jean McConville was buried beside her husband Arthur in Holy Trinity graveyard

Well hearsay* is enough for me. Guilty as charged.

*from unstable individuals with strong political motives, one of whom killed herself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

It's suggested that in this documentary, people will say that Adams was definitely the person who gave the order. I might be a bit thick here but why aren't these people going to the Gardai or PSNI?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Oh yes, silly me.. they ****ed up and faced the consequences... do we now discredit all documentaries from the state broadcaster,which will also be aired by BBC, meaning two legal departments will have previewed it and made sure it is accurate andfactual, especially considering RTE's Prime Time cases in the past.

No the tax payer payed the consequences, did we ever find out the name of the legal firm that gave that Prime time the go ahead?

No
    The people who are quoted in this program from what I have read are all anti peace process. Lets all go back to the early eighties and have another go. Is that what pravda wants to do.

No
    Well hearsay is enough for me. Guilty as charged.

You do know the difference between hearsay and recorded evidence given by people who were involved in the IRA and also in the murder of McConville no?
    It's more than hearsay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

No
    &

*from unstable individuals with strong political motives, one of whom killed herself.

Dolores Price's evidence would not be hearsay. You could attack her credibility sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'm asking the question because I don't know the answer - it wasn't rhetorical. I haven't really been following the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Sorry, come again?
    It's in some folks' imagination that RTÉ has a particular political agenda. I'm not sure which one since it seems to change constantly. Some insist it's pro government, being the state broadcaster, because of course it has never broadcasted anything criticising whoever is in government, ever.

Pravda was a Soviet newspaper, because RTÉ, with its stream of commercial ad revenue is really commie. Or something.
    Have to love the smugness and arrogance displayed towards Gerry. Talk about lookin stupid, you dont know sh1t!
    As opposed to the above devastatingly informative missive?

No
    The people who are quoted in this program from what I have read are all anti peace process. Lets all go back to the early eighties and have another go. Is that what pravda wants to do.

Jesus you're hilarious...

You do know the difference between hearsay and recorded evidence given by people who were involved in the IRA and also in the murder of McConville no?
    It's more than hearsay.

Well lets see.

From wiki, source of all truth.

"Hearsay is information gathered by one person from another person concerning some event, condition, or thing of which the first person had no direct experience nor can it be adequately substantiated.[1] When submitted as evidence, such statements are called hearsay evidence. As a legal term, "hearsay" can also have the narrower meaning of the use of such information as evidence to prove the truth of the matter asserted. Such use of "hearsay evidence" in court is generally not allowed. This prohibition is called the hearsay rule."

No
    &

Wow. That really is scraping the end of the logic barrel. Whats the implication. Anything said against Adams is hearsay? Suicides are liars?. Please try harder

How anyone can defend Gerry Adams or deny his deep involvement with the IRA over many years is just beyond me

No
    Well lets see.

From wiki, source of all truth.

"Hearsay is information gathered by one person from another person concerning some event, condition, or thing of which the first person had no direct experience nor can it be adequately substantiated.[1] When submitted as evidence, such statements are called hearsay evidence. As a legal term, "hearsay" can also have the narrower meaning of the use of such information as evidence to prove the truth of the matter asserted. Such use of "hearsay evidence" in court is generally not allowed. This prohibition is called the hearsay rule."

This would not be hearsay:

"Gerry Adams ordered me to shoot Jean McConville and bury her body in a unmarked grave" - Dolores Price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

No
    Why do you suspect him ?

The fact that he was almost certainly IRA commander at the time. To me that says that he would have at least known about it. Also the testimony of Dolours Price, Brendan Hughes and Billy McKee.