If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just 1 more trying to go sub 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Good work in a difficult week for you. I have that plan for this week so ill be trying to hit 50 for first time ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

RedRunner wrote: »
    Good work in a difficult week for you. I have that plan for this week so ill be trying to hit 50 for first time ever!

Best of luck with it, hope you do better than I did! :)

This week puts everything that happened (and my whinging about it) last week into perspective. My dads sister died this morning very suddenly. Huge shock to us all, but him especially. There was nobody in my parents house when I called in after work, so I'm going out to do my session and clear my head.

8 miles w/ 4 @ HMP.

Sorry to hear the bad news. Hope you have a better end to your week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Sorry to hear the bad news. Hope you have a better end to your week.

The running is great for clearing the head anyway!

Stepback week

So a welcome step back week the past week - and the timing of it couldn't have been better what with attending the funeral / visiting with family etc.

Monday 27/01
    Stiff and sore so foam rolling / icing etc...

Tuesday 28/01
    6.1 miles easy @ 9:27 pace

Wednesday 29/01
    A little bit shorter than the plan called for:
    1.6 warm up
    4 miles HM pace - 7:54,7:43,7:41,7:38
    1.4 cool down

Thursday
    Nothing

Friday 31/01
    4.3 miles easy @ 9:17 pace

Saturday
    Nothing

Sunday 02/02
    14 miles easy @ 9:15 pace
    A little bit quicker than it should have been. Tried to inject a couple of MP miles in towards the end but it wasn't happening.

Monday 03/02
    3 miles recovery @ 10:15 pace

Legs not feeling great today so opted for a recovery run instead of the easy run. Going to get up early in the morning to get the miles in before the next storm rolls in. Getting seriously pissed off with this weather now. :rolleyes:

Tuesday 04/02
    6.8 miles @ 9:15 pace

I'm working from home today and it makes such a difference. The hour I would normally spend in the car driving to Cork was used for running and the hour I'd normally spend driving home is all mine! (Well sort of - my son will surely rob me of that one but it beats being on the motorway).
    Legs were very sluggish initially, after only getting out of bed but they woke up after about a mile and a half to the point where I even managed to throw in a few strides. They really do take the monotony out of easy running all the time.
    Tomorrow's forecast is shocking so the session may be pushed out till Thursday. I'm also driving to Dublin at sparrow fart on Friday morning so I don't really know how I'm going to juggle things this week. A dreadmill may have to become involved at some point. :(

Wednesday 05/02
    5 miles easy @ 9:40 pace
    Nothing to report.

Thursday 06/02
    Have a tough session from Meno's plan to do tonight. 14 miles with 4,3,2,1 at MP. To be honest I don't think I'll have time for 2 miles warm up and 2 miles cool down. At a stretch I'll get 1 mile either side - but that should be enough I hope.

Beef wrote: »
    Thursday 06/02
    Have a tough session from Meno's plan to do tonight. 14 miles with 4,3,2,1 at MP. To be honest I don't think I'll have time for 2 miles warm up and 2 miles cool down. At a stretch I'll get 1 mile either side - but that should be enough I hope.

Well this went very well. I was tired heading out so did the 2 miles warm up after all, before starting in to the MP miles. First 4 were:
    8:32,8:27,8:21,8:23 + 3 minutes* jog
    8:13,8:24,8:32 + 3 minutes* jog
    8:17,8:20 + 3 minutes* jog
    8:17

*In reality I have no idea how long these jogged bits were but they defo weren't too long.

1 mile cool down at 10 mpm pace.

Friday 07/02
    I was in Dublin yesterday and forgot to bring my bloody gear. There was a gym in the hotel that I had planned to do a recovery run on, but it wasn't to be. Guinness instead. :)

Saturday 08/02
    3.5 miles very easy @ 9:45 pace.
    Windy and miserable again this evening but other than that nothing much happening. Legs felt okay.

I have 18 miles to do tomorrow with 2 X 3 at marathon pace. I really don't know how I'll fare out on this one but I'll give it a good shot anyway. Really into the marathon specific phase now it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Thats great running in fairness Beef, especially with the sh1te weather we're having to endure this week. I couldn't manage 4 miles race pace this evening in that bloody wind and rain, gave myself a massive stitch trying to keep the pace up. I've a 13 mile or so run planned for before work this Sun afternoon/evening , once I crawl out of bed. Hopefully the wind will have died down by then for both of us, although the rain is great for keeping the paths clear for us runners :)

Keep it up, looking good.

Mr.W

Cheers Mr. Wiggle - in fairness the weather was grand on Thursday for this. The long run today will tell me a lot about where I am at this point I think! What's next up for yourself?

This popped up on my sisters facebook page during the week, taken after the Cork City Marathon with a few of the usual suspects from here ;). I don't even remember it being taken. Christ I was in a bad way!

iWzrwPg.jpg

Sunday 09/02
    19.07 miles w/ 2 X 3 @MP (2:55:39/9:13mpm avg)

This went surprisingly well. The first few miles were a bit quicker than they should have been, but I was being blown down the road with a tail wind that I knew was going to come back to haunt me on the slog home. After about 4 miles I caught up with my sister so I took this opportunity to run with her till mile 8 and slow myself down a bit. Effort felt nice and easy all along. At mile 8 I headed off on the first block of MP miles and with the wind at my back they absolutely flew!
    8:29 (uphill),8:15,8:15
    After these 3 miles I still felt okay and then turned around to start making my way back home.
    Mother. Of. God. The wind! Any wonder the miles were flying by! :)
    Having ran at (faster than) MP I found it difficult to gauge my pace and the next 3 miles were steady, rather than easy into the wind. 8:45,8:56,9:02.
    My sister had taken a shorter route on her run, so now I had her as a target to reel in and pass as part of the next block of 3 MP miles. Very tough work in the wind but got through them ok!
    8:23,8:15,8:21.

I then did another 3 miles very easy with my sister who was finishing up her 17 mile run to bring my own total to just over 19. Good day at the office.

50.54 miles for the week. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Great session and mileage, nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Nice picture, I think we all were knackered after the heat that day, apart from blockic that was....little fecker sitting there smiling at our war stories!
    Lots of speed work and half marathons to get me in shape for Dublin again.
    Now if only I can stop eating rubbish since Xmas. ..:-(

Monday 10/02
    4.11 miles easy - 39:21 - 9:34mpm

Felt a bit tired after the long run on sunday

Tuesday 11/02
    6.13 miles - 55:53

Felt a bit better but still not 100%.

Wednesday 12/02
    Storm day! 3 hours to get home from Cork - wipeout so no run.

Thursday 13/02
    Wednesday's session was moved to Thursday so I had a mile and a quarter warm up and then 4 X 2 @ HMP. Oh Jaysis!

7:58,7:54
    .3 mile jog
    7:40,7:53
    .3 mile jog
    7:47,7:48
    .3 mile jog
    7:39,7:45

1. 4 mile jog cool down.
    Found this session the toughest since the 10 X 800 metres at the start of this training block.

Friday 14/02
    3 miles recovery @ 10mpm

I still felt beat up after these recovery miles. All the following day I didn't feel right and skipped my planned 4 mile run so as to be fresh for this weeks tough LSR. I haven't missed many planned runs in this plan so I honestly felt it was the best course of action.

Sunday 16/02
    21 miles - 3:12 - 9:08mpm average
    (10 easy & 11 steady)

The plan called for 10 easy and 10 steady. I miscalculated my distances though and ended up doing another mile. I felt great for this - so the rest day definitely made a big difference.
    The 11 steady* miles were:
    8:53,8:47,8:47,8:44,8:43,8:44,8:40,8:30,8:29,9:00,8:49.
    That 2nd last one was uphill so that explains the drop off in pace.

For the steady miles I wanted to run them getting gradually but progressively faster until hitting marathon pace and then dropping back off (sort of like a tempo within a LSR :)). The extra mile was a bit quicker than intended but it was downhill so not too bothered.

This is a big confidence booster before Manchester as I felt great all the way through. Going to take it nice and easy in the week ahead now though (step back week) and recover from that run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Sub 4 looks in the bag based off that week

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Sub 4 looks in the bag based off that week

Thanks, 3:45 is the 'main thing' this time around yaboya - I was just too lazy to update the log title. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Oh right.
    Still looking very good though ;)

Not too shabby on the long run Beef. Looking good alright, well done. Looks like a tough week ahead for me between the midweek session and the long run.

You're in great shape for Manchester.

Calling Meno! There is a race in the plan for the next weekend. I'm not doing a race next weekend. What kind of LSR should I do? Please and thanks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Calling Meno! There is a race in the plan for the next weekend. I'm not doing a race next weekend. What kind of LSR should I do? Please and thanks :)

The plan in the graduates thread was built around the race series/Athlone HM!! are you planning on racing, if so when?

Can I see the plan pls???

Jesus that was quick!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aqb_U79TOQZVdERXNDI3SU1IbHRLOFp6UzY3N1Y3M3c&usp=drive_web#gid=0

I'm not planning on racing at all before Manchester, partly based on the thread in the main forum last week. Too disruptive to a training block that's been going very well (touch wood, thanks be to God etc,etc.) injury wise.

Jesus that was quick!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aqb_U79TOQZVdERXNDI3SU1IbHRLOFp6UzY3N1Y3M3c&usp=drive_web#gid=0

I'm not planning on racing at all before Manchester, partly based on the thread in the main forum last week. Too disruptive to a training block that's been going very well (touch wood, thanks be to God etc,etc.) injury wise.

I can't see that :mad:

Sorry - can you try again pls?

OK :D
    I would do next weeks plan this week (i.e. the week finishing with 18 with 10@MP, week 13). The reason? you have done 2 hard weeks after a recovery week. Make this your third hard week in a row and have a recovery week next week. Most of the plan is working off the basis of 3 weeks hard and 1 week recovery....

Recovery week should be this weeks plan (week12) minus the race. i.e. just do an easy long run of 13 miles instead of the race. That will leave you fresh for the final assault :)

Then get back into week 14 as per the plan. Week 14 is a real toughie and is followed by 2 more hard weeks and taper. There is plenty of quality in there for you to hit your goal despite not racing.

And there I was - thinking I had an easy week, this week! :D

Thanks for that, it makes more sense alright to switch those weeks... I'm not bothered about not racing at all to be honest. I thought it would bother me but I'm very relaxed about it and the sessions are giving me the confidence to keep the demons out of my head (until taper at least ;)).

Now I have to get up at 5:30 in order to run before work - so I can see the Champions league tomorrow night.

Jesus that was quick!

Now you have me wondering if I should be racing Bohermeen or not:confused::confused:

I can see merits in both approaches Red. If you were planning on racing; stick to it. I reckon you'll hit a massive PB.
    Most of the folks on the graduate plan raced a half 6 weeks out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

I followed the bulk of the plan for DCM 13 and surpassed my goal. I think that was down to some key MP sessions that were built towards at the end which were perfect for someone like me with a beginners base. I'd recommend it to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

As Meno said he can see merits in both approaches. ( by the way there were plenty successes as far as I remember and I'll follow that exact plan again.....I actually enjoy reading logs of those currently doing it and I'd say most will enjoy it and get great results)

As someone who had very similar goals to RR and Beef last year I can only say that running a half 5/6 weeks out was a great confidence booster. The way it worked for me last year was
    Bantry half 4 weeks before Cork, HMP was 7:42 4 weeks later CCM pace was 8:28
    Charleville half 5 weeks before Dublin hmp pace 7:15 .....DCM pace 7:58

the main benefit was knowing I could be certain I would be running 15 -16 miles of the marathon at a relatively easy pace compared to HMP. It means the fun only begins around mile 20 !!

Now I know someone will pop up here about possible soft marathon targets but they don't know how much sh*te I eat and drink !!

Now to have a crack at MP of 7:30 I need a HMP of 6:51 so I actually think the latter is a bigger challenge for someone who can't look sideways at a cream bun !!

I think the fact that I ran the Waterford half literally the day before starting this training block is what's easing my mind to a large degree. I ran that at 7:55 pace - so my MP of 8:35 feels relatively comfortable even during these higher mileage weeks.

My target in Cork last year was for 4 hours. It all went tits up spectacularly with injury and sickness the week before (not to mention the heat) but on a good day at that point I think I could have hit sub 4. My half time of 1:48 pointed to it. In the 5 months leading up to Cork last year I had run less than 500 miles. Starting from the same point (5 months out) I have already surpassed that by 90 miles - and still have 6.5 weeks training left. This is what I'm taking my hope from.

Note to self - read this post during taper. :D