If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What the Loungers did Next... [off topic chat]

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

The new G.P. is quite nice :) She's very understanding and seems to be willing to let me lead things, not like my old G.P. who told me that the various recommendations made by the orthopaedic surgeon would cost too much money and therefore he wouldn't refer me - it's my bloody life, let me spend my money fixing myself!! So she's after writing back to the orthopaedic surgeon about the nerve conduction studies for my hands and given me a referral for an MRI on my neck and shoulder. Feel relieved that she is happy to refer me for these things and hopefully they'll sort something out. Unfortunately she said nothing can be done about my legs :( She said there is no medical procedure to drain fluid permanently and all she can recommend is continuing with massage, acupuncture etc. Feel totally crap about that. She's the third medical professional who has told me my legs will be like this forever so I think I just need to accept that my left leg will always be three times the size of my right leg :(

She also put me on low dosage anti-depressants for my anxiety. I don't know how I feel about this to be honest. After all the chat about my physical complaints, she asked me how I was feeling mentally and I just burst into tears (so not me at all). I was telling her about all the totally irrational morbid thoughts I'm having all the time, how nervous I am driving by the scene of the accident (which I have to do everyday, twice a day) and how nervous I am as a passenger and she said that over a year has passed and those thoughts should really have left me at this stage. I was also telling her about how hard it is knowing that I'm 25 now and I'm going to have these problems for the rest of my life. I already feel like the accident has aged me about 40 years. So she prescribed these anti-d's and said that in about 3 weeks I should start to feel different and if not, I've to go back to her.
    I don't know how I feel about these because prior to the accident I never took any tablets for anything. Aside from asthma and eczema, I was as healthy as a horse. I never suffered from period pain or headaches, I was so lucky I never had to take anything. Since the accident I feel like I need a plethora of stuff just to function normally, go to work, drive the bike etc.

So feeling a bit :) and a bit :( and a bit :confused:

And my hands are killing me today so I want to scream my head off!

I was in with the G.P. for an hour :eek: I don't think I spent more than 10 minutes with my previous G.P. and that includes when I was still on crutches and had a horrible
    infected site on my leg from the fracture blisters
    and all the other crap that went along with that period of time. Being in there for an hour is just amazing to me.

Anyways, that was a bit long :P How are we all doing today?

Sounds like a good GP, pb.

Personally, I hated taking antidepressants. But they work for a lot of people. If you're unsure, or they don't work out, give the GP a call again about talking therapies.

I actually need to go back to my therapist soon. I need a strategy to deal with the pit of despair I'm headed towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Pixie, don't feel bad for taking anti-d's. The one I'm on is for anxiety and depression and it's only mighty ;)

Das, as you are with child, you will be seen immediately x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Everyone needs some help sometimes Pixiebean! I've been on medication for years cause I need help at all the times :pac:

Hopefully though my health insurance should come through next week, if not I'll get onto my company about it. Then I can see a doctor and maybe a counselor and see of we can't change that or at least put me on a lower dose and I see how I get on :)

I'm excited for the weekend! Gonna go see Star Trek tomorrow and then out for dinner. And our fancy UPC box was delivered today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

As long as they agree with you and make you feel a bit better, then they're a good thing. Sometimes it can take a while to get the right balance.

I keep looking at holiday planning websites knowing that I can't book anything until around September, and even so then that might be dodge. Himself doesn't have an Irish passport so getting him visas and stuff can take ages, as well as both of our workplaces having embargoes on holidays at certain times of years.

May have to make do with a staycation this year.... perhaps the sunshine will take pity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

Pixie, it can be hard to get your head around taking meds for anxiety/depression. I know that for a long time I thought it was totally fine for other people to take them, but really shameful that I had to. I'm not saying you feel like that, just that it gets better once you accept it! Don't be put off if the first kind you try don't work, or the doc has to play around with dosage to find the right one for you.

As Das said, meds don't work for everyone and talking therapy is an option. Personally, I have found that a combination of the two is the best approach (for me, anyway). Anti-depressants on their own felt like putting a plaster on a wound that needed more treatment to me.

Oh, one last thought: depending on the kind she put you on you might feel nauseous for the first few days. Drink lots of water and try eating a banana. It helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

pixiebean your new GP sounds a lot better than your old one. Really hope you feel better soon x

Lucyfur wrote: »
    Das, as you are with child, you will be seen immediately x

I am normally anyway. Ah the joys of paying privately!

The keeper of the pit of dispair is in flying humour this morning, kicking the crap out of his/her poor mother. "Guess what mama, I've developed bones!" *thump thump thump*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Das Kitty wrote: »
    I am normally anyway. Ah the joys of paying privately!

The keeper of the pit of dispair is in flying humour this morning, kicking the crap out of his/her poor mother. "Guess what mama, I've developed bones!" *thump thump thump*

:(

Hormones are a bitch. Do something for you this weekend x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Pixie, you new gp sounds much better than the old one!

Don't worry about taking the anti Ds, I was on them for a while. They did not agree with me at all but its different for everyone. I know people that react so well to them. It really helps them out!

I hope they go well for you :) x

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

My nose feels swelled up, stuffed up, blocked and
    runny
    at the same time. It's bugging the hell out of me...

Waaah!

I have a pressie for you that'll cheer you up DK :D

I got my navy dress! :D
    The only thing now is what shoes to wear with it ;s
    What shoes would go with it?
    http://www.next.co.uk/g3838s1#138562g38

They didn't have anything else in that shop but most of them except the coat are in dundrum. He said the coat wasn't anywhere. I might just orderi t online and if it doesn't suit I can return it in the shop. Hard to know how heavy it is though. No point buying a too-heavy coat for summer I suppose. but it's pretty :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Ella

bluewolf wrote: »
    It's AWESOME!!!

Ella wrote: »
    It's AWESOME!!!

It completely freaked out my grandparents when it arrived, because the noise thing it can do was going off. They were all OMG A PARCEL ARRIVED AND IT MIGHT EXPLODE
    hahaha

Don't worry it's nothing dodgy :pac:

Lucyfur wrote: »
    :(

Hormones are a bitch. Do something for you this weekend x

I'm grand at the moment. But I know from last time that after the birth is a danger time for me so going to be all proactive and make a plan with my therapist.

Ooh!
    It's AWESOME!!!

OOH!
    It completely freaked out my grandparents when it arrived, because the noise thing it can do was going off. They were all OMG A PARCEL ARRIVED AND IT MIGHT EXPLODE
    hahaha

Not caek then?
    Don't worry it's nothing dodgy :pac:

Aw, man!

Jaypurs

Okay I'll run into ann summers and get you something dodgy too. :cool:
    Nope it's not caek! But I can bring caek. Is there anything in particular turning your stomach/can't eat that might be in cake?

Okay I'll run into ann summers and get you something dodgy too. :cool:
    Nope it's not caek! But I can bring caek. Is there anything in particular turning your stomach/can't eat that might be in cake?

Ha ha. No need. I have quite enough dodgy stuff for the timebeing.

Nothing turning my stomach at the moment, no.

Jaysus, you're fierce good altogether.

I'll bring you home some currywurst. :P

Ha ha. No need. I have quite enough dodgy stuff for the timebeing.

Nothing turning my stomach at the moment, no.

Jaysus, you're fierce good altogether.

I'll bring you home some currywurst. :P

:D:D
    Yay, it's all exciting :cool:
    Great, caek it is!

I want ALL of the shoes.

http://www.next.co.uk/x513340s3#
    http://www.next.co.uk/x514348s3#144366x51

Neither of these would match my dress though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

Interview went well, though it was more of an informal chat. She said she'd contact me early next week and let me know *fingers crossed*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Sounds like a good GP, pb.

Personally, I hated taking antidepressants. But they work for a lot of people. If you're unsure, or they don't work out, give the GP a call again about talking therapies.

I actually need to go back to my therapist soon. I need a strategy to deal with the pit of despair I'm headed towards.

Yeah, she said if I feel they're not making a difference within 3 weeks that I'm to go back to her and talk about changing them, upping the dosage or something else. We use a very good consultant psychiatrist in work for clients so my boss has offered to send me to him if I feel I need it.

Thanks everyone :)

Only 1 week and I am finished college woot woot woot! And then I can blow up my fyp :P

What will I do then :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Only 1 week and I am finished college woot woot woot! And then I can blow up my fyp :P

What will I do then :confused:

I still haven't figured that out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I got my navy dress! :D
    The only thing now is what shoes to wear with it ;s
    What shoes would go with it?
    http://www.next.co.uk/g3838s1#138562g38

How about nude shoes? I wore a navy dress last weekend with nude mary janes from Penneys - very comfy and around €15.

253262.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

I still haven't figured that out.

I never figured it out. I finished my undergrad, went 'what will I do?' and didn't know, so I did a masters. Then did the exact same thing a year later and am now doing a phd. When you figure it out, please tell me, cuz I'm running out of degrees I can do, here.

Dolbert wrote: »
    How about nude shoes? I wore a navy dress last weekend with nude mary janes from Penneys - very comfy and around €15.

The berry ones I posted up there come in nude also, so I have decided on those!
    That looks nice! I might look in penneys also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I also bought my headpiece in Penneys, there were at least five other women with the exact same one at that wedding :D

Hey guys, did you know that ice-cream + flour = delicious bread? 'Cos I sure didn't... one to try when the carb exile is over!

Ice Cream Bread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

The berry ones I posted up there come in nude also, so I have decided on those!
    That looks nice! I might look in penneys also

I really like the berry ones. Unfortunately I've blown through half of my allocated spending amount from my first pay cheque after only a week. So it's either going out once a week or new stuff. I've never been paid monthly before, a day or two of poverty is manageable. I'm not too sure about a week or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Oh my lord I'm exhausted.

Exam was okay...not great, but okay.

Don't think I did well enough to get the exemption though :(

But it's over now, hurrah
    Now to study ca1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭angeldelight

misslt wrote: »
    Oh my lord I'm exhausted.

Exam was okay...not great, but okay.

Don't think I did well enough to get the exemption though :(

But it's over now, hurrah
    Now to study ca1.

It's over that's the main thing, try not to over think it.

Off you go to have a nap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Property. Kill me. Decided I'd just do the tutorial topics...somehow that annoying little man managed to cram the whole course into the tutorials.
    Should have done it last year with de Londras. Damn illness! :(

Criminal is grand! At least it was last year when although it was 3 hours long, we only had to study half the course if we wanted to! Paul Anthony, I love you.

Exam buddies! I'll see you in Simmonscourt :pac:
    Yeah Liam is an a*shat, but everyone I was talking to left out mortgages so it made the workload a lot lighter. Just hope I remember it all now.

Criminal will be handy; they divided the course this year so it's just Paul Anthony's stuff since January. I love that man, he's amazing. Hated TJ though, such an obnoxious man.
    Doc booked for 3.15, i dont wanna go :(

Hope it went okay x

Exam number 2 was better than expected. I completely caved right before it though, and brought an Aero in with me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

Listening to the Spice Girls, feeling really relaxed for the first time in ages!

Dublin tomorrow with the bf. Excited :D