Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else still waiting on SUSI Grant?

• 07-09-2012 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

Im a first year undergrad student at UCD and i was wondering if anyone else was having difficulty with the SUSI Grant?

Applied really early and sent my evidence (P21's etc..) away in Early August and not a peep out of them!

Rang and they say they havent even looked at my stuff and it'll be another 5-6 weeks before the bother. (not their exact words but whatever. :P )

Another friend called and they told her four months?? CRAZY!

One of my friends hackled them for ages, calling every day until eventually they said gowan..have the grant! (Again, not their exact words :P)

Just cant believe that this new "improved" system is so terrible?!

Anyone else having trouble with them..or heard back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 mrs.matt.bomer

yeah still waiting to hear from them. I applied in June on the day the applications opened, sent off the supporting documents over a month ago only to get another call looking for more stuff >:0 which i promptly sent off so dont expect to get a final decision for another month or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MJT

yeah still waiting to hear from them. I applied in June on the day the applications opened, sent off the supporting documents over a month ago only to get another call looking for more stuff >:0 which i promptly sent off so dont expect to get a final decision for another month or so!

Same, its a disgrace. because i dont have my grant i cant pay my fees, which means i cant get a student card so i cant do anything. i.e sign up for gym, use library etc..Ive already started college and need to get a place to live but cant because i simply cannot afford it! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭kapa

I'm the same, applied in June on the day it opened, sent off my docs about a month after, got a letter looking for more, sent those off about 2 weeks ago. So I rang them today. The guy at the end of the phone was crap, it seemed to be too much bother to even look at my file to tell me what stage its at. He couldnt tell me how long more it will take, couldnt even say if it would be weeks or months. He said when they had made a decision they would contact me. Its just a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

Haven't even got a letter saying which documents are needed, it's been over a month now. :S

Would I be better off just sending off the documents now anyway? I literally know which ones they'll need. :/

Am panicing as if i dont register will lose BTEA. Going to college on monday and see what can be done and the mature student officer in my college was not helpful either. Emailed the student union to see if there was anyone specific to deal with and heard nothing from them!:mad:

Haven't even got a letter saying which documents are needed, it's been over a month now. :S

Would I be better off just sending off the documents now anyway? I literally know which ones they'll need. :/

If i were you i would ring on monday and ask for a yes or no because that is terrible.
    Since you know which one's you'll need have them ready to go so you can send them ASAP.
    The number is on the SUSI website btw :)

MJT wrote: »
    If i were you i would ring on monday and ask for a yes or no because that is terrible.
    Since you know which one's you'll need have them ready to go so you can send them ASAP.
    The number is on the SUSI website btw :)

I've had the documents for months now, but yeah I should give them a ring. Just people saying it was hard to actually get through to them. Bit weary though when it comes to paying fees, and I haven't a letter to even show the college I'm waiting approvement for the grant. :L

kapa wrote: »
    I'm the same, applied in June on the day it opened, sent off my docs about a month after, got a letter looking for more, sent those off about 2 weeks ago. So I rang them today. The guy at the end of the phone was crap, it seemed to be too much bother to even look at my file to tell me what stage its at. He couldnt tell me how long more it will take, couldnt even say if it would be weeks or months. He said when they had made a decision they would contact me. Its just a joke.

its so awful. i heard on the radio that they said everyone should expect delays...wasn't the whole point of a central system that it would be more efficient? So frustrated.

I've had the documents for months now, but yeah I should give them a ring. Just people saying it was hard to actually get through to them. Bit weary though when it comes to paying fees, and I haven't a letter to even show the college I'm waiting approvement for the grant. :L

oh yeah i see what you mean. well persistence pays off so try calling them on monday and dont take no for an answer is the advice i would give. what college are you in btw? different colleges have different policies on fee paying.

your welcome :_

Am panicing as if i dont register will lose BTEA. Going to college on monday and see what can be done and the mature student officer in my college was not helpful either. Emailed the student union to see if there was anyone specific to deal with and heard nothing from them!:mad:

that's a really tough situation. can you even pay a certain percent of the fees to keep them sweet for a month or so?
    Hope it works out that is awful.

that's a really tough situation. can you even pay a certain percent of the fees to keep them sweet for a month or so?
    Hope it works out that is awful.
    well they want half the tuition fees which amounts to 2,500 was hoping to avoid going to the bank of mum and dad, but looks will have to do that. Have been unemployed for a year now so have virtually wiped out our savings too:(

Wow...disgrace. Have you called them and told them that? As my friend did maybe you could hackle them considering your situation. worked for him! :)

going to the mature week from Monday so gonna go down there guns blazing!!!if you see smoke coming from the college green area, just know its me:D

haha, we've been warned :D where are you in college?

TCD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭head_honcho

I'm still waiting on word back too, sent off my documents over a month ago, not a peep out of SUSI, was going to ring them but what I've read and heard is that they are reluctant to tell people or they are only 40% through someone's application. It's so frustrating :(

seems to be the same story over and over again. IMO they knew right well that 40,000+ people applied for college this year and the majority are entitled to a grant. And it's no secret that the school term starts in Sept/Oct!

Maybe give it a go ringing them, I think the more pressure people put on them the better, you've got nothing to loose(except your temper :P)

If you do, let me know how you get on :)

seems to be the same story over and over again. IMO they knew right well that 40,000+ people applied for college this year and the majority are entitled to a grant. And it's no secret that the school term starts in Sept/Oct!

Maybe give it a go ringing them, I think the more pressure people put on them the better, you've got nothing to loose(except your temper :P)

If you do, let me know how you get on :)

I don't know how they can be that slow! I will indeed, no doubt if I ring them I will be on here having a rant about it anyway! :p

Sure thats what boards.ie is for :D Going to ring them myself in the morning for the hell of it,just want to annoy them as much as they annoy me :cool:

I realised I haven't credit to call so I decided to send them an email instead, the first one failed, as did the second email, apparently the SUSI email address doesn't want any emails! :p :rolleyes:

How convenient....... :rolleyes:

I emailed them a month ago, no reply. I wouldn't waste my time emailing them becasue it's very easy for them to ignore.

How convenient....... :rolleyes:

I emailed them a month ago, no reply. I wouldn't waste my time emailing them becasue it's very easy for them to ignore.

I should have known! :rolleyes:

Edit: I rang and got through, my application is still being processed according to the man I spoke to. He said the process takes 2 - 3 weeks (yeah, right, I applied months ago, documents sent over a month ago :rolleyes: ) and I need to call back in a week or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 bef

AS a parent it's also very frustrating, waiting to hear back,applied as soon as the system opened up all documents submitted and nothing yet! not good enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 herpaderp dederp

OMG YES! I have had no news from them too... It's awful. If you pay for your fees first will they pay you back or do you have to contact your college's registration office and tell them that your waiting for them turtles to approve your grant? =/

exactly what I want to know too! :cool:

bef wrote: »
    AS a parent it's also very frustrating, waiting to hear back,applied as soon as the system opened up all documents submitted and nothing yet! not good enough!

Just checked e-mail,provisionly awarded pending sending back final acceptance form,now hopefully will hear back for my other daughter a.s.a.p.!

bef wrote: »
    Just checked e-mail,provisionly awarded pending sending back final acceptance form,now hopefully will hear back for my other daughter a.s.a.p.!

That's great news bef, finally they're on the ball! :eek: good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I did everything as soon as I could, I sent in my documents over a month ago, I've still heard nothing.

Random question; where it says 'application status', is it supposed supposed to say something there?
    Was double checking I applied for it correctly, says submitted so I did.. Just wondering about the 'application status' bit. :/

Random question; where it says 'application status', is it supposed supposed to say something there?
    Was double checking I applied for it correctly, says submitted so I did.. Just wondering about the 'application status' bit. :/

I was awarded mine in the last 10 mins and it said submitted an hour ago.

GarIT wrote: »
    I was awarded mine in the last 10 mins and it said submitted an hour ago.

Mine's said submitted for ages now, haven't even got a letter to say which documents are needed. So basically that 'application status' yoke just says whether you've been successful or not?

I just checked there mine still says submitted. I worked it out though thats only to do with the online application and not the overall application, when you are going through the online application you can take a break at any time, once you complete the online application that changes to submitted.

It could be a coincidence but maybe some people should try it, I logged onto my online application and then less than an hour later it was approved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭cono121

I received an email today off SUSI:

Final Course Acceptance Form Notification - Application Number: W121*********

Dear cono121

Your application is at the provisionally awarded stage. To complete your application you will need to submit a Final Course Acceptance Form. Please log onto www.cdvec.ie/student-Supports/grants.aspx and download the Final Course Acceptance Form. Return the completed form to Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) PO Box 12210, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, as soon as possible.

Thank you

SUSI Support Team

So I presume this is the last step!?!? Anyone else at this stage!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Rose 57

I asked them the same question when they sent out blank forms and I was advised not to so I wouldn't because they will probably be unable to connect them with your application. I know it doesn't do any good but try ringing and asking why you haven't received them. The whole thing is just dreadful and you get through to a call centre and many of them have little understanding of the reality of having to pay upfront for accommodation. They seem to think the Registration Fee is the problem but that is only 72 euro if you are applying for a grant. When I got my letter asking for documents they only asked for some but I sent ALL that I know they need (eg passport photocopy stamped by garda as my daughter was born in the UK) in the hope they will just get the bloody thing done. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Dougal McGuire

cono121 wrote: »
    I received an email today off SUSI:

Final Course Acceptance Form Notification - Application Number: W121*********

Dear cono121

Your application is at the provisionally awarded stage. To complete your application you will need to submit a Final Course Acceptance Form. Please log onto www.cdvec.ie/student-Supports/grants.aspx and download the Final Course Acceptance Form. Return the completed form to Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) PO Box 12210, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, as soon as possible.

Thank you

SUSI Support Team

So I presume this is the last step!?!? Anyone else at this stage!?

yup, I got the same email.
    I presume for Part 3, if you go to college in the Republic then you dont have to fill that part out?
    http://www.cdvec.ie/getattachment/Student-Supports/Grants/Final-Course-Acceptance-Form.pdf.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 theNewGirl

yup, I got the same email.
    I presume for Part 3, if you go to college in the Republic then you dont have to fill that part out?
    http://www.cdvec.ie/getattachment/Student-Supports/Grants/Final-Course-Acceptance-Form.pdf.aspx

Yeah I got that too! :D I don't know about anyone else but I found part 4 a little confusing...I had to ring them to make sure, I didn't want to mess up on the last part, I was on hold for 15 minutes :eek: I just hope I get word back again soon, I start on Monday but have to register this Thursday at orientation...

That's great news bef, finally they're on the ball! :eek: good luck!
    THANKS, LIKEWISE....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 shubj

I've still not heard even though I sent documents in August. Am on my own with a kid and have relocated to be in college. This SUSI system is a joke in my opinion.

shubj wrote: »
    I've still not heard even though I sent documents in August. Am on my own with a kid and have relocated to be in college. This SUSI system is a joke in my opinion.

Agreed, it was much simpler when my local county council handled my grant. I submitted mine online on 26th June and documents at end of July and no word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 shubj

I rang them today and he said my documents have still not been marked as scanned in, was I sure I sent them. Yes by registered post actually! How are the help desk meant to advise us when 'for security reasons' they don't know anything.

shubj wrote: »
    I rang them today and he said my documents have still not been marked as scanned in, was I sure I sent them. Yes by registered post actually! How are the help desk meant to advise us when 'for security reasons' they don't know anything.

They are slow to open new letters when they are working on other ones. It took them three weeks after I sent mine before they had it, I asked what was wrong when they said they hadn't recieved them for so long and the person on the phone seem to say it was what normally happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭Maggie 2

Speak to the BTEA person in your local labour exchange. They are very good, really and know that there's a backlog. Don't be intimidated. Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭marvin_spazz

i rang them earlier to see the craic as hadnt even got the letter looking for the documents. told my application was cancelled today and i would get letter in post saying why. wtf :eek: guy on phone didnt know the reason but said the letter will say what you have to do. im on btea so couldnt see why they would take such drastic measures anyways i got off phone and went to have a look at my application and noticed i made an idiotic mistake where in the box marked cao number i entered the course number. clap clap for me.

so i ring back and get another guy who i tell the sceal to hoping he can just enter the f@cking cao number and we are back on track. no no he cannot do that doesnt have the power or he cannot put me on to anybody that does.my best bet he told me as the letter has not been sent yet is to send an email to support and explain and hopefully ''someone'' will reopen the application.

now i know i made a mistake here but couldnt person have just rang me and asked for cao number? sending out a letter and me then sending in new application seems pointless so hopefully someone in support if they do in fact looks at emails clicks a few buttons instead of a waste of good paper and postage. im not too hopeful they can even manage this and i will be back of the line. FML. probably pester them again soon. its a load of bollocks:mad:

This system is just another way for civil servants to be unanswerable for their sheer ineptitude and incompetence.

In a way i do feel sorry for the people answering the phones as they are taking the brunt of frustration when there is wasters in the background who obviously have been doing very little and yet are accountable for nothing. Someone elses birth cert arrived back with my originals. Thats how reckless these people are. In an age where fraud is a constant threat to do something as stupid and yet no one will be held accountable for it.

i rang them earlier to see the craic as hadnt even got the letter looking for the documents. told my application was cancelled today and i would get letter in post saying why. wtf :eek: guy on phone didnt know the reason but said the letter will say what you have to do. im on btea so couldnt see why they would take such drastic measures anyways i got off phone and went to have a look at my application and noticed i made an idiotic mistake where in the box marked cao number i entered the course number. clap clap for me.

so i ring back and get another guy who i tell the sceal to hoping he can just enter the f@cking cao number and we are back on track. no no he cannot do that doesnt have the power or he cannot put me on to anybody that does.my best bet he told me as the letter has not been sent yet is to send an email to support and explain and hopefully ''someone'' will reopen the application.

now i know i made a mistake here but couldnt person have just rang me and asked for cao number? sending out a letter and me then sending in new application seems pointless so hopefully someone in support if they do in fact looks at emails clicks a few buttons instead of a waste of good paper and postage. im not too hopeful they can even manage this and i will be back of the line. FML. probably pester them again soon. its a load of bollocks:mad:

Look dont beat yourself up its a simple mistake to make which with a bit of common sense could have been rectified. Another thing i noticed though is that when you enter data in some of the fields on their system it could be submitted to another field.

For eg i attended 2 colleges and put in the 2 addresses and when i reviewed my application they were mixed up. System is full of bugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭zzdp

i received this email 2 days ago!:)

Your application is at the provisionally awarded stage. To complete your application you will need to submit a Final Course Acceptance Form. Please log onto www.cdvec.ie/student-Supports/grants.aspx and download the Final Course Acceptance Form. Return the completed form to Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) PO Box 12210, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, as soon as possible. Thank you
    SUSI Support Team

zzdp wrote: »
    i received this email 2 days ago!:)

Your application is at the provisionally awarded stage. To complete your application you will need to submit a Final Course Acceptance Form. Please log onto www.cdvec.ie/student-Supports/grants.aspx and download the Final Course Acceptance Form. Return the completed form to Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) PO Box 12210, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, as soon as possible. Thank you
    SUSI Support Team

Good stuff. What date did you apply if you dont mind my asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 theNewGirl

Good stuff. What date did you apply if you dont mind my asking?

Em if it helps I got the same email a few days ago too and I applied the same day it came out...but had to resend a few documents, so it might have hindered me a bit.

Oh and I only had this e-mail and they have me a student card. So not too many worries at this stage

theNewGirl wrote: »
    Em if it helps I got the same email a few days ago too and I applied the same day it came out...but had to resend a few documents, so it might have hindered me a bit.

Oh and I only had this e-mail and they have me a student card. So not too many worries at this stage

Ah once you have that email your practically sorted. I dont even have that.

You done well to get it after resending documents. i had misread the proof of address request that they wanted a bank stmt dating back before Oct 2011 and another dated for before April 2012. i read it as 1 stmt that covers the period between the 2 dates. They got onto me and I posted them back almost immediately.

Someone else told me that once i have the earlier letter that i can submit that with a €100 deposit to the college, which i will get back when the grant comes through so thats not so bad either.