Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Thursday 10th October

10.14 miles in 74.59 avg pace 7.24

Plan today was a PMP run, I've decided that I'm going to start the marathon with the 3.20 pacer and push on if I feel good in the latter stages.
    So todays pace was about 10 seconds quicker than 3.20 pace but if I can speed up during the race I'd hope to be running at 7.25s.
    The run itself went great apart from the breeze again, I think clontarf has to be the most windy place in Ireland.

Sunday 13th September

15.12 miles in 2.07.02 avg pace 8.24

Met in the park this morning with a few clubmates for this one.
    Was still feeling slightly hungover from a wedding on Friday so wasn't sure how this was gonna go. It went pretty good and kept the pace nice and easy for most of the run. 2 of the lads are running sub 3 so they upped the pace a bit in the second half, I did 2 miles @ around 7.35 pace and decided to drop it back and let them head on and myself and another lad finished out the rest nice and easy.

Really happy to have that run done as I had this weekend picked out a long time ago as a weekend I wouldn't be able to run due to the wedding.
    Im feeling great, I'm enjoying the taper so far and I can't wait to go and get this marathon done.

Tuesday 15th October

The watch went a bit mad tonight so I dont know the paces or overall distance tonight.

Went to the club for the final speed session before the marathon.  The session was 6X1mile so I decided I would
    do 3 at around 10K pace and do the final 3 reps 30-40 seconds slower.

I did the first 3 at around 6.30 pace and the final 3 around 7.15 pace.  I felt good and strong on the first 3 miles and would have loved to have finished the session out and do all 6 but I managed to be sensible for once and hold back.

I did 9 or 10 laps for a warm up so I did over 8 miles for the day.

I'm feeling good and raring to go.  I was going to go out and do an easy recovery run at lunch today but I got soaked on my cycle to work this morning and I couldnt be @rsed getting soaked again doing a recovery run.

Thursday 17th October

6.19 miles in 46.59 avg pace 7.36

Plan for today was 6 miles at marathon pace and that's exactly what I did.
    Felt comfortable, calf muscles felt quite tight on both legs which is a bit weird as I never suffer from that at all. Will hopefully get that sorted with the roller over the next few days.

Friday 18th October

4.78miles in 37.22 avg pace 7.49

An easy few miles out in the rain, it was actually a very enjoyable run and was really holding myself back to keep the pace nice and easy. It was still probably a little too fast for an easy run during taper.

Sunday 20th October

10.01 miles in 1.28.34 avg pace 8.51

Met with the lads from the club for the last longish run of marathon training. Nice easy run but the legs did feel a bit heavy in the last 2 miles. To celebrate the end of the training cycle we headed for a full Irish breakfast afterwards, delicious.

Really looking forward to getting started next Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

what's the plan this week? you doing much? I am getting very fidgety with the lack of miles, I'm hoping others are doing as little as me? 1 4 mile run & 1 7 mile run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

statss wrote: »
    what's the plan this week? you doing much? I am getting very fidgety with the lack of miles, I'm hoping others are doing as little as me? 1 4 mile run & 1 7 mile run?

Don't be panicing lad! All is good. No more than 20 miles this week..the work is done..now just reap the rewards.

blockic wrote: »
    Don't be panicing lad! All is good. No more than 20 miles this week..the work is done..now just reap the rewards.

I was grand until I read TRR's log last night and saw what he was doing....I know it's a completely different level to me but still got me wondering :rolleyes::D

Never mind him, He is only doing the parkrun to practice his finishing celebration!

Haha TRR is a glory hound, that's why he is doing them parkruns, to boost the ego. All in jest, no offence intended to TRR.

Ah but seriously them lads are completely on a different level to us so pay no attention to what they are doing at this stage.

I did 5 last night, 2 easy warm up 2 at MP and 1 cool down. Won't do anything today, and maybe 20 mins tomorrow, 20 mins Saturday and 20 mins Sunday so probably works out at 6 or 7 miles between now and Monday.
    Not enjoying not running to be honest, my head is all over the place. Doubts creeping in and aches popping up that I've never felt before. It's all part of the taper so I'm told.

wowzer wrote: »
    Haha TRR is a glory hound, that's why he is doing them parkruns, to boost the ego. All in jest, no offence intended to TRR.

Ah but seriously them lads are completely on a different level to us so pay no attention to what they are doing at this stage.

I did 5 last night, 2 easy warm up 2 at MP and 1 cool down. Won't do anything today, and maybe 20 mins tomorrow, 20 mins Saturday and 20 mins Sunday so probably works out at 6 or 7 miles between now and Monday.
    Not enjoying not running to be honest, my head is all over the place. Doubts creeping in and aches popping up that I've never felt before. It's all part of the taper so I'm told.

grand your the same as myself so....speaking about aches that you've never felt before....I woke up from sleep on Monday morning around 3am, screaming in pain due to a terrible cramp in my right leg, I startled my wife by jumping out of the bed in agony and rolling around the bedroom floor in the dark...."my leg, my leg!" I kept shouting.....she turns on the light, comes over to me to calm me down...when it slowly dawns on both of us nothing was actually wrong...I was having a dream/nightmare of some sort which turned into some weird hallucination where I woke up in a panic with a phantom leg pain....she thinks I'm crackers....told all her work mates the next day....morto.....

Haha jaysus that's mental. The quicker Monday gets here the better.

Best of luck wowzer, serious work put in and you will get a serious time.

But remember it's your first so time is secondary, just embrace and enjoy the experience!

Best of luck wowzer, serious work put in and you will get a serious time.

But remember it's your first so time is secondary, just embrace and enjoy the experience!

Thanks blockic, ah yeah my main goal is to finish with a smile on my face.. To go sub 3.20 would be the icing on the cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

Good luck Wowzer, I remember you encouraging me to sign up last year and unfortunately you never had your chance to run due to injury.
    I hope you have a cracking run and get that 3.20 for your first marathon :)

Cheers Rasher.

Final update before the marathon, this week has mainly been spent doing easy running, being nervous and excited and eating rings around myself.
    I thought I'd enjoy the taper but I didn't. Not running does silly things to your mind.
    Only plan I have for Monday is to stick with the pace group for as long as possible and hopefully that will see me through - I like to keep things simple.

I've been told to trust in the training and everything will fall into place on the day. The hard work is done, the easy part is the next 26.2 miles. I hope that's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Rooting for you Wowzer. Enjoy it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ELFOYZER

No bother to ya Wowzer. Watched ya all year getting faster and stronger (and skinnier!). Go get it buddy.

Best of luck buddy, there won't be too much between us, I've enjoyed comparing our efforts over the past couple of months. Enjoy it.

Cheers statts, best of luck to you tomorrow, you will have a great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

Only plan I have for Monday is to stick with the pace group for as long as possible and hopefully that will see me through - I like to keep things simple.

best of luck wowzer, great training over the last while so you'll be grand. make sure you get in the middle of the group when you're going into the wind, and then take advantage when it's at your back!

3.19.26 absolutely over the moon with that...
    Will post a report tomorrow, theres eating and drinking to be done now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Delighted for you! Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭FrClintPower

congrats man!

well deserved. you were looking fresh enough at the end aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

A model log for anyone tackling a 1st marathon.

Nailed it big man, as we all expected, brilliant, unreal, well deserved, fair play.

Savage wowzer, well done and I hope you really enjoyed your first! Some time to have!

Thanks for coming over at the start was nice to meet ya!

Savage wowzer, well done and I hope you really enjoyed your first! Some time to have!

Thanks for coming over at the start was nice to meet ya!

Cheers blockic, I enjoyed every step of it, should get around to doing a report tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Almac06

3.19.26 absolutely over the moon with that...
    Will post a report tomorrow, theres eating and drinking to be done now.
    Well done my man. super running. To do 3:19 on any marathon is super but to do on your first is amazing. Just rewards for all your work, dedication and considering where you started from your triumph is inspiring.

Congrats my man!!!

Roll on next year:)