Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Just for the craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Delighted for ya! Great stuff and oodles more to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Well done on the PB Wowzer, more to come from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

Cheers folks, if you had asked me 6 months ago would I be happy with a 68 min 10 mile I would have said no way considering I went through 10 in 67.3x in a half marathon in March. I would have been looking for a low 66 or even a high 65, but after the last few months that I've had I'm delighted to PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Great running this morning. I'm guessing the stomach played ball. Some good consistent regular training happening here of late. You're a model of discipline at the moment. And well done on the chocolate.

outforarun wrote: »
    Great running this morning. I'm guessing the stomach played ball. Some good consistent regular training happening here of late. You're a model of discipline at the moment. And well done on the chocolate.

Cheers ofar, stomach played ball to a certain extent but I was suffering cramps but didn't hinder me too much. Chocolate bar in the goodie bag, would be rude not to celebrate the pb with it :)

wowzer wrote: »
    Cheers ofar, stomach played ball to a certain extent but I was suffering cramps but didn't hinder me too much. Chocolate bar in the goodie bag, would be rude not to celebrate the pb with it :)

ha ha I think you definitely deserve it. Hope it's a nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

PB chocolate is the best. I hoped you'd partake, but didn't want to suggest it in case you were going to try resist. Well Done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done on the PB Wowzer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done yesterday, you know theres loads more left in you. You've lost your mojo a bit of late, but plenty to come in the future. Must arrange to get you that pint!

Frank Duffy 10 mile race, 68:16 avg pace 6.50
    Heading into this race on the back of a run of bad form so I wanted to just tick off a PB to act as a little boost to the confidence. The plan was to run at 6.45 – 6.50 pace and this would see me take the PB. A clubmate who is training for DCM was running the race at MP as part of his long run so I had some company which was great. We also had the company of another mate for the first 7 miles before he took off in chase of a flagging clubmate of his.

Unusually this morning I had no nerves before the race and I was in quite a giddy mood, I couldn’t wait to get going. The first 2 miles were very relaxed and comfortable once I managed to find a bit of free road ahead and avoid the usual dodging and weaving. The chat and usual slagging was flowing between us and I was really enjoying myself. We then turned up by the Zoo, I usually don’t like this stretch of road as there always seems to be a breeze here and there is a slight drag. Again no problems, I working a little bit harder here to keep the pace steady but was still able to chat so all was good.

The 4 mile mark came before I knew it and we were now turning back onto Chesterfield out of the breeze. Running up Chesterfield I knew that the next couple of miles were going to be good ones. I felt the pace was upped a little here and I felt the temptation to push on but I got sense and said to myself its only half way, no heroics as the tough part was still to come so I remarked to my buddy that I am going to pull back a little here and keep the pace nice and steady.

Miles 5, 6, 7 ticked along nicely and I was feeling great, we headed out of the park and onto Conyngham Road. I don’t like this road at all, again it always seems to be breezy here and knowing that when we turn back into the park we would be faced with the hill was playing on my mind a bit and I was beginning to feel the pace now just at the 8 mile mark. Then BAM that bloody hill hit me, to quote a line from an REM song, it felt like I was pushing an elephant up the stairs. Couldn’t get the legs moving, breathing was fine just the legs couldn’t go any quicker. At the 9 mile mark I knew that the hill was just about done and I began to feel a bit of strength coming back, I was concentrating on my buddy as he was just a few steps ahead and was encouraging me to keep things moving, I remember thinking just 3 laps of the track to go, I can do this. Rounded the final corner onto Furze and a quick glance at the watch told me I had the PB so that added a little skip in my step and I managed to stand up tall and increase the pace a little and see this thing through.

It was such a relief to finish and I was thrilled with the PB. However in hindsight, the performance itself is not something I’m overly happy with as I leaked a lot of time over the last 2 miles, so the dreaded hills got me again!!

The splits were as follows, 6.44, 6.44, 6.47, 6.50, 6.40, 6.38, 6.42, 6.44, 7.21, 7.02.

Next up is a 5k next Tuesday, the guys in work were stuck for a man to make a team for the Grant Thornton 5k. The 5k PB is 18.59, I don’t think I’m in shape for a shot at that just yet. This race was never on my radar so I’m not expecting too much from this but I’ll give it a good crack anyway, it will serve as a solid tempo effort if nothing else comes from it. I may also sign up for the race series half marathon and see if I can break 1.30 for the second time this year.

Sunday 24th August 4 miles in around 35 mins

The watch wasn’t charged so I headed out on a little 4 mile loop around home and kept things nice and easy just to shake out the legs after the race the previous day.

Monday 25th August
    8.81 miles avg pace 7.53

On Sunday evening I developed a bit of a migraine so was pretty much written off Sunday night and Monday morning unable to do anything. But by late Monday afternoon I felt good again and was dying to get out of the house and run in that lovely rain. I went out with no plan in mind and picked the route as I went, a really enjoyable.

Tuesday 26th August
    5.07 miles avg pace 8.12

A nice easy trot at lunch time, will keep all my runs at around this pace for the week ahead of the 5k next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 SueEllen

Well done on your pb. Mile 9 got me too

SueEllen wrote: »
    Well done on your pb. Mile 9 got me too

Ah Sue Ellen, I wonder who you could be :)

Did you get what you wanted on Saturday, I looked for your name in the results but couldn't see you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 SueEllen

Ah Sue Ellen, I wonder who you could be :)

Did you get what you wanted on Saturday, I looked for your name in the results but couldn't see you..

I ran under an alias! Did it in 71 min which I was happy with but 3 minutes outside my pb. Hard training now for DCM...again

SueEllen wrote: »
    I ran under an alias! Did it in 71 min which I was happy with but 3 minutes outside my pb. Hard training now for DCM...again

Good stuff Sue Ellen, well done on getting a couple of minutes under what you said beforehand.. Good luck ramping things up for DCM, I'm not envious (I swear). Remember keep the easy days easy :)

Wednesday 27 August

5.83 miles avg pace 8.17

A very handy run around sandymount at lunchtime. Nothing of note to mention about todays run, just an average run of the mill easy run.

Thursday 28th August

8.57 miles avg pace 7.56

Traditionally Thursday is my tempo day but with racing a few days ago and another one lined up for Tuesday I decided it was best not to do a full tempo session.

With that in mind today's run took me up the quays towards the Phoenix Park to meet with my nemesis from the race last Saturday. After 3 very easy miles at around 8.20 pace I turned off conyngham road into the park, hit lap on the watch and went up that hill, not a 100% percent effort but enough to make it feel like I was exerting myself. Did that mile in 6.57, while it felt tough it was manageable.. It took me about a mile or so afterwards to slow things right down again to easy pace. I sometimes find it difficult to adjust the pace down if I do a faster section in the middle.

I'm not sure if what I did today will do me more harm than good but I am very aware of my lack of strength on hills so I feel I need to work on this especially as the half marathon next month finishes up this hill.

Friday 29th August

8.31 miles avg pace 8.19

Early start this morning so was out the door by 6.20 for a run to work. Used to hate these runs to work but I'm beginning to enjoy them now. There is something nice about being out on the road before half the population are up.

Sunday 30th August

15.07 miles avg pace 8.31

Smashing morning for a run in the phoenix park. Great to see so many others out too, I think I ran past yaboya and dublin runner as we were going up upper glen road they were coming down.

Nothing much to say about the run itself , kept things nice and easy and let my mate dictate the pace as he wanted to keep the pace around 60-90 seconds of his MP.

Monday 0 1st September

4.18 miles avg pace 8.46

Got out at lunchtime for a few very easy miles to shake out the legs before the 5k tomorrow.
    I have never felt so unenthusiastic about a race in my short running life. I have no idea how this one will go, I'm sure I'll give it a good lash though when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

What's the target wozer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I think I ran past yaboya and dublin runner as we were going up upper glen road they were coming down.

That does sound like us. You should have said hi :)
    It was a fantastic morning alright. Came out of nowhere after the rubbish we'd had earlier in the week.

What's the target wozer ?

Jaysus PM talk about putting a lad on the spot :)

If I get reasonably close to my PB ill be happy, the PB was set in Enfield back when I was running well, the Enfield course is "PB friendly" with the majority of the last mile downhill. So to answer your question I will set out at 6.05 pace per mile and hang on as long as possible.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    That does sound like us. You should have said hi :)
    It was a fantastic morning alright. Came out of nowhere after the rubbish we'd had earlier in the week.

We did say hello, more of a nod than a hello, but got nothing back :) in fairness you two lads were engrossed in conversation at the time. It was a few minutes later I realised it was DR, he looked a little less hairy than he did in his photo shoot for fit magazine a few weeks back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

We did say hello, more of a nod than a hello, but got nothing back :) in fairness you two lads were engrossed in conversation at the time. It was a few minutes later I realised it was DR, he looked a little less hairy than he did in his photo shoot for fit magazine a few weeks back.

Definitely wasn't intentional. It's my pet hate when people don't acknowledge my hello's :eek:, but normally I don't have any company to put me off. Promise I wasn't ignoring you. Will get you next time ;)

New PB in the 5k tonight by 23 seconds, new PB is 18.36, no idea where that came from. Will do report tomorrow.

SUPER:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Fantastic - well done :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great stuff man, envious of that time big style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭overpronator

Thats savage, well done! Safe to say you're back!?

Tuesday 2nd September 

Grant Thornton  5k in  18.36 

As mentioned previously I had zero interest in running this one having done no 5K specific training and feeling pretty crap about running in general I had no idea how this would go.

I set out for a 2 mile warm up and noticed the humidity almost immediately, great I thought another thing to worry about.  I met with the lads from work and we headed to the starting pen.  Here I bumped into a couple of clubmates, these lads always finish ahead of me in races so after a quick chat I decided I'll start with them and try to hang on. Feck it I thought, I have nothing to lose by doing so.

Gun went off and the start was a bit frantic, it was a mad dash to get out into open space as there was a sharp right after a couple of hundred meters. I got boxed in and the 2 lads had got about 50 meters ahead.  No need to panic just keep them in sight and i'll have a good run I thought. The rest of the first mile was spend dodging and weaving trying to find space to run freely.  I was beginning to get frustrated as the congestion was wasn't thinning out and I couldn't find a rhythm.  Before I knew it I felt my watch buzz for the 1st mile,  quick glance at it and was surprised to see 6.05. 

After the hairpin at the O2 the road opened up a bit so I put the foot down a little to catch the lads who where no more than 20 meters ahead now.  When I got there I noticed the 2 boys were blowing hard already and there was only a mile and a half done, I sat on their shoulders for a minute or so, I felt strong here and decided to push on ahead of them.  Again not paying attention to my watch I felt the vibration for the mile mark so another quick glance and was shocked to see that mile come in at 5.59.  

It was here I realised the PB was on, just hold the pace and see this thing out.  So that's exactly  what I did, feeling great and very strong I didn't push it just maintained the pace and mile 3 also clocked 5.59. Looked around to see where my clubmates where, I couldn't see them so no sprint finish was needed to hold them off.  Crossed the line in 18.34 on the watch but those b@stards at precision timing did the usual and robbed me of 2 seconds :) Not that I care as I was absolutely thrilled.  

A totally unexpected PB by 23 seconds and I finished the race good and strong, I was by no means totally spent at the end. So things are beginning to look good again. As Overpronator said is it safe to say I'm back? I think perhaps  yes,  but I won't get ahead of myself just yet. I finished 1st on the work team too so a good evening of racing for me.