What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

New Home wrote: »
    Does you cat fly too, Kovu, or did s/he get a lift off Spiderman? :confused::D

As for those chicks, yes, I think the one on the left is a girl, and the other two are the boys. :)

Oh the asshat jumps onto the windowsill, onto the boilerhouse and then over onto the roof. I don't even want to know how his wee brain figured it out!

Ah, I can't see the other dudes comb but if it's like that it could very well be a he too. But they can get along, we had two roosters for years, each had their own little group of hens. They'd act like stallions, each stealing hens off the other one! We did house them in different sheds at night though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Simon201

386682.jpg

A gift from little Walter to me at the beach last week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭janmaree

jesbYsVl.jpg[/QUOTE]

I was unloading groceries from the car one day and you know how you can get that feeling of being watched, just an unnerving feeling of not being alone? I looked all around, saw nothing, then glanced up to see my 3-legged cat up on the roof above my head, silently looking down on me as if to say, "what did you bring me?" I wasn't as quiet when I asked her how the hell she managed to get up there with just three legs? I don't have a photo but Kovu's cat on the roof was just what I saw! I'm not the better of it yet.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

The chicks are growing up under my eyes, they've almost all their proper feathers out and they're getting prettttty big, but they still love to sleep under their mother's wings... unless they get confused... :D

388540.jpg

This is the first time I've seen or heard of a baby-sitting rooster! :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Here they are perching on the tree, too.

388546.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I was sunbathing in the garden today and my 14 year old collie x had a fit of playfulness and sneaked up on me, grabbed my shoe and ran off down the garden with it. It does my heart good to see he still has a spark of puppy in him!

New Home wrote: »
    All ready for bed. :)

(Spot the babies! :))

I just realized the photo in that ^^ post wasn't visible, at least not to everyone - you'd think I'd have mastered how to attach a picture to a post by now, but it seems obvious that that's not the case... I'll try again. :rolleyes: :o:)

This was less than a month ago, it really shows how much they've grown since then!

388598.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Fluffy was in bed with me and she got under the duvet and popped her little head on my pillow, like a person. She was also curled up next to my tummy. She's so adorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

Last night I brought home the kitten that my OH found for one night as a stop over on her way to her forever home. I knew peach and cream don't like kittens from how they reacted when we introduced dude, but dude had never met a kitten before so I was curious to see how he'd react.
    We waited til Wonton (the kitten) was asleep and let him in to the sitting room. He didn't notice her at first but when she stretched and squeaked herself awake they both noticed each other. He was fascinated sitting there watching her and sniffing mad. After about 5 minutes he started slow blinking and her and rolled over to show his belly. She went bouncing up to him, bopped noses, and that was it. They became best friends. Dude was making his "brrrrrr" noise that he does to greet people, rolling around the place, and she was bouncing along after him, sneaking up and pouncing on him. I was watching closely as he plays very rough with Cream, but he kept checking himself and only really gently pawing at her when she came up to him. It melted my heart to see how gentle and caring he was to her straight away after meeting.
    It's such a pity we couldn't keep her, they would have been best pals! But she's off to her forever home today with people who are animal crazy so she will have the best life there. Going to miss my little Wonton like crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

I found Nymeria asleep on my new runners this morning. She is loving it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

AryaStark wrote: »
    I found Nymeria asleep on her new runners this morning. She is loving it!!!

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Wanderer41

My kitten seems to (hopefully!) be fully trained to go to the toilet outside now! :D Hope I didn't jinx it now.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

My cat absolutely loves when I scratch her head and would happily lie beside me for ages while I do it, purring away.

A few times a year, I'd be in the middle of a scratching session when without warning she'd let out a loud annoyed meows and walk away a few steps. No idea why. Anyway, when it happens she always immediately turns back and gives me a few slow blinks. I think it is her way of letting me know it wasn't my fault and all's good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

I remember when I got my kitten (first cat) someone on here told me that sometimes cats get 'sick' of being stroked suddenly! Ive noticed that this is actually true with my cat for sure - one minute in bliss being stroked, next minute jumps up with "enough of that" look on her face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

aonb wrote: »
    I remember when I got my kitten (first cat) someone on here told me that sometimes cats get 'sick' of being stroked suddenly! Ive noticed that this is actually true with my cat for sure - one minute in bliss being stroked, next minute jumps up with "enough of that" look on her face

Yeah, it's funny because when it happens she just walks back to me and starts rubbing her head against my leg and looks at me as if to say "come on - why did you stop" and she's back in bliss mode again when I resume.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

My cat absolutely loves when I scratch her head and would happily lie beside me for ages while I do it, purring away.

A few times a year, I'd be in the middle of a scratching session when without warning she'd let out a loud annoyed meows and walk away a few steps. No idea why. Anyway, when it happens she always immediately turns back and gives me a few slow blinks. I think it is her way of letting me know it wasn't my fault and all's good :)
    aonb wrote: »

You're obviously privileged. I used to get my wrist shredded with claws when she'd get the 'I've had enough petting' and I wasn't watching closely at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

It always makes me smile when I see my dogs running in their sleep. I'd love to know what they are dreaming about :)

The big kittens (2 months old) met the small kittens (1 week old) accidentally today. I was afraid they'd attack them but they just sat and watched them. They were mesmerised. Very cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I swear that Theon (foster dog) was trying to take part in the synchronised swimming today. He was lying at my feet and kept lifting his head up, sticking his nose into the air and moving it around.

KatW4 wrote: »
    The big kittens (2 months old) met the small kittens (1 week old) accidentally today. I was afraid they'd attack them but they just sat and watched them. They were mesmerised. Very cute.
    So many kittens. I'm jealous. I would love to have a kitten but considering I have dogs and birds, I don't think it would work :pac:

Paddy Cow wrote:
    So many kittens. I'm jealous. I would love to have a kitten but considering I have dogs and birds, I don't think it would work

Six kittens and 4 cats. I'm a crazy cat lady ha!

No it wouldn't work out either way to have a kitten... imagine the carnage :O such a pity though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

No pet in particular but just all of them. Yesterday was such a miserable day that I let them all out for 2 hours and then decided they could all come in and spend the afternoon and evening in with me. Once sufficient time to do the numerous 1's and 2's had passed, they all traipsed into the house (with one particularly acrobatic one deciding to enter via the bedroom skylight). I had the fire lit and they all found little nooks and crannies to lounge away the evening in. I sat with a glass of wine and surveyed my surroundings - a dog curled up on the sofa with me, a cat on top of the bookshelf and one on the kitchen chair. Then saw there were three cats on the bed and one in a basket on top of the wardrobe. They were all delighted to be in with the fire lit, and I cracked open a packet of ham to share out between them. They all thought it was Christmas! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It always makes me smile when I see my dogs running in their sleep. I'd love to know what they are dreaming about :)

I had a dog a number of years back who had hind leg paralysis. She got around great in her cart, but I remember watching her dreaming every so often and her legs would do that. It made me so sad to watch, but then I figured at least at that very moment, in her mind, she was running happy and free without the use of her wheels :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Wanderer41

My dog is getting old (at least 10 years old!) but he makes me so happy. He is always delighted to see me, it will be hard going back to college and not seeing him will be hard :( My little kitten is almost a year old now! Hard to believe she was only around 3 weeks old when I got her. She isn't the most affectionate and bites and scratches but I think she is improving, although I seem to be the only one she tolerates! She used to purr as well but not anymore which is a shame. She goes made for her toys, someone here suggested a da bird cat toy, she loves them! I get more with every zooplus order. Recently a laser pointer has been keeping her on her toes, I feel a bit cruel but she loves it and she gets exercise so it's all good :)
    This was really long but all these cute posts are making me soppy! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭LCD

My dog came 2nd in a best buddies competition with my 2 nieces. No idea what or if there was any judging criteria, but he still came 2nd out of 20 odd entrants.

Mrs LCD stuck the rosette on the fridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Millie (our maltichon) ate the "arse" out of my fiancee's favourite pyjamas which had been left on the ground.

Herself wasn't smiling when she found them but it cheered me up no end :)

Millie (our maltichon) ate the "arse" out of my fiancee's favourite pyjamas which had been left on the ground.

Herself wasn't smiling when she found them but it cheered me up no end :)
    I'm glad to hear that it's not just my three dogs (also maltichons) who like a nibble on pyjamas. I knew dogs loved socks but I was shocked when I discovered that mine like to chew my underwear, trousers etc but only after being worn. They weren't interested in clean ones :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dandelion6

Sammy was sleeping on the back of the sofa, next to me, with his paws stretched out in front of him. I reached up and lay two fingers on top of his paws. He startled, opened his eyes and pulled one of his paws back ... and then a few seconds later, he put the paw down on top of my fingers and closed his eyes again and went back to sleep. It was like we were holding hands :) Not bad for a rescue cat who was so shy he wouldn't sit on my lap for months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

Woke at 6am this morning . went downstairs making coffee .. could feel eyes boring into my back ..was my little kitten on top of the kitchen presses staring wide eyed at me . only 3 months old dunno how she even got up there . just love her x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭forgodssake

and to top it off . my big huge tom cat who is my most beloved pet ever started licking her all over when I got her down and placed her beside him. bearing in mind he's had our attention for three years to himself .can't beat nature