Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What is the most politically correct thing you have heard?

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Crocodile Monster !

I was talking to a friend of a friend today and she said history should be re-named "theirstory" because history is a sexist word. I thought I was getting trolled. Turned out she was dead serious.

Tell her that I've thought my snake to say herrrrrrrr now instead of hissss.

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Crocodile Monster !

Anything that comes out of Ivana Backick's mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,636 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

7) "Mixed race" is being phased out and the new term being used in many official bodies (e.g. the Police) is "dual heritage".
    Czarcasm wrote: »
    I shook my head in disbelief at a few of those, no, I don't doubt they're true, they're just ridiculous, but number 7, Jesus, while I never liked the term "half cast", a person's heritage is more than just about their race. Mixed race is an accurate description and not in my mind any way offensive. I'd consider it far more offensive, not to mention more long winded and inaccurate to refer to anybody as "dual heritage". What would you call their grandson- "octuplet heritage", seeing as it is also "offensive" to refer to a person's nationality?

Laughable, except it's not actually a laughing matter.

I know this is old and all... but the term race is itself completly redundant. There is only one race of humans and the term "mixed race" makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

from Greek ἱστορία - historia, meaning "inquiry, knowledge acquired by investigation"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    ffs, fair enough they've stopped kids saying "catch a nígger by the toe." 100% agree with that. But the above is just ridiculous.

A politician in New York, I think, was reprimanded (and later exonerated) for using the word "niggardly" by some idiot.

The term "African-American" makes me sick. All the black people I know think it's ridiculous and refer to themselves as black.

Can you imagine some dope in America referring to Pele, or Naomi Campbell or Dwight Yorke or Samantha Mumba or Kemmel Attaturk as "Afro-Americans"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Can you imagine some dope in America referring to Pele, or Naomi Campbell or Dwight Yorke or Samantha Mumba or Kemmel Attaturk as "Afro-Americans"?

Yes. Heard it on an American forum when, in a discussion about whether or not it's ok to call someone black, I was talking about a black friend. "Well, I don't care what your Afro-American friend said..." "He's Dutch-Surinamese. And you are never going to live that one down."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Professor Knowall

When I hear people being referred to as "differently abled" I always imagine that they have wings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    This thread is full of misinformed pricks.
    Nodin wrote: »
    ...myth.
    Cydoniac wrote: »
    Myths.
    nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Lies.

Sorry folks but it is far from a "myth" or "lies".

In 2006 a similar story may well have been exaggerated (where the words of 'Baa Baa Black Sheep' were said to have been changed for "educational purposes") but there was indeed plans to remove the word 'black' on the grounds that it might be offensive to black people six years prior to that, in the year 2000:
    Nursery rhyme ban scrapped

A warning that the nursery rhyme Baa Baa Black Sheep should not be taught in schools because it is "racially offensive" has been scrapped.

The guidelines by education chiefs at Birmingham City Council were dropped after black parents condemned the advice as ridiculous.

The issue was highlighted when a council inspector pointed out the guidelines during a visit to a nursery school.

The guidelines stated: "The term 'black sheep' is considered by many people a very negative statement.

"It is often used to describe someone's negative feelings about a person, eg. 'he's the black sheep of the family'.

"The history behind the rhyme is very negative and also very offensive to black people, due to the fact that the rhyme originates from slavery.

"The rhyme has colonial links: 'Three bags full' refers to the three bags of wool which the slaves were told to collect and 'yes sir, yes sir' is how the slaves would reply to the slave masters when told to do a task.

"For the above reasons it would be advisable to refrain from singing this nursery rhyme."

Parents and teachers called the advice "madness", with one black parent, who would not be named, saying: "It is quite ridiculous. The rhyme is about black sheep not black people. It is not offensive."

'Delighted'

Her views were supported by children's entertainer Lenny Alsop, who said the rhyme was harmless.

"Wherever I go, almost every child knows Baa Baa Black Sheep, which suggests that they are delighted by it," he said.

A Birmingham City Council spokesman said: "The Working Group Against Racism in Children's Resources has for many years produced guidance which is valuable in nurseries, alongside a whole range of guidance from other agencies.

"We have investigated an alleged incident where an inspector referred staff at a nursery facility to the guidance.

"As a result of this one-off incident, we have looked at this guidance again, and have made it clear to the nursery that this advice was inappropriate.

"We will not be allowing the guidance to be handed out in Birmingham nurseries in the future."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

The term "African-American" makes me sick. All the black people I know think it's ridiculous and refer to themselves as black.

Eh no.. because they are not Americans. Duh.

I was in a Dublin playground and I heard a parent refer to another child there [East Asian] as a half caste.

PC did not come to my house, but I was rather alarmed that this term has not left the Dublin lexicon in the year 2013. It was like a flashback to the 1950s or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Ronan Keating and Moya Brennan singing the "Fairytale of New York" and changing...
    "You scumbag, you maggot, you cheap lousy fagggot" to "you scumbag, you maggot, youre cheap and youre haggard".
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=daAG5JfNNFQ

I mean, just WHY???????
    sitstill wrote: »
    Can't beat a decent manhole though in fairness.

Go way ya you're cheap and you're haggard:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭daysleeper

I was in a nightclub in Dublin over the weekend with my friend and when we went to the (ladies) bathroom we discovered there was a man taking a leak in one of the cubicles with the door wide open. I asked my friend why there was a guy in there, wondering if maybe we were in the wrong bathroom and then out of absolutely nowhere this girl about my age, sociology student she told me, starting giving out ****e to me and ranting about the differences between 'gender' and 'sex' and who was I to question where he decides to go to the toilet or what he prefers to identify himself as. I half tried to argue back but she was talking at about 500mph and I was fairly drunk at the time. It was a strange one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Do you feel the same about the terms irish-american/italian-american though? What's the difference? Some people have a preference to be identified, at least in certain contexts, by their heritage rather than their skin colour alone.
    I don't think the argument has ever been that 'black' is an offensive term and that everyone must now use 'african american' instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

I'm sticking up for the lads here, where the fcuk did menopause come from, we really do rule.... But in all fairness it should be called themopause I would have said womenopause but it doesn't sound right. But then again no word sounded right until Men invented thim them:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

Not allowed to call 'rice field' 'paddy field' anymore in case an Irish person is within earshot. It's health and safety gone mad.

Too right. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Deck the halls with boughs of holly,
    Fa la la la la, la la la la.

Tis the season to be jolly,
    Fa la la la la, la la la la.

Don we now our gay fun apparel,
    Fa la la, la la la, la la la.

Yup, Hallmark in their politically correct moment of madness thought that they would change 'gay apparel' to 'fun apparel':
    Hallmark ornament has 'Deck the Halls' -- without the gay apparel

One of Hallmark's ornaments for the holiday season is snowballing into some controversy following the replacement of the word "gay" while quoting "Deck the Halls."

The red "Holiday Sweater" ornament is decorated with the lyric, "Don we now our fun apparel."

The traditional line from the famous Christmas song is "Don we now our gay apparel."

The change caused one Facebook user to comment on Hallmark's official page, "It's OK to be GAY!! Fix your dumb ornament!"

"You can be sure that myself and many others won't be buying your cards anymore," another Facebook user complained.

Hallmark defended the change in lyrics.

"When the lyrics to 'Deck the Halls' were translated from Gaelic and published in English back in the 1800's, the word 'gay' meant festive or merry," according to a statement released Wednesday.

"Today it has multiple meanings, which we thought could leave our intent open to misinterpretation."

The Hallmark statement went on to explain that the ornament was created in the spirit of "fun."

"The trend of wearing festively decorated Christmas sweaters to parties is all about fun, and this ornament is intended to play into that," the statement said.

"So the planning team decided to say what we meant: fun."

It added: "That's the spirit we intended and the spirit in which we hope ornament buyers will take it."

The ornament is for sale on the company's website as part of the Keepsake collection for the price of $12.95.

That was three weeks ago and the following week later they apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

I think it is their 50th anniversary soon but I didn't realise the good old lollipop lady/man was now a a school crossing patrol officer. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I learned in London forum on boards that sambo is a racist term

Well bless my sheltered soul as I was using it for years and never knew there was an issue :/

Must be a British thing, I never read a complaint in an Irish forum or recieved a complaint in an Irish office

RGDATA! wrote: »
    Do you feel the same about the terms irish-american/italian-american though? What's the difference? Some people have a preference to be identified, at least in certain contexts, by their heritage rather than their skin colour alone.
    I don't think the argument has ever been that 'black' is an offensive term and that everyone must now use 'african american' instead.

The term Afro/African American serves to describe someone how they "LOOK", i.e. BLACK

The term Irish-American or Polish-American or Italian-American or any other WHITE volk is tendered purely to refer to perhaps a cultural sect or community spirit.

Would you EVER hear a cop asking you if you could describe the brawl. "Were there African-Americans involved or would they best be describes as "Finno-Prussians" ?

"No, man! I have no idea as to the continental origins of those involved but one was as dark as night and spoke like a man from the Caribbean, another was as white as milk and wore a football shirt, a third had glossy black hair and slanted eyes and the fourth...a vicious female had blue hair. She was covered in tattoos and had a red dot on her forehead."

Can't say for certain if any of these were "XXXX-Americans".

BLACK...BLACK...BLACKEDY,BLACKEDY BLACK!!!

My two nieces are half-caste or mullatto or whatever you want to call them. Little caramel, frizzy-heads.

Are they African-American? NO! They are just brown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭geckotime

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle: Political Correctness gone mad!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

This idiotic thing that has only come around in the last two years or so in print media of referring to all screen/ stage performers as actors, rather than actors and actresses. With the amount of gender neutral names these days, not to mention those of a famous persuasion preferring to name their children after flowers, plants, trees and wild animals these days, the differentiation is more needed than ever!

Another one that gets my goat is the media (or the Gardai releasing information) refusing to identify suspects as being travellers or Roma even if they clearly of that background. There was a warning about ATM scams targeting the elderly last month in North Dublin that point blank refused to mention the appearance/ background of those suspected of taking part.

And lastly, these freaks

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/9028479/Couple-raise-child-as-gender-neutral-to-avoid-stereotyping.html

God help the kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

'Handicapable'. It's the extremely politically correct term for someone with disabilities.

The problem is that after time, any previously used term for someone with disabilities gathers negative connotations and must be altered, usually justifiably so: 'crippled' becomes 'disabled', 'disabled' becomes 'handicapped'. 'Someone with disabilities' is probably personally offensive to someone at this moment in time.

The problem with 'handicapable', which obviously is intended to show that people with disabilities aren't reliant on others, is that it removes the definition - someone who is unable to perform certain tasks due to their condition - of the word itself.

If a word has no true definition then it has no basis for being a word and people with disabilities do not need to be pandered and patronised in such a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭_MadRa_

The only time i want to hear about "Pc Gone Mad" is when they finally decide to make Sean lock's Cop Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,573 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Anything that comes out of Ivana Backick's mouth.

I think you've confused PC with sexist and misandrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭IK09

chughes wrote: »
    Please accept with no obligation, implied or implicit, my best wishes for an environmentally conscious, socially responsible, low stress,non-addictive,gender-neutral celebration of the winter solstice holiday, practiced within the most enjoyable traditions of the religious persuasion of your choice, or secular practices of your choice, with respect for the religious/secular traditions of others, or their choice not to practice religious/secular traditions at all.

As well, please enjoy a fiscally successful, personally fulfilling and medically uncomplicated recognition of the onset of the generally accepted calendar year 2013, but not without due respect for the calendars of choice of other cultures whose contributions to society have helped make the World a Better Place and without regard to the race, creed , colour,age, physical ability, religious faith, choice of computer platform, or sexual preference of the wishee.

By accepting this greeting, you are accepting the following terms:
    * This greeting is subject to clarification or withdrawal. It is freely transferable with no alteration to the original greeting.
    * It implies no promise by the wisher to actually implement any of the wishes for her/himself or others, and it is void where prohibited by law, and is revocable at the sole discretion of the wisher.
    * This wish is warranted to perform as expected within the usual application of good tidings for a period of one year, or until the issuance of a subsequent holiday greeting, whichever comes first, and warranty is limited to replacement of this wish or issuance of a new wish at the sole discretion of the wisher.

Christmas cards sorted for this year. I hate when the missus passes me a card and says, "Dont be a d*ck, write something nice". This is perfect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭Davelarson

This idiotic thing that has only come around in the last two years or so in print media of referring to all screen/ stage performers as actors, rather than actors and actresses. With the amount of gender neutral names these days, not to mention those of a famous persuasion preferring to name their children after flowers, plants, trees and wild animals these days, the differentiation is more needed than ever!

Another one that gets my goat is the media (or the Gardai releasing information) refusing to identify suspects as being travellers or Roma even if they clearly of that background. There was a warning about ATM scams targeting the elderly last month in North Dublin that point blank refused to mention the appearance/ background of those suspected of taking part.

And lastly, these freaks

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/9028479/Couple-raise-child-as-gender-neutral-to-avoid-stereotyping.html

God help the kid.

That poor kid. A long life of bullying ahead of him because his retarded parents are raising him in some kind of social experiment. Their going to get one hell of a land when he hits puberty and starts to rebel against their gender politics.

Actually isn't there a school in Sweden where they invented gender neutral pronouns that have to be used to teach/brainwash the kids?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 213 ✭✭Davelarson

Actually now that I think of it, I met an American guy recently who was telling me of his experiences of living and teaching in Sweden. He hated the place for various reasons but one of the main things that annoyed was the mad feminism they have there.

In one school where he was subbing, two 15 year old girls performed a play which was basically them screaming about rape for the best part of an hour.

At another school, some feminist 'performance artist' had a show on in the town hall. It was mandatory for the school teachers to attend. The piece she was performing translated as 'Bitter Pussy' and consisted of her screaming about rape and men for over an hour. Afterwards there was a 'discussion' where women were encouraged unleash their hatred of men and set up 'bitter pussy clubs'. The American guy said he felt like a Jew in the middle of the Nuremberg Rallies.

Sweden, what a fucked up place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Davelarson wrote: »
    That poor kid. A long life of bullying ahead of him because his retarded parents are raising him in some kind of social experiment. Their going to get one hell of a land when he hits puberty and starts to rebel against their gender politics.

He will either rebel and maybe independently gain some semblance of normality in his life after breaking ties with his parents, or stay the course and end up like the Jedward lads. Still though, you would imagine being raised in such a social environment would be nearly incurable if he does not get help soon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Davelarson wrote: »
    Actually now that I think of it, I met an American guy recently who was telling me of his experiences of living and teaching in Sweden. He hated the place for various reasons but one of the main things that annoyed was the mad feminism they have there.

In one school where he was subbing, two 15 year old girls performed a play which was basically them screaming about rape for the best part of an hour.

At another school, some feminist 'performance artist' had a show on in the town hall. It was mandatory for the school teachers to attend. The piece she was performing translated as 'Bitter Pussy' and consisted of her screaming about rape and men for over an hour. Afterwards there was a 'discussion' where women were encouraged unleash their hatred of men and set up 'bitter pussy clubs'. The American guy said he felt like a Jew in the middle of the Nuremberg Rallies.

Sweden, what a fucked up place.

Seriously? You're denigrating an entire people and a nation because of a couple of experimental performance pieces? Is that the best you can do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

He will either rebel and maybe independently gain some semblance of normality in his life after breaking ties with his parents, or stay the course and end up like the Jedward lads. Still though, you would imagine being raised in such a social environment would be nearly incurable if he does not get help soon.

Besides being so called celebrities, what's not "normal" about those two? :confused: