If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The wimp list ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Drove to work this morning. Shite morning in north Dublin city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭alentejo

It was character building on the bike this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Remote today, definitely wouldn't have wimped out 👀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I think this morning was karma for this comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,543 ✭✭✭cletus

I went for a run. Does that count as not wimping out?

it does, and fair play, but this is a wimp list on cycling forum.

Lack of school traffic is making driving too easy so I'm signing in

Well, I know it is. I was trying to get a little facetious or funny. I obviously failed, so I'll climb back into my box 😞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Days like today remind me what a mistake it was to get Carbon Rim Brake wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭ARX

Are they that bad in the wet? I was thinking about getting a pair.

not at all, apologies if I came across as short

Mine are. I also know nothing about adjusting brakes so maybe I need to tighten them or something. Definitely terrible performance in heavy rain.

I got a pair of Reilly AR41s in the Wiggle closing down sale for 790 pounds and I don't mind them on dry days but in the wet it's awful.

Nah, your grand. Wait till I start posting photos I took on my kayak 😁

Post edited by cletus on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭JMcL

Being sorted of forced to wimp out for the next 3 weeks. Our main car developed electrical problems and bricked itself a week before we were due to take the ferry for France yesterday. Plan B involved the much smaller 2nd car and the bikes were victim to having to pack minimally 😭. Might look into hiring while there, but couldn't fit my gear in either. Alternative is to get the start on a bit of running I've been promising myself for months, but will not, repeat NOT, be attempting to improve my swimming 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭traco

Another wet one this morning.

I don't know cos I don't keep any hard data but it feels to me that since late April or May I have had more wet and windy commutes than I had through all of Autumn, Winter and most of Spring??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

100% November and December, in my head, were way drier on average

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Reckon this has been the wettest post-Easter/early summer period in many a long year.

Came off the bike on Saturday morning. Turning a corner at no real speed and the bike went from under me. Reckon it was a layer of dust from a period of dryness that then just got a little wet and slippery.

The bike is fine. Just shifter knocked out of place a bit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

every time in the last few days i've had a window to goo out on the bike, it's been poxy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,202 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Wind tomorrow looks too risky for most especially after 11am.

Zwift it is.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I assume what you meant to say was that the wind tomorrow looks good for some PBs.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I am looking out my window and regretting the hangover that has made a few KOMs today a foolish idea

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

I might pass on cycling today.

As will I, at least until this evening.

I did go so far as to look out the window this morning, before promptly returning to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭secman

I did my Sat spin yesterday, thankfully had a day off and got a wet 85kms in yesterday . Club spin today automatically cancelled once weather warnings are in place.

According to met eireann the wind was 56km/h at 9am at Dublin airport. I think the strongest I've been out in was just a little over 40.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was out walking the dog earlier and it wasn't too bad until I passed Ryevale House (in Leixlip) where eight trees were blown down...

IMG-20241207-WA0003.jpeg

Most of the (few enough) photos of downed trees I've seen this morning are of cypresses or similar. I.e. evergreen trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,128 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I have to hand it to the few hardy souls who set out on the Gheimridh 200 this morning. 100km into a normal headwind would be bad enough never mind into a gale-force headwind. They'll be blown home!

(Some of us are doing it tomorrow instead which they have allowed).

Mudderagod.

According to the met eireann app, it's currently a 50km/h north Westerly at Dublin airport. And that's the lowest I've seen it all day!