If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nexus 4 ordering process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Rob!

DECEiFER wrote: »
    Here's another ad that I couldn't resist saying something in:
    http://www.adverts.ie/mobile-phones/used-nexus-4-8gb/3478145

Thoroughly enjoyed this. ^

Also, my Nexus 4 FINALLY made it to parcel motel. :) Had been refreshing my a/c like every 5 minutes in work all day, excitedly awaiting its arrival. I just hope it makes it from Belfast to Cork before tomorrow night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,182 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Mate of mine had one of these which he picked up the States..

.. never really noticed it before seeing it at weekend, but it's superb looking.

Think it's about time I move on from my 3GS.

How is the screen visibility on it? I had a Samsung Beam which was a grand phone but you couldn't see anything in sunlight - does the Nexus suffer from this?

Is stock still short enough? Am going on holidays so wondering should I wait til I get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭DECEiFER

Rob! wrote: »
    Thoroughly enjoyed this. ^

Also, my Nexus 4 FINALLY made it to parcel motel. :) Had been refreshing my a/c like every 5 minutes in work all day, excitedly awaiting its arrival. I just hope it makes it from Belfast to Cork before tomorrow night.
    Glad you enjoyed it! I don't think he was too happy and I wasn't sure if I had crossed the line or not, or at least broken the rules. I was prepared (and still am) for a warning (or even a tempban).

Your phone will be in Cork by the morning. It will be long there before tomorrow night, in-fact, you might get the notification before you wake up (depending on whether you're up before 6).
    Basq wrote: »
    Mate of mine had one of these which he picked up the States..

.. never really noticed it before seeing it at weekend, but it's superb looking.

Think it's about time I move on from my 3GS.

How is the screen visibility on it? I had a Samsung Beam which was a great screen but you couldn't see anything in sunlight - does the Nexus suffer from this?

Is stock still short enough? Am going on holidays so wondering should I wait til I get back.
    The brightness of the IPS would probably kill the 3GS and the Galaxy S III. God's Toy showed us a photo of the two (Nexus 4 and S III) side-by-side outdoors about 3 months ago in this thread, and the difference... Phenomenal.

You could be waiting a week to three weeks. Waiting might be best unless you can store the parcel somewhere (or use Parcel Motel at €3.50 for each two days).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Glad you enjoyed it! I don't think he was too happy and I wasn't sure if I had crossed the line or not, or at least broken the rules. I was prepared (and still am) for a warning (or even a tempban).

Sensational work sir!

You could be waiting a week to three weeks. Waiting might be best unless you can store the parcel somewhere (or use Parcel Motel at €3.50 for each two days).
    Cheers DECEiFER..

.. I'll probably wait I get back alright.

Thanks for the advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭ionapaul

OK, so my phone is also with Parcel Motel in Belfast as of 2:10pm :) When should it arrive in Dublin, tomorrow sometime?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ionapaul wrote: »
    OK, so my phone is also with Parcel Motel in Belfast as of 2:10pm :) When should it arrive in Dublin, tomorrow sometime?

Anytime I use parcel motel I usually get the text/email about 10pm Paul, so if you are keen you can probably get it tonight!

+1 on tonight. If you're in Dublin, it's usually always before the night's out. We're not as lucky in Limerick, but even we get notified by ~6am the next morning.

Finger's crossed so, I live 30 seconds walk from my local Parcel Motel :)

It'll be the longest 30 seconds of your life. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭Nolimits

Where do I get the DIR number from to track with parcelforce?

Nolimits wrote: »
    Where do I get the DIR number from to track with parcelforce?
    Do you have the tracking info/link from Flubit? It'll be on the left center of that tracking page. If it's not there yet, it's probably too early, so give it a day.

Really? Dammit. It was in Dublin this morning was holding out a little hope that it might get to Parcel Motel today and be in a locker tonight.

Should I expect another email from Flubit with a parcelforce link? The only tracking number at the moment brings me to a tech data page and the number they supplied me with doesn't work with parcelforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

When I put the code into Parcelforce I get

aE94m9D.png

But, meh, it's not that big a deal. I can just keep hitting refresh on my Parcel Motel balance page, the money always comes out of there hours before I get a text/email.

Really? Dammit. It was in Dublin this morning was holding out a little hope that it might get to Parcel Motel today and be in a locker tonight.

Should I expect another email from Flubit with a parcelforce link? The only tracking number at the moment brings me to a tech data page and the number they supplied me with doesn't work with parcelforce.
    If it's in Dublin, the number should be on the tracking page. See mine, below, with the DIR number highlighted in red. However, the DIR number won't show any signs of life on Parcelforce or GLS until tonight. Check at 10pm or 11pm and it should work.

265099.png

As Captain Morgan said, if it's in Dublin today, it'll check in to Parcel Motel in Northern Ireland tomorrow before noon. Then by tomorrow night it'll hit your locker in Dublin.

If it's in Dublin, the number should be on the tracking page. See mine, below, with the DIR number highlighted in red.

As Captain Morgan said, if it's in Dublin today, it'll check in to Parcel Motel in Northern Ireland tomorrow before noon. Then by tomorrow night it'll hit your locker in Dublin.

Ah, so it is. Remind me to hug you if I ever see you :D

NB I won't actually hug you

Ah, so it is. Remind me to hug you if I ever see you :D

NB I won't actually hug you
    Thank feck for that!

I've amended the above to say try the DIR later tonight as it normally won't become active until then and it'll be done with my tomorrow before noon, so it's a short track, really, and ultimately not very useful. It'll say it's with GLS or something by tonight, the first stages of its journey to the wee North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

the one I ordered got checked into parcelmotel just before 1pm today, might see it arrive in Dublin tonight?

---edit---

Wed 31 Jul 14:27 Belfast Package left depot

Might see it tonight so :)

jozi wrote: »
    the one I ordered got checked into parcelmotel just before 1pm today, might see it arrive in Dublin tonight?
    Yup, should be. 10pm is what I hear is the average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Got the msg a few mins ago it's there to be collected. i'm nearly as excited as I was when I got mine, pity this ones for a friend and she's gonna have to collect it and figure the phone out herself.

I got mine :) Can't really play too much with it though, as off to bed now. Going to Edinburgh for the weekend on my stag so won't be taking it there either, my trusty Huawei G300 will have to do me until I get back!

Going to Edinburgh for the weekend on my stag so won't be taking it there either, my trusty Huawei G300 will have to do me until I get back!
    Ah do. Go on.

Enjoy the stag, phone, and congratulations. :)

Did the Flubit price vary much for people? Or was it always around the same price (depending on whether you picked up 8GB or 16GB obviously).

Basq wrote: »
    Did the Flubit price vary much for people? Or was it always around the same price (depending on whether you picked up 8GB or 16GB obviously).

The same ballpark, give or take £4-5 at most, I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 encho

I got 'dispatched' email this morning. Only thing that worries me is that it contains my real address. I was too fast when ordering, did not change address in PayPal, but informed them later via ticket system (which they confirmed). I guess that's just their system.
    EDIT: it's available for tracking on GLS, guess I'm getting it sooner than I thought :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Bulmers

just got dispatch notification and delivery date 7/8 but from reading here, sounds like will come quicker?

have a tracking no but it says TNT, not showing up on their site either.

Bulmers wrote: »
    just got dispatch notification and delivery date 7/8 but from reading here, sounds like will come quicker?

have a tracking no but it says TNT, not showing up on their site either.
    Does the tracking number come with a URI looking like this?

http://dol.techdata-europe.com/pod/track.aspx?CUSTID=GOOGLE&DNote=

If not, put the number in after the = sign and visit the URI (right-click to copy it). If it's being dispatched today, then it will be in Dublin by Tuesday, since it's the long weekend. It won't leave Dublin until Wednesday morning and it'll be at Parcel Motel in NI by the late morning/early afternoon. Then depending on if you're in Dublin or not, it will either be at your Parcel Motel locker by ~10pm that night or early the next morning.

So it should be at Parcel Motel in NI on Wednesday, August 7th, which is the delivery date that Flubit refer to. If it wasn't for the bank holiday, you'd have it a day earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 encho

On Parcelforce, my last updated status is:
    02-08-2013 10:26 Belfast Central Depot Delivered

What is the ETA, does anyone know?

encho wrote: »
    On Parcelforce, my last updated status is:
    02-08-2013 10:26 Belfast Central Depot Delivered

What is the ETA, does anyone know?
    Check Parcel Motel now and you'll see that it has arrived and possibly by now left for the trek to your locker.

If you're in or around Dublin, tonight by ~10pm. Everywhere else, early tomorrow morning.