If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Such a fan of this guy. Would have loved him to join us but hope it goes well for him in San Diego.

Will he get much work behind Ryan Matthews?

Matthews still has a lot to prove, last coaching staff had no faith in him and his confidence suffered because of it. Add to him being injury prone means Woodhead should get plenty of touches. I reckon Rivers will love having him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Justin10

Our Draft need for the 1st round is turning out just like Telesco said and that was take the best player maybe not our biggest need.

That means if Star falls to us, it very well could be him.

Just watched the video and I agree with 100% with everything he said.

He has an interesting perspective on Gaither but i don't agree with him on it. He earned a reputation for being lazy in Baltimore and proved it again here. He's had his chances and he's fecked it up, guys on the o-line don't respect him or want to play with him so why let him burn us again.
    I do however like the idea that if we don't get a top 3 LT then bring him to training camp and let him try win the job fom someone else instead of handing it to him like we did last year.
    Gaither is so annoying, as a player he has the ability to solve our biggest problem but as a person you can't trust him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

OAOB wrote: »
    Matthews still has a lot to prove, last coaching staff had no faith in him and his confidence suffered because of it. Add to him being injury prone means Woodhead should get plenty of touches. I reckon Rivers will love having him

Yeah Woodhead is the poor mans Sproles. He'll be in on 3rd down a lot and I can see him playing slot too. Great addition, blue collar tough little white guy with real speed. Similar attributes to Hester but with real gas.

He has an interesting perspective on Gaither but i don't agree with him on it. He earned a reputation for being lazy in Baltimore and proved it again here. He's had his chances and he's fecked it up, guys on the o-line don't respect him or want to play with him so why let him burn us again.
    I do however like the idea that if we don't get a top 3 LT then bring him to training camp and let him try win the job fom someone else instead of handing it to him like we did last year.
    Gaither is so annoying, as a player he has the ability to solve our biggest problem but as a person you can't trust him

Like u I've heard how he may have burned all his bridges in the locker room. Saw an interview with Gates the other day about him. He said that Gaither needs to 'want to play'. I guess he was calling him out sort of. We're at no loss financially to keep him until June 1 so I say bring him in and see what the attitude is like. If it's the same BS then kick him to the curb. Having said that if Fisher or Johnson is there at #11 I kinda think we have to pull the trigger unless we bring in a McKinnie (doubt it v much) or someone like that. I don't think we should be banking on Dunlap at LT.

Not sure did you get to watch the video Leslie but his point was we currently have 13(i think) O-line players and only 3 D-line players signed. Cam Thomas is to be an unrestricted FA at the end of this season so he recommends going for Star Lotulelei as we need to build depth on the D-line.
    I hadn't realised we were in such a tight spot there and i think it means we need to look at getting V Martin back for depth and two more players. We had two DEs on practice squad last year so maybe one can come into the rotation but another signing is badly needed. Lotulelei is predicted as a stud NT, most dificult player to find so he'd be a great addition.
    Personally i still think we have to go LT, it's our biggest need and if we can sort it out we protect our biggest investment which is Rivers but if the top 3 are gone and Lotulelei is there then that makes perfect sense.

I don't really agree we should give him another shot but like he said keep him till training camp.

He made good points about Taylor and Wright. Chargers get very little media coverage compared to east coast teams, but Wright seems to be thought of in high enough regard for someone who has done nothing yet.
    We don't want to get in the way of Taylors development, so be interesting what we do in that situation.

Looking forward to see the zone blocking scheme could be a real benefit to us.

Not sure did you get to watch the video Leslie but his point was we currently have 13(i think) O-line players and only 3 D-line players signed. Cam Thomas is to be an unrestricted FA at the end of this season so he recommends going for Star Lotulelei as we need to build depth on the D-line.
    I hadn't realised we were in such a tight spot there and i think it means we need to look at getting V Martin back for depth and two more players. We had two DEs on practice squad last year so maybe one can come into the rotation but another signing is badly needed. Lotulelei is predicted as a stud NT, most dificult player to find so he'd be a great addition.
    Personally i still think we have to go LT, it's our biggest need and if we can sort it out we protect our biggest investment which is Rivers but if the top 3 are gone and Lotulelei is there then that makes perfect sense.

Yep saw the vid, yes absolutely we are v short on the D line. I can see Vaughn Martin back, we had Scafe come in at end of season but he is just a body. So if the top 3 Tackles are gone and Star is there we take him?, isn't it Star who has the heart issues?... he's somewhat of a risky pick imho but maybe needs must if the Tackles are gone.

I still think Cooper the Guard is a total stud. I'd be very happy with him even if we are loaded with warm bodies on the O line. It is quality we need to start gathering over quantity!.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Yep saw the vid, yes absolutely we are v short on the D line. I can see Vaughn Martin back, we had Scafe come in at end of season but he is just a body. So if the top 3 Tackles are gone and Star is there we take him?, isn't it Star who has the heart issues?... he's somewhat of a risky pick imho but maybe needs must if the Tackles are gone.

I still think Cooper the Guard is a total stud. I'd be very happy with him even if we are loaded with warm bodies on the O line. It is quality we need to start gathering over quantity!.

Really good point there. He had the heart issue at the combine but got cleared by a doctor after. I think it was implied the doctor might have given a bit of a biased report so i'm sure teams will still want to check him out themselves. He had a fantastic showing at this pro-day, he puts up numbers similar to Poe last year but Lotulelei has production on tape too.

Wright definitely seems to be impressing people in the business even if his tape is limited. If we can pencil him and Cox as starters and Gilchrist as Nickel then CB is actually not a high priority. My worry is Wright is unproven and Cox injury prone so a good back up is badly needed.

Thought he contradicted himself a bit in the video with regards to Jammer going to SS. He reckons Jammer can't move but when you look at players like Woodson and Bailey doing it then i can't see why we couldn't try it with Jammer, he's such a sound tackler that it makes him a better fit than those two and more importantly he won't be blocking Taylors progress. He also provides emergency cover for CB and has a relationship built with Weddle so i think its a win win.

I thought Jammer would make a good safety but the previous management didn't see it and either the current don't see it or they want to get younger and quick.

Also he pointed out our big need at OLB.
    At least the draft will be fun :D

Its weird that nearly all our problems last year as a team were on the offense but when we look at our draft needs our biggest needs are LT, ILB, OLB, G, SS, NT & RB. The defence needs more starters and more back ups than the offense.

How do we feel about the WR situation? I see a lot of mocks having us take one in the later rounds but we should Floyd, Alexander and Brown healthy, hopefully get some perfomance out of Meachem so that leaves space for one out of Royal, Goodman, tutu and Willie (i think Spurlock is a FA). We're not going to scare anyone with that list but don't see space for a late round pick in the rotation.

I dont see us touching WR. Meachem has to contribute more then he did last year. Brown looks like a nice slot or number two receiver.
    It will be up on the list next year I would guess.

For this draft I would think its NT, Tackle, ILB, OLB, Guard this year.

SS I would guess be someone like Lynch, who I wouldnt mind getting him back, made some plays last year.

Yeah if we can have a good draft this year it puts WR very high up next year.

I like Lynch as a back up S and STs player but i imagine he could end up in Dallas with Bisaccia again. Our STs have been abandoned so far this off season, we still have Gachkar i guess. We actually have Gachkar and Bird still signed as ILBs, i wouldn't be shocked if both make the roster as we're so light there at the minute.

Yeah if we can have a good draft this year it puts WR very high up next year.

I like Lynch as a back up S and STs player but i imagine he could end up in Dallas with Bisaccia again. Our STs have been abandoned so far this off season, we still have Gachkar i guess. We actually have Gachkar and Bird still signed as ILBs, i wouldn't be shocked if both make the roster as we're so light there at the minute.

Did u see he got married at the w/e?, not that it means much when it comes to him becoming a player at ILB!!.

No way should we touch WR in the draft unless say Tavon Austin falls to us in 2nd. The lad Keenan Allen is apparently money too. Only were there unreal value should we look to WR. The draft should be all about OT and NT with a bit of LB and CB sprinkled in!!.

If we don't get a LT in the 1st i don't think there's any value to be had in the second round on them. I honestly don't know what we'll do if the 3 of them are gone, anyone else won't be ready to start at LT next season.

A NT could be picked up in the 3rd pretty easily, might not be a stud like Lotulelei but someone like Brandon Williams could be a really good signing, out of a division II school but has all the skills, CBS compare him to Garay. He might not reach us in the 3rd but he'd be value at that pick.

Second round should be LB, inside or out, whichever is highest on the board. I think ILB is a bigger need possibly and if we could get someone to compliment Butler i reckon we'd be very stout against the run. OLB needs a pass rusher now that Barnes is gone but if picking in the second round you would expect a much more rounded player than just pass rush

Michael Gehlken ‏@UTgehlken
    Chargers informed LT Jared Gaither today they are releasing him. Results in $6 million cap hit for 2013.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Michael Gehlken ‏@UTgehlken
    Chargers informed LT Jared Gaither today they are releasing him. Results in $6 million cap hit for 2013.

Holy F Rochey you are on the ball today!!. U had the news in boards.ie before I saw it on Twitter!!, fair play.

Good riddance to big lazy. Such a pity that a human being can do what he did and walk away set for life financially.

Holy F Rochey you are on the ball today!!. U had the news in boards.ie before I saw it on Twitter!!, fair play.

Good riddance to big lazy. Such a pity that a human being can do what he did and walk away set for life financially.

The joys of college projects :p
    Cant believe what a waste of talent he is.

Talent level we're losing here but team morale will be better. I hope this is the last contract Gaither gets to sign in the NFL, i seriously doubt it will be

I'm hearing TT wanted a face to face with big lazy effer and it never happened. I guess Gaither thinks he holds all the cards. I hope to F they sue the bollix from here to kingdom come and in the meantime cull our roster of wasters like he.

Talent level we're losing here but team morale will be better. I hope this is the last contract Gaither gets to sign in the NFL, i seriously doubt it will be

I guess it's all hypothetical, it sure looks like the lad did not give a F and so he might aswell not be here as be here. Like you say we'll be a better group of people without him. Can only imagine what the likes of Harris and others thought of this waster robbing as much money as he did and them on (relatively speaking) buttons.

It's a good day for team morale no doubt about it.

Maybe Eric Winston could be our starting left tackle.

Dunlap has much better shot at starting on the Left. Winston is a serviceable right tackle, I'd hate to see him on left.

Well it definitely means LT is a bigger need than NT. I presume Haslam is first string currently, i'd rate him higher than Harris

Dunlap has much better shot at starting on the Left. Winston is a serviceable right tackle, I'd hate to see him on left.

Im not sure Dunlap even makes the final 52, he is huge, not the best for a zone blocking scheme. Sure time will tell soon enough.

Just going to throw it out there. I want the Honey Badger in our secondary next year.

This is the guy who excels in the return game and tries to be a CB too?

If he was there in the 3rd i'd consider him but in the second i'd like LB. Really think we need to sort out ILB early. Matthieu's is a risky player, too much of a luxury for this team to take with so many holes on the roster.

If Manti was there at our spot in round #2 would you take him? I would if he is BPA at that time.