Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So what did i do today?

• 25-12-2012 7:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭

well i got 3 sets to play with. all of them were for xmas! :P Little i knew lego became a bit more complex then i remember it from 15-20 years ago! :o

so i took the smallest one today at around 11:00 today and i only finished it after 17:30!!!! :eek: I have to say it was awesome and money well spent!

so i started off! thx to misses for small boxes! :p
    DSC_1010.jpg

thats only the start!

DSC_1013.jpg

not even half way in! :pac:
    DSC_1015.jpg

starts to look like a truck! :D
    DSC_1021.jpg

almost there!

DSC_1023.jpg

and here she is!

DSC_1025.jpg

well, i was planing on doing all 3 today, but i did not expected it to be so complicated and cool! i only managed to do one! smallest one! :eek: well looksl ike i got my hands full for the next few days. With this first built i have even more respect to all Moc and truck trial creators. its damn hard and needs a lot of brain power!

DSC_1026.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Derek93

Nicely done, Built the excavator today myself, lot of fun with the power functions, my daughter was not as impressed when it started moving towards Olivias treehouse..damn treehuggers. Must post up some pics. No stickers I notice, hate the things myself and don't apply them.

Monster Dino tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Derek93 wrote: »
    Nicely done, Built the excavator today myself, lot of fun with the power functions, my daughter was not as impressed when it started moving towards Olivias treehouse..damn treehuggers. Must post up some pics. No stickers I notice, hate the things myself and don't apply them.

Monster Dino tomorrow.
    Nice one m8! Just wait until everyone goes to sleep *wink wink :D.

Aye, I did not applied stickers. When I started lego years and years ago the drawings were imprinted and they were few. I see that lego really did go crazy with stickers. Can't say I like it. I kept stickers off as I don't plan having all these things being assembled and collecting dust on shelfs. Oh no, I plan to build mocs! :).
    I did not built anything today, took day off, but I do plan on building supercar next. Really really looking forward to it.
    I will try to get to 4HOME tomorrow after work and have a look at some boxes. As you can see I used some carton boxes misses provided and fair play to her, but I need something more specialised and with storing in mind.

I did started looking in to more older sets. Some great ones that are hard to get new. I will have to hunt down second hand sets. There are some new 2013 sets appearing . I am disappointed so far :(. The only thing from first half that interests me is f1 car and I don't really like formula... It already appeared in argos, but it is 119eu!!! No motor function too. Does not look like very big thing too. So I am wondering, does lego charge so much just because they can. Second half from rumours sounds better. Some crane truck and monster truck will be out. No RC this year :(

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭CSSE09

I got the 8070 as a present, started yesterday, a good 6 hours put in and the chassis has started to appear. It's a great set, shame I have final year exams starting on the 4th of jan :mad:

Edit: You might find this useful as well, it's a video of the car being built http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrXrS68lLnY
    There was 1 or 2 spots where I wasn't sure what size gear to use and was easy to see on it.

Nice one m8! Just wait until everyone goes to sleep *wink wink :D.

Aye, I did not applied stickers. When I started lego years and years ago the drawings were imprinted and they were few. I see that lego really did go crazy with stickers. Can't say I like it. I kept stickers off as I don't plan having all these things being assembled and collecting dust on shelfs. Oh no, I plan to build mocs! :).
    I did not built anything today, took day off, but I do plan on building supercar next. Really really looking forward to it.
    I will try to get to 4HOME tomorrow after work and have a look at some boxes. As you can see I used some carton boxes misses provided and fair play to her, but I need something more specialised and with storing in mind.

I did started looking in to more older sets. Some great ones that are hard to get new. I will have to hunt down second hand sets. There are some new 2013 sets appearing . I am disappointed so far :(. The only thing from first half that interests me is f1 car and I don't really like formula... It already appeared in argos, but it is 119eu!!! No motor function too. Does not look like very big thing too. So I am wondering, does lego charge so much just because they can. Second half from rumours sounds better. Some crane truck and monster truck will be out. No RC this year :(

Yeah just checked your racecar in argos, 112eu is overpriced for that car, the set I want from 2013 is the new excavator with the claw arm, again no power functions but it suits me, have to many motors already.

Think that F1 car should be in the 80 euro region tbh, without power functions and its piece count which is about the same as the supercar you can bet Argos are overpricing. The new flagship chima set killer croc boat thingy is 99eu in argos but I belive its 80 from the lego shop or around that, kind of confirms argos price is high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

ShadowHearth; i got some trays in ikea that might suit. They look like cutlery trays and are cheap as chips. I forget the serial no.s now but they are there. They bend without support so they would benefit from a permanent setup. Permanent. Think about it... Permanent.....setup....

I need to get out more!

Yeah just checked your racecar in argos, 112eu is overpriced for that car, the set I want from 2013 is the new excavator with the claw arm, again no power functions but it suits me, have to many motors already.

Think that F1 car should be in the 80 euro region tbh, without power functions and its piece count which is about the same as the supercar you can bet Argos are overpricing. The new flagship chima set killer croc boat thingy is 99eu in argos but I belive its 80 from the lego shop or around that, kind of confirms argos price is high.

I knew you wil like that new claw excavator thing. Looks great, but its a shame I don't like the heavy machinery stuff :(. That really narrows down my sets to get a lot :(.
    What you said about f1, was the carbon copy of what I said in eurobricks technic forum too. It should be am 80eu set, not 120eu. Even uk argos got it for 79£!!. It's overpriced like hell! I still would not mind having that set as it has a lot of nice panels and parts in white. Would be a great addition.

By the way, the rumours are that new flagship will have just one motor. The crane/truck thing. Some people really excited about it. It's a shame no RC stuff next year though. We really need something with huge tyres too. You know howuch the power pulled wheels go for? 50-60eu. Yes per one tyre!!!!

shedweller wrote: »
    ShadowHearth; i got some trays in ikea that might suit. They look like cutlery trays and are cheap as chips. I forget the serial no.s now but they are there. They bend without support so they would benefit from a permanent setup. Permanent. Think about it... Permanent.....setup....

I need to get out more!
    No ikea around these wild parts :(. I'll go after work to local shop. Might find something cheap. I want to be more organised this time! Specially if supercar model is a lot more complexed! I might not do it in one day!

I knew you wil like that new claw excavator thing. Looks great, but its a shame I don't like the heavy machinery stuff :(. That really narrows down my sets to get a lot :(.
    What you said about f1, was the carbon copy of what I said in eurobricks technic forum too. It should be am 80eu set, not 120eu. Even uk argos got it for 79£!!. It's overpriced like hell! I still would not mind having that set as it has a lot of nice panels and parts in white. Would be a great addition.

By the way, the rumours are that new flagship will have just one motor. The crane/truck thing. Some people really excited about it. It's a shame no RC stuff next year though. We really need something with huge tyres too. You know howuch the power pulled wheels go for? 50-60eu. Yes per one tyre!!!!

Yeah there is a new monster truck in the summer line-up, while the box does not look like it will be massive we can hope the wheels are on par with power puller, if they are I will buy afew sets.

The Mobile crane again while nice does not look like its rc out of the box, usual up down crane/spin ect, only problem like any other crane it will just sit in the shadow of 8421.

Recovery Truck could be nice but again another crane/up/down/winch ect with no movement out of the box.

However I suppose we will have to wait for more info and see what options there are for adding more power functions to sets, tbh I already have about 10 M motors or more so paying for extra motors at this point makes me kind of happy they are not full of motors.

seen this? low res pictures are out.

http://www.setechnic.com/Forum/post119452.html#p119452

2013 is a very dissapointing year if you are not in to cranes and tractors :(. with supercar and crawler i had a hope that they will give some more car focus stuff :(.

looks like monster truck is going to be a small set, so no power puller wheels :(. no way i can pay 60eu per pop second hand! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭g0g

seen this? low res pictures are out.

http://www.setechnic.com/Forum/post119452.html#p119452

2013 is a very dissapointing year if you are not in to cranes and tractors :(. with supercar and crawler i had a hope that they will give some more car focus stuff :(.

looks like monster truck is going to be a small set, so no power puller wheels :(. no way i can pay 60eu per pop second hand! :pac:
    Quite like the look of 42008 and 42009, but we'll be waiting til August for these if I've read correctly? No Technic crane will ever compare to the original massive one from a few years ago!

Well I went in to smyths in cork today. Was hoping to catch some older set maybe.
    Aye.... Took me awhile even find lego and then to find their huge technic range, which included: helicopter, then helicopter, and helicopter! Wow! Are they for real?! Went out completely disappointed. Fail of a shop.

Just was in 4home and could not get any small boxes. Found some small boxes for food. 12eu per box! Holy bejaysus!
    Really tired now, back in town and we are going for some food. Hopefully I will be able to sink my teeth in to some dead animal. Really frustrated!

On positive side fella posted picks of built F1 car and it looks great, B model is even better. It became from "meh" so to "yes please" set!

so what did i do today? well from 12:00 till 21:00 i was building supercar! :pac:

So i got some containers from kitchen, will do! lets start!

image_zps785f3930.jpg

heres the motor! the whole gearbox was quite interesting thing.

image_zps1ba94cde.jpg

fully independant rear suspension with differential. i love lego! :p

image_zps331d4125.jpg

so chassis start to apear!

DSC_1030.jpg

a V8! yes please!

DSC_1034.jpg

so here where i drew the line for today! almost 10h of building and it still does not look like a car lol. i have to say this is an amazing set. you can get it for 64eu from french amazon site. well worth the money!

DSC_1035.jpg

DSC_1036.jpg

ITS DONE!!!! what an amazing set!!! massive too! :P i want to buy one more now for parts and keep this one on the shelf! :P

DSC_1038.jpg

DSC_1037.jpg

DSC_1041.jpg

DSC_1043.jpg

DSC_1044.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Deano7788

That looks awesome, man. How long did it take overall?

Must resist urge to buy supercar...

Deano7788 wrote: »
    That looks awesome, man. How long did it take overall?

Must resist urge to buy supercar...

about 16h i think. though i was quite fast. really really loved it and it looks waaaaaaaaay cooler in real life then pictures. just holding it in hands is just unreal.

size is just crazy. i want to buy one more now for parts and keep that on on shelf :). i seen it on french amazon for only 64eu. need to find link

well did some food shoping today and got in to heatons too. FINALLY i got myself containers which did not costed a liver and my left nut! the smaller ones are sets on containers. x5 and x7. the bigger ones will be quite handy for bigger parts.

then in heatons i sow that set. its was on sale. discounted from 60 eu to 20eu. 66383. i am technic head, but for 20eu i could not say no to it. :o

DSC_1046.jpg

well, i am starting on crawler today. 2 sets of parts. the size of wheels already make me happy :D. well, busy day today!

DSC_1048.jpg

DSC_1047.jpg

Mining Plagio while building Lego and watching brave, nice set up shadow.

scordite really! If i can nerd out, then nerd out to the max! :D thanks m8! ;) Plan was getting 27inch 1440p in the middle for xmas, but got lego instead. best choice ever! :D

on topic:

i am here so far, it is coming a long nicely! so far its my favorite build. really love the whole 3 part chassis.

DSC_1049.jpg

The kit looks nice, I just have reservations and from afew reviews I have seen people have mentioned the lack of power from the motors, apparently it has difficulty getting over any object more than a 20mm high, ofc you could upgrade them to xl motors for more power but then the speed hit would be bad, not that its fast anyway.

I might buy one down the line, next purchase for myself will be the rechargable battery box, apparently well worth buying if you want to really experiment with moc's due to its weight reduction over the AA battery box.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Finished building my Architecture series Farnsworth House and it's a real beauty. Pics to follow soon. :-)

The kit looks nice, I just have reservations and from afew reviews I have seen people have mentioned the lack of power from the motors, apparently it has difficulty getting over any object more than a 20mm high, ofc you could upgrade them to xl motors for more power but then the speed hit would be bad, not that its fast anyway.

I might buy one down the line, next purchase for myself will be the rechargable battery box, apparently well worth buying if you want to really experiment with moc's due to its weight reduction over the AA battery box.

i seen someone have very bad, but it was bad due to bad motors. its not really lack of power, but the design. it needs to be geared more for torgue and diffs removed.
    lego put in diffs for more function, but in reality in 4x4 stuff like this it is dissatvantage.

i am finished with first part of it and i can honestly say its my favorite set so far from the 3. it is mind blowing when you see the whole suspension work and come together. in a minute i will start on body.

no matter what some reviewers say it is a great collection of parts and the only set to get all the IR sensor, 2xlarge motors,remote control, servo motor in one go.

its done. and by far my favorite set! It works so well too! was quite funny scaring the living crap out of my dogs :D

3 part chassis.

DSC_1050.jpg

the whole chassis done. really looks cool in real life!

DSC_1053.jpg

and here she is! all ready and mean! :D

DSC_1055.jpg

DSC_1056.jpg

DSC_1059.jpg

DSC_1057.jpg

So my all xmas presents are all put together now! Best xmas ever! :p It makes me happy, but quite sad too. :( i have everything built and no sets to build anymore :( . I still want few more sets, before i will take all this apart and start making my own mocs. i still want to see what standart crawler is capable. it can deffenetly go over 20mm obsticles so far. reviewers were to harsh in my opinion and were comparing it to truck trial stuff. which is just very damn sturdy, less complicated and have bigger motors. plus they all have bigger torgue gearing then this.

well i got few sets i want to get second hand, but i need to get some extra money. i think i will get one more of these crawlers for parts alone too when price drops, just before they will decide to cancel this set.

bottom line is - i give 2 thumbs up to this set. such a great fun building it and a great selection of parts for mocs. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

Got Bag End or an unexpected gathering as it's called.
    Lovely model, great mini figs, built it on Christmas morning at 6am while my 5 year old son was putting together his Gold Mine.

Also got the new 4x4 Off Road lovely build.

What's with everyone keeping the pieces separate though???
    I open all the bags pour them into the box and off I go.

Also got the vampyre hearse so a great Lego Christmas all round

• Registered Users Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Got Bag End or an unexpected gathering as it's called.
    Lovely model, great mini figs, built it on Christmas morning at 6am while my 5 year old son was putting together his Gold Mine.

Also got the new 4x4 Off Road lovely build.

What's with everyone keeping the pieces separate though???
    I open all the bags pour them into the box and off I go.

Also got the vampyre hearse so a great Lego Christmas all round

My girlfriend bought me Bag End as well, it's a beautiful piece. One of the nicest they've done in years IMO. I'm 100% with you as well, numbered bags are sacriligeous! I bought myself the Medieval Market Village with a money gift somebody gave me. It's a great set as well, classic in the making. 1600 pieces and not a numbered bag in sight, as it should be!

Actually herself bought Bag End when it became clear that the main part of my present wasn't going to arrive on time - and I'm reliably informed that it is Lego - so my Christmas isn't quite over yet :)

Well tow truck had no numbered bags - 900+ parts

Supercar no numbers 1200 parts

4x4 crawler did had numbers, but it was 1 and 2.

I don't really care about numbers and that's the fest time I encountered them. What I do when build I just sort my parts in to three sections: tiny/ mid/ big. I have to do it too, because I have 2xdachshunds, who love to chew stuff! So I can't afford to have one big pile somewhere. It is all nicely organised on my tiny table. :)

Actually herself bought Bag End when it became clear that the main part of my present wasn't going to arrive on time - and I'm reliably informed that it is Lego - so my Christmas isn't quite over yet :)

This arrived yesterday \o/

Turned out to be Indiana Jones Temple Escape :) I'm a massive Indy fan, but the theme ended just as I was starting to collect again, and this has been on my wishlist for a long time.

This arrived yesterday \o/

Turned out to be Indiana Jones Temple Escape :) I'm a massive Indy fan, but the theme ended just as I was starting to collect again, and this has been on my wishlist for a long time.

I love Indiana Jones! It's a shame that it discontinued and a lot of sets are newest movie based, which was quite tits and Indian Jones was raped in it :(
    I am looking for some other theme to collect and build with, but I still can't decide which one :(. I was thinking of Indiana, but it was discontinued, plus as I mentioned I was not the biggest fan of newest movie. Indiana sets to fetch some crazy prices these days too. I am not sure I want to go licensed lego way too. Exemption would be only SW and Lotr.

I think I've suggested the Modular theme already, but that is an expensive one to get into. Still, if you're not a completist and would be content in passing on some sets and getting others, it could be the one. They're about €150 a go, though usually you'd get them for €20-€30 cheaper on Amazon.

That said, though, I haven't taken the plunge myself. The two oldest are the Grand Emporium and Fire Brigade, both of which are the ones in danger of going first. The newest one is a cinema which will be out later in the year. It hasn't officially been unveiled yet, but there are pictures floating around online.

Modular ones are fantastic. I agree, but price is an issue. If I got 170eu to spend I will go on technic flagship with motors and remote controls instead.
    I would like something that I could thrown in with my orders of technic. So far SW and Lotr leading for me. I quite like monster hunters too, but will we get more sets of that?