Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭rocky

ba_barabus wrote: »
    They have a lovely 116d in a nice blue colour with an m sport pack........and a 41k price tag. Scary price tbh for a 1 series.

I saw a 114d in the work carpark today...

wiki says 95 PS (70 kW; 94 hp) @4000 235 N·m (173 lb·ft) @1500–;2750

max torque is even narrower for the 116d, 260 N·m (192 lb·ft) @1750–;2500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

No driving for me for a few days, I was at a cable park in paris yesterday, board went out from under me on a box slider, met it with my right shoulder.....its proper fooked :rolleyes:

So Ye are my entertainment for the next couple of days, till I can get back on the water:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I know I promised car pics from paris. I did say at the time it was my girlfriend that was using the camera phone.

Came back from paris and we broke up a few days later. ... feeling pretty ****ty.... but here's a few pics from my phone off the modern stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

What's the red one?

Looks like a Carmen Ghia but front grills are wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Thinking of selling the old E39 520i. Huge price variations in the ads I've seen. 03 with FSH, leather, MFSW with an NCT until 04/14. Whats a realistic price :D Identical to this one

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-manual/4679214

2k?

MugMugs wrote: »
    What's the red one?

Looks like a Carmen Ghia but front grills are wrong.

Porche

rocky wrote: »
    2k?

:( Hmm....guess the market isn't there for them at the mo but would hope for a bit more than that

Last ones

furtzy wrote: »
    :( Hmm....guess the market isn't there for them at the mo but would hope for a bit more than that

well the dealer asking 5k for one is in dream land, you can get E60s for less than that with more spec and better engines.

rocky wrote: »
    well the dealer asking 5k for one is in dream land, you can get E60s for less than that with more spec and better engines.

Certainly is. Might offer him mine for half that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Just renewed my car insurance, almost half of what I paid last year. In fairness, in the interim I got my full license but still I was quite happy.
    Let's see how that changes when I replace the 1.4L with a 2.2L. :D

Also, dropped from fully comp to TPFT so that accounts for some of it. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

fecker ^^ i've been shopping for renewal quotes and i can't get within €250 of last years price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

fecker ^^ i've been shopping for renewal quotes and i can't get within €250 of last years price.

Who did you call? I got mine 130€ cheaper than last year with the same level of cover with Axa. Call your local branch and negotiate. No one with comparable cover came close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I know I promised car pics from paris. I did say at the time it was my girlfriend that was using the camera phone.

Came back from paris and we broke up a few days later. ... feeling pretty ****ty.... but here's a few pics from my phone off the modern stuff.

Dude that's f*cked up, the exact same thing happened to a close friend of mine went to Paris with the other half and when they got back left him :( a lousy thing to do :mad:

Chin up man, things will get better :)

dgt wrote: »
    Dude that's f*cked up, the exact same thing happened to a close friend of mine went to Paris with the other half and when they got back left him :( a lousy thing to do :mad:

Chin up man, things will get better :)
    I've avoided the problem by refusing to take the OH to Paris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I've avoided the problem by refusing to take the OH to Paris
    Me too, but then again I don't have a passport, or that other bit

I've had two free trips to Paris and it just wasn't possible for the OH to come. Then again I don't think she would have liked me ranting about how good French cars look in their home country and insisting on windows licking every car boutique in the city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Did you call up? The quotes I got online and by email were significantly higher than when I called up. Even then, don't accept the first one they throw at you. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

M3 lip spoiler painted and on its way to me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Glad I didn't read that before I went to Paris, I'd have been bricking it.

Sorry to hear that, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Sweet motor of god! Wide arch kit on a wide arch car.... It's certainly modified alright :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Just finished my first day at work, very long day, started at 5am!

I've been there, man. It gets easier. :)
    What you working at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

CianRyan wrote: »
    I've been there, man. It gets easier. :)
    What you working at?

Doing deliveries for HB ice cream. It's probably the best job I've had, all the lads are great craic and has the benefits of free coffee, bread and of course Ice Cream!

Sounds awesome, man.
    Next meet is an ice cream meet. :D