Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just for the craic

• 21-06-2012 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭

Been lurking on these boards for a long time but never post, really enjoy reading other training logs on both this forum and the health and fitness forum. So decided to start my own in the run up to DCM 2012.

Bit of background first, 2 years ago i was weighing in at just under 20stone, 279lbs to be precise, so a couple of months after I hit 31 decided to try and lose a bit of weight. Long story short I have lost the guts of 6 stone over the 2 years through both diet & exercise, the stickies on the H&F forum are a god send and they guys/gals over there really know their stuff.

Only started running in May 11 and I was awful, I thought I had a decent level of fitness through my commute to work (cycle 17.5miles round trip) 5 days a week and a decent strength program, but running was something I could not do. But managed to stick at at and completed the race series half marathon in Sept in 1h 46m. Was delighted with this and decided to take my running a bit more serious. Luckily I have a pretty sporty family and my brothers are decent runners and have been giving me a hand with speed work etc.

This year I decided to join the BHAA and have done a couple of races, current PBs are 5k 20.31, 5mile 33.44 & 10k 42.41. McMillan has me at around 3.20 for the marathon, will obviously have to work hard to get it but wont be too disappointed if I dont, my more realistic goal is 3.30. Still undecided on the plan to follow, will have to decide soon as the 18 week plans are due to start next week.

I'm currently at 35m per week, this is done over 5 runs per week, furthest LSR is up to 13 at the moment, have gone further but not since February. I'm also commuting on my bike 5 time a week and try to fit in 3 or 4 weight sessions a week. Dont want to lose the hard earned muscle i've gained, i know this is going to be difficult and I am aware that i will lose some, but will adjust the food/protein/cals accordingly.

Anyway thats it, thats me, have been toying with doing this for a while so now the hard part is done it feels good to have the log started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Good luck to you! Sounds like you've got great discipline, so keep a focus on your goals and you should be fine. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

Thanks dory, don't have enough posts to use the thank button yet..

I'm targeting 3:30 for my marathon on October 7th and just started my 16 week plan this week. Definitely find a plan you like and stick to it - it will give you structure and the proper type of training that will serve you well come race day. I look forward to reading your progress, and will probably compare it to my own. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Best of Luck with the log and the marathon journey...you have done great work by the sounds of it so far but you are not alone...come and join us on the Novice Thread !!! :D

Thanks dory, if you don't mind me asking what plan are you following for your marathon? Best of luck to you too with your attempt at 3.30.. let's hope the training goes well in our quest for 3.30.

Hi younganne I have been following the novice thread since its started, its a great source of knowledge and support for us newbie marathon runners. hopefully now that I've started logging I will also contribute to the novice thread.

I used the Furman Institute of Running (FIRST) 16 week training plan for my first marathon (this past April on an insanely hilly course - came in at 3:42), and I liked the plan so much that I'm using it again this cycle. I got my plan from catweazle here on the boards, but here's a link to their 18 week program you might want to look at.

http://marathon.harvard.edu/images/first_first.pdf

I know some of the folks follow a P&D plan, and I think ecoli provides some marathon training guidance (perhaps on that awesome novice thread Younganne referred you to) - ecoli knows his stuff, so pay attention to his advice.

If you decide to go with the FIRST plan for your training and have any questions or need help computing the appropriate paces for the three key runs let me know. I purchased the book this plan is based on so I have all the necessary charts and graphs and mathematical equations you'll ever need to get you through this training. :)

I took a closer look at the FIRST plan I linked for you and I believe that is the novice plan, which may be what you are looking for since it is lower mileage than their experienced marathoner plan....but....what I like about the experienced marathoner plan is that it provides for four 20 mile LSRs while the novice plan only has one. Here's a link to the experienced marathoner plan by FIRST. I couldn't find this plan through the FIRST website, but I did find it through another. Just scroll down to where you see Week 18.

http://www.marathon-training-program.com/three-day-program-faster.html

Cheers Dory for taking the time to dig that out for me. I like the look of the second plan linked with the 4 20 milers in it. It looks like a plan that I could deal with. Or maybe i am being a little too ambitious for my first marathon?
    Will do a little more research over the weekend. But out of all the plans I have seen your one appeals to me the most. So if I decide to go with your plan i will be picking your brains.

Log for today Friday 22nd June 2012

9.13 miles in 1.18, avg pace 8.35per mile.
    A nice easy run home from work, was planning to keep the miles around 8.30pace but that breeze was very strong in places so happy enough with today's run.
    That makes a total of 617miles for the year.
    Just realized today that the race series 5mile is next Saturday as my number arrived today, so that makes it 2 races next week for me as i'm doing a 5k on Tuesday. So if i choose an 18 week marathon plan I may have to skip week 1. is it ok to do this?:confused::confused:

I am absolutely positively no expert on running or running training, but I'd say it's totally okay to skip the first week, especially for the reasons you stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

I don't think 3.30 is an unreasonable target for your first marathon given your shorter distance times.

You should also take a look at P&D's Advance Marathoning 55mpw plan. There is an 18 week plan that has 5 runs per week with a peak weekly mileage of 55 miles. I followed it for Connemara and did a 3.36. It also got my half PB down to 1.34.

Best of luck with it.

Cheers griffin, have been considering that p&d plan, correct me if I am wrong here but a lot of it seems to be based on training by heart rate and I don't have a h.r monitor at the moment. And to be honest I don't really understand how it all works. Think I would have to read the book before I would feel comfortable with that plan. But maybe I'm over complicating things here by thinking too much about it. The trials and tribulations of that first marathon, I'm sure you have all been through the same..

Saturday 23rd June 2012

Rest day from running.
    Weight session, back and chest day.
    Press ups, pull ups, weighted dips, bench press, bent over barbell rows followed by a quick core workout of hanging leg raises and 4X1 minute planks.

Sunday 24th June 2012

5 Miles in 37.14 avg pace 7.26 per mile followed by 1 mile cool down, so 6 miles in total.

Went to the Phoenix Park this morning to run the route of the 5 mile race series race next week. A nice steady pace run, not too quick but quick enough to feel like I got a good workout. Second half of the route is quite tough. Not a good course if you are chasing a PB especially if the breeze is blowing the same direction as it was this morning.

Monday 25th June 2012

Was in a bit of a lazy mood so no running on Monday. Decided my commute would be enough to keep the legs ticking over till the 5k BHAA race in the park. Did another chest workout in the gym, even though i only did one on saturday. Whenever i'm feeling lazy I work my chest, i dont know why I do this. Glad I did it though as after a few warm up sets I managed to bang out 6 reps of 80kg using dumbells, this is the heaviest i've lifted with dumbells..

Actually I just read over what I posted there, I think i'll stop logging the weight sessions on this log as it is a running forum after all.

Tuesday 26th June 2012

Race tonight, would love to finally dip under 20mins for 5k but i'm not so sure its gonna happen tonight in a trail race. I dont like trail running, i much prefer the bounce off the road. Will see how it goes, hopefully the trail isnt too soft.

5k bhaa race
    Time 22.02, not happy with that at all. Was very warm this evening and the trail wasn't great. But after speaking to a few of the lads afterwards I didn't feel so bad. They all felt it was very tough out there tonight and were all between 60 to 90 secs off their pbs too so at least we were all in the same boat. First time I ever felt like giving up in a race, glad I didn't though. Will have to take it easy when running for the rest of the week if I want to give the 5 miles race series a good shot on Saturday.

I'm not sure how the trails are where you live, but here in the states each trail is unique and slightly unpredictable which then means each course has it's own "PB" time, so definitely don't be hard on yourself. For all you know, on a static road course you may have gotten that sub 20. Tonight was good for you....and not quitting is good practice. :)

Wednesday 27th June 2012

6 miles in 49 mins, 8.18avg pace

Easy enough run today at lunch, it was so hot and humid out there. Did this run with a mate, he is trying to add a bit of speedwork to his training so he asked me to pace him at 7.15 pace for 2 laps of ringsend park with 90 seconds recovery between laps. Poor lad nearly died at that pace but fair play to him got his 2 laps done, a lap measured at approx .75 of a mile so it was a good workout.

Thursday 28th June 2012

5.91 miles in 50.46 avg pace 8.36 per mile

Easy run today, kept the pace pretty even the whole way tryng not to go over 8.40 or under 8.30. still very humid and breezy that meant this run felt a bit more labored than it should have felt. No running tomorrow in prep for the 5 mile race on Saturday.

Saturday 30th June 2012

7.5 miles in total, 5m road race series 34.19 avg 6.50, 2.5 miles warm up and cool down.

Happy with the race today, i knew that a pb was not going to happen on that course so to be just over 30 seconds off is a good result for me. As i wasnt targeting a pb my plan was to try and keep a steady pace for the 5 miles, i wanted to keep it around 6.45 per mile, my pace slightly dropped off target on the final 1.5miles coming up that second hill, but all in all i'm happy with todays race.
    I enjoyed the atmosphere and craic today everyone seemed in good spirits despite the heavy showers...

Sunday 01st July 2012

11 miles 90.46min avg 8.15 per mile

This weeks LSR, felt good but was feeling yesterdays race from about 7 miles onwards but managed to maintain my pace.

On another note, finished yesterdays race in 304th position over all, not bad considering over 4000 took place.

managed to get my photo taken too on the home stretch.

http://www.racepix.com/PP5Mile2012/racephotos/760/photo/166/

Tuesday 03rd July 2012

8 miles 69.15mins 8.40 avg pace
    Nothing to report on this easy aerobic run. still find it hard to run slow though, these slow paces require a lot more concentration..

Wednesday 04th July 2012

6 miles, 50.15mins avg pace 8.19 per mile

Easy run today at lunchtime, still quite warm and humid out there today.

Thursday 05th July 2012

9.18 miles, 80.33mins avg pace 8.46per mile

Another easy paced run home from work today, ran a mile for every beer i'm gonna have today at the stone roses gig in the park :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

wowzer wrote: »
    Thursday 05th July 2012

9.18 miles, 80.33mins avg pace 8.46per mile

Another easy paced run home from work today, ran a mile for every beer i'm gonna have today at the stone roses gig in the park :)

Some of us have all the fun, love to be going!! Great band.

they were a super band back in their hey day, hope the weather holds out.. ran past the stage on the way home, its huge... cant wait :)

Friday 06th July 2012

5 miles 44.41min avg pace 8.56 per mile.

5 very very hungover and slow miles today, really didnt want to get out of bed to do this but somehow managed to do it. actually feel great now that i've got it done, hangover seems to have cleared a bit. Great gig last night, lots and lots of pints were had..

Sunday 08th July 2012

10.5 miles 92.32mins avg pace 8.47per mile.

A nice easy rain soaked run today, i'm a bit weird i love running in the rain. Ran in the park again its in some state after the concerts. going back there this evening for florence and snow patrol concert, no booze today though :(

Tuesday 10th July 2012

4 miles 32.27mins 8.07 avg pace

Easy 4 miles today, racing 5k tomorrow so wasnt going to run at all this evening but as yesterday was a rest day i just had to get out today. been a very long time since i had 2 consecutive days off running.. gonna give this sub 20 mins a good crack tomorrow, been reading a bit about the course being flat and quick but there are loads of turns so might not be as quick as i'd like..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Tuesday 10th July 2012

4 miles 32.27mins 8.07 avg pace

Easy 4 miles today, racing 5k tomorrow so wasnt going to run at all this evening but as yesterday was a rest day i just had to get out today. been a very long time since i had 2 consecutive days off running.. gonna give this sub 20 mins a good crack tomorrow, been reading a bit about the course being flat and quick but there are loads of turns so might not be as quick as i'd like..
    Good luck with the race. Hope you run like a scalded cat:D

Best of luck with sub 20 assault tomorrow evening. Pin the ears back and run like hell!! Hoping for same myself in Kinnegad.

Cheers tang, hope tomorrow goes to plan for you too...

BHAA 5k in irishtown in 20.14 still can't go sub 20 but a pb by 17 seconds so happy and disappointed at the same time. I think on a course with less sharp turns and less congestion at the start I would have had that sub 20 today. Ah well my times are heading in the right direction so all is good.

Total mileage today is 6.5 miles as I did a mile and a half warm up and 2 miles cooldown.

BHAA 5k in irishtown in 20.14 still can't go sub 20 but a pb by 17 seconds so happy and disappointed at the same time. I think on a course with less sharp turns and less congestion at the start I would have had that sub 20 today. Ah well my times are heading in the right direction so all is good.

Total mileage today is 6.5 miles as I did a mile and a half warm up and 2 miles cooldown.

Hard luck on the sub 20 attempt. Took me while to get under it to, just keep logging the miles.

Thanks tang, i will get it next time. how did you go yourself??

19.55, happy out with it as i hadn't run since last Thursday due to sore arches in my feet. Trip to Amphibian King on Saturday hopefully will sort that out.

Good lad tang, 2 sub 20's in a row, impressive..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

BHAA 5k in irishtown in 20.14 still can't go sub 20 but a pb by 17 seconds so happy and disappointed at the same time. I think on a course with less sharp turns and less congestion at the start I would have had that sub 20 today.

Yeah, I'd say the course cost me about 20 seconds last night so in a faster race you should be fine.

Cheers ray, that huge rain/hail shower didn't help the times either, although it was great for cooling us down.

Thursday 12th July 2012

8.07 miles 62.27mins avg pace 7.48per mile.

Decided to try something different and run without my watch as i look at the stupid thing every 30 seconds when running so i turned it on and put it in my pocket and headed out for this run. I'm a numbers geek and it would kill me to do a run but have no data to analyse later so i just had to bring the watch with me somehow. had no real plan, just wanted to run by how i felt and get the 8 miles done. Luckily there is a park beside where i live where i have a 2 mile circut mapped out so i knew 4 laps would be my 8 miles.

Was quite surprise to look at the run stats when i uploaded the data from the watch. I really didnt expect to have done it so quick with an avg pace of 7.48 per mile especially after racing last night. While I felt like I was working a little harder than usual I still didnt feel too labored and I wasnt tired by the end of the run. I'm still not sure of my marathon pace but have been thinking somewhere between 7.45 to 8 mins would be it so i'm happy with my workout today.

Friday 13th July 2012

7.87 miles in 70.39 mins avg pace 8.59 per mile

run at recovery pace today, nothing to report.

Sunday 15th July 2012

14 miles 119.50 mins avg pace 8.33per mile

Nice LSR today with a mate who lives over near Clarehall so we ran out to Howth and back. Was a good run this morning, the furthest ive gone in a while, was a bit breezy in places along the coast to make things feel tough at times but over all I enjoyed that run today.

Monday 16th July 2012

3miles 26.07mins avg pace 8.37 per mile

Easy recovery run today after yesterdays 14 miles, felt good and strong and was really struggling to keep the pace down.

Tuesday 17th July 2012

6.35miles 52.12mins avg pace 8.20 per mile

Easy pace run today, easy running all week in the run up to the race series 10k on sunday. Run today felt a bit tougher than it should, did a good weight session in the gym earlier so that may have something to do with it...

Thursday 19th July 2012

8.20 miles in 73.40mins avg pace 9 min per mile.

Another easy run today run at recovery pace. Thats it now till Sundays 10k, gonna take the next 2 days off running. Havent had 2 days off in such a long time, not sure how the mind will cope with it...

Best of luck Sunday, any time in mind for it?

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck Sunday, any time in mind for it?
    Thanks tang, my pb at 10k is 42.51 so I'll be happy with anything under that. I've only ever ran 1 race at this distance and didn't really enjoy it so not sure how Sunday will go.. my 1st wedding anniversary is on Saturday too so out for a meal on Saturday, will have to try very hard to avoid the wine. Ah sure ill give Sunday my best shot regardless and hopefully i can set a new pb for myself.

Sunday 22nd July 2012

9.5 miles in total, 6.2miles Race Series race in 44.45 avgpace 7.10 per mile, 3.3 miles warm up and cool down. Almost 2 mins off my pb :(

Awful race for me, it just didnt happen today at all. Course was very hilly in parts and running up a very long uphill drag approx 2k against the breeze was a killer. i knew after the first mile it was gonna be one of those days as i looked at the watch at mile 1 and saw 7.15 on the clock and knew then it wasnt going to happen for me today. Managed a couple of sub 7 miles but also a 7.59 mile too:eek: most people i talked to agreed that it was very tough today and a pb would have been very hard to come by. I dont know swords at all so was completely unaware what the course was like. excuses over i still enjoyed the work out and the race was very well organized. just wasnt meant to be today.

Tough luck, looking at the thread on the race it wasn't a course or weather for a PB. Alot of Boards lads good sub 40 runners running over 40 mins says a bit about it.

yeah i saw that alright tang, don't feel so bad about it now. finished ahead of a few people who normally beat me too so im not all that disappointed.

Monday 23rd July 2012

5miles 42.52mins avg pace 8.34

easy recovery paced run today made difficult by another bout of plantar fasciitis :mad:

I had suffered from it in my left foot about 5 months ago but it faded away and i thought everything was fine until the cool down after yesterdays race when it started to niggle at me. Iced it and stretched it yesterday and it felt ok last night but when i got out of bed this morning it was killing me. Last time i had it i was able to run on it as after about a mile the pain would seem to ease off but not today :mad:

The bro is does sports massage so gonna go see him later.