If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

1131415161719»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

I'm in a similar enough position to yourself, limbo really. Ever thought about joining a club? I think it's something that I really should do but whether I do or not is another thing!

I'm actually a member of Dunboyne ac but with 2 babies under 16 months in the house the evenings are pretty much ruled out for training for a while which is a pity as I miss it. I'd definitely recommend joining a club, I only had about 10 months of consistent training with them and I improved a huge amount in that time. I still run with the lads on a Sunday which is great.

Monday 22nd September 5.07 miles avg pace 8.14

A very easy recovery run to shake out any cobwebs after the race on Saturday, no aches or pains to note.

Tuesday 23rd September

6.11 miles avg pace 7.54

Another easy run today, will probably take it handy enough this week and just tip away banging out the easy milage.

Wednesday 24th September

5.19 miles avg pace 8.06

I had planned on 8 miles but decided to cut it short after a couple of miles and turned back to work.

I wasn't feeling great when I woke up this morning, I was up with the baby for almost 2 hours last night so I put it down to that. But a few minutes into the run I began to feel shivery and it was like someone turned on a tap up my nose. So I think I'm getting a cold, hopefully it will be gone tomorrow as I rarely get these things and when I do they don't last more than a day or 2. It's funny really as I seem to get these little headcolds more now than I did when I was fat lad living the rock and roll lifestyle.

Quick update, there was a bereavement in the family last Friday that really floored me. Usually I consider myself quite strong in these situations but for whatever reason this one got to me in a big way. Needless to say training and diet has been all over the shop the last few days. Plenty of eating crappy food washed down with even crappier booze.

I did manage to get 37 miles done in the last week, some fast angry miles but mainly slow hungover miles feeling very fat and sluggish.
    I hope to be back on track with training by Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Sorry to hear that. At least you got running to help deal with it.
    Mind yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Sorry to hear that wowzer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Sorry to hear that man, my deepest sympathies.

Cheers Ososlo, PM and Tang.
    Tang, I hope your mam has a speedy recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Sorry to hear about your loss Wowzer.. Take care of yourself.

Sunday 05th October

12.06 miles avg pace 7.58

A nice handy run this morning with my cringeworthy guilty pleasure (Phil collins - serious hits live) on the ipod. I was kind of expecting this one to be tough but in all honesty I bounced along and felt like I was always hitting the breaks to slow down.

Didn't get into London marathon which was disappointing but I'm glad I know either way so I can get on with things. Was half thinking of going back to Rotterdam or maybe do Manchester but I don't think I'll bother. I'll focus on Bohermeen half in march instead and give that a good lash and hopefully I'll be in a good position for Berlin or dcm next year.

Monday 06th October

5.11 miles avg pace 8.23

A very easy run to test out some kinvara shoes, need to lose the nike pegasus since the new model came out.

Tuesday 07th October

5.97 miles avg pace 7.22

I want to do one interval type session a week so today I did 11×400 @ 5k pace off 30secs jog recoveries.

Having never set up a workout on my watch I thought I'd give it a bash here. Was meant to set 10 reps but I obviously set it wrong so just went with it and did the extra one.

After a little over a mile warm up I started on the 1st 400, looked at my watch to check the pace and realised no pace is being displayed. A little bit of a panic set in but I said to myself feck it what can I do and just went at a pace that was hard but not balls out. I was hoping to do the 400s at the same pace as my last 5k race so that meant 6 min mile pace exactly. Or 90 seconds per 400.

I carried on and really did feel relaxed but I knew I was working hard at the same time. The 11 reps finished in the blink of and eye and I sauntered back to work thinking I made a right b0llix of that session as I had no clue of what pace I was going. Uploaded the data and to my suprise all 11 reps were within 2 seconds on each other 87-89 seconds so I pretty much got it spot on without realising it. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Nice session Wowzer.

Wednesday 08th October

6.36 miles avg pace 8.12

A nice handy one again today in the new kicks. I'm beginning to like these.

Thursday 09th October

7.16 miles avg pace 7.32

Thursday is tempo day so I did 3 miles at lactate threshold (cheers overpronator for that one)
    Set off and did 2 miles very easy to warm myself up for my LT miles. The 3 miles came in at 6.20, 6.16 & 6.19. The wind was at my back during the second mile. OP reliably informed me my LT pace is around 6.25 so these were probably a tiny bit too quick.
    Then 2 miles nice and easy back to work. The tempo section felt good, I was working hard enough against the breeze but it was by no means a struggle. A good enjoyable workout today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Just in case you were wondering where I got that from its in the McMillan Calculator website. When you pop in a recent race pace it appears just above the readouts as vLT and in the training paces section it tells you rough guides for pace on the different types of run. Its just me robbing that off the interweb!!

Friday 10th October

8.29 miles avg pace 8.02

A 6.30am start for this meant it was dark and cold, perfect weather for running, I really enjoy running in winter. Happy with this weeks training. I have no real targets for the rest of the year so I will base my training around the jingle bells 5k in December.

Sunday 12th October

15.01 miles avg pace 8.14

Met with a few lads from the club for this one. All talk was about the marathon and I would be telling porkies if I said I wasn't jealous.

The run itself was an easy enough affair and the miles flew by. I did tire a bit in the last couple of miles but overall it was a good run in perfect conditions.

How goes the running? You still training away?

Any chance of this being resurrected?

tang1 wrote: »
    Any chance of this being resurrected?

Nah don't think so B, wasn't getting the interest/input from the majority of posters on here so I decided to leave it when all that stuff blew up late last year.

To be honest it became a bit of a chore at times with having 2 babies 11 months apart so I had to prioritise other stuff.

However ill give a quick update of what I've done so far this year.

The madness of 2 young babies died down in January so I started to build again. Where there's a will there's a way, no more excuses I just put the head down and made the time to put in the training needed.

I've run over 1000 miles so far this year.
    I've run 3 races and clocked 3 pbs and i'll be running in kilbride or Clonee and will knock another chunk off a PB then too.

I'm going to Berlin in september and will hopefully be in a position to knock a huge chunk off my current marathon PB.

Glad to see you're well on the road to getting back to where you where. For what it's worth I thought you were a bit hard on yourself at the weekend.

wowzer wrote: »
    Nah don't think so B, wasn't getting the interest/input from the majority of posters on here so I decided to leave it when all that stuff blew up late last year.

To be honest it became a bit of a chore at times with having 2 babies 11 months apart so I had to prioritise other stuff.

However ill give a quick update of what I've done so far this year.

The madness of 2 young babies died down in January so I started to build again. Where there's a will there's a way, no more excuses I just put the head down and made the time to put in the training needed.

I've run over 1000 miles so far this year.
    I've run 3 races and clocked 3 pbs and i'll be running in kilbride or Clonee and will knock another chunk off a PB then too.

I'm going to Berlin in september and will hopefully be in a position to knock a huge chunk off my current marathon PB.

Glad to see you're well on the road to getting back to where you where. For what it's worth I thought you were a bit hard on yourself at the weekend.

Can certainly vouch for the craziness of a two child house alright, can be hard to get out at times. Great to see all is well family & running wise, ah i was a bit hard maybe but i'm not being cocky but that was a muck time for me and i should be doing better, not point being easy on myself anymore i'm well over the injuries. Keep us informed every now & then if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Well done on your sub 3 you legend :D
    told ya!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Great run wowzer.
    Very consistent pacing.

Cheers Ososlo and Yaboya.
    Was touch and go for a mile at the end but I just managed to hold on. Delighted with it to be honest, a 15 min PB too so happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Well lad, delighted for you. Enjoy the celebrations!