If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I cannot understand how the Irish financial system didn't crash sooner if the transcripts in the Irish Times are accurate, the two of them sound like 2 nervous schoolboys. They sound about as qualified to run a bank as the average junior cert student.

"It's like Drummer (Drumm) says...pulled it out my 4rse" etc.

Bowe (continuing impression of Neary): “’And look lads you know, if you’re going for this now make sure whatever you get sorts it out. Okay? You know?’”
    Fitzgerald: “What do you mean whatever you get sorts it out?”
    Bowe: “In other words, whatever you get from the Regulator sorts out the issue.”
    Fitzgerald: “Oh yeah, yeah...just makes it f**kin’ happen...”
    Bowe: “Don’t...”
    Fitzgerald: “Don’t f**k it up.”
    Bowe: “Don’t be coming back.”
    Fitzgerald: “Yeah...don’t f**k it up...yeah, yeah, yeah.”

Some serious intellect on display right there in the midst of the gravest crisis the country faced in many decades.

Two charlatans, rich on the back of a disgraceful network of charlatans.

Like an Irish version of Beavis and Butthead.

fryup wrote: »
    so what was the true figure??

They weren't even sure, they just wanted to get get the cash, compromise the govt to the extent that once they had handed it over they would have to continue to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

so what was the true figure??

multiples of that - was it not 26 billion in the end ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

The bank guarantee should never have happened and when it did, certainly Anglo shouldn't have been included. It wasn't a peoples bank, not like aib and bank of ireland as an example.

Many here online, on boards and politics knew that anglo was up to no good. It never sat right how the banking officals were dining and golfing with the government. These tapes are now proof. I hope something comes of it and justice comes about. They fcuked us over good and proper. Not only with the bailouts but also with nama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,589 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

i'm slow when it comes to things financial..

can someone put into laymans language whats going on...

Think of Milton as the taxpayers

actually - it was 30 billion that anglo got

These guys really need to be hauled in and locked down , along with a good few others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

depositors should have been covered to a point, fookin shareholders should have been burned to bits...never mind the rothschilds / bill gates (of hell~) bond holders...burned... as for the politicians who ok'd this nonsense, and the ones who are forcing low and middle income earners to pay for it while their 100K + mates are let go unburdened, they political lives should be finished....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

The shocking carry on of the people in Anglo is sickening. The shock I got from the recordings when I heard the driving home this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Gombeenism, self importance, pure arrogance and a splash of bravado. The Irish banker is a lethal cocktail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

dj jarvis wrote: »
    they are talking about not revealing the true amount needed for anglo , they picked 7 billion "out of their arse" , their words not mine.

once the central bank were on the line for the 7 , they knew they could not back out and would have to fund the rest ,
    they hoodwinked the central bank - clear as day - and our STUPID central bank and government of the day fell for it :eek:
    Agricola wrote: »
    Gombeenism, self importance, pure arrogance and a splash of bravado. The Irish banker is a lethal cocktail.

As a people we have nobody to protect us from financial business or political fraud/corruption.. The Gardaí won't do it, The Army can't do it and the so-called Republicans IRA this/IRA that are too caught up in being assholes and criminals to do anything about it...So nothing will change unless we make it change..

charlemont wrote: »
    As a people we have nobody to protect us from financial business or political fraud/corruption.. The Gardaí won't do it, The Army can't do it and the so-called Republicans IRA this/IRA that are too caught up in being assholes and criminals to do anything about it...So nothing will change unless we make it change..

Unfortunately, many people in real life just don't care. Such an apathetic nation.

God help us if we are looking to a bunch of criminal scumbags (the IRA or whatever they are calling themselves) to impose justice on another bunch of white collar criminal scumbags.

I am pie wrote: »
    God help us if we are looking to a bunch of criminal scumbags (the IRA or whatever they are calling themselves) to impose justice on another bunch of white collar criminal scumbags.

They're probably our best bet though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

What would this change entail? Because there is always a hint of malice, revenge and a propensity for violence around these suggestions of change.

The people also rejected a referendum to create an enquiry into the banking fiasco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

The nature of banking attracts these kinds of parasites and will do until things change within banking as a whole. The ECB believes Basle III will stop reckless lending but all it does is make it slightly more difficult and banks will be encouraged to take bigger risks to make bigger profits because all they care about is MONEY.

No thanks. They can fck right off too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I actually swore at the car radio this morning when I heard the excerpts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I am pie wrote: »

Well. We have nobody in authority here who will do anything about it, I agree these guys who call themselves Real/Continuity/etc IRA are criminal scumbags but the Provos and Old IRA were passionate men who believed they were doing the right thing....

Sadly that is true, Our justice system won't go near the bankers..

Nothing is ever going to happen regarding justice while FG are still in power because they too are up to their necks in sh1te and it's only matter of time before more crap comes out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Well. We have nobody in authority here who will do anything about it, I agree these guys who call themselves Real/Continuity/etc IRA are criminal scumbags but the Provos and Old IRA were passionate men who believed they were doing the right thing....

Sadly that is true, Our justice system won't go near the bankers..

There is something almost overwhelmingly ironic about suggesting the provos go into a bank to find out where the money went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

Why don't people take to the streets? The ****ers in charge realise that the world is changing, and they won't be able to keep passing the jobs around between themselves and their families like they have been doing since the foundations of the state and now all pretence of fairness is gone.. they really don't give a fuk anymore, they are knee deep in the trough trying to get as much as they can.. to get as rich as they and their families can whilst the chance is in it..

People need to get out on the streets, day in day out until they do something. even a small thing like having these two ****ers arrested and charged with something, anyone of a number of offences which they must be guilty of would be a start, a move in the right direction.. they are afraid to make this move in case people expect it to take on a momentum and lead to real change in the way Ireland is run, and they would have to relinquish control.. come on to fuk, look at Dail Eireann.. half of them are inbred ****wits who are only there because its the family business..

I suggest a protest, either in front of the home of Bowe, the worst of them, or Dail Eireann on Friday or Saturday this week...

Nothing is ever going to happen regarding justice while FG are still in power because they too are up to their necks in sh1te and it's only matter of time before more crap comes out.

the real problem is we have no one worth giving a vote to

FF - well no need why they should never see the light of day again
    FG - dodgy to a point , but far to inept IMO
    labour - would sell their grannys to get elected - really could not trust them
    Sf - BANG BANG , dont open the closet :eek:

and the independents - well , what a bunch of tax defaulting , chip on the shoulder , ranting tin foil hat wearing nut jobs

so that leaves .........................................

So Denmark , Norway fancy a little island ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Not a bit surprised by all this. As my old Pottler account, I banged on about what a massive scam job the bank bailout was and was generally told to stfu. Best laugh is, the only outcome from this will no doubt be an enquiry, which will achieve SFA apart from further enriching a lot of Barristers, "expert witnesses" pfft, and Politicians. The gravy train will roll merrily along. Dissenters will be dismissed as Loons and hippies, as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

It makes me laugh when they are described in newspapers as most hated.
    If that was true how could they get senior positions according to linkedin in charity addiction organisations or dealing with health sector, and were there 2 Sean Fs in Anglo or who is the one listed in HR???

How many people have mental or physical health issues as a direct result of the disregard they portrayed for Ireland?

Joke if it wasnt serious
    "raise awareness of the extent of the problems,
    the resulting widespread suffering and the stigma"
    "persuasive and acomplished communicator
    significant capital raising experience "

"under the terms of payment we say no" - "No NOT APPLICABLE" "HAHAHA"
    :mad:
    :mad:

Ireland, this laugh's for you :eek::mad::eek:

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/gallery/files/2013/02/drumm1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

So lets be clear on this. The bank bailout which has cost the Irish people billions was/is fraudulent at best a scam at worst? I think whoever claims social welfare in this country is the real problem would want to cop on frankly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

steddyeddy wrote: »
    ........... I think whoever claims social welfare in this country is the real problem would want to cop on frankly.

You've lost me here, what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Boombastic wrote: »
    You've lost me here, what? :confused:

Every second thread on AH is an attack on the social welfare system in this country. It's clear to see its not the real problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Every second thread on AH is an attack on the social welfare system in this country. It's clear to see its not the real problem.

Ah, I get it I read it as in those claiming social welfare were the problem, not those claiming that those claiming social welfare are the problem...if ya get me........:) I agree with you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It's the parallel social welfare system for the elite of the speculation industry and the cronies that we need to wind up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Not a bit surprised by all this. As my old Pottler account, I banged on about what a massive scam job the bank bailout was and was generally told to stfu. Best laugh is, the only outcome from this will no doubt be an enquiry, which will achieve SFA apart from further enriching a lot of Barristers, "expert witnesses" pfft, and Politicians. The gravy train will roll merrily along. Dissenters will be dismissed as Loons and hippies, as per usual.

A lot of people banged on about how it was a scam, but almost all of them claimed the politicians were in on it, and it was "corrupt", all of which looked like, and often was, no more than meaningless reflex cynicism.

The real tragedy here is that you've got two muppets who don't think any further than helping "save their company" - don't think anything of the fact that it's taxpayers' money they're getting poured into their broken bank - facing off against a bunch of clueless regulatards who hadn't an inkling that anything was wrong in the banks they were supposed to be regulating.

99.9% of those who were busily banging on about it being a "scam" missed the point, as ever, and blamed on conspiracy what is ever more clearly a combination of incompetence and complete failure to think. The two jokers on the tapes aren't cunning conspirators, but they've got the drop on the people they're negotiating with, because those people have spent the previous decade in an even happier haze of wishful thinking and problem denial.

cordially,
    Scofflaw