Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you consider voting a Majority Fianna fail for the next government?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

i'll be voting FF for sure.
    I like the cut of micky martin's gib.

there are elements of FF I don't like - the gombeen men , it's looks like martin is weeding them out.

But each party has their bogey men in the background.

labour with it's bacik's who hate everything an unelected fool who still wields influence , FG with it's lowry and others (he is still there...don't believe the hype), Shinners have their "community activists" ;) etc... etc...

one thing I am uncomfortable with the whole party system is that every single one of them has a top table who define policy and hold an awful lot of power. A lot of them are unknown to the masses and never run for public election and for sure will end up on a state board.

they all ****e - just mickey martin is more genuine than the rest.

Better the devil you know than the devil you don't eh?

Typical Fianna Failure bullsh*t. Tell me, how is Mee hole Martin more genuine than the rest? Considering he was a minister for the last twenty years when FF ran the country into the ground and there was not a peep out of him, now that he is in opposition you hear him with constantly with his hypocritical drivel.

I hope you don't vote, because it is thick, gullible gombeen paddys like you that are the ruination of our country.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

OCorcrainn wrote: »

Typical Fianna Failure bullsh*t. Tell me, how is Mee hole Martin more genuine than the rest? Considering he was a minister for the last twenty years when FF ran the country into the ground and there was not a peep out of him, now that he is in opposition you hear him with cosntantly with his hypocritical drivel.

I hope you don't vote, because it is thick, gullible gombeen paddys like you that are the ruination of our country.

No time for Fianna Fail myself but why did Enda and Co, while in opposition, allow FF to ruin the country?
    I don't recall them causing any fuss.
    Almost as guilty in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

No time for Fianna Fail myself but why did Enda and Co, while in opposition, allow FF to ruin the country?

Small book.

Sergeant wrote: »
    Small book.

True story though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

No.this sh*t runs deep.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

What could anyone have done with the gob****es in charge, they even had a lot of the media in their pocket, esp the largest seller the Sindo.
    The Sunday Independent did a lot more damage in allowing , even promoting it than any opposition could ever do.

galwayrush wrote: »
    What could anyone have done with the gob****es in charge, they even had a lot of the media in their pocket, esp the largest seller the Sindo.
    The Sunday Independent did a lot more damage in allowing , even promoting it than any opposition could ever do.

Did they even try to highlight it though?

On budget day they were vocal in actually saying there wasn't enough given away.
    I think they only saw the damage when the Troiks got involved otherwise why wouldn't they highlight it?

Ha ha Bertie's former Special Adviser on the Vincent Browne Show now.
    Ready, aim, fire. Bang ya Fceker.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Sweet Jesus, even the though of it makes me worse off.....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Funniest post yet.

It wasn't their fault at all. It was the oppositions fault for letting them get away with it :pac::pac:

Phoebas wrote: »
    Funniest post yet.

It wasn't their fault at all. It was the oppositions fault for letting them get away with it :pac::pac:

Good attempt to deflect BUT that is what an opposition (an effective one anyway) is supposed to do otherwise what is their function?
    Now remind me of when they told us what was happening or maybe just admit that they didn't as they didn't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

OCorcrainn wrote: »

Typical Fianna Failure bullsh*t. Tell me, how is Mee hole Martin more genuine than the rest? Considering he was a minister for the last twenty years when FF ran the country into the ground and there was not a peep out of him, now that he is in opposition you hear him with cosntantly with his hypocritical drivel.

Ask about the Money resting in his wife's account Never forget never.

Good attempt to deflect BUT that is what an opposition (an effective one anyway) is supposed to do otherwise what is their function?
    Now remind me of when they told us what was happening or maybe just admit that they didn't as they didn't know.
    My house was burgled last year. I blame the cops for not preventing it!!!
    (No doubt you blame FG for closing rural Garda stations):D.

Very poor Phoebas.
    You obviously have no answer.
    I am right so.
    The Trappist Monk party kept the silence :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

This isn't the logic he is using, tbf.

He seems to acknowledge that Fianna Fáil were at fault.

He also believes that Fine Gael neglected their duties as the strongest opposition party.

It's not mutually exclusive.

I'm not saying I agree with him, but at least argue against the point being made.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,261 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Very poor Phoebas.
    I am right so.
    The Trappist Monk party kept the silence :pac::pac:

I believe they said a lot in contrast to Fianna Fail in the run up to the 2007 general election, alas, it fell on deaf ears.

There's not really a great deal you can do when the oppositon when the main party is basically force-feeding the population soma and hiding any attempt at spotlighting the short-sightedness of the policies.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Very poor Phoebas.
    An answer to your contention that the opposition in the last Dail were almost as guilty as FF?
    Its nonsense.

Funny, I don't see you holding the current opposition to the same high standard.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    There's not really a great deal you can do when the oppositon when the main party is basically force-feeding the population soma and hiding any attempt at spotlighting the short-sightedness of the policies.

Anyone who says we could never have known the boom wouldn;t go on is dilusional.

It is not the party in Govt who is responsible for what the opposition do.:D
    Why didn't FG highlight the "forcefeeding and spotlight the short-sightedness of the Govt policies"?
    You can't blame FF for not highlighting their own mistakes now, can you?
    Why didn't Fine Gael highlight F.F. mistakes?

An answer to your contention that the opposition in the last Dail were almost as guilty as FF?
    Its nonsense.

Funny, I don't see you holding the current opposition to the same high standard.

I am constantly slating the present opposition.
    Now answer the question please? What did F.G. highlight about the supposed boom?

I am constantly slating the present opposition.
    Now answer the question please? What did F.G. highlight about the supposed boom?
    I didn't make any contention about what FG did or didn't do at all. You are making the ridiculous assertion that they are almost equally to blame for the actions of the last government as that government were themselves.

That is laughable.

Your attempt to take this thread (about FF) off topic is pretty transparent.

I didn't make any contention about what FG did or didn't do at all. You are making the ridiculous assertion that they are almost equally to blame for the actions of the last government as that government were themselves.

That is laughable.

Your attempt to take this thread (about FF) off topic is pretty transparent.

You tried to make a laugh out of my post though but when I turned the tables you ran scared. :D

Do you think your party was good in opposition?
    Do you think they could have done a lot better in informing the population of the mistakes F.F. were guilty of?
    Were they even aware of those mistakes?
    Would they have made the same mistakes themselves if they had been in power?

In my opinion FF should be confined to history for what they did but FG are not far behind for not noticing or failing to highlight if they did notice. We really have very poor politicians in Ireland and they are of every hue and colour despite what some people think. Remember Enda Kenny went on tv and told us it was not our fault before flying off to Davos and telling everyone there that the Irish went mad. Maybe he didn't know what was going on himself and that would confirm my thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,261 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It is not the party in Govt who is responsible for what the opposition do.:D
    Why didn't FG highlight the "forcefeeding and spotlight the short-sightedness of the Govt policies"?
    You can't blame FF for not highlighting their own mistakes now, can you?
    Why didn't Fine Gael highlight F.F. mistakes?

So... it's okay to do it as long as the opposition party says nothing, in which case, you're blame-free?

Personally, I didn;t need FG to do - I saw it for myself. Any sane person should have.

I do remember FF putting forward policies for a redistribution of state funding away from tax-breaks and into gardai, health and education.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

sxt wrote: »
    Would you vote for a majority Fianna fail to be in Government in the next election ?

Ah, FF. Brings back fond memories. Like the time that they sent the two muppets outside the gates of LH to tell us all that We are not having a bailout, and the troika were sneaking in to the big house, behind their backs. So I'm out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

I always had my suspicions, which were realized when I heard both the FF and FG leaders get to-gether to collaborate on Nob Nation.:pac::pac::pac:

You tried to make a laugh out of my post though but when I turned the tables you ran scared. :D

Do you think your party was good in opposition?
    Do you think they could have done a lot better in informing the population of the mistakes F.F. were guilty of?
    Were they even aware of those mistakes?
    Would they have made the same mistakes themselves if they had been in power?

In my opinion FF should be confined to history for what they did but FG are not far behind for not noticing or failing to highlight if they did notice. We really have very poor politicians in Ireland and they are of every hue and colour despite what some people think. Remember Enda Kenny went on tv and told us it was not our fault before flying off to Davos and telling everyone there that the Irish went mad. Maybe he didn't know what was going on himself and that would confirm my thinking.
    You'll get no argument from anyone but that the previous opposition did a poor job - which is why you are attempting to build a straw man from it.

Your assertion that they are almost as guilty as the previous government remains ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

If I had a choice between not voting and voting for Fianna Fail, I'd spoil my vote.

Take it out for dinner, maybe go to a gig and then see where the night takes us.

You'll get no argument from anyone but that the previous opposition did a poor job - which is why you are attempting to build a straw man from it.

Your assertion that they are almost as guilty as the previous government remains ridiculous.

We are constantly being told on various threads how good FG are.
    Sergeant for one regularly tells us how brainy they are i.e. Alan Shatter.
    Yet when in opposition they were like Trappist monks. Not a peep.
    Did they only become brainy when they took power or is it all bluff?
    Am I right to think that the politicians of all parties are indeed poor and that people are trying their best, like Sergeant, to paper over the cracks by championing his own party? The truth, as I see it, is that they were just as ignorant of how the country should have been governed as FF were and therefore just as guilty as they were silent while in opposition.

Are we now taking action on our our debts purely because the Troika are demanding it as I suspect?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Definately not op! Only in coalition with Sinn fein, the socialists and Declan ganley and I would only allow them control finance and health

• Registered Users Posts: 16,156 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    ...and I would only allow them control finance and health

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Definately not op! Only in coalition with Sinn fein, the socialists and Declan ganley and I would only allow them control finance and health
    Since when are Sinn Fein considered left? they were always far right and always will be. Sinn Fein in coalition government is a receipe for disaster.