If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just 1 more trying to go sub 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Yep - that's brilliant, thanks again. I'll mull over it tomorrow in work and plug my planned races in to it tomorrow evening when I get home... It's great to be getting back into marathon training! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭tomred1N

Best of luck beef . I found the meno plan easier to do than P&D one as running similar mileage over 6 days was easier to fit in and I didn't, feel as tired. Also the constant build up of mp miles makes them very bearable at the end as opposed to short intervals. Also just checked back there and the first session 10x800 intervals was the worst! Scarily accurate though in predicting eventual marathon time

I've dropped off the face of the planet it would seem, but I was doing a bit before starting meno's plan. :)

Last week should have been all easy miles after the Waterford half - but by Thursday I got bored and ran a tempo run instead.
    Last weeks summary:

Manchester marathon - 18 (30.5 miles)
    Tuesday 3rd December
    5.5 @ 9:40 pace

Wednesday 4th December
    4.8 @ 9:06 pace

Thursday 5th December
    7.04 @ 8:15 pace - too fast, too soon after Waterford and paid for it. :mad:
    8:35,8:31,8:02,7:49,7:34,8:28,8:39

Sunday 8th December
    13.12 @ 9:00 pace - 2 hr window to get the run in...

Manchester marathon - 17: (35-40 miles)
    Monday 9th December
    6.1 @ easy pace

Tuesday 10th December
    Work night out in Cork - write off

Wednesday 11th December
    5.3 miles @ easy pace - hungover

Thursday 12th December
    10 X 800m @ 5k pace First Meno session!

Friday 13th December
    3 miles Recovery

Saturday/Sunday 14th December
    13 miles easy

For the session I'll be hoping for 3:30/7 mpm pace per 800 metre interval - but I'll see how it goes once I start. The last time I did a session like this was 5 or 6 weeks before Waterford and they were between 3:10-3:30. I'll start at the (s)lower end anyway.

I'd rather get the LSR out of the way on Saturday - but I've already pushed the session to tonight due to the work night out and I'd be bringing the LSR in by a day also. Is this a bad move? I generally feel okay the day after a session but don't want to risk injury. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Beef wrote: »

I'd rather get the LSR out of the way on Saturday - but I've already pushed the session to tonight due to the work night out and I'd be bringing the LSR in by a day also. Is this a bad move? I generally feel okay the day after a session but don't want to risk injury. :confused:
    I think that will be fine when you have the recovery run on Fri.

You're a sick man meno. A sick evil man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

You're a sick man meno. A sick evil man!

That's the hardest session on the plan.
    TBH I only did it with the Graduates this year to give them an idea of what they might be capable of in the marathon (google Yassoo 800's).
    C_M didn't have that on her plan and I already told RedRunner just to do 6 x 800m. Sorry :o

menoscemo wrote: »
    That's the hardest session on the plan.
    TBH I only did it with the Graduates this year to give them an idea of what they might be capable of in the marathon (google Yassoo 800's).
    C_M didn't have that on her plan and I already told RedRunner just to do 6 x 800m. Sorry :o

Ah no I'm joking! I did the 8 X 800 session before, so I knew what I was in for... :pac:
    The worst part about tonight was the howling wind and a wet sandy track.

I took roughly 200 metre walking recovery between intervals - so that is probably a bit longer than it should be.

2.2 miles warm up @ 9:10 pace to the track.

3:35, 3:32, 3:31, 3:32, 3:33, 3:29, 3:26, 3:30, 3:30 and 3:16 for the last.

1ish miles wobble home @ 9:45 recovery pace

8.5 miles total for the evening. Happy to have that done! :D

Ah no I'm joking! I did the 8 X 800 session before, so I knew what I was in for... :pac:
    The worst part about tonight was the howling wind and a wet sandy track.

I took roughly 200 metre walking recovery between intervals - so that is probably a bit longer than it should be.

2.2 miles warm up @ 9:10 pace to the track.

3:35, 3:32, 3:31, 3:32, 3:33, 3:29, 3:26, 3:30, 3:30 and 3:16 for the last.

1ish miles wobble home @ 9:45 recovery pace

8.5 miles total for the evening. Happy to have that done! :D

Recovery sounds fine (I think Yasso recommends an 800m jog), I'm expecting a 3:30 Marathon at the end of this now ;)

You don't know how slow I was walking. ;) You can expect it all you want - but you're not getting it! :D

I'd snap you're hand off for 3:45 now and anything quicker than that would be a dream. Cork went so badly that I really don't want to overshoot the mark and blow up. I suppose it's best to see how the training goes and make a better stab at the pace later in the plan. Thanks again.

3 miles recovery @ 10mpm pace. Legs feel good after this so hopefully the long run will go okay in the morning. I've roped my sister in for some company so it should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Best of luck with the plan Beef. Will be following your progress with interest as I'm thinking of using this plan (if thats ok with Meno ;) ) in preparation for Limerick which is a couple of weeks after Manchester.
    In relation to the 800's in this weeks session what determined the pace? Was it based on a percentage of planned marathon pace?

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Best of luck with the plan Beef. Will be following your progress with interest as I'm thinking of using this plan (if thats ok with Meno ;) ) in preparation for Limerick which is a couple of weeks after Manchester.
    In relation to the 800's in this weeks session what determined the pace? Was it based on a percentage of planned marathon pace?

Cheers Bulmers, Meno's plan is the new P&D it seems. :pac:

The pace on Thursday night was based on the paces I was doing for the track sessions for the Waterford half. I knew what they felt like effort wise, so just added 10-15 seconds to them and played it by ear really. I think the idea is to get them in or about 5K pace. At the moment I don't know what 5K pace is for me though so it was trial and error tbh.

13.2 miles this morning @ about 9:35 pace. I don't know what the weather is like around the rest of the country - but down here the conditions were brutal. Wind and driving rain which made for less than ideal conditions. Happy to have it done and might chance a few pints this evening. ;)

Bulmers74 wrote: »

It's probably best to enter them with no predetermined pace as in someways it is a fitness test. Take it as a lesson in pacing yourself...your first one should feel pretty easy and if all goes well your last 5 will all be faster than your first.
    I reckon you should be a bit slower than 5k pace, probably somewhere between 5k and 5 mile pace...

4 miles this morning to clear the head. Legs felt a little bit tired but grand really.

40 miles for the week - I think that's the most I've ever done. Enjoyed the first week of the plan even the killer session. :)

Now Liverpool just need to get a result and I'll be happy as Larry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Now Liverpool just need to get a result .

Dislike.
    :mad:

Oh Sunday was just beautiful - sorry AMK!
    On the plus side - we got rid of that spoofer from the dugout for ye. ;)

Manchester marathon - 17 wks Done | Target: 35-40 Actual: 39.92 miles

Manchester marathon - 16 wks - Target = 36-42 miles
    Monday 16th December
    5 miles @ 8:36 pace.

Please don't give out to me for not running this easy Meno/C_M! I had the watch on but opted to ignore it. I just wanted to run and not worry about slowing down or speeding up. I was enjoying it! Ended up at my initial tentative MP - maybe it's a sign. ;)

Tuesday 17th December
    Plan is to run at easy pace tonight alright. Will be somewhere between 5 and 7 miles depending on time. This Christmas craic is serously impacting my time. Maybe people would like their presents out of the bag from the shop this year?

How in the name of god am I going to do a session in that? There's car alarms going off and everything!

Honestly wouldn't try!!! switch things around; do it tomorrow.

Success! I was determined to get this done tonight (and reward myself with a beer after it ;)) so when we had a clearing in the weather here, I took a chance and headed off.

1.5 mile warmup @ 9:41 pace

8 mins steady : 8:58 avg pace
    8 mins marathon pace: 8:32 avg pace
    8 mins half mar pace: 7:52 avg pace
    8:26 mins hard: 6:50 avg pace

I have to be honest and say that these faster miles with the exception of the last 4 mins were done on the flat or a gradual decline so the effort levels could maybe have been a bit easier than they should have been. I was still fooked after the 8:26 at 6:50 pace though, so I defo got the benefit of it!

7.62 miles in total and another session chalked off. Time for a beer!

Nearly a week since I updated here, it's been hectic in work and at home.

Thursday 19th Dec
    Recovery - 3 miles

On Friday I was absolutely shattered after work - and got dragged ;) to the pub. So no running - and no running Saturday either due to a shocking hangover which I still feel guilty about.

Sunday 22nd Dec
    LSR - 15.4 miles @ 9 mpm avg

Because I missed Saturday's run I decided I'd add a little bit extra on the LSR and try and finish the run at a decent pace. Last 3 miles were 9,8:30,8:20.
    Was tired after this.

Monday 23rd Dec
    4.5 miles easy. Nearly got blown away.

Christmas Eve :D
    5 miles easy planned for today. I'm still in work (boooo) but finishing early and will run on my lunch break.

Christmas Day
    Santy is bringing new runners - so I'll have to take them out for a spin tomorrow I think.

Stephens day
    Instead of the session planned for this week - I'm hoping to do the 4 mile race in Clonmel, with 2 miles warm up/cool down either side of it. That would be a nice 8 mile run to get a thirst up for a day of horse racing/football/general debauchery.

2013 was a good year for me personally and running wise too.

2012 - 663 miles
    2013 - 1260 miles so far.

Happy Christmas everyone - hope you all have a good 2014. Thanks for all your help and encouragement through the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Good work beef! All the best next year

Ah feck it I'm taking the day off. Wrecked beyond belief after the last couple of weeks and its only hitting me now. I'll probably miss this weeks session but sher its Christmas! :)

Sorry meno! :(

Riddled with guilt all day for not doing the race/session yesterday. Tonight, I managed to get a session of some description done, a tempo run that was not as long as the one in the plan - but glad to fit it in. Felt rubbish all day with a sore throat and fuzzy head.

1.5 miles warmp up @ 8:55 mpm pace avg. Next four miles were progressively quicker:
    8:02,7:39,7:21,7:14
    1.75 miles cool down at 9 mpm pace.

Easy/Recovery run tomorrow and then the LSR on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Just catching up here with your log Beef. Jesus that was great work on the Yassoo 800s, well done. Hope training for Manchester goes well. Good to see another 'Pool fan on here too. We were robbed the other day, hopefully better luck tomorrow. Will be following your progress with interest since were following the same plan.

Just catching up with myself here too RedRunner - thanks :)

Sunday 29th December
    The 16 LSR on Sunday was a disaster. I even had to stop and walk at 1 stage. I've been struggling with sickness since then too so that might explain why, at the time I was putting it down to Christmas indulgence. Managed to struggle through 15.5 miles of it before calling it a day. I'll have to file this one under character building. On a more positive note - it was our first wedding anniversary - so we got my mother to take the young lad and went on the piss. LSR forgotten about in no time! Success.

Monday 30th
    Death hangover of death.

New years eve
    3.6 miles easy - 9mpm

New years Day
    7.1 miles easy 8:50 mpm

Thursday 2nd January - 10 X 400m interval session

Session tonight instead of yesterday as the track was closed. Weather was just shocking again - so pissed off with this wind/rain combo we've been having. By the time I jogged the ¾ of a mile to the track I was already soaked. The times were all over the place as I struggled with the wind blowing me around the place. I was a bit ambitious starting off too - but finished strongly. The track was flooding as I was running around it so I had to keep running wider to stay out of the puddles that were forming.

1:32,1:37,1:42,1:39,1:39,1:37,1:38,1:36,1:34,1:25

Squelchy ¾ of a mile jog home.

I've a bit of a headcold or something at the moment and I have a niggle in my left foot at the 'toe side' of my arch. I'm worried about plantar returning while I' breaking in the new runners. They're the exact same as the old runners so they should be fine. Making a note of it here just to record the first instance of it.

Looking back at 2013 - it was a good year overall but not without its disappointments:

The bad: Cork city marathon, Clonmel half, Charleville half.
    The good: Cork city marathon :), Wexford half, Clonmel 10K, Waterford half.

My mileage in 2013 was 1296.49 (grrr 3.51 miles) which is almost double (665) what I ran in 2012 so that's a positive also. On to 2014 where I can get some marathon payback in Manchester in April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I can get some marathon payback in Manchester in April.

Have you booked accommodation for Manchester yet? Must book flights etc ...............and register for the race :)

I haven't booked anything other than the race itself. My sister is hoping to run it as her first marathon, so I'm waiting to see what she's at first. She better start upping the mileage. :)

Saturday 4th January
    10 Miles - 6 @ MP

This went grand - 2 miles warm up were nice and handy and the 6 miles at MP felt good. I knew I was working harder but they were okay. 2 miles to cool down after.

Sunday 5th January
    4.25 miles easy @ 8:47

A little bit faster than I should have been running for this - but my mother was away and my father was coming to ours for dinner. I had to get back to get the meat out of the oven. :D

Monday 6th January
    5 Miles easy - @ 9:28

Back to work on Monday and by Jesus did I feel it. Tired, weak and generally not feeling it. Barely made it to the 2.5 mile mark so I could turn around and trudge back. Less runs like this would be super. :)

Tuesday 7th January
    4.65 miles @ 9:02

Feeling much better! Another easy 4/5 miles under the belt.

Wednesday 8th January
    Progression run - 10.42 miles

20 mins easy 9:25
    20 mins steady 8:53
    20 mins MP 8:32
    20 mins HMP 7:58
    10 mins easy 9:11

The weather was horrible for this. REALLY horrible, cold and very wet. When I started out it wasn't too bad - so I left the 'boil in the bag' waterproof jacket at home. After 10 minutes the heavens opened so I had little choice but to keep going and suck it up. Felt much better tonight than the last 2 nights and with the weather being so cold and miserable - I was struggling to stay at the slower pace. I was only supposed to do 10 minutes at HMP - but they were going well, and having gone out in that weather, I wanted to make the most of the session. This is one I'll remember when the going gets tough in Manchester. Stupid winter training. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Great session Beef thats a tough aul one.

Thursday 9th January
    Recovery
    4.15 miles @ 9:52 pace.

Meh, I hate recovery runs - although I do realise they're a necessary part of training. On the plus side - the weather was perfect for running tonight, no wind, no rain and nice and crisp!

I have an 18 mile LSR on Saturday morning and then my wife's 30th on Saturday night - so I don't know how I'm going to get up on Sunday for a run. :)