If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

There was a clip of this played today on Today FM.

For this whole sham I've been pretty pissed off but never overly vocal and just got on with it.

This however is the nail in the bloody coffin. It basically shows that whilst we were all home, living our lives, two men were single handedly hanging this country out to dry and more or less laughing at it.

What a joke we are that this was even allowed happen. :( Why didn't somebody inspect the books straight off instead of asking a toxic executive of a toxic bank for a figure?

It's actually sickening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

All i know is this

Ze Germans won't be impressed when they hear this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭andrewdeerpark

I assume these are the individuals on the leaked calls.

http://ie.linkedin.com/pub/peter-fitzgerald/65/659/86a

http://ie.linkedin.com/pub/john-bowe/35/8bb/a55

Just read the bull from their CV's.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Given Paul McWilliams was the "journalist" in question one could assume the guards were the source of the leak

And they have the cheek to post their Anglo "experience" on their linkedin pages:eek:

Director of Retail Banking
    Anglo Irish Bank Corporation
    Privately Held; 1001-5000 employees; Banking industry
    July 2008 – March 2011 (2 years 9 months)

Responsible for the Groups Retail Banking business across Ireland, the United Kingdom and offshore markets.

Head of Capital Markets
    Anglo Irish Bank
    Government Agency; 11-50 employees; Banking industry
    May 2001 – December 2008 (7 years 8 months)

John established the DCM business in Anglo and the bank became one of the most active issuers in the debt markets. the funding platform encompassed issuance from short term paper to meduim and long term duration including structured and secured funding. The bank was also an active and innovative issuer of capital and John also established and led a best in class debt investor relations platform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,217 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What can come of it ?

Will you see people on the streets ?

Will you see RTE covering it properly?

Will it be mainstream media / for how long?

Hilariously in Brazil all it took was the government to increase bus charges by 1.50 to bring about days of mass unrest, here we have 2 individuals openly mocking a financial regulator and laughing and joking about defrauding the state in the largest historical financial mess ever on these shores.

I have no problem contacting Pat Rabbite again or Brian Hayes for that matter. Ive found they pass the book on to the minister responsible and forward back his reply.

What about actually taking to the streets this time ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Michael McGrath, the finance spokesperson for Fianna Fáil which was in power at the time of the bailout, said it was not clear whether the Gardaí, Director of Public Prosecutions or the Director of Corporate Enforcement is in possession of the tapes.

Hmmmp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭corkonion

I guess they will hold a tribunal at huge cost to the taxpayer and that in 7 or 8 yrs time the two bankers will be exonerated and receive compensation for their time and inconvenience.

listermint wrote: »
    What about actually taking to the streets this time ?

The damage has been done. The horse has bolted. What exactly will we achieve?

Let Merkel know that the Micks are annoyed? Whoopdy Doo. It's too late!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭smokey20

I have just sent these two pr!cks an inmail with a few choice words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Boombastic wrote: »
    'call in the Gardas says FF'..is the headline on RTE News at one,

Are the Gardai not already on the case?

Hmm, given they were in government when this all happened you'd wonder why the Gardai aren't on this already?

Unless of course they just want to silence the source of the leak......(might not look so good for dee parteee after all)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

smokey20 wrote: »
    I have just sent these two pr!cks an inmail with a few choice words.

Wrong move. Link up, then endorse them for stuff like: bail out applications, bail out strategy, &c.

One of linkedin connections recently endorsed me for marketing strategy, I think this was a sarcastic endorsement as I don't do marketing strategy... clearly, it was a way of the guy telling everyone he thinks I am full of bullsh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,217 ✭✭✭✭listermint

MugMugs wrote: »
    The damage has been done. The horse has bolted. What exactly will we achieve?

Let Merkel know that the Micks are annoyed? Whoopdy Doo. It's too late!

It would insure that they know we are openly annoyed about the situation (AS IT STANDS) and that the perpetrators will actually face the full strength of law and not some long winded bloody tribunal or so called 'enquiry' which i am sick of hearing about.

Ah sure the horse has bolted so you say. Back to apathy everyone......

Wrong move. Link up, then endorse them for stuff like: bail out applications, bail out strategy, &c.

Yup.

Still looking for the professional fraudster, and lying bastard option though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Ah it's all right guys the only way we will be affected by this is we'll all be on a little less mone each year. Ect ect or whatever weak excuse is given for letting this crap go on again and again. I remember an article on Haughey in the states stailing how he and his family where living on taxpaers money and the article finished with "he recieved no jail time".

It's amazing I live in a country where people who commit social welfare fraud are in jail and not people like Haughey and these gangsters.

It would insure that they know we are openly annoyed about the situation (AS IT STANDS) and that the perpetrators will actually face the full strength of law and not some long winded bloody tribunal or so called 'enquiry' which i am sick of hearing about.

Ah sure the horse has bolted so you say. Back to apathy everyone......

That's quite unfair, I am attempting to discuss and you're resorting to sarcasm.

What next, March on London over our Occupation, sure the horse bolted there too...... Head off to FIFA HQ and protest over Ireland being knocked out of the World Cup by a handball?

I am all for making a statement actually watching us stand up for ourselves but what you're coming across with is more of a "down with this sort of thing"

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Ah it's all right guys the only way we will be affected by this is we'll all be on a little less mone each year. Ect ect or whatever weak excuse is given for letting this crap go on again and again. I remember an article on Haughey in the states stailing how he and his family where living on taxpaers money and the article finished with "he recieved no jail time".

It's amazing I live in a country where people who commit social welfare fraud are in jail and not people like Haughey and these gangsters.

Jeez it's worse than that.....Don't pay your TV licence and see how sympathetic the judge is with you

http://www.herald.ie/news/121-women-are-sent-to-jail-for-failing-to-pay-tv-licence-fines-28963049.html

25 People a day being sent to prison for not paying fines but bankers and developers who owe MILLIONS are still living the life of luxury.:rolleyes:

That's quite unfair, I am attempting to discuss and you're resorting to sarcasm.

What next, March on London over our Occupation, sure the horse bolted there too...... Head off to FIFA HQ and protest over Ireland being knocked out of the World Cup by a handball?

I am all for making a statement actually watching us stand up for ourselves but what you're coming across with is more of a "down with this sort of thing"

At no point did you say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Maybe the government were just stupid,incompentent ,
    or they did not have experts to tell them ,
    anglo was on the verge of bankruptycy .
    Putting in any money in to it was pointless.
    IT should have been let fail, like many us banks.
    SO the bankers thought we,ll get 7billion ,plus,
    enough to give us a nice pension and wages for the next few years.
    WE has regulators ,and central bank officials who were not doing their job.
    Meanwhile alot of these bankers are retired on large pensions,
    some even got a bonus in 2007 ,2008.

IN 2008,the americans let lehmans brothers go bankrupt,
    eg in a financial crisis theres no point trying to save every bank.
    ITS well known we did not have the expertise in the dept of finance ,
    to deal with the crisis proper manner.

ITS a DISGUSTING tape ,cos it shows the bankers just wanted enough money
    ,to keep the bank going, get them a pension,
    even though they knew the government was never going to get its money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

bumper234 wrote: »
    Jeez it's worse than that.....Don't pay your TV licence and see how sympathetic the judge is with you

http://www.herald.ie/news/121-women-are-sent-to-jail-for-failing-to-pay-tv-licence-fines-28963049.html

25 People a day being sent to prison for not paying fines but bankers and developers who owe MILLIONS are still living the life of luxury.:rolleyes:

25 five a day? It's not surprising really considering half the judges are blackrock educated the same place that educates bankers, lawyers and all the other nepotic professions in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,589 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

DeVore wrote: »
    Does anyone think that this is very worrying because it will almost certainly give them grounds to avoid prosecution on the grounds of the trial being prejudiced....

Can a trial be prejudiced before charges are even brought against a person? I mean people / the media have been saying for years that corruption was rife, so how could actual evidence of that corruption be what endangers any future criminal case? If that does happen then we've a lot more to be concerned about than crooked bankers.

At no point did you say that.

At no point was I asked or deemed it relevant.

/Me and you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭pah

10k in arrears, wages down 25% and my wife is out of work as a direct result of what followed on from this.

I hope they just fúck off and die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Leiva wrote: »
    these guys would probably be facing 20+ years if it was the States.

if they were in China, they would be put up against the wall and shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

if they were in China, they would be put up against the wall and shot

I like the Chinese... a great bunch of... ah, forget it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cuuuuuunnnnnttttsssssss! :mad:

Surely new prison accommodation has to be on the horizon for these men?

At no point was I asked or deemed it relevant.

/Me and you.

This thread is bigger than you. get over it.

Anyway back on topic.

I am hopeful now that we will have a sustained and open back lash against the government about this matter.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Cuuuuuunnnnnttttsssssss! :mad:

Surely new prison accommodation has to be on the horizon for these men?

Yes, and move other prisoners into it. Put these lads in mountjoy slopping out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

I see that the two gentlemen involved are claiming that they didn't believe they were doing anything wrong.
    No doubt their solicitors have advised them to take this stance?
    But ...talk about smoking gun evidence!
    If the the legal system in this country fails to get a conviction in this case I fear the consequences.

Willing to bet that there's absolutely nothing criminal in getting a bailout from the Central Bank under false pretences? Probably not even covered under any legislation.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

I am hopeful now that we will have a sustained and open back lash against the government about this matter.

"I don't want hope. Hope is killing me. My dream is to become hopeless. When you're hopeless you don't care. And when you don't care, that indifference makes you attractive."