Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimbledon 2013

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Neeson wrote: »
    Woah. WOAH!

It wasn't me who made the gay claim originally. I was just trying to find some hints.

By quoting an article with Federer supporting gay players?

Federer who is married with kids?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,957 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I think that this win is great for the town of Dunblane especially. 17 years after that awful tragedy it's great to see a positive headline for one of its kin.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Hey listen here, I think we'll all agree on one thing as this thread is slowly going to come to an end.. Murray was very very lucky with who he got in the final..

Cos if he got Serena, he wouldn't of stood a chance.. Cos she's a real unit ya know. Bitta work on her calves and she'll be in the mens final next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,040 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

flazio wrote: »
    I think that this win is great for the town of Dunblane especially. 17 years after that awful tragedy it's great to see a positive headline for one of its kin.

Yep, incredible how someone can come back from seeing such slaughter and rise to their top of the profession. Andy talked about it recently, still hurts him understandably and probably will for the rest of his life.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

garv123 wrote: »
    Hey listen here, I think we'll all agree on one thing as this thread is slowly going to come to an end.. Murray was very very lucky with who he got in the final..

Cos if he got Serena, he wouldn't of stood a chance.. Cos she's a real unit ya know. Bitta work on her calves and she'll be in the mens final next year.
    No doubt she would have proven he is gay too, even with the weak calves.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i have always been a bit meh when it came to andy murray, neither liked him or disliked him

but even i have to admit that a tear came to my eye when he won today, it really meant the world to him esp after what happened last year losing to Federer

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I'm not saying Murrays gay. Read back. Jaysus. It wasn't me!

Serena would never be allowed to play in the men's anyway. Unit or no unit.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I thought it was very strange indeed that he neither looked to embrace his girlfriend or hadn't the decency to say one kind word to her either.Something not right there.Not that it matters but I think Murray could make an announcement soon on his sexual preferences as it he has no affection for the girl why have her there cheering on every point emphatically.I have a feeling she might be a PR plant.Could be wrong though..

I don't agree with this at all. If anything a big show of emotion would have seemed fake. All this criticism of Murray's personality only shows that he is not molded by his PR people, like so many famous people are. He's nervous, he's shy and the celebration and speech is improvised; not some preplanned thing with his PR people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

I thought it was very strange indeed that he neither looked to embrace his girlfriend or hadn't the decency to say one kind word to her either.Something not right there.Not that it matters but I think Murray could make an announcement soon on his sexual preferences as it he has no affection for the girl why have her there cheering on every point emphatically.I have a feeling she might be a PR plant.Could be wrong though..
    He said in his interview he was told to be quick if he went up to the players' box. He has been pictured kissing her before. He was probably on autopilot too - it must have seemed surreal. What was he supposed to do, ask her if she fancied a quickie?

• Registered Users, Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,355 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

I've seen it all now! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

Stick to discussing the tennis please, not players' personal lives

Great to see the Bryan Brothers get the Golden Slam. It'll be interesting to see if they can win U.S. Open and make it a calendar Slam. Hasn't been done since the 1950s. Men's Doubles will be a lesser place when they decide to hang up their racquets.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,957 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Could someone punch up the stats and see how many deuces there were in that final?

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭heartseeker

Neeson wrote: »
    Could be something in that. Might have came out with this Gay statement as a way of softening people into his ideas.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/tennis/roger-federer-andy-murray-say-gay-players-would-not-face-discrimination-on-world-tennis-tour/story-e6frf4mu-1226641333393#.UdnJVPnD_oI

I think you have hit the nail on the head there.What better way to soften the blow then to get one of the most decorated players in the game to stand shoulder to shoulder with you.Nobody is saying he should have thrown a leg over her,that's just ridiculous now.But one kind word for all her support was too much?And she was nowhere to be seen in the aftermath.She most certainly wasn't the first person he encountered as she wasn't even there when he made his way up to the box ,nor was she waiting for him in the dressing room when BBC broadcast live footage tonight of a champagne celebration in his locker room after.It seemed like she was the furthest from his thoughts in his speech and his actions in the moments that followed.Seemed very distant and cold to me.So something was a miss.But congrats to him nevertheless was a great achievement.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

Congratulations to Andy Murray! That was the most incredible moment in my entire life watching tennis, I felt so proud of you! I was actually in tears of joy, jumping up and down screaming at the tv!!!

For so many years he had to fight off the morons who hated him because he made a joke about England in the World Cup, they slated him, said he would never win a slam, made crude references about Thomas Hamilton and sneered at every opportunity. Let me ask you this, where are those morons today? Thats right, posting up about him being gay, or posting saying that he was lucky to get to where he was due to the way the draw worked out. REALLY and utterly pathetic, I feel sorry for people who are so negative, who dont want to see anyone achieve greatness.

Despite all of this, despite the enormous pressure put on his shoulders year after year, he has triumphed. After that defeat at Wimbledon last year against Fed, many thought he would crumble, but he didnt, he came straight back and won Olympic gold for Team GB, that and his emotional response after losing Wimbledon won him many many fans. Next he won his first Grand Slam in the US Open in a 5 setter against Djokovic, and now, to cap it all, Andy Murray is crowned the winner of Wimbledon 2013! On the 7th day of the 7th month, 77 years since the last Male GB winner, ANDY MURRAY MADE OUR DREAMS COME TRUE!

Andy Murray the greatest British sportsman of this decade!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

Andy Murray the greatest British sportsman of this decade!

Eh?

Chris Hoy?
    Bradley Wiggins?
    Ronnie O Sullivan?

Eh?

Chris Hoy?
    Bradley Wiggins?
    Ronnie O Sullivan?

You can add Mo Farah, the Brownlee brothers, Seb Coe, Brendan Foster, Steve Ovett, Steve Redgrave, Matthew Pinsent and lots lots more to that list. Bloody hell he isnt even the best tennis player from Britain ever sure Fred Perry won 3 titles

Of course he is the best sportsman of this decade. First of all Fred Perry hardly counts, so thats that out the window. Also all the others mentioned are fantastic sportsmen, dont get me wrong, and they have achieved great success. However its success in fields which are extremely specialised, which seriously limits the competition. Most of those sports are not sports that your average person would get into, therefore the chances of another person being better is seriously reduced.

Ronnie O Sullivan.....greatest sportsman? He might be great at playing snooker, but the guy is an arse and certainly not an ambassador for Great Britain. I actually really like Ronnie personally, but he has a huge attitude problem and a chip on his shoulder which has held him back.

Murray's consistency over this last 5 years has been incredible, and recently he is just mind blowing! I had to Google Bradley Wiggins name to finds out who he was, so that says it all!

If I was to walk down a street in the UK and question 100 people and ask if they knew who they thought was the best sportsman, Murray or Wiggins, I bet you a huge majority would say "Bradley who?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

Of course he is the best sportsman of this decade. First of all Fred Perry hardly counts, so thats that out the window. Also all the others mentioned are fantastic sportsmen, dont get me wrong, and they have achieved great success. However its success in fields which are extremely specialised, which seriously limits the competition. Most of those sports are not sports that your average person would get into, therefore the chances of another person being better is seriously reduced.

Ronnie O Sullivan.....greatest sportsman? He might be great at playing snooker, but the guy is an arse and certainly not an ambassador for Great Britain. I actually really like Ronnie personally, but he has a huge attitude problem and a chip on his shoulder which has held him back.

Murray's consistency over this last 5 years has been incredible, and recently he is just mind blowing! I had to Google Bradley Wiggins name to finds out who he was, so that says it all!

If I was to walk down a street in the UK and question 100 people and ask if they knew who they thought was the best sportsman, Murray or Wiggins, I bet you a huge majority would say "Bradley who?"

What a pile of Dung.

Specialised sport? Do you want to go more mainstream then? Ryan Giggs? Paul Scholes? Jonny Wilkinson?

Phil Taylor?
    Lewis Hamilton?

What a pile of Dung.

Specialised sport? Do you want to go more mainstream then? Ryan Giggs? Paul Scholes? Jonny Wilkinson?

Phil Taylor?
    Lewis Hamilton?

Would you like to be a bit more specific so I can reply. Which part is dung?

How many people do you think play Tennis globally compared to rowing boats competitively?

There are plenty of great team players, but its a little harder to choose them because they are part of a team. Put it this way, 13.2 million people watched Murray's semi-final match, thats more viewers than for any other program this year. I dont know the figures for the final, but it could only be even higher. He has brought the nation together, my facebook newsfeed is about 95% all about Murray! The odd friend mentions cycling because only a few of my friends actually race bikes, and so on.

So yes, for great sporting achievement, for making Britain proud, for uniting a nation, for being an inspiration to all, then Murray is the greatest sportsman of the decade in the UK. It wont be too long before he is Knighted and you will address him as Sir Andy Murray!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Yep, The French are the same with their own, as are the Yanks with theirs as is every other nation.

The most depressing this is the British public normally rally behind our sportsmen without any chip in the shoulder, examples would be the Irish soccer team and they were very complimentary about Katie last year as well, but so many Irish people want British sports people to fail.
    .:(

You're dead dead wrong about that. I grew up Britain and I can tell you most people didn't cheer on Ireland, infact there were a lot of complaints regarding giving them too much coverage on the DigitalSpy forums during Euro 2012. Comments like 'Remember the IRA, Ireland are no friends of ours' etc. There's plenty of anti-Irish racism in Britain still only have to look at the crap that went on in dale farm recently.

Anti-Irish sentiment in the UK??? Who on earth were you hanging around with? Irish people are greeted with open arms everywhere Ive ever been. Some people might not like the accent, and sometimes its hard to understand the strong Irish accent, but other than that there is no issue.

If you think some sectarian idiots views in any shape or form represent your average British persons opinion of Irish people then your opinion is so far from the truth.

With regards to Dale Farm, it wasnt the fact that they were of Irish descent, or were even Irish, it was the fact they shouldnt have been there and it was against the law. Dont try and create some race thing, it gets boring,

• Registered Users Posts: 11,275 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

First ever trip to this forum just to see what was being said after today, god the last two pages have been painful reading.

Is there normally this many tools posting rubbish?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Speisekarte

Would you like to be a bit more specific so I can reply. Which part is dung?

How many people do you think play Tennis globally compared to rowing boats competitively?

There are plenty of great team players, but its a little harder to choose them because they are part of a team. Put it this way, 13.2 million people watched Murray's semi-final match, thats more viewers than for any other program this year. I dont know the figures for the final, but it could only be even higher. He has brought the nation together, my facebook newsfeed is about 95% all about Murray! The odd friend mentions cycling because only a few of my friends actually race bikes, and so on.

So yes, for great sporting achievement, for making Britain proud, for uniting a nation, for being an inspiration to all, then Murray is the greatest sportsman of the decade in the UK. It wont be too long before he is Knighted and you will address him as Sir Andy Murray!

You're talking as if he won the calendar year grand slam, he now joins Leyton Hewitt and Marat Safin in the History books, that's it. 2 grand slams. Not 20.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

You're talking as if he won the calendar year grand slam, he now joins Leyton Hewitt and Marat Safin in the History books, that's it. 2 grand slams. Not 20.
    OK, I am not agreeing that Murray is the greatest British sportsperson of the last decade, but comparing Murray to Hewitt and Safin is a pile of monkey crap. Hewitt and Safin were in the era in between Sampras-Agassi and Federrer, whereas Murray has been in an era where the top 4 players are just incredible. Murray's 2 grand slams are worth a lot more than Hewitt's and Safin's.

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭medic087

John Mcenroe has said that he would be surprised if murray didn't win at least 6 slams. Have to agree with that statement. Djokovic and murray will dominate tennis for the next two years I think.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

That is more down to you probably not watching much of the Olympics etc that was on last year but I am certain that the majority will know who Wiggins is. OK, Murray will be closer to their attention this week but if you had asked the question last week then more would have rated Wiggins greater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Fair play Murray, it's not him that annoys me it's Castle and the BBC, so I watched it on Spanish TV after the 1st set :)

He deserved it , played amazing, got such hard balls back, never gave in.

Djokovic was lost out there and he's usually a tough nut.

The next big 3 - Djokovic, Murray, Del Potro.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,096 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You can add Mo Farah, the Brownlee brothers, Seb Coe, Brendan Foster, Steve Ovett, Steve Redgrave, Matthew Pinsent and lots lots more to that list. Bloody hell he isnt even the best tennis player from Britain ever sure Fred Perry won 3 titles

The poster said this decade.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

RosyLily wrote: »

Great to see the Bryan Brothers get the Golden Slam. It'll be interesting to see if they can win U.S. Open and make it a calendar Slam. Hasn't been done since the 1950s. Men's Doubles will be a lesser place when they decide to hang up their racquets.

and the fact they did it at the age of 35:eek: amazing achievement...and just highlights the fitness levels of modern tennis players

You have to realise the standard of play in the modern era, the science behind the human body, psychological control, the peak conditioning of the players, the food and drink between games, everything has been studied to ensure the very best level of performance from the human body. The kit they wear and use, every single aspect of the game is cutting edge. If the heroes of yesteryear were to be popped into a time machine and play against someone like Murray, they would be utterly smashed to pieces. Im not dismissing the achievements of sportsman who excelled in their time, because its all relative to their moment in time.

Another thing, I doubt anyone posting up about Fred Perry is old enough to actually have been there and experienced it, so it doesnt make me feel anything at all. Do you think Fred Perry winning way back in the 1930's means much to the modern day people of Great Britain?

Its my opinion that Andy Murray is the greatest sportsman of THIS decade from GB, including all of the British Isles (ROI) and the next year or two will see him cement that position and become Worlds number 1.