If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Friday 01st August

8.27 miles avg pace 7.34

Up bright and early with a sick baby this morning so I really wasnt in the mood for running to work but all my cycling gear was in the wash so I had no choice. It actually went ok once I got out, it was dull, grey, drizzly and cold when I headed out the door at 6.30 this morning, perfect weather for running.

Found an old Ipod buried in the wardrobe at home so charged that baby up to see what was on it and much to my delight I came accross a Sasha & Digweed Renaissance Mix, the 1994 release. Used that Ipod this morning for my run, so thats probably why the pace was a little quicker than what easy pace should have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

wowzer wrote: »
    I'm an all or nothing person, I'm not disciplined enough to confine my chocolate binges to weekends only.

Well done, that for me takes more discipline than having a weekend release valve.

Tuesday 5th July

8.5 miles at around 8.30 pace

No running all weekend, simply just didn't feel like running so I didnt. I've never felt like that before and to be honest it was a joy not running. I had also planned on hitting the park to watch the half marathon but I wasn't bothered when the time came.

So today the running God's got their revenge, I thought I'd bounce along during my run home today, but that didn't happen at all. The legs didn't want to move and felt stiff and heavy, it was a total slog. Also the garmin was acting the prick too and wouldn't locate a satellite the whole 70 minutes I was running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Tuesday 5th July

8.5 miles at around 8.30 pace

No running all weekend, simply just didn't feel like running so I didnt. I've never felt like that before and to be honest it was a joy not running. I had also planned on hitting the park to watch the half marathon but I wasn't bothered when the time came.

So today the running God's got their revenge, I thought I'd bounce along during my run home today, but that didn't happen at all. The legs didn't want to move and felt stiff and heavy, it was a total slog. Also the garmin was acting the prick too and wouldn't locate a satellite the whole 70 minutes I was running.

It's only one bad run. I'm sure the next one will be much more enjoyable. That's the great thing about running, there's always tomorrow! And the day after that, and the day after that...
    Hope the chocolate embargo is going well!

Ososlo wrote: »
    It's only one bad run. I'm sure the next one will be much more enjoyable. That's the great thing about running, there's always tomorrow! And the day after that, and the day after that...
    Hope the chocolate embargo is going well!

Ah yeah I know, I'll be back to normal tomorrow hopefully.. I will have to remember that a 3 day rest is not good for me.

Still no chocolate, its not so hard now either. A nice lady gave me a tip that I tried and it did the job, however I would be worried about the calorie count of all these smoothies and yoghurts, I'd probably be better off eating chocolate :)

Glad to see you didn't give up on the log.

Wednesday 06th August

8.29 mile avg pace 8.08

A nice run in to work this morning, everything felt a whole lot better today than it felt yesterday despite the early start.

After swearing blind last year i'd never do it again I entered the Frank Duffy 10 mile race today to try and give some sort of focus in training for the next few weeks. The way things are going lately i'll be lucky to break 70 minutes but i'm ok with that as I'm half thinking of pressing the reset button to sort my head out and just run lots of easy miles for the remainder the year and hopefully start the new year raring to go.

Wednesday 06th August

8.29 mile avg pace 8.08

A nice run in to work this morning, everything felt a whole lot better today than it felt yesterday despite the early start.

After swearing blind last year i'd never do it again I entered the Frank Duffy 10 mile race today to try and give some sort of focus in training for the next few weeks. The way things are going lately i'll be lucky to break 70 minutes but i'm ok with that as I'm half thinking of pressing the reset button to sort my head out and just run lots of easy miles for the remainder the year and hopefully start the new year raring to go.
    Great stuff. Delighted to hear you're back on track today.
    Will you target another marathon next year do you think or what's the long-term goal?

Great stuff. Delighted to hear you're back on track today.
    Will you target another marathon next year do you think or what's the long-term goal?

I entered the international ballot for London, very slim chance of being accepted but if I do get in I'll give it a good shot.

Long term goal is a sub3 marathon, Im hoping that DCM 2015 will be my first attempt. Long way off that now but hopefully a good block of training will see things click in to place.

Thursday 07th August

8.06 miles avg pace 6.58

After saying yesterday that I doubted my current ability to run the frank Duffy in under 70 minutes I decided to give 8 miles at 7 min pace a bash.

Absolutely flew this run, felt great and really controlled throughout.

Running these last few weeks has been a bit hap hazard, I need to nail down some sort of plan soon.

Sounds like someone's back on track :D
    great stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Your being soft on yourself thinking you wont break 70 mins in the Frank Duffy, you'll easily break that.

tang1 wrote: »
    Your being soft on yourself thinking you wont break 70 mins in the Frank Duffy, you'll easily break that.

Ah I know Tang, i'll set out targetting a PB anyway.

The PB stands at 69.01 and unofficially I went through 10 miles in under 68 mins in bohermeen half in March so I should be good for it. But that's what I thought going into Dunshaughlin and Fingal so there's reason for my apprehension.

Ah I know Tang, i'll set out targetting a PB anyway.

The PB stands at 69.01 and unofficially I went through 10 miles in under 68 mins in bohermeen half in March so I should be good for it. But that's what I thought going into Dunshaughlin and Fingal so there's reason for my apprehension.

Trust the training is all i can say cause its been solid & impressive. You dont need me telling you what your capable of, your well aware of that yourself.

Friday 08th August

6.37 miles avg pace 7.54

A smashing rain soaked easy run at lunchtime today. There is something nice about running in heavy rain. I went out along sandymount today, no breeze for a change.

I felt like I could run all day at that pace, suppose that's what easy pace is supposed to feel like though. I was just glad to be out on my own away from the stresses of work and 2 sick babies at home.

Off work for a week now, so that means I'll either get very few runs done depending on circumstances at home or ill be able to give training a good lash, hopefully its the latter. I may even get to make a special appearance at the club, haven't been there since February. Tuesdays session looks tasty 3x1600 @ 5k pace so I'd like to do that if I can.

Sunday 10th August

15.01 miles avg pace 8.32

Long run with a few club mates in the Phoenix park this morning. Nice and relaxed pace shooting the breeze with the lads made the time fly by.. these are my favorite runs each week.

Monday 11th August

7.02 miles avg pace 8.14

After almost 4 hours walking around the zoo I met with a mate for a few easy miles.. An unremarkable run really and the hour flew by while having a natter so it was great to have a bit of company today.

Tuesday 12th August

5.04 miles avg pace 6.54

After another family day out my window for a run was very slim, I had hoped to hit the club this evening but it didn't happen.

I took myself up to porterstown instead and did the planned club session by myself. Session was 3x1 mile @ 5k pace.

I settled on 6.10 as my planned pace for these, the reps were quite consistent at 6.09, 6.08 & 6.11. First 2 were nice and controlled but the 3rd was all over the shop as I wasn't really concentrating and I really had to work the last 400 meters or so to hit the target, so much so that I was close to heaving after it.
    All good though and I'm happy with that workout this evening.

Thursday 14th August

7.93 miles avg pace 7.23

Another family day out yesterday had me wrecked so no recovery miles yesterday.

Today I planned on doing 4 miles at HM pace as im gonna run HM pace in the frank duffy next week, 6.45-6.50 pace so after a mile warm up I set off. Felt absolutely $hite so I had to stop for a breather after mile 1 which came in at 6.53. The legs just didn't wanna wake up today but I stuck with my plan and got the next 3 miles done in 6.48, 6.50 & 6.48. Job done but it was a toughie. Missing my usual recovery miles definitely had an affect.

I also think not cycling my usual 17 miles a day to work has an affect too as I use my cycle commute as recovery.

Probably no running till Sunday now as the bro is home from Oz so there will be plenty of pints the next couple of days :)

Coming up to 4 weeks off chocolate too, it deffo gets easier.

Saturday 16th August

11.47 miles avg pace 8.37

An easy run this morning in a very windy Phoenix Park.. we took in part of the new frank Duffy route, the stretch outside the park is a definite improvement. Looking forward to racing next week.

Monday 18 August

5.04 miles avg pace 8.43

I had some company for my lunch time run today which helped me keep the pace nice and slow which is exactly what I want on race week.
    I'm feeling really good today, hopefully the tide is changing and I start to enjoy my running again. Also seeing that there is 10 weeks to the marathon I've started to feel a slight bit of jealousy towards the marathon runners, part of me wishes I was doing it.

Tuesday 19th August

6.22 miles avg pace 7.47

Handy lunchtime run today, 2 warm up miles around 8.20 pace followed by 2 HM pace miles, 6.44 & 6.41 followed by 2 more easy miles.

I wanted to do a couple of miles at my planned pace for Saturday, I felt great and very comfortable and toyed with the idea of finishing out the run at that pace but got some sense and pulled the brakes. Very easy running for the rest of the week.

Wednesday 20th August

5.44 miles avg pace 8.24

Easy little trot around Fairview and Clontarf today. Nothing really of note to say about this run at all.

I was nearly afraid to post on my log out of fear of being branded ridiculous :)

Wednesday 20th August

5.44 miles avg pace 8.24

Easy little trot around Fairview and Clontarf today. Nothing really of note to say about this run at all.

I was nearly afraid to post on my log out of fear of being branded ridiculous :)

There's training posted on every single post of the last page wowzer so I think you're ok. Phew!

:) thanks for putting my mind at ease Ososlo.

Thursday 21st August

3.66 miles avg pace 9.02

Well this was an eventful run, set out with 6 easy miles in mind but after only 3 minutes my stomach started giving me trouble so I had to make an emergency pit stop in Connolly Station. When I finished me business I felt good so continued on my merry way around the streets of inner city Dublin. Up through summerhill I felt more cramps and things got to another emergency state by the time I hit ballybough. Thank god for the ballybough youth centre!!!!

I was over a mile away from work and had no cash on me so I had no choice but to run back very gingerly and hope I wouldn't have another episode. It wasn't a nice experience and I felt very weak. Its a strange one, while I have had one or two emergencies in the past it never felt like this.

Another thing to note, I've been wearing the new Pegasus 31s for about 70 miles now and I just don't like them as much as previous versions. I have been wearing Pegasus since the 28s were released. Something just doesn't feel right, maybe it is time for a change.

Best of luck tomorrow, expect nothing less than a PB.

Friday 22 August

3.29 miles avg pace 8.37

I dont usually run the day before a race but today I decided I better get a few easy miles in to test the stomach after yesterdays issues. I'm quite disappointed to report the issue remains and I had to make 2 emergency stops today. I'll have to medicate with some immodium in the morning to prevent an unsightly incident during the race.
    I must have picked up a bug or something as my diet is probably better now than it ever has been, i'm not drinking excessive amounts of caffine or eating 5hite food in general.

Other than that i'm raring to go tomorrow.. PB stands at 69.01, hopefully a new one will be set tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Best of luck tomorrow Wowzer - hopefully there will be no "stomach" issues!

Got the PB, 68.16 so 46 seconds off. I'm happy with that (for now) :)
    I'll do a report at some stage over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Congrats on the pb and a good run.