Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Man Wounded by Israeli Soldier. (rubber bullet)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

Siuin wrote: »
    It's hardly speculation- this happens all the time. His background in pro-Palestinian organisations is more than enough to prove his agenda. He wouldn't have gone out with a camera if he didn't think they were capable of riling up the soldiers and causing havoc.

I'm sorry but having a supposed agenda isn't evidence enough to speculate on what exactly the cameraman was doing the very moment he was shot - let alone legitimise it as anything other than an inherent occupational hazard in filming protests.

Until we can find footage of him actually participating in the riot itself, he'll continue to be considered just a passive (but admittedly biased) observer - not some idiot who deserves to be shot for simply holding a different political opinion.
    Don't expect him to be in Burma or Afghanistan anytime soon- he'd be scared sh!tless. As a previous poster already stated- they know they'll have an easy time in Israel- more like a holiday than a humanitarian endeavour

The moment any of these Nation's profess to be Democratic and advanced Western Societies, I would presume that whatever group this reporter was a member of will continue to focus on strong and evolved State's like Israel, which are perfectly capable of making progressive changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Not only has the mask slipped, it seems to have fallen off entirely....
    Believe it or not, the soldiers are humans too..........

Yes, the poor misunderstood IDF, who bravely help colonists seize land from Palestinians and subjugate the population. Yes, they're human too. Humans who do bad things for the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

I'm sorry but having a supposed agenda isn't evidence enough to speculate on what exactly the cameraman was doing the very moment he was shot - let alone legitimise it as anything other than an inherent occupational hazard in filming protests.

Until we can find footage of him actually participating in the riot itself, he'll continue to be considered just a passive (but admittedly biased) observer - not some idiot who deserves to be shot for simply holding a different political opinion.
    He wasn't shot for holding an opposing view, he was shot for partaking in a violent riot. If you honest believe that a guy with his background was there as some kind of innocent journalist, I feel sorry for you.
    The moment any of these Nation's profess to be Democratic and advanced Western Societies, I would presume that whatever group this reporter was a member of will continue to focus on strong and evolved State's like Israel, which are perfectly capable of making progressive changes.
    Surely it's the undemocratic and underadvanced countries which need 'humanitarian' work the most? Fact is, the likes of this Galway idiot are too scared to actually put themselves on the frontline- they'd rather pose for the camera, wave about their little flags, wear a cute keffiyeh and then feck off to the beach for the rest of the day.

Denzel Washington deserves my attention much more than running in circles with people who are hopelessly naive. Ta-ta!

He wasn't shot for holding an opposing view, he was shot for partaking in a violent riot.

O - you've proof he acted violently?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

He wasn't shot for holding an opposing view, he was shot for partaking in a violent riot. If you honest believe that a guy with his background was there as some kind of innocent journalist, I feel sorry for you.

He partook in the riot? Never said it in the article, but still.

I assume partaking in a riot can span anywhere between simply documenting the event and actively taking part in the stone throwing.

Nobody knows exactly what he was doing from that sixteen line article, but either way he's a bumbling moron worthy of being shot with a rubber bullet!
    Surely it's the undemocratic and underadvanced countries which need 'humanitarian' work the most? Fact is, the likes of this Galway idiot are too scared to actually put themselves on the frontline- they'd rather pose for the camera, wave about their little flags, wear a cute keffiyeh and then feck off to the beach for the rest of the day.

How do you imagine humanitarian work in Israel or Palestine would differ from the work conducted in the likes of Afghanistan?

You realise that there's a large gulf between the work to establish basic infrastructure and Governance in Afghanistan, and the work which takes place in Israel to promote Human Rights in what is for all intents and purposes a modern and developed, Democratic State.
    Denzel Washington deserves my attention much more than running in circles with people who are hopelessly naive. Ta-ta!

You never did clarify whether you would want someone documenting the plight of Israeli settlers to receive a similar fate as our our own Galway idiot.

they all happen to be involving themselves in a situation that has little to do with them, it just depends on what side of picket line they happen to find themselves on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

shedweller wrote: »
    More ILLEGAL settlements. But it's ok isn't it?

Anyone who clings to the idea that a Palestinian homeland in the West Bank is possible these days is incredibly naive optimistic. The Israeli state pays lip service to a Palestinian state but ultimately it's stuffing its face with the cake it pretends it wants to share.

I don't believe for one second Israeli planners have any intention of ceding control of the WB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Anyone who clings to the idea that a Palestinian homeland in the West Bank is possible these days is incredibly naive optimistic. The Israeli state pays lip service to a Palestinian state but ultimately it's stuffing its face with the cake it pretends it wants to share.

I don't believe for one second Israeli planners have any intention of ceding control of the WB.
    Neither do i.
    They have made their agenda quite clear and popular opinion has it that they are right to cause genocide because "they are firing fockets at us"
    Of course they are firing rockets at you! You invaded their land and shoved them out of their homes because some bullsh1t book written years ago said you would be granted this land!
    I posted a video here a few months ago. "The great book theft" or something like that. Some of you need to look at it and think again about your stance on israel.
    AH is well known (and rightly so) for its stance on religion. ie: that it is nonsense and causes more trouble than its worth.

So why the double standards when it comes to israel?

Well?

Answers on a postcard please.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Generally people protest against one issue at a time... :rolleyes: I was protesting against the illegal occupation of land and the constant harassment of a small village of Palestinian people (muslim or otherwise) by the IDF.

I don't know about your "One Man-One Protest" assertion Pinkheels.

Tag along to any current auntie "Austerity" protest back home and you'll find yourself fighting for lens space for your placard with literally dozens of other folks who see their cause as the predominant one.

Indeed,it would be rare to find ANY Irish mainstream protest which will not have a Palestinian angle attached to some part of it,along with whatever issue of the day occupies the Socialist Workers Party.

My point is,that once you embrace Protesting as an art-form,you constantly need to reinvent yourself in whatever mode fits the days protesty issue.

I haven't as yet delved into it,but I'm confident that somewhere we shall find a link between Shell to Sea and Gaza,which will neatly dovetail with our Journalist's travel patterns.

I think Wayne Molloy's question remains one which many Pro-Palestinian activists skirt around...
    The game is up for the Palestinians. They lost. Time to move.
    Maybe their arab brothers and sisters will welcome them into their countries.

It appears to me,that for as long as the Palestinan issue has been seen as part of the "Western World's burden" the greater Middle-Eastern World has been content to leave us to it.

The Palestinians won't be the first grouping to learn that they themselves have a bit of internal work to do before the outside world rides in to save the day.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,178 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What was an Israeli soldier doing in Galway?

This serious enough for ya

The following information has been extracted from the Sutton 'Index of Deaths'. The list contains brief details of the 17 people who have been killing in Northern Ireland by members of the security forces who were using rubber or plastic bullets (also referred to as 'baton rounds'). The list is in chronological order. Eight of the 17 killed were children. All but one of those killed were Catholics.

Rowntree, Francis 22 April 1972 (11) Catholic
    Shot by rubber bullet, Divis Flats, Belfast.
    Molloy, Tobias 16 July 1972 (18) Catholic
    Status: Irish Republican Army Youth Section (IRAF), Killed by: British Army (BA)
    Shot by rubber bullet during street disturbances, outside Lifford Road British Army (BA) base, Strabane, County Tyrone.
    Friel, Thomas 22 May 1973 (21) Catholic
    Died five days after being hit by rubber bullet during street disturbances, Creggan Heights, Creggan, Derry.
    Geddis, Stephen 30 August 1975 (10) Catholic
    Died two days after being hit by plastic bullet, Divis Flats, Belfast.
    Stewart, Brian 10 October 1976 (13) Catholic
    Died six days after being hit by plastic bullet near his home, Norglen Road, Turf Lodge, Belfast.
    Donnelly, Michael 09 August 1980 (21) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet at the junction of Leeson Street and Falls Road, Belfast.
    Whitters, Paul 25 April 1981 (15) Catholic
    Status: Civilian (Civ), Killed by: Royal Ulster Constabulary (RUC)
    Died 10 days after being shot by plastic bullet, Great James Street, Derry.
    Livingstone, Julie 13 May 1981 (14) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet while walking along Stewartstown Road, Suffolk, Belfast.
    Duffy, Henry 22 May 1981 (45) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet while walking along street, Bogside, Derry.
    Kelly, Carol Anne 22 May 1981 (12) Catholic
    Died three days after being shot by plastic bullet while walking along Cherry Park, Twinbrook, Belfast.
    McCabe, Nora 09 July 1981 (30) Catholic
    Died one day after being shot by plastic bullet, Linden Street, Lower Falls, Belfast.
    Doherty, Peter 31 July 1981 (36) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet at his home, Divis Flats, Belfast.
    McGuinness, Peter 09 August 1981 (41) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet outside his home, Shore Road, Greencastle, Belfast.
    McConomy, Stephen 19 April 1982 (11) Catholic
    Died three days after being shot by plastic bullet, Fahan Street, Bogside, Derry.
    Downes, Sean 12 August 1984 (22) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet, during anti-internment march, Andersonstown Road, Belfast.
    White, Keith 14 April 1986 (20) Protestant
    Died 15 days after being shot by plastic bullet, during street disturbances, Woodhouse Street, Portadown, County Armagh.
    Duffy, Seamus 09 August 1989 (15) Catholic
    Shot by plastic bullet while walking along Dawson Street, New Lodge, Belfast.

Might I add rubber and plastic bullets were designed to be fire At ground to bounce off And hit the person and basically wind them or give a dead leg
    Fired directly at person can result in internal bleeding , punctured lung brain damage if hit in head and cardiac arrest

How many of those riots involved people throwing petrol bombs ? I would rather shoot someone with a rubber bullet than burn to death tbh.

And kids shouldn`t be at riots, unfortunately for them their parents weren`t any good.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Also known as a Publicity Stunt Ship.

Pity they haven't realised that Syria has a coast too. But heaven forbid anyone put themselves in actual danger!

Yes the huge threat of supplying food and medicines must have been pretty scary for those brave soldiers.
    No wonder they shot them.

How many of those riots involved people throwing petrol bombs ? I would rather shoot someone with a rubber bullet than burn to death tbh.

And kids shouldn`t be at riots, unfortunately for them their parents weren`t any good.

The circumstances of the deaths are well known. Rather than insult people with your ignorance of the matter, a bit of investigation on your part would be more appropriate.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Principal Skinner

Yes the huge threat of supplying food and medicines must have been pretty scary for those brave soldiers.
    No wonder they shot them.

They were caught on video attacking them with sticks and knives......

The only reason these do-gooders go to Israeli controlled places is because they know the Israelis won't purposefly harm them unless provoked. Why don't these people ever go to Syria or Iran or North Korea?

O Noes!"!!!!! Not "do-gooders".........

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Have you a link to that video? Have not heard about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Nodin wrote: »

Yes, the poor misunderstood IDF, who bravely help colonists seize land from Palestinians and subjugate the population. Yes, they're human too. Humans who do bad things for the state.

Noddy all soldiers do bad things for their state, sometimes soldiering is sh*t and requires the individual to do bad things, that does not necessarily mean illegal things either.

But why not lend a little balance to this too, the IDF has also treated Irish soldiers in wounded in combat in Lebanon in Rambam hospital in Israel.

After the Turkish and Haiti earth quakes Israel were the first to put field hospitals on the ground.

And they're (IDF and the Israeli tax payer) are also treating wounded refugee's crossing the border at the Golan in Israeli hospitals.

Boards.ie crusty's make me laugh, mention anything Palestine or Israel and we'll get into pages upon pages of debate but mention a real war somewhere, or real injustice somewhere and where are they?..

Search for a thread on Syria in the last month and I dare say your search will be sparse with information.. Try injustice to the Palestinians by Hamas and I bet you won't find a thing in the last six months, try injustice to the Palestinians in Lebanon, Kuwait, Saudi, Egypt, Jordan (black September), Syria etc etc and you won't find diddly squat.

But a wanker from Galway who decides its a good idea to riot in the WB and gets a bruise for his troubles gets a thread that doesn't leave the front page of AH for a week, makes me laugh. It really does.

Most of you people don't give a toss for justice for anyone tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Airitech

Have you a link to that video? Have not heard about it.

This is from the Israeli foreign ministry, the video is halfway down the page. Skip to about 3.30 on the video, the first few minutes is just Israels spin on the background to what happened.

http://www.mfa.gov.il/MFA/Government/Communiques/2010/Israel_Navy_warns_flotilla_31-May-2010.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Noddy all soldiers do bad things for their State,sometimes soldiering is sh*t and requires the individual to do bad things, that does not necessarily mean illegal things either.

But why not lend a little balance to this too, the IDF has also treated Irish soldiers in wounded in combat in Lebanon in Rambam hospital in Israel.

After the Turkish and Haiti earth quakes Israel were the first to put field hospitals on the ground.

And they're (IDF and the Israeli tax payer) are also treating wounded refugee's crossing the border at the Golan in Israeli hospitals.

Boards.ie crusty's make me laugh, mention anything Palestine or Israel and we'll get into pages upon pages of debate but mention a real war somewhere, or real injustice somewhere and where are they?..

Indeed Evangeline Flat Moped,but the poster obviously has had far more interaction with every one of the 621,500 strong Regular/Reserve IDF members,so he just KNOWS they're all evil !

And whats all this stuff about Israeli Taxpayers......?

But hey !..at least they get a list of what their taxes are spent on.....

http://cdn.www.inss.org.il.reblazecdn.net/upload/%28FILE%291336472780.pdf

Converting a Boeing 707 :eek: to a tanker in the 21st Century,this will definitely show they know their onions in Jaffa :p

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Indeed ...........ffa

O - look who it is. Do please quote where I referred to anyone as evil.

This contains what the IDF does, aids and abets.

http://www.btselem.org/list_of_topics

O - look who it is. Do please quote where I referred to anyone as evil.

This contains what the IDF does, aids and abets.

http://www.btselem.org/list_of_topics

The IDF isn't doing, aiding or abetting this:

Violations by Palestinians
    Severe human rights violations in intra-Palestinian clashes
    Attacks on Israeli civilians by Palestinians
    Harm to Palestinians suspected of collaborating with Israel
    Death penalty in the Palestinian Authority and under Hamas in Gaza

There aren't too many protests or westerners seeking to document these abuses.

Double post

Airitech wrote: »
    The IDF isn't doing, aiding or abetting this:

A comedian. Excellent.

The Palestinians are being occupied by the Israelis, their lands seized and colonised. Therefore the Israelis are the aggressor. Its fairly clear over the years that its not the Palestinians who are the military power in the conflict.

A comedian. Excellent.

The Palestinians are being occupied by the Israelis, their lands seized and colonised. Therefore the Israelis are the aggressor. Its fairly clear over the years that its not the Palestinians who are the military power in the conflict.

And that absolves them of any responsibility for human rights abuses and war crimes, especially considering much of those offences are committed against their own people?

Before you question why I said war crimes this is from the site you linked:

Rocket and mortar fire as a war crime

Palestinian organizations that fire rockets and mortar shells into Israel openly declare that they intend to strike Israeli civilians, among other targets. Aiming attacks at civilians is both immoral and illegal, and the intentional killing of civilians is defined a grave breach of the Fourth Geneva Convention and a war crime that cannot be justified, under any circumstance. Furthermore, the rockets and mortar shells are illegal weapons, even when aimed at military objects, as they are greatly imprecise and endanger civilians present both in the area from which they are fired and where they land, thus violating two fundamental principles of the laws of war: distinction and proportionality.

More here: http://www.btselem.org/israeli_civilians/qassam_missiles

And that absolves them of any responsibility for human rights abuses and war crimes, especially considering much of those offences are committed against their own people?

No, but as the main abuse is the Israeli occupation its the priority. Much of the rest would cease as a result of a solution to the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Any news report with Palestinian/Israeli in the heading is just meaningless propaganda.

On reading the title I imagined the israeli army invading Galway:D

Noddy all soldiers do bad things for their state, sometimes soldiering is sh*t and requires the individual to do bad things, that does not necessarily mean illegal things either.

Amazing. All this years a Republican and I thought the conflict thing was flowers and hugs.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Any news report with Palestinian/Israeli in the heading is just meaningless propaganda.

On reading the title I imagined the israeli army invading Galway:D

Bit hard to report on it othewise. People will end up thinking its just another weekend in Finglas if ye leave the identifiers out.

No, but as the main abuse is the Israeli occupation its the priority. Much of the rest would cease as a result of a solution to the problem.

I have to agree with Makikomi's post. Some people will overlook the gravest wrongs because they don't suit their agenda.

The blame for everything I listed lays solely with the Palestinians, in particular with Hamas. Is any part of it necessary to free Palestine? Has any of it done anything to improve the situation of the Palestinian people? No, it hasn't.

I have to agree with Makikomi's post. Some people will overlook the gravest wrongs because they don't suit their agenda.

The blame for everything I listed lays solely with the Palestinians, in particular with Hamas. Is any part of it necessary to free Palestine? Has any of it done anything to improve the situation of the Palestinian people? No, it hasn't.

That's your opinion. Hamas, despite the state they're in, point to the fact that they are (a) no longer occupied and (b) no longer being colonised. It makes rather a stark contrast to Arab East Jerusalem and the West Bank etc.

I never understood the notion that there should be "balance". One side is colonising the other, colonialism=evil and that's that, really. I don't give a shite whether its indonesians or Israelis doing it.