Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimbledon 2013

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    They are literally just for The Championships and some exhibition matches between the top players. They are just kept pristine until the tournament starts over.

Seems like an awful waste. Works for them I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

john inverdale in a spot of bother over his sexist remarks about Marion Bartoli

he basically called her a minger

fryup wrote: »
    john inverdale in a spot of bother over his sexist remarks about Marion Bartoli

he basically called her a minger

Why couldn't this have been castle? :pac:

I think Bartoli is a fine woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

me too, with a bit a splash of make up and her hair down, she's transformed

here she is at the ball

• Registered Users Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

I dont see how that comment is sexist. Its not the most flattering of things to say, but she is not attractive like many of the other players, so he was telling the truth. What trouble is he in? Very little I would think, in fact probably nothing will happen at all.

Not sure what looks has got to do with anything? He says she will never have long legs or look like Sharapova (or whatever) so she'll have to become the biggest fighter on the court in the world.

How can looks trump being a fighter on the court or how are the two even comparable???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Maybe it means in order for people to warm to her she will have to become a great fighter because her looks won't win her fans.

Sharapova has more or less turned into a dose of sh1t since she won Wimbledon but people like her because she looks shexy.

Not sure what looks has got to do with anything? He says she will never have long legs or look like Sharapova (or whatever) so she'll have to become the biggest fighter on the court in the world.

How can looks trump being a fighter on the court or how are the two even comparable???

Im a bit confused about what youre trying to say while quoting my comment. I was saying that I dont see how his comment is sexist.

"Sexism is prejudice or discrimination based on a person's sex."

He said she had to be a fighter, but pretty much said she wasnt attractive. Thats what most people were complaining about.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

If you want to talk about sexism in sport or the players' attractiveness, take it to another thread.

Final warning.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Murray Documentary on BBC1 now. Think it was already aired before, but now have little bits added following his win yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Just heard that Murray is to donate all his winnings from Queens to the Royal Marsden Hospital (link) and rumour is he will donate all his Wimbledon winnings as well.

mrsoundie wrote: »
    Just heard that Murray is to donate all his winnings from Queens to the Royal Marsden Hospital (link) and rumour is he will donate all his Wimbledon winnings as well.

I seen a site saying he did donate all his winnings (1.5m) but it hasn't been confirmed.

I wonder if he will donate his Wimbledon winnings to charity. I think there was a rumour put out there, maybe the pressure will be too much and he will donate that too. Best keeping it though, he earned it!

• Registered Users Posts: 54,745 ✭✭✭✭walshb

He has declined significantly from his level of 2011 in fairness... still all you can do is beat what's put in front of you and Murray has snuck in for his couple of majors just like several others over the years... well done Murray!

No way. Murray beat a peak Novak in the 2012 U.S. Open. Novak had a great 2011, but nobody can know that he was at his absolute best then. Fed beat him in the FO that year. Novak is Australian champion 2013. Almost beats Nadal in FO, and loses to Murray at Wimbledon. How is it obvious to you that he has "significantly" declined from 2011?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Speisekarte

walshb wrote: »
    No way. Murray beat a peak Novak in the 2012 U.S. Open. Novak had a great 2011, but nobody can know that he was at his absolute best then. Fed beat him in the FO that year. Novak is Australian champion 2013. Almost beats Nadal in FO, and loses to Murray at Wimbledon. How is it obvious to you that he has "significantly" declined from 2011?

I'd have to agree that he has declined since 2011, just from looking at his strokes he doesn't have the same ferocity and and laser like focus he had then. Still excellent of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

theres talks of a knighthood.i kid you not.jesus really a kinghthood?
    federer deserves to be made king so.

don't think that he has officially donated his Wimbldedon winnings.
    However, projections are that because of the Wimbldedon win that he could make £15m a year for the next 5 years, somewhere else said worth £100m to him in total. So the £1.6m winnings won't make much of a difference to him really....

Oh and he's defo get an OBE and probably a knighthood at some point.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

In the documentary about him that they replayed last night they played a charity exhibition match after the final in Queens Club for the hospital where his best mate was being treated for some form of cancer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

glasso wrote: »
    Oh and he's defo get an OBE and probably a knighthood at some point.

He's already got an OBE.

I hope they don't give him a KBE though, not something that should be given out to still active sports people. Wait until they have retired and maybe done a bit of something else as well, but it devalues the award if they dish them out for people too soon.

robinph wrote: »
    He's already got an OBE.

I hope they don't give him a KBE though, not something that should be given out to still active sports people. Wait until they have retired and maybe done a bit of something else as well, but it devalues the award if they dish them out for people too soon.

I suppose - it's pretty much a given though that he gets it unless he pulls a tiger-woods-type shag 10 porn-stars and his girlfriend's ma stunt. somehow I doubt that he has that in him.

glasso wrote: »
    I suppose - it's pretty much a given though that he gets it unless he pulls a tiger-woods-type shag 10 porn-stars and his girlfriend's ma stunt. somehow I doubt that he has that in him.

Part of the reason that they shouldn't be handed out to quickly. They have created a precedent now though, get a couple of gold medals or win something that hasn't been won for ages and they dub you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,578 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

No sportsperson should receive an award until they have retired or reached 40 ,whichever happens first.
    They have completely devalued the awards in recent years by dishing them out to every joe soap or flavour of the month.

Interesting to read the British media heavily criticising Andrew Castle for being a rubbish and biased commentator.
    During the match Castle was trending higher than any other Wimbledon topic, and it wasn't to compliment him.
    Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭GBXI

Just felt I should comment and say that Castle guy comes across as the biggest Dick. How he gets the gig is beyond me. Made the final less enjoyable.

In the documentary about him that they replayed last night they played a charity exhibition match after the final in Queens Club for the hospital where his best mate was being treated for some form of cancer.

Yeah that match was on TV. I seen the first couple of games.

Henman was doing crap and having no craic and they players were mic'd, and Murray told Tim "C'mon Tim, loosen up. It's only an exhibition".

• Registered Users Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

GBXI wrote: »
    Just felt I should comment and say that Castle guy comes across as the biggest Dick. How he gets the gig is beyond me. Made the final less enjoyable.

You're saying that from an Irish person's (do you hate Murray too? :rolleyes: ) point of view.

One would imagine in Britain that people supporting Murray had no problem with him.

Just like us and George Hamilton being so biased for Ireland in Football.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    theres talks of a knighthood.i kid you not.jesus really a kinghthood?
    federer deserves to be made king so.

I like Murray but you should know by now that if a Briton breaks wind they get knighted or 'damed' (if thats the term)

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭GBXI

callaway92 wrote: »
    You're saying that from an Irish person's (do you hate Murray too? :rolleyes: ) point of view.

One would imagine in Britain that people supporting Murray had no problem with him.

Just like us and George Hamilton being so biased for Ireland in Football.

I am saying that from a tennis fan's point of view, nothing to do with my Nationality. And I was most definitely shouting for Murray, big fan of his.

I have no issue with a commentator wanting his own team/individual to win. Andrew Castle is an arrogant twat who loves the sound of his own voice though.

If they replaced him with McEnroe/Becker, at least then they have someone who is insightful (can see how the match is developing) and also some way entertaining. As someone else said, everyone was giving out about him.

Anyone think Wimbledon won't be as exciting from now on?

I mean every year there was hope Murray would win it and was exciting to see if he did.

Now the winner won't make a difference as Murray has won it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

Wimbledon will always be exciting. It doesn't matter that Murray has now won it; not all about him.

I'm excited to see will he retain or will Federer or Nadal win another.

The winner of Wimbledon will always matter.