If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Chargers Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

Meant to say i like us claiming DJ Smith off waivers, more depth at MLB now. Played well in GB before getting injured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭Justin10

I think the pick should of been Vaccaro, Claray is not getting cut and will be tried at guard. Troutman supposedly is the starting LG so LT is the problem. I would guess McKinnie or Dunlap is the starter there. None of the tackles left are ready to start imo.

Wouldnt mind the safety Jonathan Cyprien.
    Plenty of options for us which is great, can fill any of our needs still except for LT.

Warford at guard is an option too,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Rochey18 wrote: »
    I think the pick should of been Vaccaro, Claray is not getting cut and will be tried at guard. Troutman supposedly is the starting LG so LT is the problem. I would guess McKinnie or Dunlap is the starter there. None of the tackles left are ready to start imo.

Wouldnt mind the safety Jonathan Cyprien.
    Plenty of options for us which is great, can fill any of our needs still except for LT.

Warford at guard is an option too,

Agree rounds 2 and 3 should be great craic. Lots of real good players will be selected in next 24 hrs fingers crossed we nail some beauties. I too like the idea of a safety but reckon a project Left Tackle like Watson might be the way to go. We're also v short at NT, if that Aussie is there he might be an option too.

Also I would expect a run on the 3 top QBs before we pick, has to happen soon.

If that does happen TT will probably be able to take who ever he would of wanted at the pick before the draft started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭theRB

Te'o!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Shane.C

Manti Manti Manti

Haha next is The Honeybadger :D

Right so i've just got home and see we've signed Te'o, first reaction was YES. I've said previously i don't think he's a good fit for us but feck it, he's a football player who will provide leadership to us.
    I really don't know how Te'o and Butler will fit together at MLB, they seem too similar to work as a pair.
    Keenan Allen is a really good value pick for us but do we need a WR over a LB?
    I've faith in Telesco but he really is making some odd picks, they don't seem to be filling the main holes we have in the roster.

Screw It I want Manti, just seen him mocked to the Chargers.

I dont know why but I reckoned the Chargers where going to take him. I love the pick, for him and the Chargers.

Allen seems like he is that good that he is going to start in the slot.
    I didnt like the Fluker pick, but it makes a lot of sense, so i've come around.

I would guess McKinnie will be signed to compete at LT. Guards are fine with Clary also trying there.

NT, OLB, and Saftey are still problems. Especially safety, Taylor wont be ready for the start of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Ye guys must be delighted with that draft. Fluker, Te'o and Allen are excellent picks.

I rate Allen very highly and had he not been injured late in the year he would have been a 1st rounder IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

A lot of folk saying Chargers are the day 2 winners.

T'eo is a good pick. Delighted with allen. Seems like Telesco went with low floor kind of guys. Warming to the Fluker pick if we can pick up a half decent LT somewhere.

Pick 11 - DJ Fluker - RT
    Pick 38 - Manti Te'o - ILB
    Pick 76 - Keenan Allen - WR
    Pick 145 - Steve Williams - CB
    Pick 179 - Tourek Williams - DE
    Pick 221 - Brad Sorenson - QB

Not too familiar with our last 3 players but they're at 3 positions where we need depth so that's a good thing. Was surprised that we didn't draft a RB near the end of it, it's somewhere we need to improve our depth.

We've still deficiencies at LT, RB, NT, SS and OLB. we've signed about 20 UDFAs so i reckon there's good opportunities for a few of them.

I'm still not sold on Fluker and think we could have done better in round one but overall i think we've done ok. LT is the glaring hole on the roster, i don't like McKinnie as he's big and lazy like Gaither but we might just have to take him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

I think we have to be pretty pleased with how the draft panned out. As has been said we got 3 plausible 1st round picks. Shame we had to give up our 4th rounder but hey. Fluker and Teo will start right away. Can't be certain with Allen but let's see how it goes. I would say Meachem's future with us is a bit precarious now. S Williams stands a good chance of playing nickel for us, with Wright and Cox on the outside and Gilchrist at safety/4th corner? The jury is still out on the 6th and 7th rounders. The biggest deficiency of the defence for me (at least on paper) is the loss of pass rushing specialists like S Phillips and Barnes. Hopefully T Williams or one of the UFAs can be that situational pass rusher. Nice to get Geathers too. I guess the fact we're so light at NT had to be a factor in him choosing us. He'll have a great shot at making the roster come September. Now Tom please give Donald Butler a new contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Shaun Philips has signed with Denver, 1 yr, 3m. What are Chargers fans thoughts on this......besides looking at sack figures, what has his overall play level been like recently. A couple of alternate pro bowl shouts from a few years ago too I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

I responded in broncos thread but in summary. Used be great. Was awful last year. Very little pressure and awful in the run. Ingram should have had more time

If nothing else most if not all the draft evaluators are saying we did great. John Clayton has us being biggest winners in the draft over the Niners who had a million picks. I think Te'o will be a stud. Fluker will be a better than average right tackle, it still leaves us in dire need at left tackle though of course. I can only assume TT has a plan else he might have moved up to get Armstead who ended up going right before we picked Allen. I reckon Eddie Royal and Meachem should be watching their backs. I've no doubt it'd be Meachem that we'd cut only for the fact that we have to eat his contract. He might be worth keeping over the likes of Royal and Goodman.

I was reading that geather was projected as a third or fourth round talent at nt but he freaked out with some team during interviews at the combine. Some teams had concerns that he might be an actual psycho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

Is Albert a possibility for the chargers? Next years second could get him. He'd be looking for big money though.

OAOB wrote: »
    I was reading that geather was projected as a third or fourth round talent at nt but he freaked out with some team during interviews at the combine. Some teams had concerns that he might be an actual psycho.

You'd hope with the family history in the game, cousins brothers uncles etc they'd have him cop on. There's a job to be won here and he'd better realise that and go get it. The other UDFS NT has a good chance too.

Is Albert a possibility for the chargers? Next years second could get him. He'd be looking for big money though.

I reckon that ship has sailed for us and he. TT must have a plan though cos I'd be v surprised if we were moving forward with King at LT.

Albert would cost us too much money. We just need a band aid for LT I think Haslam was good last year.

TT made a point that you cant manufacture LT's and that they went so early leads me to think it was the top 3 or no one.

Was watching game changers with Manti, very impressed with him watching film. There is a play against Alabama that he is in coverage with the other MLB and safety blitzing. He knew the play before the snap and he then blitzes and is first to tackle Lacy, very impressive.

Seems Royal is not on the WR chart and is considered a returner according to Acee.

The guy Geathers at NT people seem very happy picking him up.

Very hard to make that trade within the division is why i think he's not a real option for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

In any event I'd hate to see us give away a second for him. Sure it would make us a better team this coming season but like I said somewhere above I want to see us win a superbowl. And look at the value we got out of that pick. The rookies earn a modest enough salary now on their first contract too. Tbh I would be delighted just to see us make the playoffs this year. That press conference with TT and McCoy is well worth a look for anyone that hasn't seen it. They came across very well. What I especially liked was McCoy saying that the decisions taken were as an organisation rather than by individuals (TT). No scapegoating if stuff doesn't work out...

PS. Apols if this is old news but I thought it was a bit of bombshell. LT was asked to come out of retirement!
    http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000165014/article/ladainian-tomlinson-chargers-wanted-me-to-return

McKinnie scheduled to visit tomorrow I think.

On the LT story, I wouldnt pay much attention to him, he has always had the need for his ego to be fed. Was no benefit to the Chargers for him to come out and say that, only benefit was to himself.

I would even question if TT or whoever was serious.

McKinnie scheduled to visit tomorrow I think.

On the LT story, I wouldnt pay much attention to him, he has always had the need for his ego to be fed. Was no benefit to the Chargers for him to come out and say that, only benefit was to himself.

I would even question if TT or whoever was serious.

McKinnie isn't Gaither but he is not perfect, I'm not that comfortable with him to be honest. Esp considering his history with the Vikes and that boat ride. If we are really stuck I guess he can come in for just the 1 year and in the meantime we look for his longterm replacement. That guy might be Haslam with a real solid LG beside him and John Phillips helping out.

Mckinnie needs to constantly be pushed and hassled, he's not exactly lazy just not motivated. I don't think he's the type of guy we really want but needs must and he's probably our best bet on keeping rivers alive.

This is definitely Rivers' make or break season, new overhaul in San Diego, if Rivers plays like he did in the past two years I would not be surprised in seeing him cut, as much as I hate to admit it, his cap hit for next year would be 15million, but with two years remaining on his contract if he is cut next year San Diego will not have to pay squat!. So, getting McKinnie is a must, Haslam and Harris just won't cut it at LT.

Anyone wanna give a record prediction?

8-8.

Rivers ain't getting cut even if he has a bad year.
    15m cap hit is small compared to other deals.
    I can't expect a QB to lead a team when he is one if the most sacked QBs in the league.

Prediction I'm not sure but I think we will be close enough tovtge playoffs.

At the bare bones of any organisation like San Diego's is a business model, a QB, who at age 32, with potentially three poor seasons under his belt, and taking 15million off of the team, to not be at least, in consideration to be cut just wouldn't make sense. Rivers was great in 2010, one MAJOR reason was that three headed monster we had in the backfield, with Tolbert, Mathews and Sproles. Everytime he was in trouble, dump off to Sproles or Mathews, heck, Tolbert had something like 11 TD's that year!

Getting Danny Woodhead, and a RT takes pressure off of Rivers, and it's for the best because Rivers was never the kind of guy to do it by himself. The run game must get better, Mathews to have a good year!

If rivers has another bad season its very likely we'll be drafting in the top 10 so we'd have to definitely consider drafting our future QB. Next years class looks to have a lot more potential superstars in it so if rivers can't regain form its a good year to move on. Unless we get a proper LT this year he'll be running for his life again